Best Colleges in the West (2026)
Updated
Best Colleges in the West lists 192 four-year institutions in the West. Schools are ordered by Azimuth's overall score for the West, highest first.
The score combines four pillars, weighted 30% return, 30% mobility, 20% access and 20% affordability, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. University of California-San Diego ranks 1st on this list, with median earnings of $83,130 for its graduates four years after completing. The list includes 87 public and 105 private nonprofit schools.
University of California-San Diego ranks 1st on Azimuth's composite ranking among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally. San Diego Christian College posts the lowest average net price at $992, and California Institute of Technology reports the highest six-year completion rate at 94%.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Median earnings, 4 years after completion | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of California-San Diego · La Jolla, CA | $83,130 | $12,470 | $7,525 | 26.7% |
| University of California-San Diego reports median earnings of $83,130 for its graduates four years after completing, and ranks 1st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 2 | California State University-Los Angeles · Los Angeles, CA | $59,756 | $3,967 | $2,877 | 91.3% |
| With an admission rate of 91%, California State University-Los Angeles admits a small share of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 53%. | |||||
| 3 | University of California-Berkeley · Berkeley, CA | $96,018 | $13,481 | $5,311 | 11.0% |
| University of California-Berkeley carries an average net price of $13,481, and its graduates earn a median of $96,018 four years after completing. | |||||
| 4 | California State University-Long Beach · Long Beach, CA | $63,140 | $10,440 | $7,183 | 46.3% |
| Graduates of California State University-Long Beach earn a median of $63,140 four years after completing, and the school admits 46% of applicants. | |||||
| 5 | California State University-Fullerton · Fullerton, CA | $63,753 | $6,555 | $3,315 | 90.5% |
| California State University-Fullerton reports a six-year completion rate of 70% and an average net price of $6,555. | |||||
| 6 | California State University-Northridge · Northridge, CA | $59,664 | $7,021 | $4,905 | 93.5% |
| Ranking 6th on this list, California State University-Northridge shows median earnings of $59,664 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 7 | California State University-Sacramento · Sacramento, CA | $64,511 | $9,338 | $6,501 | 94.0% |
| California State University-Sacramento admits 94% of applicants and its graduates earn a median of $64,511 four years after completing. | |||||
| 8 | University of California-Irvine · Irvine, CA | $74,438 | $14,251 | $8,123 | 28.6% |
| University of California-Irvine posts a six-year completion rate of 87% and an average net price of $14,251. | |||||
| 9 | California State Polytechnic University-Pomona · Pomona, CA | $71,138 | $11,531 | $7,851 | 75.2% |
| Graduates of California State Polytechnic University-Pomona earn a median of $71,138 four years after completing, and the school admits 75% of applicants. | |||||
| 10 | University of California-Davis · Davis, CA | $73,086 | $14,741 | $9,211 | 41.8% |
| University of California-Davis reports an average net price of $14,741 and a six-year completion rate of 86%. | |||||
| 11 | Arizona State University Campus Immersion · Tempe, AZ | $66,968 | $14,967 | $9,070 | 89.9% |
| Ranking 11th on this list, Arizona State University Campus Immersion shows median earnings of $66,968 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 12 | University of California-Los Angeles · Los Angeles, CA | $77,677 | $12,548 | $5,579 | 9.0% |
| University of California-Los Angeles admits 9% of applicants and its graduates earn a median of $77,677 four years after completing. | |||||
| 13 | San Jose State University · San Jose, CA | $89,614 | $13,760 | $9,730 | 84.6% |
| San Jose State University reports median earnings of $89,614 for its graduates four years after completing, and its six-year completion rate stands at 69%. | |||||
| 14 | California State University-Fresno · Fresno, CA | $59,992 | $7,000 | $5,105 | 95.3% |
| With an average net price of $7,000, California State University-Fresno admits 95% of applicants and ranks 26th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 15 | Brigham Young University · Provo, UT | $77,018 | $15,564 | $10,444 | 67.8% |
| Brigham Young University, a private nonprofit university in Provo, graduates 81% of its students within six years and reports median earnings of $77,018 four years after completing. | |||||
| 16 | Stanford University · Stanford, CA | $136,959 | $13,807 | -$2,536* | 3.6% |
| Stanford University admits 4% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 92%, alongside median earnings of $136,959 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 17 | University of California-Riverside · Riverside, CA | $64,926 | $14,304 | $8,852 | 76.4% |
| University of California-Riverside ranks 17th on this list, with an admission rate of 76% and an average net price of $8,852 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 18 | San Diego State University · San Diego, CA | $68,268 | $15,364 | $9,910 | 36.2% |
| Graduates of San Diego State University earn a median of $68,268 four years after completing, and the school's six-year completion rate is 76%. | |||||
| 19 | California State University-San Bernardino · San Bernardino, CA | $55,441 | $4,564 | $2,681 | 93.7% |
| California State University-San Bernardino carries an average net price of $4,564, and its graduates across all fields earn a median of $55,441 four years after completing. | |||||
| 20 | California State University-Dominguez Hills · Carson, CA | $58,922 | $8,615 | $7,303 | 93.3% |
| An admission rate of 93% and a six-year completion rate of 43% accompany median earnings of $58,922 for graduates of California State University-Dominguez Hills four years after completing. | |||||
