Best Colleges in Louisiana (2026)
Updated
Best Colleges in Louisiana lists 26 four-year nonprofit institutions in Louisiana. Schools are ordered by Azimuth's overall score for Louisiana, highest first.
The score combines four pillars, weighted 30% return, 30% mobility, 20% access and 20% affordability, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College ranks 1st on this list and reports $66,893 in median earnings for its graduates four years after completing.
Of the 26 schools, 16 are public and 10 are private. Louisiana State University-Shreveport posts the lowest average net price at $7,022, while Tulane University of Louisiana shows the highest six-year completion rate at 86%.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Median earnings, 4 years after completion | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College · Baton Rouge, LA | $66,893 | $19,151 | $13,056 | 73.3% |
| Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College ranks 1st on this list and 81st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with median earnings of $66,893 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 2 | University of Louisiana at Lafayette · Lafayette, LA | $58,638 | $13,530 | $11,157 | 87.0% |
| Graduates of University of Louisiana at Lafayette earn a median of $58,638 four years after completing, and the school reports an average net price of $13,530. | |||||
| 3 | Southern University and A & M College · Baton Rouge, LA | $54,666 | $20,077 | $19,047 | 35.1% |
| Southern University and A & M College admits 35% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 27%. | |||||
| 4 | University of New Orleans · New Orleans, LA | $56,037 | $12,384 | $11,532 | 74.3% |
| University of New Orleans reports median earnings of $56,037 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $11,532 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 5 | Louisiana Tech University · Ruston, LA | $61,520 | $11,864 | $7,676 | 86.4% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 64%, Louisiana Tech University also shows median earnings of $61,520 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 6 | Grambling State University · Grambling, LA | $47,043 | $19,809 | $18,666 | 44.9% |
| Grambling State University ranks 6th on this list and reports an average net price of $18,666 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 7 | Southeastern Louisiana University · Hammond, LA | $50,215 | $13,154 | $10,507 | 99.3% |
| Southeastern Louisiana University admits 99% of applicants, and its graduates earn a median of $50,215 four years after completing. | |||||
| 8 | Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-New Orleans · New Orleans, LA | $81,234 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-New Orleans reports median earnings of $81,234 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 9 | University of Louisiana at Monroe · Monroe, LA | $53,715 | $13,466 | $11,490 | 84.8% |
| University of Louisiana at Monroe posts a six-year completion rate of 54% and an average net price of $13,466. | |||||
| 10 | Northwestern State University of Louisiana · Natchitoches, LA | $56,762 | $13,606 | $11,693 | 92.5% |
| Northwestern State University of Louisiana admits 93% of applicants and reports median earnings of $56,762 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 11 | Louisiana State University at Alexandria · Alexandria, LA | $51,983 | $7,065 | $5,008 | 92.1% |
| Louisiana State University at Alexandria carries an average net price of $7,065, and its graduates earn a median of $51,983 four years after completing. | |||||
| 12 | McNeese State University · Lake Charles, LA | $53,563 | $12,493 | $10,482 | 78.3% |
| McNeese State University reports a six-year completion rate of 47% and an average net price of $10,482 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 13 | Nicholls State University · Thibodaux, LA | $51,767 | $12,947 | $10,714 | 90.8% |
| Nicholls State University reports median earnings of $51,767 for its graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $12,947. | |||||
| 14 | Louisiana State University-Shreveport · Shreveport, LA | $51,673 | $7,022 | $5,680 | 50.6% |
| With an average net price of $7,022, Louisiana State University-Shreveport is the lowest on this list and admits 51% of applicants. | |||||
| 15 | Xavier University of Louisiana · New Orleans, LA | $49,328 | $17,127 | $14,405 | 69.0% |
| Xavier University of Louisiana ranks 15th on this list and shows a six-year completion rate of 49%. | |||||
| 16 | New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary · New Orleans, LA | $59,131 | $10,829 | $10,829 | Not reported |
| Graduates of New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary earn a median of $59,131 four years after completing, and the school posts a six-year completion rate of 74%. | |||||
| 17 | Dillard University · New Orleans, LA | $48,421 | $22,094 | $19,819 | 41.9% |
| Dillard University admits 42% of applicants and carries an average net price of $22,094. | |||||
| 18 | University of Holy Cross · New Orleans, LA | $62,842 | $15,635 | $14,202 | 73.7% |
| University of Holy Cross reports median earnings of $62,842 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 49%. | |||||
| 19 | Louisiana Christian University · Pineville, LA | $53,861 | $13,113 | $13,203 | 77.2% |
| Louisiana Christian University ranks 19th on this list and has an average net price of $13,203 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 20 | Tulane University of Louisiana · New Orleans, LA | $73,816 | $39,949 | $16,126 | 14.0% |
| Tulane University of Louisiana admits 14% of applicants, the most selective rate on the page, and graduates 86% of its students within six years. | |||||
| 21 | Franciscan Missionaries of Our Lady University · Baton Rouge, LA | $63,699 | $18,552 | $17,014 | 98.7% |
| Franciscan Missionaries of Our Lady University reports median earnings of $63,699 for its graduates four years after completing and an admission rate of 99%. | |||||
| 22 | Southern University at New Orleans · New Orleans, LA | $47,240 | $14,810 | $14,771 | 78.9% |
| Southern University at New Orleans ranks 22nd on this list and shows a six-year completion rate of 13%. | |||||
| 23 | Loyola University New Orleans · New Orleans, LA | $52,459 | $23,696 | $20,131 | 93.1% |
| Loyola University New Orleans admits 93% of applicants and reports median earnings of $52,459 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 24 | Centenary College of Louisiana · Shreveport, LA | $49,479 | $23,624 | $19,493 | 55.7% |
| Centenary College of Louisiana posts a six-year completion rate of 56% and an average net price of $23,624. | |||||
| 25 | Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-Shreveport · Shreveport, LA | $76,380 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-Shreveport ranks 25th on this list and reports median earnings of $76,380 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 26 | Saint Joseph Seminary College · St. Benedict, LA | $44,996 | $45,460 | $42,549 | Not reported |
| Saint Joseph Seminary College, a private nonprofit institution in St. Benedict, has a six-year completion rate of 48% and an average net price of $45,460. | |||||
How this list is ordered
Schools are ordered by Azimuth's overall score for Louisiana, highest first. The score combines four pillars, weighted 30% return, 30% mobility, 20% access and 20% affordability, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. The earnings figures cited for each school are the median earnings of its federally aided completers across all fields, measured four years after completing, among those who were working and not enrolled. The list does not adjust for cost or for differences in who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College reports median earnings of $66,893 for its graduates, while University of Louisiana at Lafayette reports $58,638. The list includes 16 public and 10 private nonprofit institutions.