Best Colleges in Pennsylvania (2026)
Updated
The Best Colleges in Pennsylvania list ranks 88 four-year institutions across the Pennsylvania. Schools are ordered by Azimuth's overall score for Pennsylvania, highest first.
The score combines four pillars, weighted 30% return, 30% mobility, 20% access and 20% affordability, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. University of Pennsylvania ranks 1st on this list and reports $124,586 in median earnings for its graduates four years after completing.
Of the 88 schools listed, 14 are public and 74 are private nonprofit, a 16% public share. Holy Family University posts the lowest average net price at $13,143, while University of Pennsylvania ranks 52nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Median earnings, 4 years after completion | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Pennsylvania · Philadelphia, PA | $124,586 | $28,699 | -$3,012* | 5.4% |
| University of Pennsylvania ranks 1st on this list and posts a six-year completion rate of 97%. | |||||
| 2 | Carnegie Mellon University · Pittsburgh, PA | $132,971 | $31,944 | $9,097 | 11.7% |
| Graduates of Carnegie Mellon University earn a median of $132,971 four years after completing, and the school reports an average net price of $9,097 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 3 | Temple University · Philadelphia, PA | $67,232 | $28,198 | $22,694 | 80.4% |
| Temple University, a public university in Philadelphia, admits 80% of applicants and ranks 125th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 4 | Lehigh University · Bethlehem, PA | $101,748 | $36,931 | $16,917 | 25.9% |
| Lehigh University reports median earnings of $101,748 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $36,931. | |||||
| 5 | Drexel University · Philadelphia, PA | $91,041 | $38,509 | $28,055 | 79.4% |
| Ranking 5th on this list, Drexel University shows a six-year completion rate of 78% and an admission rate of 79%. | |||||
| 6 | Thomas Jefferson University · Philadelphia, PA | $87,195 | $28,928 | $22,537 | 81.0% |
| Thomas Jefferson University reports an average net price of $22,537 for families earning under $30,000, and its graduates earn a median of $87,195 four years after completing. | |||||
| 7 | Holy Family University · Philadelphia, PA | $82,892 | $13,143 | $9,721 | 71.0% |
| With an average net price of $13,143, Holy Family University ranks 192nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 8 | Villanova University · Villanova, PA | $104,228 | $43,756 | $17,823 | 27.0% |
| Villanova University admits 27% of applicants and its graduates earn a median of $104,228 four years after completing. | |||||
| 9 | Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus · University Park, PA | $76,659 | $32,875 | $19,845 | 60.6% |
| Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus reports a six-year completion rate of 86% and an average net price of $19,845 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 10 | Bucknell University · Lewisburg, PA | $96,035 | $40,766 | $20,980 | 28.9% |
| Graduates of Bucknell University earn a median of $96,035 four years after completing, and the school ranks 395th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 11 | Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania · Bloomsburg, PA | $58,676 | $15,699 | $11,374 | 93.1% |
| Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania, a public university in Bloomsburg, admits 93% of applicants and reports an average net price of $15,699. | |||||
| 12 | West Chester University of Pennsylvania · West Chester, PA | $64,804 | $23,331 | $17,018 | 78.4% |
| Ranking 12th on this list, West Chester University of Pennsylvania shows median earnings of $64,804 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 13 | Lafayette College · Easton, PA | $91,758 | $34,433 | $12,716 | 31.5% |
| Lafayette College reports median earnings of $91,758 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $34,433. | |||||
| 14 | Swarthmore College · Swarthmore, PA | $65,618 | $23,149 | $7,690 | 7.5% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 92%, Swarthmore College admits 7% of applicants and ranks 427th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 15 | East Stroudsburg University of Pennsylvania · East Stroudsburg, PA | $56,971 | $18,134 | $15,365 | 92.1% |
| East Stroudsburg University of Pennsylvania has an average net price of $15,365 for families earning under $30,000, and its graduates across all fields earn a median of $56,971 four years after completing. | |||||