| 21 | San Francisco State University · San Francisco, CA | $67,804 | $12,278 | $9,341 | 96.4% |
| San Francisco State University ranks 51st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its graduates earn a median of $67,804 four years after completing. | |||||
| 22 | California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo · San Luis Obispo, CA | $90,662 | $16,665 | $7,529 | 31.3% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 86%, California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo admits 31% of applicants and reports median earnings of $90,662 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 23 | California State University-San Marcos · San Marcos, CA | $67,891 | $10,229 | $6,230 | 95.1% |
| California State University-San Marcos reports an average net price of $6,230 for families earning under $30,000, and its graduates earn a median of $67,891 four years after completing. | |||||
| 24 | University of California-Santa Barbara · Santa Barbara, CA | $70,323 | $16,109 | $9,231 | 33.0% |
| Graduates across all fields at University of California-Santa Barbara earn a median of $70,323 four years after completing, and the school admits 33% of applicants. | |||||
| 25 | California State University-East Bay · Hayward, CA | $72,596 | $9,320 | $6,360 | 97.4% |
| California State University-East Bay reports median earnings of $72,596 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $9,320. | |||||
| 26 | University of Washington-Seattle Campus · Seattle, WA | $82,515 | $14,091 | $6,384 | 39.2% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 85%, University of Washington-Seattle Campus ranks 26th on this list and shows median earnings of $82,515 four years after completing. | |||||
| 27 | University of Arizona · Tucson, AZ | $67,420 | $16,674 | $13,353 | 86.1% |
| University of Arizona admits 86% of applicants and posts an average net price of $13,353 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 28 | University of Nevada-Las Vegas · Las Vegas, NV | $62,637 | $10,359 | $8,526 | 96.2% |
| An average net price of $10,359 coincides with a six-year completion rate of 51% at University of Nevada-Las Vegas. | |||||
| 29 | California State University-Stanislaus · Turlock, CA | $58,952 | $6,067 | $3,938 | 98.1% |
| Graduates of California State University-Stanislaus earn a median of $58,952 four years after completing, and the school reports an average net price of $6,067. | |||||
| 30 | California State University-Bakersfield · Bakersfield, CA | $59,109 | $5,652 | $3,536 | 93.9% |
| California State University-Bakersfield graduates 50% of its students within six years and reports an average net price of $3,536 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 31 | California State University-Chico · Chico, CA | $65,228 | $14,480 | $9,902 | 92.7% |
| Median earnings of $65,228 four years after completing accompany a six-year completion rate of 63% at California State University-Chico. | |||||
| 32 | University of Southern California · Los Angeles, CA | $95,739 | $32,740 | $13,516 | 9.8% |
| A private nonprofit university in Los Angeles, University of Southern California admits 10% of applicants and reports median earnings of $95,739 four years after completing. | |||||
| 33 | University of Utah · Salt Lake City, UT | $75,345 | $16,200 | $13,123 | 86.0% |
| University of Utah posts a six-year completion rate of 65% and an average net price of $13,123 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 34 | California Institute of Technology · Pasadena, CA | $152,843 | $16,075 | -$2,133* | 2.6% |
| California Institute of Technology reports median earnings of $152,843 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 94%. | |||||
| 35 | University of California-Santa Cruz · Santa Cruz, CA | $67,085 | $17,890 | $8,717 | 65.8% |
| University of California-Santa Cruz admits 66% of applicants and ranks 109th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 36 | University of California-Merced · Merced, CA | $65,410 | $11,983 | $7,945 | 90.5% |
| With an average net price of $11,983, University of California-Merced reports median earnings of $65,410 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 37 | Oregon State University · Corvallis, OR | $71,799 | $19,604 | $12,107 | 77.3% |
| Oregon State University reports median earnings of $71,799 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $19,604. | |||||
| 38 | Northern Arizona University · Flagstaff, AZ | $60,629 | $14,158 | $9,709 | 89.6% |
| Northern Arizona University admits 90% of applicants and graduates 61% of its students within six years. | |||||
| 39 | Washington State University · Pullman, WA | $73,467 | $14,971 | $7,074 | 86.6% |
| Washington State University ranks 129th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with a six-year completion rate of 60%. | |||||
| 40 | University of Colorado Denver/Anschutz Medical Campus · Denver, CO | $74,059 | $11,900 | $6,743 | 74.7% |
| An average net price of $6,743 for families earning under $30,000 coincides with median earnings of $74,059 for graduates of University of Colorado Denver/Anschutz Medical Campus four years after completing. | |||||
| 41 | California State University-Monterey Bay · Seaside, CA | $62,324 | $13,663 | $9,970 | 97.4% |
| California State University-Monterey Bay ranks 41st on this list and posts a six-year completion rate of 59%. | |||||
| 42 | Portland State University · Portland, OR | $62,060 | $9,552 | $7,655 | 90.9% |
| Graduates of Portland State University earn a median of $62,060 four years after completing, and the school reports an average net price of $9,552. | |||||
| 43 | California State University-Channel Islands · Camarillo, CA | $59,304 | $9,849 | $6,857 | 94.8% |
| California State University-Channel Islands admits 95% of applicants and shows an average net price of $6,857 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 44 | University of New Mexico-Main Campus · Albuquerque, NM | $59,818 | $15,489 | $11,938 | 95.2% |
