1.  [College research](/)
2.  /
3.  [Missouri Western State University](/school/missouri-western-state-university/)
4.  /
5.  Programs & majors brief

Programs & majors brief

Copy linkPrint brief

# Missouri Western State University Majors & Programs

Updated September 27, 2026

[Overview](/school/missouri-western-state-university/)[Cost & aid](/school/missouri-western-state-university/cost/)[Outcomes](/school/missouri-western-state-university/outcomes/)[Admissions](/school/missouri-western-state-university/admissions/)Majors

**On this page**+

## Which majors earn the most at Missouri Western State University?

At Missouri Western State University, earnings differ across fields, so the higher-earning options in this group sit apart from its more moderate entries four years after completion. Nursing has median earnings of $74,875 and 104 degrees awarded.

Computer and Information Sciences follows with $68,405 in median earnings and 5 degrees awarded. Finance records median earnings of $67,011 across 17 degrees awarded, placing it between the leading fields and the more moderate end of this selection.

Accounting posts $60,025 with 26 degrees awarded. The contrast shows that field choice matters within the university’s earnings picture.

### Major mix · each dot ≈ 1% of completions

Share of reported completions in the bachelor’s programs included here. Each dot represents approximately 1% of those completions. Counts are credentials, not unique students; excluded programs are not zero activity.

-   Health professions**126 · 19.0%**
-   Business**101 · 15.2%**
-   Parks and recreation**60 · 9.0%**
-   Interdisciplinary studies**57 · 8.6%**
-   Education**50 · 7.5%**
-   Other**269 · 40.6%**

Find a field

Sort programsLargest programsHighest four-year earningsBest national field rankProgram name

32 of 32 programs shown

Four-year earnings · first six matching programs

**Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing 104 degrees awarded**
$74,875

**Computer and Information Sciences, General 5 degrees awarded**
$68,405

**Finance and Financial Management Services 17 degrees awarded**
$67,011

**Business Administration, Management and Operations 40 degrees awarded**
$62,581

**Accounting and Related Services 26 degrees awarded**
$60,025

**Marketing 18 degrees awarded**
$57,015

Each bar is a field’s median. Program size counts degrees awarded, not unique people or the earnings sample.

Compare all matching programs

Reported bachelor’s programs · earnings, program size and field ranks

| Program | Degrees awarded | 4-yr earnings | Field rank |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing | 104 | $74,875 | — |
| Computer and Information Sciences, General small degree count | 5 | $68,405 | — |
| Finance and Financial Management Services small degree count | 17 | $67,011 | — |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | 40 | $62,581 | — |
| Accounting and Related Services | 26 | $60,025 | — |
| Marketing small degree count | 18 | $57,015 | — |
| Communication and Media Studies small degree count | 15 | $55,059 | — |
| Biology, General | 37 | $53,505 | — |
| Criminal Justice and Corrections | 32 | $52,709 | — |
| Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | 57 | $51,174 | — |
| Health and Medical Administrative Services small degree count | 12 | $48,596 | — |
| Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities Management small degree count | 10 | $47,177 | — |
| Psychology, General | 28 | $46,402 | — |
| Wildlife and Wildlands Science and Management small degree count | 15 | $46,342 | — |
| Social Work small degree count | 16 | $46,187 | — |
| Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness | 50 | $45,251 | — |
| Design and Applied Arts small degree count | 16 | $41,728 | — |
| History small degree count | 17 | $40,716 | — |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods | 32 | $39,163 | — |
| Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication small degree count | 9 | Not reported | — |
| Graphic Communications small degree count | 9 | Not reported | — |
| Computer Science small degree count | 16 | Not reported | — |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas small degree count | 18 | Not reported | — |
| Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians small degree count | 9 | Not reported | — |
| English Language and Literature, General small degree count | 6 | Not reported | — |
| Mathematics small degree count | 5 | Not reported | — |
| Chemistry small degree count | 6 | Not reported | — |
| Economics small degree count | 5 | Not reported | — |
| Film/Video and Photographic Arts small degree count | 9 | Not reported | — |
| Music small degree count | 9 | Not reported | — |
| Fine and Studio Arts small degree count | 5 | Not reported | — |
| Public Health small degree count | 10 | Not reported | — |

[Program data and definitions](#page-sources) · [How to evaluate program rankings](/analysis/college-program-rankings-how-to-actually-evaluate-programs/)

## What are the largest programs at Missouri Western State University?

Ten largest programs by degrees awarded

**Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing**
104

**Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other**
57

**Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness**
50

**Business Administration, Management and Operations**
40

**Biology, General**
37

**Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods**
32

**Criminal Justice and Corrections**
32

**Psychology, General**
28

**Accounting and Related Services**
26

**Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas**
18

Counts describe degrees awarded in the reporting period, not current enrollment. [Program data and definitions](#page-sources)

## How do Missouri Western State University majors rank nationally?

National program ranks are not reported for this school.

[How Azimuth compares programs across colleges](/analysis/college-program-rankings-how-to-actually-evaluate-programs/)

## Further analysis

Missouri Western State University has 19 programs with published earnings data, and the numbers show that the choice of field matters here. Health Professions leads the degree mix at 19.0% of bachelor's degrees awarded, with Business next at 15.2% and Parks, Recreation & Fitness at 9.0%.

The largest single program, Nursing, awarded 104 degrees and its completers earn a median of $74,875 four years after completion. Computer and Information Sciences completers earn a median of $68,405 four years after completion, but the program is small at 5 degrees awarded.

Award counts are degrees conferred in one academic year, and program earnings cover federally aided completers. Across all fields, 10.5% of degrees are in STEM.

## Data & methodology

A missing figure does not mean zero. Sources and reporting periods: [methodology](/methodology/).

Analysis and methodology by [Daniel Rogers](/about/#founder), founder of College Azimuth.

Explanatory text is AI-assisted drafting checked against those figures; it is not an additional data source.

Figure notes link to sources and limitations. [About College Azimuth](/about/).