| 16 | University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus · Pittsburgh, PA | $73,701 | $30,434 | $14,709 | 58.1% |
| University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus ranks 16th on this list, with a six-year completion rate of 86% and median earnings of $73,701 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 17 | Franklin and Marshall College · Lancaster, PA | $74,391 | $36,425 | $12,321 | 28.2% |
| A private nonprofit institution in Lancaster, Franklin and Marshall College reports an average net price of $12,321 for families earning under $30,000 and an admission rate of 28%. | |||||
| 18 | Haverford College · Haverford, PA | $64,523 | $25,314 | $7,531 | 12.4% |
| Haverford College graduates earn a median of $64,523 four years after completing, and the college posts an average net price of $25,314 alongside a 90% six-year completion rate. | |||||
| 19 | Widener University · Chester, PA | $80,946 | $25,759 | $21,200 | 70.9% |
| Widener University reports median earnings of $80,946 for its graduates four years after completing, and ranks 537th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 20 | Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania · Slippery Rock, PA | $57,301 | $19,608 | $12,555 | 71.5% |
| With an admission rate of 71%, Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania posts a six-year completion rate of 66% and an average net price of $12,555 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 21 | Indiana University of Pennsylvania · Indiana, PA | $57,450 | $16,804 | $12,364 | 90.8% |
| Indiana University of Pennsylvania ranks 21st on this list, and its graduates across all fields earn a median of $57,450 four years after completing. | |||||
| 22 | Gwynedd Mercy University · Gwynedd Valley, PA | $89,170 | $27,483 | $21,995 | 89.6% |
| Gwynedd Mercy University admits 90% of applicants and reports an average net price of $27,483, with a six-year completion rate of 57%. | |||||
| 23 | Pennsylvania Western University · California, PA | $54,553 | $18,256 | $13,944 | 94.3% |
| Graduates of Pennsylvania Western University earn a median of $54,553 four years after completing, and the university has an average net price of $13,944 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 24 | La Salle University · Philadelphia, PA | $70,254 | $19,409 | $16,545 | 96.6% |
| La Salle University ranks 609th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its graduates across all fields earn a median of $70,254 four years after completing. | |||||
| 25 | Neumann University · Aston, PA | $72,633 | $27,804 | $24,467 | 81.3% |
| Neumann University reports median earnings of $72,633 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $27,804. | |||||
| 26 | Cheyney University of Pennsylvania · Cheyney, PA | $49,989 | $14,265 | $13,585 | Not reported |
| With a six-year completion rate of 41%, Cheyney University of Pennsylvania ranks 26th on this list and carries an average net price of $13,585 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 27 | Carlow University · Pittsburgh, PA | $67,381 | $20,786 | $17,901 | 87.0% |
| Carlow University admits 87% of applicants and shows median earnings of $67,381 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 28 | Saint Joseph's University - Philadelphia · Philadelphia, PA | $84,010 | $29,689 | $22,570 | 88.8% |
| Saint Joseph's University - Philadelphia posts a six-year completion rate of 79% and an average net price of $29,689. | |||||
| 29 | Kutztown University of Pennsylvania · Kutztown, PA | $55,608 | $21,331 | $15,957 | 90.8% |
| Graduates of Kutztown University of Pennsylvania earn a median of $55,608 four years after completing, and the school admits 91% of applicants. | |||||
| 30 | University of Scranton · Scranton, PA | $79,409 | $32,568 | $23,896 | 81.2% |
| University of Scranton ranks 30th on this list, with median earnings of $79,409 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 31 | Lincoln University · Lincoln University, PA | $50,871 | $14,977 | $14,011 | 65.7% |
| An average net price of $14,011 for families earning under $30,000 coincides with a six-year completion rate of 44% at Lincoln University. | |||||
| 32 | Millersville University of Pennsylvania · Millersville, PA | $57,515 | $20,787 | $14,565 | 86.2% |
| Millersville University of Pennsylvania reports median earnings of $57,515 for its graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $20,787. | |||||