| University of New Mexico-Main Campus ranks 150th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, alongside a six-year completion rate of 55%. | |||||
| 45 | Pomona College · Claremont, CA | $77,544 | $19,285 | $4,841 | 7.1% |
| Pomona College, a private nonprofit institution, reports median earnings of $77,544 for its graduates four years after completing and an admission rate of 7%. | |||||
| 46 | Claremont McKenna College · Claremont, CA | $110,798 | $28,849 | $15,308 | 9.6% |
| Claremont McKenna College graduates 91% of its students within six years and reports an average net price of $15,308 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 47 | University of Colorado Boulder · Boulder, CO | $76,850 | $25,346 | $14,231 | 78.1% |
| University of Colorado Boulder ranks 47th on this list, with median earnings of $76,850 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 48 | Mount Saint Mary's University · Los Angeles, CA | $79,546 | $21,413 | $23,849 | 73.1% |
| Mount Saint Mary's University admits 73% of applicants and reports median earnings of $79,546 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 49 | Metropolitan State University of Denver · Denver, CO | $60,186 | $15,327 | $12,481 | 98.8% |
| Metropolitan State University of Denver ranks 49th on this list, with median earnings of $60,186 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 50 | Sonoma State University · Rohnert Park, CA | $65,997 | $12,885 | $8,310 | 93.4% |
| Sonoma State University admits 93% of applicants and reports a six-year completion rate of 58%. | |||||
| 51 | Colorado State University-Fort Collins · Fort Collins, CO | $67,911 | $21,279 | $13,259 | 88.5% |
| Colorado State University-Fort Collins reports median earnings of $67,911 for its graduates four years after completing and a six-year completion rate of 67%. | |||||
| 52 | University of the Pacific · Stockton, CA | $81,820 | $25,447 | $17,004 | 71.3% |
| A private nonprofit institution in Stockton, University of the Pacific posts an average net price of $25,447. | |||||
| 53 | University of Nevada-Reno · Reno, NV | $67,498 | $15,927 | $12,674 | 73.7% |
| University of Nevada-Reno admits 74% of applicants and reports median earnings of $67,498 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 54 | Heritage University · Toppenish, WA | $62,898 | $14,598 | $15,114 | Not reported |
| Heritage University reports a six-year completion rate of 54% and median earnings of $62,898 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 55 | Harvey Mudd College · Claremont, CA | $137,100 | $35,924 | $27,979 | 12.7% |
| Harvey Mudd College admits 13% of applicants, and its graduates report median earnings of $137,100 four years after completing. | |||||
| 56 | University of Providence · Great Falls, MT | $88,535 | $17,649 | $14,257 | 50.3% |
| University of Providence ranks 56th on this list, with an average net price of $17,649. | |||||
| 57 | New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology · Socorro, NM | $85,232 | $9,873 | $5,136 | 44.5% |
| A public institution in Socorro, New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology reports median earnings of $85,232 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 58 | New Mexico State University-Main Campus · Las Cruces, NM | $54,874 | $8,889 | $6,648 | 89.0% |
| New Mexico State University-Main Campus has an average net price of $6,648 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 59 | Colorado School of Mines · Golden, CO | $100,252 | $28,690 | $16,849 | 60.7% |
| Colorado School of Mines posts median earnings of $100,252 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 82%. | |||||
| 60 | University of Hawaii at Manoa · Honolulu, HI | $61,903 | $15,664 | $10,675 | 86.6% |
| University of Hawaii at Manoa ranks 60th on this list, with an admission rate of 87%. | |||||
| 61 | Oregon Institute of Technology · Klamath Falls, OR | $87,138 | $15,706 | $9,085 | 95.0% |
| Oregon Institute of Technology reports median earnings of $87,138 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $15,706. | |||||
| 62 | Cal Poly Maritime Academy · Vallejo, CA | $108,757 | $20,555 | $13,552 | 95.0% |
| Cal Poly Maritime Academy admits 95% of applicants and its graduates across all fields earn a median of $108,757 four years after completing. | |||||
| 63 | Nevada State University · Henderson, NV | $73,626 | $14,068 | $11,438 | 86.8% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 34%, Nevada State University ranks 63rd on this list and posts median earnings of $73,626 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 64 | The Chicago School at Los Angeles · Los Angeles, CA | $82,068 | Not reported | Not reported | 46.3% |
| The Chicago School at Los Angeles, a private nonprofit institution in Los Angeles, reports median earnings of $82,068 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 65 | Samuel Merritt University · Oakland, CA | $148,182 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Samuel Merritt University reports median earnings of $148,182 for its graduates four years after completing, and ranks 65th on this list. | |||||
| 66 | Eastern Washington University · Cheney, WA | $60,781 | $13,886 | $9,547 | 90.8% |
| Eastern Washington University carries an average net price of $13,886 and graduates 43% of its students within six years. | |||||
| 67 | Santa Clara University · Santa Clara, CA | $108,517 | $50,062 | $22,985 | 48.0% |
| Santa Clara University graduates 88% of its students within six years, and its graduates earn a median of $108,517 four years after completing. | |||||
| 68 | University of San Francisco · San Francisco, CA | $91,483 | $41,431 | $31,537 | 61.7% |
| Ranking 68th on this list, University of San Francisco reports an admission rate of 62% and median earnings of $91,483 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 69 | Central Washington University · Ellensburg, WA | $63,444 | $18,476 | $11,846 | 90.6% |
