1.  [College research](/)
2.  /
3.  [Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania](/school/commonwealth-university-of-pennsylvania/)
4.  /
5.  Programs & majors brief

Programs & majors brief

Copy linkPrint brief

# Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania Majors & Programs

Updated September 28, 2026

[Overview](/school/commonwealth-university-of-pennsylvania/)[Cost & aid](/school/commonwealth-university-of-pennsylvania/cost/)[Outcomes](/school/commonwealth-university-of-pennsylvania/outcomes/)[Admissions](/school/commonwealth-university-of-pennsylvania/admissions/)Majors[Similar schools](/school/commonwealth-university-of-pennsylvania/similar/)

**On this page**+

## Which majors earn the most at Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania?

The largest programs at Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania show a wide earnings range, and the highest-paid fields are not the ones awarding the most degrees. Business Administration and Management is the biggest, with 343 degrees awarded and median earnings of $64,030 four years after completion.

[Azimuth ranks](/analysis/college-program-rankings-how-to-actually-evaluate-programs/) it #207 nationally among nonprofit four-year institutions in its field. Nursing is the second-largest program and the highest-earning, with 181 degrees awarded and median earnings of $89,958.

Azimuth ranks it #166 nationally in its field. Criminal Justice awards 147 degrees and its graduates earn $55,909, with a national rank of #96.

At the more moderate end, Teacher Education and Psychology award 147 and 137 degrees, with earnings of $48,662 and $49,137. Azimuth ranks them #125 and #232 nationally. The earnings picture depends heavily on the field a student chooses.

### Major mix · each dot ≈ 1% of completions

Share of reported completions in the bachelor’s programs included here. Each dot represents approximately 1% of those completions. Counts are credentials, not unique students; excluded programs are not zero activity.

-   Health professions**451 · 19.1%**
-   Business**427 · 18.1%**
-   Homeland security**231 · 9.8%**
-   Education**202 · 8.6%**
-   Communication**145 · 6.1%**
-   Other**905 · 38.3%**

Find a field

Sort programsLargest programsHighest four-year earningsBest national field rankProgram name

47 of 47 programs shown

Four-year earnings · first six matching programs

**Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing 181 degrees awarded**
$89,958

**Computer Science 19 degrees awarded**
$85,353

**Public Health 9 degrees awarded**
$75,679

**Physics 5 degrees awarded**
$73,703

**Health/Medical Preparatory Programs 55 degrees awarded**
$73,383

**Security Science and Technology 84 degrees awarded**
$73,289

Each bar is a field’s median. Program size counts degrees awarded, not unique people or the earnings sample.

Compare all matching programs

Reported bachelor’s programs · earnings, program size and field ranks

| Program | Degrees awarded | 4-yr earnings | Field rank |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing | 181 | $89,958 | #166 |
| Computer Science small degree count | 19 | $85,353 | — |
| Public Health small degree count | 9 | $75,679 | — |
| Physics small degree count | 5 | $73,703 | — |
| Health/Medical Preparatory Programs | 55 | $73,383 | #3 |
| Security Science and Technology | 84 | $73,289 | #2 |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | 42 | $70,181 | #49 |
| Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management | 35 | $69,048 | #28 |
| Communication Disorders Sciences and Services | 65 | $66,538 | #25 |
| Accounting and Related Services | 47 | $66,300 | #245 |
| Computer and Information Sciences, General small degree count | 15 | $64,063 | — |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | 343 | $64,030 | #207 |
| Chemistry small degree count | 12 | $63,088 | — |
| Economics small degree count | 14 | $62,798 | — |
| Mathematics small degree count | 14 | $62,779 | — |
| Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences | 43 | $60,075 | #40 |
| American Sign Language small degree count | 18 | $59,134 | — |
| Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication | 56 | $56,381 | #63 |
| Political Science and Government | 27 | $56,161 | #246 |
| Natural Resources Conservation and Research small degree count | 12 | $56,107 | — |
| Criminal Justice and Corrections | 147 | $55,909 | #96 |
| Biology, General | 72 | $53,988 | #290 |
| Anthropology small degree count | 9 | $53,927 | — |
| Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness | 98 | $53,736 | #136 |
| Communication and Media Studies | 89 | $52,825 | #171 |
| Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities Management small degree count | 16 | $52,571 | — |
| Special Education and Teaching | 55 | $51,949 | #34 |
| Sociology small degree count | 19 | $50,984 | — |
| Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition Services small degree count | 12 | $50,836 | — |
| Psychology, General | 137 | $49,137 | #232 |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods | 147 | $48,662 | #125 |
| Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services small degree count | 16 | $48,495 | — |
| Social Work | 92 | $48,454 | #143 |
| English Language and Literature, General | 49 | $46,990 | #198 |
| History | 26 | $46,133 | #242 |
| Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities | 43 | $46,030 | — |
| Music small degree count | 19 | $42,481 | — |
| Fine and Studio Arts | 24 | $33,682 | #219 |
| Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering small degree count | 11 | Not reported | — |
| Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, General | 25 | Not reported | — |
| Philosophy small degree count | 6 | Not reported | — |
| Social Sciences, General small degree count | 7 | Not reported | — |
| Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft small degree count | 12 | Not reported | — |
| Design and Applied Arts small degree count | 10 | Not reported | — |
| Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other | 87 | Not reported | — |
| General Sales, Merchandising and Related Marketing Operations | 22 | Not reported | — |
| International Business small degree count | 15 | Not reported | — |

