Programs & majors brief

Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania Majors & Programs

Updated

Which majors earn the most at Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania?

The largest programs at Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania show a wide earnings range, and the highest-paid fields are not the ones awarding the most degrees. Business Administration and Management is the biggest, with 343 degrees awarded and median earnings of $64,030 four years after completion.

Azimuth ranks it #207 nationally among nonprofit four-year institutions in its field. Nursing is the second-largest program and the highest-earning, with 181 degrees awarded and median earnings of $89,958.

Azimuth ranks it #166 nationally in its field. Criminal Justice awards 147 degrees and its graduates earn $55,909, with a national rank of #96.

At the more moderate end, Teacher Education and Psychology award 147 and 137 degrees, with earnings of $48,662 and $49,137. Azimuth ranks them #125 and #232 nationally. The earnings picture depends heavily on the field a student chooses.

Major mix · each dot ≈ 1% of completions

Share of reported completions in the bachelor’s programs included here. Each dot represents approximately 1% of those completions. Counts are credentials, not unique students; excluded programs are not zero activity.

  • Health professions451 · 19.1%
  • Business427 · 18.1%
  • Homeland security231 · 9.8%
  • Education202 · 8.6%
  • Communication145 · 6.1%
  • Other905 · 38.3%

47 of 47 programs shown

Four-year earnings · first six matching programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing 181 degrees awarded
$89,958
Computer Science 19 degrees awarded
$85,353
Public Health 9 degrees awarded
$75,679
Physics 5 degrees awarded
$73,703
Health/Medical Preparatory Programs 55 degrees awarded
$73,383
Security Science and Technology 84 degrees awarded
$73,289

Each bar is a field’s median. Program size counts degrees awarded, not unique people or the earnings sample.

Compare all matching programs
Reported bachelor’s programs · earnings, program size and field ranks
ProgramDegrees awarded4-yr earningsField rank
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing181$89,958#166
Computer Science small degree count19$85,353—
Public Health small degree count9$75,679—
Physics small degree count5$73,703—
Health/Medical Preparatory Programs55$73,383#3
Security Science and Technology84$73,289#2
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions42$70,181#49
Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management35$69,048#28
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services65$66,538#25
Accounting and Related Services47$66,300#245
Computer and Information Sciences, General small degree count15$64,063—
Business Administration, Management and Operations343$64,030#207
Chemistry small degree count12$63,088—
Economics small degree count14$62,798—
Mathematics small degree count14$62,779—
Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences43$60,075#40
American Sign Language small degree count18$59,134—
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication56$56,381#63
Political Science and Government27$56,161#246
Natural Resources Conservation and Research small degree count12$56,107—
Criminal Justice and Corrections147$55,909#96
Biology, General72$53,988#290
Anthropology small degree count9$53,927—
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness98$53,736#136
Communication and Media Studies89$52,825#171
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities Management small degree count16$52,571—
Special Education and Teaching55$51,949#34
Sociology small degree count19$50,984—
Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition Services small degree count12$50,836—
Psychology, General137$49,137#232
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods147$48,662#125
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services small degree count16$48,495—
Social Work92$48,454#143
English Language and Literature, General49$46,990#198
History26$46,133#242
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities43$46,030—
Music small degree count19$42,481—
Fine and Studio Arts24$33,682#219
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering small degree count11Not reported—
Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, General25Not reported—
Philosophy small degree count6Not reported—
Social Sciences, General small degree count7Not reported—
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft small degree count12Not reported—
Design and Applied Arts small degree count10Not reported—
Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other87Not reported—
General Sales, Merchandising and Related Marketing Operations22Not reported—
International Business small degree count15Not reported—

Program data and definitions · How to evaluate program rankings

What are the largest programs at Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania?

Ten largest programs by degrees awarded
Business Administration, Management and Operations
343
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing
181
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods
147
Criminal Justice and Corrections
147
Psychology, General
137
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness
98
Social Work
92
Communication and Media Studies
89
Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other
87
Security Science and Technology
84

Counts describe degrees awarded in the reporting period, not current enrollment. Program data and definitions

How do Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania majors rank nationally?

National program rankings

  1. Security Science and Technology#2
  2. Health/Medical Preparatory Programs#3
  3. Communication Disorders Sciences and Services#25
  4. Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management#28
  5. Special Education and Teaching#34
  6. Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences#40
  7. Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions#49
  8. Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods Included by program size#125
  9. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing Included by program size#166
  10. Business Administration, Management and Operations Included by program size#207

Programs ranked in the national top 50, supplemented by the largest ranked programs when needed to show ten. Fewer appear when fewer ranks are reported. Each rank compares bachelor’s programs in the same field; field sizes differ.

How Azimuth compares programs across colleges

Further analysis

Field choice shapes outcomes at Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania, where Azimuth ranks 22 programs by four-year earnings among federally aided completers, median debt, and cohort size rather than reputation. Earnings data are published for 38 programs.

Award counts here are degrees conferred in one academic year, not a count of students. The degree mix is led by Health Professions, which accounts for 19.1% of bachelor's degrees awarded, followed by Business at 18.1% and Security & Protective Services at 9.8%.

The largest single program is Business Administration and Management, with 343 degrees awarded and median earnings of $64,030 four years after completion, placing it #207 nationally in its field. The highest-earning program among the largest five is Nursing, where graduates earn $89,958 and Azimuth ranks the program #166 nationally.

A smaller program, Security Science and Technology, holds the university's strongest national rank at #2 in its field, with earnings of $73,289 from 84 degrees awarded. The spread between the largest program's earnings and the best-ranked program's earnings is a reminder that field choice and outcomes are closely tied.

Data & methodology

A missing figure does not mean zero. Sources and reporting periods: methodology.

Analysis and methodology by Daniel Rogers, founder of College Azimuth.

Explanatory text is AI-assisted drafting checked against those figures; it is not an additional data source.

Figure notes link to sources and limitations. About College Azimuth.