| Central Washington University posts a six-year completion rate of 54% and an average net price of $11,846 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 70 | New Mexico Highlands University · Las Vegas, NM | $55,864 | $14,838 | $13,511 | Not reported |
| New Mexico Highlands University reports median earnings of $55,864 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $14,838. | |||||
| 71 | Idaho State University · Pocatello, ID | $58,142 | $12,193 | $10,593 | Not reported |
| With an average net price of $12,193, Idaho State University reports a six-year completion rate of 39%. | |||||
| 72 | Roseman University of Health Sciences · Henderson, NV | $106,489 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Roseman University of Health Sciences ranks 72nd on this list and its graduates across all fields earn a median of $106,489 four years after completing. | |||||
| 73 | Dominican University of California · San Rafael, CA | $95,437 | $35,333 | $24,572 | 83.5% |
| Dominican University of California reports median earnings of $95,437 for its graduates four years after completing, and its six-year completion rate stands at 78%. | |||||
| 74 | University of Oregon · Eugene, OR | $62,174 | $22,182 | $15,909 | 88.3% |
| With an average net price of $22,182, University of Oregon admits 88% of applicants and ranks 384th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 75 | University of Wyoming · Laramie, WY | $61,749 | $13,599 | $7,977 | 96.9% |
| University of Wyoming posts a six-year completion rate of 59% and an average net price of $7,977 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 76 | California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt · Arcata, CA | $51,571 | $13,171 | $8,483 | 98.2% |
| California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt admits 98% of applicants, and its graduates across all fields earn a median of $51,571 four years after completing. | |||||
| 77 | University of Colorado Colorado Springs · Colorado Springs, CO | $62,980 | $15,788 | $12,065 | 97.4% |
| Ranking 394th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, University of Colorado Colorado Springs reports median earnings of $62,980 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 78 | University of Alaska Fairbanks · Fairbanks, AK | $67,252 | $10,892 | $7,992 | Not reported |
| University of Alaska Fairbanks carries an average net price of $10,892 and a six-year completion rate of 38%. | |||||
| 79 | Fresno Pacific University · Fresno, CA | $63,285 | $13,630 | $11,133 | 64.1% |
| A private nonprofit university, Fresno Pacific University admits 64% of applicants and reports median earnings of $63,285 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 80 | Boise State University · Boise, ID | $64,791 | $21,610 | $18,165 | 87.2% |
| Boise State University ranks 80th on this list, with a six-year completion rate of 60% and an average net price of $18,165 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 81 | California Baptist University · Riverside, CA | $68,600 | $26,285 | $22,298 | 84.9% |
| Graduates of California Baptist University earn a median of $68,600 four years after completing, and the school admits 85% of applicants. | |||||
| 82 | Oregon Health & Science University · Portland, OR | $110,300 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Oregon Health & Science University reports median earnings of $110,300 for its graduates four years after completing and ranks 434th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 83 | University of San Diego · San Diego, CA | $85,309 | $30,365 | $15,586 | 52.4% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 84%, University of San Diego admits 52% of applicants and carries an average net price of $30,365. | |||||
| 84 | Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus · Portales, NM | $54,827 | $4,904 | $3,663 | 91.7% |
| Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus posts an average net price of $4,904, and its graduates across all fields earn a median of $54,827 four years after completing. | |||||
| 85 | Montana Technological University · Butte, MT | $79,369 | $16,481 | $11,914 | 91.1% |
| Montana Technological University reports median earnings of $79,369 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $11,914 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 86 | University of Idaho · Moscow, ID | $60,330 | $14,831 | $11,270 | 75.5% |
| University of Idaho admits 76% of applicants and has a six-year completion rate of 57%. | |||||
| 87 | Western New Mexico University · Silver City, NM | $54,074 | $8,522 | $8,381 | Not reported |
| With an average net price of $8,522, Western New Mexico University ranks 87th on this list. | |||||
| 88 | Pacific Oaks College · Pasadena, CA | $56,852 | Not reported | Not reported | 34.4% |
| Pacific Oaks College, a private nonprofit institution in Pasadena, reports median earnings of $56,852 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 89 | University of La Verne · La Verne, CA | $64,109 | $20,161 | $20,151 | 71.2% |
| University of La Verne posts a six-year completion rate of 63% and an average net price of $20,151 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 90 | Golden Gate University · San Francisco, CA | $115,758 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Graduates of Golden Gate University earn a median of $115,758 four years after completing, and the school ranks 476th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 91 | Azusa Pacific University · Azusa, CA | $71,925 | $22,212 | $15,781 | 88.4% |
| Azusa Pacific University admits 88% of applicants and reports median earnings of $71,925 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 92 | Regis University · Denver, CO | $81,785 | $18,397 | $13,713 | 86.5% |
| Regis University has an average net price of $18,397 and a six-year completion rate of 61%. | |||||