[Program data and definitions](#page-sources) · [How to evaluate program rankings](/analysis/college-program-rankings-how-to-actually-evaluate-programs/)

## What are the largest programs at Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania?

Ten largest programs by degrees awarded

**Business Administration, Management and Operations**
343

**Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing**
181

**Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods**
147

**Criminal Justice and Corrections**
147

**Psychology, General**
137

**Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness**
98

**Social Work**
92

**Communication and Media Studies**
89

**Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other**
87

**Security Science and Technology**
84

Counts describe degrees awarded in the reporting period, not current enrollment. [Program data and definitions](#page-sources)

## How do Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania majors rank nationally?

### National program rankings

1.  Security Science and Technology**#2**
2.  Health/Medical Preparatory Programs**#3**
3.  Communication Disorders Sciences and Services**#25**
4.  Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management**#28**
5.  Special Education and Teaching**#34**
6.  Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences**#40**
7.  Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions**#49**
8.  Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods Included by program size**#125**
9.  Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing Included by program size**#166**
10.  Business Administration, Management and Operations Included by program size**#207**

Programs ranked in the national top 50, supplemented by the largest ranked programs when needed to show ten. Fewer appear when fewer ranks are reported. Each rank compares bachelor’s programs in the same field; field sizes differ.

[How Azimuth compares programs across colleges](/analysis/college-program-rankings-how-to-actually-evaluate-programs/)

## Further analysis

Field choice shapes outcomes at Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania, where [Azimuth ranks](/analysis/college-program-rankings-how-to-actually-evaluate-programs/) 22 programs by four-year earnings among federally aided completers, median debt, and cohort size rather than reputation. Earnings data are published for 38 programs.

Award counts here are degrees conferred in one academic year, not a count of students. The degree mix is led by Health Professions, which accounts for 19.1% of bachelor's degrees awarded, followed by Business at 18.1% and Security & Protective Services at 9.8%.

The largest single program is Business Administration and Management, with 343 degrees awarded and median earnings of $64,030 four years after completion, placing it #207 nationally in its field. The highest-earning program among the largest five is Nursing, where graduates earn $89,958 and Azimuth ranks the program #166 nationally.

A smaller program, Security Science and Technology, holds the university's strongest national rank at #2 in its field, with earnings of $73,289 from 84 degrees awarded. The spread between the largest program's earnings and the best-ranked program's earnings is a reminder that field choice and outcomes are closely tied.

## Data & methodology

A missing figure does not mean zero. Sources and reporting periods: [methodology](/methodology/).

Analysis and methodology by [Daniel Rogers](/about/#founder), founder of College Azimuth.

Explanatory text is AI-assisted drafting checked against those figures; it is not an additional data source.

Figure notes link to sources and limitations. [About College Azimuth](/about/).