| 33 | Gettysburg College · Gettysburg, PA | $72,658 | $31,490 | $13,625 | 38.9% |
| With an admission rate of 39%, Gettysburg College graduates 83% of its students within six years. | |||||
| 34 | Dickinson College · Carlisle, PA | $67,139 | $37,607 | $40,755 | 42.1% |
| Dickinson College shows an average net price of $40,755 for families earning under $30,000 and median earnings of $67,139 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 35 | Shippensburg University of Pennsylvania · Shippensburg, PA | $59,882 | $23,726 | $18,709 | 86.5% |
| Shippensburg University of Pennsylvania admits 86% of applicants and reports a six-year completion rate of 56%. | |||||
| 36 | Albright College · Reading, PA | $57,502 | $20,024 | $16,345 | 76.3% |
| Graduates of Albright College earn a median of $57,502 four years after completing, and the school carries an average net price of $20,024. | |||||
| 37 | Alvernia University · Reading, PA | $67,275 | $28,138 | $23,436 | 58.1% |
| Alvernia University reports median earnings of $67,275 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $28,138. | |||||
| 38 | York College of Pennsylvania · York, PA | $65,789 | $18,556 | $12,927 | 73.7% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 64%, York College of Pennsylvania admits 74% of applicants. | |||||
| 39 | Cedar Crest College · Allentown, PA | $67,546 | $18,659 | $21,044 | 84.1% |
| Cedar Crest College ranks 39th on this list and shows an average net price of $21,044 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 40 | Chatham University · Pittsburgh, PA | $65,078 | $29,954 | $22,675 | 62.0% |
| Chatham University posts median earnings of $65,078 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 63%. | |||||
| 41 | Harrisburg University of Science and Technology · Harrisburg, PA | $55,281 | $15,376 | $12,637 | 87.4% |
| Harrisburg University of Science and Technology has an admission rate of 87% and an average net price of $15,376. | |||||
| 42 | Wilkes University · Wilkes-Barre, PA | $69,197 | $27,743 | $25,062 | 90.6% |
| Graduates of Wilkes University earn a median of $69,197 four years after completing, and the school admits 91% of applicants. | |||||
| 43 | Saint Francis University · Loretto, PA | $73,068 | $23,526 | $21,906 | 76.8% |
| Saint Francis University reports a six-year completion rate of 74% and median earnings of $73,068 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 44 | Immaculata University · Immaculata, PA | $72,836 | $24,258 | $20,539 | 85.8% |
| Immaculata University ranks 923rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with an average net price of $24,258. | |||||
| 45 | Washington & Jefferson College · Washington, PA | $66,045 | $25,002 | $15,265 | 80.6% |
| Washington & Jefferson College shows an average net price of $15,265 for families earning under $30,000 and a six-year completion rate of 70%. | |||||
| 46 | King's College · Wilkes-Barre, PA | $67,122 | $23,093 | $17,283 | 93.1% |
| King's College admits 93% of applicants and reports median earnings of $67,122 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 47 | DeSales University · Center Valley, PA | $74,078 | $31,643 | $24,007 | 77.1% |
| DeSales University posts median earnings of $74,078 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $31,643. | |||||
| 48 | Robert Morris University · Moon Township, PA | $70,755 | $23,003 | $19,548 | 89.9% |
| Robert Morris University has a six-year completion rate of 66% and an admission rate of 90%. | |||||
| 49 | Marywood University · Scranton, PA | $60,125 | $23,388 | $18,941 | 60.6% |
| Marywood University reports median earnings of $60,125 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $23,388. | |||||
| 50 | Moravian University · Bethlehem, PA | $67,097 | $30,670 | $24,609 | 54.2% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 72%, Moravian University ranks 50th on this list and posts an admission rate of 54%. | |||||
| 51 | Duquesne University · Pittsburgh, PA | $74,665 | $37,730 | $29,986 | 83.6% |
| Duquesne University admits 84% of applicants and shows median earnings of $74,665 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 52 | Muhlenberg College · Allentown, PA | $65,650 | $28,905 | $12,302 | 72.0% |
| Muhlenberg College carries an average net price of $12,302 for families earning under $30,000, and its six-year completion rate is 82%. | |||||
| 53 | Gannon University · Erie, PA | $65,497 | $22,553 | $18,489 | 74.2% |