| 93 | Western Washington University · Bellingham, WA | $58,560 | $21,193 | $12,915 | 93.3% |
| Western Washington University reports median earnings of $58,560 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $12,915 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 94 | Touro University Worldwide · Los Alamitos, CA | $67,614 | $19,058 | $18,342 | Not reported |
| Touro University Worldwide ranks 538th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its graduates earn a median of $67,614 four years after completing. | |||||
| 95 | Linfield University · Mcminnville, OR | $81,180 | $26,536 | $20,059 | 85.2% |
| Linfield University posts a six-year completion rate of 70% and admits 85% of applicants. | |||||
| 96 | Montana State University-Northern · Havre, MT | $60,505 | $12,664 | $9,940 | Not reported |
| Montana State University-Northern reports median earnings of $60,505 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $9,940 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 97 | Montana State University · Bozeman, MT | $65,157 | $22,499 | $17,797 | 82.1% |
| An average net price of $17,797 for families earning under $30,000 is reported by Montana State University, which ranks 97th on this list. | |||||
| 98 | University of Alaska Anchorage · Anchorage, AK | $68,777 | $15,301 | $11,582 | Not reported |
| With a six-year completion rate of 30%, University of Alaska Anchorage ranks 98th on this list. | |||||
| 99 | University of Northern Colorado · Greeley, CO | $56,930 | $17,760 | $12,695 | 85.9% |
| University of Northern Colorado admits 86% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 51%. | |||||
| 100 | Western Oregon University · Monmouth, OR | $54,346 | $17,237 | $15,575 | 98.1% |
| An average net price of $15,575 for families earning under $30,000 is reported by Western Oregon University, which ranks 100th on this list. | |||||
| 101 | Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary · Los Angeles, CA | $36,185 | $14,959 | $14,300 | 58.2% |
| Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary ranks 643rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its graduates earn a median of $36,185 four years after completing. | |||||
| 102 | University of Hawaii-West Oahu · Kapolei, HI | $53,969 | $10,327 | $7,674 | 95.3% |
| Graduates of University of Hawaii-West Oahu earn a median of $53,969 four years after completing, and the school's average net price is $10,327. | |||||
| 103 | University of Portland · Portland, OR | $80,459 | $28,210 | $20,070 | 89.2% |
| University of Portland posts a six-year completion rate of 80% and an average net price of $28,210. | |||||
| 104 | University of Redlands · Redlands, CA | $75,863 | $30,031 | $28,287 | 82.7% |
| Ranking 104th on this list, University of Redlands reports median earnings of $75,863 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 105 | Seattle University · Seattle, WA | $79,426 | $34,662 | $22,896 | 76.9% |
| Seattle University admits 77% of applicants, and its graduates earn a median of $79,426 four years after completing. | |||||
| 106 | Colorado State University Pueblo · Pueblo, CO | $55,898 | $10,051 | $9,374 | 94.9% |
| An average net price of $9,374 for families earning under $30,000 coincides with a six-year completion rate of 40% at Colorado State University Pueblo. | |||||
| 107 | Lewis-Clark State College · Lewiston, ID | $58,274 | $15,635 | $13,080 | 87.7% |
| Lewis-Clark State College ranks 681st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports an average net price of $15,635. | |||||
| 108 | Pacific Lutheran University · Tacoma, WA | $63,671 | $19,589 | $13,609 | 78.0% |
| Graduates of Pacific Lutheran University earn a median of $63,671 four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 69%. | |||||
| 109 | University of Hawaii at Hilo · Hilo, HI | $49,763 | $11,856 | $8,983 | 60.6% |
| University of Hawaii at Hilo reports median earnings of $49,763 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $11,856. | |||||
| 110 | Vanguard University of Southern California · Costa Mesa, CA | $65,874 | $21,241 | $17,225 | 62.4% |
| Vanguard University of Southern California, a private nonprofit university in Costa Mesa, admits 62% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 57%. | |||||
| 111 | Adams State University · Alamosa, CO | $52,621 | $12,980 | $9,947 | Not reported |
| Adams State University ranks 111th on this list, with an average net price of $9,947 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 112 | Saint Martin's University · Lacey, WA | $71,704 | $28,119 | $22,810 | 89.8% |
| Graduates of Saint Martin's University earn a median of $71,704 four years after completing, and the school's average net price is $28,119. | |||||
| 113 | Palo Alto University · Palo Alto, CA | $88,171 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Palo Alto University ranks 730th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its graduates earn a median of $88,171 four years after completing. | |||||
| 114 | City University of Seattle · Seattle, WA | $83,698 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| City University of Seattle reports median earnings of $83,698 for its graduates four years after completing, and holds an Azimuth composite rank of 735th among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 115 | Menlo College · Atherton, CA | $79,903 | $31,100 | $25,546 | 68.5% |
| Menlo College admits 68% of applicants, and its graduates earn a median of $79,903 four years after completing. | |||||
| 116 | Pepperdine University · Malibu, CA | $84,459 | $58,098 | $50,560 | 62.9% |
| Pepperdine University posts a six-year completion rate of 83%, and an average net price of $50,560 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 117 | Montana State University Billings · Billings, MT | $55,549 | $16,524 | $13,927 | Not reported |
| Montana State University Billings ranks 117th on this list, and its graduates earn a median of $55,549 four years after completing. | |||||
| 118 | Concordia University-Irvine · Irvine, CA | $83,064 | $28,115 | $25,431 | 66.0% |
| Concordia University-Irvine reports an average net price of $28,115, and a six-year completion rate of 58%. | |||||
| 119 | Colorado College · Colorado Springs, CO | $56,959 | $33,375 | $9,217 | 18.5% |
| Colorado College admits 18% of applicants, and an average net price of $9,217 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 120 | Soka University of America · Aliso Viejo, CA | $53,646 | $18,260 | $12,020 | 43.4% |
| Soka University of America posts a six-year completion rate of 92%, and its graduates earn a median of $53,646 four years after completing. | |||||
| 121 | Seattle Pacific University · Seattle, WA | $70,115 | $24,488 | $20,735 | 83.4% |
| Seattle Pacific University reports median earnings of $70,115 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $24,488. | |||||
| 122 | University of Denver · Denver, CO | $78,504 | $36,131 | $20,097 | 77.8% |
| University of Denver admits 78% of applicants and graduates 76% of its students within six years. | |||||
| 123 | California Lutheran University · Thousand Oaks, CA | $69,695 | $30,109 | $22,161 | 75.7% |
| California Lutheran University ranks 123rd on this list, with a six-year completion rate of 70%. | |||||
| 124 | The University of Montana · Missoula, MT | $50,928 | $16,784 | $13,960 | 95.9% |
| The University of Montana, a public university in Missoula, has an average net price of $16,784 and an admission rate of 96%. | |||||
| 125 | Colorado Christian University · Lakewood, CO | $58,576 | $29,500 | $26,010 | Not reported |
| Colorado Christian University posts median earnings of $58,576 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 64%. | |||||
| 126 | Warner Pacific University · Portland, OR | $65,093 | $25,629 | $18,577 | 71.1% |
| Warner Pacific University has an average net price of $18,577 for families earning under $30,000, and its graduates earn a median of $65,093 four years after completing. | |||||
| 127 | Eastern Oregon University · La Grande, OR | $55,565 | $17,148 | $12,563 | 98.3% |
| Eastern Oregon University admits 98% of applicants and reports median earnings of $55,565 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 128 | Simpson University · Redding, CA | $59,198 | $27,817 | $25,511 | 86.0% |
| Simpson University ranks 893rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and graduates 49% of its students within six years. | |||||
| 129 | Gonzaga University · Spokane, WA | $80,896 | $35,119 | $20,833 | 81.7% |
| Gonzaga University reports an average net price of $20,833 for families earning under $30,000, and a six-year completion rate of 86%. | |||||
| 130 | Pitzer College · Claremont, CA | $69,786 | $34,191 | $14,535 | 25.2% |
| Pitzer College posts median earnings of $69,786 for its graduates four years after completing, and admits 25% of applicants. | |||||
| 131 | Fort Lewis College · Durango, CO | $46,601 | $17,296 | $18,622 | 77.3% |
| Fort Lewis College has an admission rate of 77% and an average net price of $18,622 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 132 | Chapman University · Orange, CA | $73,336 | $46,555 | $33,559 | 65.4% |
| Chapman University ranks 132nd on this list, with median earnings of $73,336 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 133 | Westminster University · Salt Lake City, UT | $72,401 | $27,094 | $22,972 | 66.6% |
| Westminster University reports median earnings of $72,401 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $27,094. | |||||
| 134 | Loyola Marymount University · Los Angeles, CA | $78,039 | $48,381 | $32,268 | 45.1% |
| Loyola Marymount University admits 45% of applicants and graduates 79% of its students within six years. | |||||
| 135 | Bethesda University · Anaheim, CA | $38,703 | $11,097 | $9,747 | Not reported |
| With a six-year completion rate of 11%, Bethesda University posts an average net price of $9,747 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 136 | Saint Mary's College of California · Moraga, CA | $74,325 | $30,378 | $19,462 | 86.5% |
| Saint Mary's College of California ranks 136th on this list and holds an Azimuth composite rank of 939th among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally. | |||||
| 137 | George Fox University · Newberg, OR | $69,145 | $31,679 | $22,871 | 93.5% |
| Graduates of George Fox University earn a median of $69,145 four years after completing, and the school admits 94% of applicants. | |||||
| 138 | Southern Oregon University · Ashland, OR | $52,911 | $16,732 | $11,830 | 88.6% |
| Southern Oregon University, a public university in Ashland, has a six-year completion rate of 43% and an average net price of $16,732. | |||||
| 139 | Woodbury University · Burbank, CA | $66,794 | $33,692 | $28,815 | 81.7% |
| Woodbury University reports an average net price of $28,815 for families earning under $30,000, while its graduates earn a median of $66,794 four years after completing. | |||||
| 140 | Reed College · Portland, OR | $44,518 | $33,013 | $12,674 | 24.6% |
| With an admission rate of 25%, Reed College graduates 71% of its students within six years. | |||||
| 141 | Walla Walla University · College Place, WA | $68,868 | $23,329 | $18,675 | Not reported |
| Walla Walla University posts median earnings of $68,868 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 60%. | |||||
| 142 | University of the Southwest · Hobbs, NM | $51,952 | $16,927 | $15,384 | Not reported |
| University of the Southwest ranks 142nd on this list and reports an average net price of $16,927. | |||||
| 143 | Bushnell University · Eugene, OR | $59,969 | $20,789 | $17,924 | 67.3% |
| Bushnell University admits 67% of applicants, and its graduates earn a median of $59,969 four years after completing. | |||||
| 144 | Occidental College · Los Angeles, CA | $68,467 | $38,263 | $20,705 | 44.2% |
| Occidental College holds an Azimuth composite rank of 1039th among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally and graduates 81% of its students within six years. | |||||