| Graduates of Gannon University earn a median of $65,497 four years after completing, and the school reports an average net price of $22,553. | |||||
| 54 | Chestnut Hill College · Philadelphia, PA | $55,964 | $27,970 | $28,011 | 74.5% |
| Chestnut Hill College ranks 54th on this list, with an admission rate of 74% and a six-year completion rate of 49%. | |||||
| 55 | Lycoming College · Williamsport, PA | $57,353 | $19,140 | $12,151 | 74.1% |
| Lycoming College shows median earnings of $57,353 for its graduates four years after completing, and its six-year completion rate is 60%. | |||||
| 56 | Lebanon Valley College · Annville, PA | $63,570 | $26,979 | $20,788 | 83.8% |
| With an average net price of $20,788 for families earning under $30,000, Lebanon Valley College admits 84% of applicants. | |||||
| 57 | Rosemont College · Rosemont, PA | $59,674 | $20,150 | $10,124 | 76.3% |
| Rosemont College reports median earnings of $59,674 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an admission rate of 76%. | |||||
| 58 | Mercyhurst University · Erie, PA | $57,293 | $19,444 | $22,626 | 81.0% |
| Mercyhurst University carries an average net price of $22,626 for families earning under $30,000, and its graduates earn a median of $57,293 four years after completing. | |||||
| 59 | Waynesburg University · Waynesburg, PA | $59,019 | $18,235 | $12,916 | 89.8% |
| Waynesburg University ranks 59th on this list, with a six-year completion rate of 66% and an average net price of $18,235. | |||||
| 60 | Allegheny College · Meadville, PA | $56,294 | $22,940 | $18,495 | 54.6% |
| Allegheny College admits 55% of applicants and reports median earnings of $56,294 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 61 | Eastern University · Saint Davids, PA | $54,681 | $26,662 | $26,557 | 90.8% |
| Eastern University admits 91% of applicants and reports median earnings of $54,681 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 62 | Westminster College · New Wilmington, PA | $54,065 | $19,859 | $15,226 | 92.6% |
| Graduates of Westminster College earn a median of $54,065 four years after completing, and the school's six-year completion rate stands at 65%. | |||||
| 63 | Misericordia University · Dallas, PA | $69,973 | $37,485 | $36,759 | 70.9% |
| Misericordia University ranks 63rd on this list and posts a median of $69,973 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 64 | Elizabethtown College · Elizabethtown, PA | $66,236 | $26,598 | $17,776 | 77.9% |
| With an average net price of $26,598, Elizabethtown College graduates 76% of its students within six years. | |||||
| 65 | Lancaster Bible College · Lancaster, PA | $44,774 | $25,480 | $24,486 | 55.9% |
| Lancaster Bible College reports an admission rate of 56% and an average net price of $24,486 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 66 | Arcadia University · Glenside, PA | $60,044 | $29,466 | $23,127 | 80.2% |
| Arcadia University ranks 1219th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with median earnings of $60,044 four years after completing. | |||||
| 67 | Seton Hill University · Greensburg, PA | $53,942 | $22,204 | $15,143 | 79.5% |
| Seton Hill University graduates earn a median of $53,942 four years after completing, and the school admits 80% of applicants. | |||||
| 68 | Curtis Institute of Music · Philadelphia, PA | $20,026 | Not reported | Not reported | 4.6% |
| Curtis Institute of Music admits just 5% of applicants and graduates 96% of its students within six years. | |||||
| 69 | Juniata College · Huntingdon, PA | $55,079 | $23,988 | $18,729 | 78.9% |
| Juniata College ranks 69th on this list and reports a six-year completion rate of 74%. | |||||
| 70 | Mount Aloysius College · Cresson, PA | $62,211 | $22,344 | $21,530 | 82.1% |
| Mount Aloysius College posts an average net price of $22,344 and median earnings of $62,211 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 71 | Point Park University · Pittsburgh, PA | $53,024 | $25,942 | $22,436 | 96.9% |
| Point Park University admits 97% of applicants and ranks 1284th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 72 | Saint Vincent College · Latrobe, PA | $56,796 | $23,510 | $17,249 | 61.7% |
| Saint Vincent College reports median earnings of $56,796 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $17,249 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 73 | Messiah University · Mechanicsburg, PA | $58,620 | $26,502 | $19,393 | 79.0% |