| 145 | Scripps College · Claremont, CA | $75,301 | $36,294 | $6,948 | 38.3% |
| Scripps College reports median earnings of $75,301 for its graduates four years after completing, and its six-year completion rate stands at 83%. | |||||
| 146 | Point Loma Nazarene University · San Diego, CA | $72,880 | $38,729 | $30,999 | 83.7% |
| Point Loma Nazarene University admits 84% of applicants and shows an average net price of $38,729. | |||||
| 147 | California Institute of Integral Studies · San Francisco, CA | $52,742 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Graduates across all fields from California Institute of Integral Studies earn a median of $52,742 four years after completing. | |||||
| 148 | Westmont College · Santa Barbara, CA | $64,044 | $29,053 | $20,899 | 77.1% |
| Westmont College ranks 148th on this list, with a six-year completion rate of 70% and an average net price of $29,053. | |||||
| 149 | New Hope Christian College-Eugene · Eugene, OR | $35,230 | $21,600 | $20,109 | 80.0% |
| New Hope Christian College-Eugene has an admission rate of 80% and an average net price of $20,109 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 150 | Chaminade University of Honolulu · Honolulu, HI | $59,437 | $28,856 | $31,589 | 91.4% |
| Chaminade University of Honolulu reports median earnings of $59,437 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 55%. | |||||
| 151 | Rocky Mountain College · Billings, MT | $60,523 | $19,751 | $15,404 | 69.6% |
| Rocky Mountain College ranks 151st on this list and shows an average net price of $19,751. | |||||
| 152 | Whitman College · Walla Walla, WA | $56,804 | $33,313 | $13,567 | 38.2% |
| Whitman College admits 38% of applicants, and its graduates earn a median of $56,804 four years after completing. | |||||
| 153 | Whitworth University · Spokane, WA | $61,291 | $26,534 | $16,788 | 89.8% |
| Whitworth University has a six-year completion rate of 71% and an average net price of $16,788 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 154 | San Diego Christian College · Santee, CA | $50,741 | $992 | $992 | 30.8% |
| San Diego Christian College reports an average net price of $992, the lowest on the page, and a six-year completion rate of 20%. | |||||
| 155 | Life Pacific University · San Dimas, CA | $47,070 | $20,898 | $16,786 | 95.8% |
| Life Pacific University admits 96% of applicants, and its graduates earn a median of $47,070 four years after completing. | |||||
| 156 | National University of Natural Medicine · Portland, OR | $31,660 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Graduates across all fields from National University of Natural Medicine earn a median of $31,660 four years after completing. | |||||
| 157 | Northwest Nazarene University · Nampa, ID | $60,040 | $29,580 | $28,732 | 64.7% |
| Northwest Nazarene University reports median earnings of $60,040 for its graduates four years after completing, and ranks 1131st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 158 | Whittier College · Whittier, CA | $57,988 | $25,757 | $21,718 | 80.8% |
| Whittier College, a private nonprofit university in Whittier, has an average net price of $25,757 and a six-year completion rate of 60%. | |||||
| 159 | Thomas Aquinas College · Santa Paula, CA | $49,755 | $26,196 | $19,761 | 83.1% |
| Thomas Aquinas College admits 83% of applicants and graduates 84% of its students within six years. | |||||
| 160 | Biola University · La Mirada, CA | $61,363 | $31,495 | $27,144 | 74.4% |
| Biola University posts median earnings of $61,363 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $27,144 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 161 | Hope International University · Fullerton, CA | $53,687 | $29,310 | $27,991 | 33.0% |
| Hope International University ranks 161st on this list, with an admission rate of 33% and an average net price of $29,310. | |||||
| 162 | The College of Idaho · Caldwell, ID | $52,628 | $19,481 | $14,026 | 49.1% |
| The College of Idaho reports a six-year completion rate of 63% and median earnings of $52,628 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 163 | The Evergreen State College · Olympia, WA | $44,424 | $24,319 | $22,079 | 96.4% |
| The Evergreen State College admits 96% of applicants and has an average net price of $22,079 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 164 | Northwest University · Kirkland, WA | $58,404 | $22,288 | $17,996 | 83.2% |
| Northwest University, a private nonprofit university in Kirkland, reports median earnings of $58,404 for its graduates four years after completing and a six-year completion rate of 71%. | |||||
| 165 | The University of Montana-Western · Dillon, MT | $44,338 | $16,558 | $14,822 | 99.8% |
| The University of Montana-Western admits 100% of applicants and has an average net price of $16,558. | |||||
| 166 | Pacific University · Forest Grove, OR | $62,363 | $35,273 | $23,318 | 89.6% |
| Pacific University posts median earnings of $62,363 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an admission rate of 90%. | |||||
| 167 | Art Center College of Design · Pasadena, CA | $74,009 | $48,661 | $39,645 | 74.5% |
| Art Center College of Design reports median earnings of $74,009 for its graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $48,661. | |||||
| 168 | Hawaii Pacific University · Honolulu, HI | $58,128 | $29,657 | $25,758 | 85.9% |
| Hawaii Pacific University ranks 168th on this list, with a six-year completion rate of 35% and median earnings of $58,128 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 169 | Institute of American Indian and Alaska Native Culture and Arts Development · Santa Fe, NM | $37,813 | $12,570 | $10,974 | 97.5% |
| Institute of American Indian and Alaska Native Culture and Arts Development, a public institution in Santa Fe, reports median earnings of $37,813 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 170 | William Jessup University · Rocklin, CA | $55,374 | $28,062 | $23,123 | 93.3% |
| William Jessup University admits 93% of applicants and shows a six-year completion rate of 56%. | |||||
| 171 | Willamette University · Salem, OR | $54,450 | $25,121 | $16,182 | 77.1% |
| Graduates of Willamette University earn a median of $54,450 four years after completing, and the school's average net price is $25,121. | |||||
| 172 | SUM Bible College and Theological Seminary · El Dorado Hills, CA | $38,089 | $21,680 | $21,249 | 40.7% |
| SUM Bible College and Theological Seminary ranks 1327th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with an average net price of $21,680. | |||||
| 173 | Carroll College · Helena, MT | $59,396 | $23,960 | $17,072 | 70.9% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 69%, Carroll College reports median earnings of $59,396 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 174 | Providence Christian College · Pasadena, CA | $46,288 | $25,163 | $23,481 | 100.0% |
| Providence Christian College has an admission rate of 100% and an average net price of $23,481 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 175 | Arizona Christian University · Glendale, AZ | $51,181 | $32,839 | $30,522 | 70.6% |
| Arizona Christian University, a private nonprofit university in Glendale, reports median earnings of $51,181 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 176 | Western Colorado University · Gunnison, CO | $50,666 | $16,425 | $11,490 | 99.7% |
| Western Colorado University admits 100% of applicants and shows a six-year completion rate of 50%. | |||||
| 177 | Lewis & Clark College · Portland, OR | $57,262 | $36,013 | $15,962 | 78.5% |
| Graduates of Lewis & Clark College earn a median of $57,262 four years after completing, and the school's average net price is $36,013. | |||||
| 178 | St. John's College · Santa Fe, NM | $37,727 | $26,674 | $16,014 | 53.2% |
| St. John's College ranks 1372nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with an average net price of $26,674. | |||||
| 179 | California College of ASU · Los Angeles, CA | $38,025 | $17,683 | $15,386 | Not reported |
| With a six-year completion rate of 37%, California College of ASU reports median earnings of $38,025 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 180 | The Master's University and Seminary · Santa Clarita, CA | $55,487 | $32,647 | $24,624 | 84.0% |
| The Master's University and Seminary has an admission rate of 84% and an average net price of $24,624 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 181 | La Sierra University · Riverside, CA | $57,898 | $45,566 | $44,988 | 91.5% |
| La Sierra University reports median earnings of $57,898 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $45,566. | |||||
| 182 | John Paul the Great Catholic University · Escondido, CA | $40,588 | $34,666 | $27,029 | 79.6% |
| John Paul the Great Catholic University admits 80% of applicants and shows a six-year completion rate of 64%. | |||||
| 183 | San Francisco Conservatory of Music · San Francisco, CA | $50,407 | $42,607 | $55,704 | 54.9% |
| San Francisco Conservatory of Music ranks 183rd on this list and posts an average net price of $55,704 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 184 | Laguna College of Art and Design · Laguna Beach, CA | $48,922 | $42,505 | $37,203 | 94.3% |
| Laguna College of Art and Design graduates 52% of its students within six years, with median earnings of $48,922 four years after completing. | |||||
| 185 | Naropa University · Boulder, CO | $41,627 | $29,179 | $21,457 | 100.0% |
| Naropa University has an admission rate of 100% and an average net price of $29,179. | |||||
| 186 | Southern California Institute of Architecture · Los Angeles, CA | $73,456 | $43,923 | $36,824 | 76.6% |
| Southern California Institute of Architecture reports median earnings of $73,456 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $36,824 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 187 | Corban University · Salem, OR | $48,593 | $28,035 | $20,555 | 93.9% |
| Corban University ranks 187th on this list, with a six-year completion rate of 61%. | |||||
| 188 | Otis College of Art and Design · Los Angeles, CA | $50,900 | $51,248 | $44,731 | 81.8% |
| Otis College of Art and Design admits 82% of applicants and reports median earnings of $50,900 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 189 | University of Puget Sound · Tacoma, WA | $59,684 | $38,394 | $23,643 | 72.3% |
| University of Puget Sound posts an average net price of $38,394 and a six-year completion rate of 68%. | |||||
| 190 | California College of the Arts · San Francisco, CA | $53,517 | $53,909 | $61,407 | 91.1% |
| California College of the Arts ranks 190th on this list, with an average net price of $61,407 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 191 | Bastyr University · Kenmore, WA | $46,794 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Bastyr University reports median earnings of $46,794 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 192 | California Institute of the Arts · Valencia, CA | $35,256 | $46,080 | $26,686 | 32.3% |
| California Institute of the Arts admits 32% of applicants and graduates 67% of its students within six years. | |||||
* Net price can be negative: when grants and scholarships exceed the listed cost of attendance, students can receive the difference as a refund for other expenses.
How this list is ordered
Schools are ordered by Azimuth's overall score for the West, highest first. The score combines four pillars, weighted 30% return, 30% mobility, 20% access and 20% affordability, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. The score draws on institution-level earnings for federally aided completers who were working and not enrolled four years after completing, alongside measures of access, affordability and mobility. It does not measure fit or teaching quality. The list spans 87 public and 105 private nonprofit institutions across the West.