| Messiah University reports median earnings of $58,620 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 75%. | |||||
| 74 | Susquehanna University · Selinsgrove, PA | $58,506 | $28,819 | $19,757 | 81.4% |
| Susquehanna University admits 81% of applicants and shows an average net price of $28,819. | |||||
| 75 | Bryn Mawr College · Bryn Mawr, PA | $57,476 | $31,759 | $11,017 | 29.4% |
| Bryn Mawr College has an average net price of $11,017 for families earning under $30,000, and its graduates earn a median of $57,476 four years after completing. | |||||
| 76 | Geneva College · Beaver Falls, PA | $53,795 | $25,890 | $20,283 | Not reported |
| Geneva College ranks 1319th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with a six-year completion rate of 61%. | |||||
| 77 | Grove City College · Grove City, PA | $45,058 | Not reported | Not reported | 72.3% |
| Grove City College graduates 83% of its students within six years, and its graduates earn a median of $45,058 four years after completing. | |||||
| 78 | Ursinus College · Collegeville, PA | $65,033 | $30,536 | $20,622 | 91.8% |
| Ursinus College reports median earnings of $65,033 for its graduates four years after completing, and admits 92% of applicants. | |||||
| 79 | Thiel College · Greenville, PA | $51,262 | $22,347 | $17,247 | 71.6% |
| Thiel College has an average net price of $17,247 for families earning under $30,000, and its six-year completion rate is 49%. | |||||
| 80 | Pennsylvania College of Art and Design · Lancaster, PA | $38,846 | $30,083 | $24,547 | 99.2% |
| Pennsylvania College of Art and Design admits 99% of applicants and reports median earnings of $38,846 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 81 | Delaware Valley University · Doylestown, PA | $54,681 | $28,278 | $21,896 | 93.2% |
| Delaware Valley University has a six-year completion rate of 56% and an average net price of $28,278. | |||||
| 82 | Keystone College · La Plume, PA | $46,043 | $22,051 | $21,925 | 84.8% |
| Keystone College reports median earnings of $46,043 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $21,925 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 83 | La Roche University · Pittsburgh, PA | $57,880 | $20,794 | $16,152 | 75.8% |
| La Roche University has an average net price of $20,794 and a six-year completion rate of 57%. | |||||
| 84 | Cairn University-Langhorne · Langhorne, PA | $48,513 | $27,642 | $24,029 | 88.2% |
| Cairn University-Langhorne admits 88% of applicants and reports median earnings of $48,513 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 85 | University of Valley Forge · Phoenixville, PA | $45,455 | $32,265 | $30,614 | 61.2% |
| University of Valley Forge ranks 85th on this list and reports median earnings of $45,455 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 86 | Wilson College · Chambersburg, PA | $54,180 | $21,741 | $14,808 | 92.1% |
| Wilson College admits 92% of applicants and carries an average net price of $21,741. | |||||
| 87 | Moore College of Art and Design · Philadelphia, PA | $42,582 | $43,086 | $34,834 | 56.5% |
| Moore College of Art and Design posts a six-year completion rate of 57% alongside an average net price of $34,834 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 88 | Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts · Philadelphia, PA | $31,901 | $42,454 | $39,928 | Not reported |
| Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts holds an Azimuth composite rank of 1460th among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $31,901 four years after completing. | |||||
* Net price can be negative: when grants and scholarships exceed the listed cost of attendance, students can receive the difference as a refund for other expenses.
How this list is ordered
Schools are ordered by Azimuth's overall score for Pennsylvania, highest first. The score combines four pillars, weighted 30% return, 30% mobility, 20% access and 20% affordability, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. The score draws on institution-level earnings for federally aided completers who were working and not enrolled four years after completing, alongside measures of access, affordability and mobility. It does not measure fit or teaching quality. The list includes 14 public and 74 private nonprofit institutions. University of Pennsylvania ranks 1st on this list and 52nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, while Carnegie Mellon University follows at 2nd and 106th on the same ranking.