Research brief & institution hub

Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary

CASmall private nonprofit institution · Overall rank #643 nationally

Data snapshot Updated

Azimuth ranks Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary #643 among 1,467 nonprofit four-year institutions.

Who it’s a good fit for

Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary is a private nonprofit university in Los Angeles, California, where nearly all degrees are in Philosophy & Religious Studies. The fit is clearest for a student drawn to intensive religious study at a small institution.

An estimated majority of graduates continue to graduate study rather than entering the workforce directly. Earnings four years out sit below the median at comparable institutions, and return is below the levels seen at many peers.

That picture coincides with an estimate that most graduates continue to further study. The four-year earnings figure counts only graduates who are not enrolled.

Affordability is well above average, and access is well above average. What students pay after aid runs below the typical amount at comparable schools, and the spread between the lowest and highest income bands is narrow.

The admission rate is below the median for comparable institutions, and retention runs well above it. A student considering this school should weigh the focused program mix and the graduate-study pathway against the early-career earnings picture.

Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary at a glance

Admissions and outcomes

Admission rate[1]
58.2%
Six-year completion[2]
11.9%
Four-year earnings[3]
$36,185

Cost and family borrowing

Average annual net price · $48–75K family income[6]
Not reported
Median student debt[4]
Not reported
Median Parent PLUS debt[7]
Not reported

Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary rankings: how Azimuth assesses value[5]

Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary is a private nonprofit university in Los Angeles, California, enrolling 163 undergraduates. The composite rank places it near the middle of nonprofit four-year institutions.

The university admits 58.2% of applicants, a rate that is lower than the 75.7% median for comparable institutions (same type and size). Retention runs well above the median among comparable institutions (same type and size): 95.1% of full-time first-year students return, against a median of 74.2%.

Completion tells a different story. The six-year graduation rate for the first-time, full-time cohort is 11.9%, compared with a peer median of 54.9%.

An estimated 11.4% of entrants arrive as transfers or part-time students. The four are spread out.

Affordability is the strongest (80th percentile), and access sits close behind (78th percentile). Return is the weakest, at the 10th percentile, with mobility in between at the 61st percentile.

Azimuth assesses Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary across four pillars among nonprofit four-year institutions. Affordability is the strongest, at the 80th percentile, and access follows at the 78th percentile.

Mobility sits at the 61st percentile. Return is the weakest of the four, at the 10th percentile. The profile is a small private university.

How value-added outcomes are assessed · How to interpret program rankings

Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary rankings in context
GeographyRank
National#643
California#54
West#101

Azimuth overall value rankings within each geographic comparison group.

National pillar percentiles

Economic mobility
National percentile: 61
Access & reach
National percentile: 78
Affordability
National percentile: 80
Return on investment
National percentile: 10

01 / Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary briefing

Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary cost & financial aid[6][7]

The published cost of attendance at Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary is $31,300, with tuition and fees of $16,900 and room and board of $8,100. Grants and scholarships reduce the sticker price by $16,341 for the average aid recipient.

Azimuth ranks the university #277 for affordability among nonprofit four-year institutions.

The published cost of attendance at Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary is $31,300. Azimuth ranks the university #277 for affordability among nonprofit four-year institutions.

The spread between the lowest and highest bands is $4,000. Aid covers 52% of the published cost for the average aid recipient, a savings of $16,341 against the sticker price. Tuition and fees are $16,900.

Your family income

Choose a household income range to see estimated net price.

Reported average annual net price · $48–75KNot reported

After grants and scholarships. Your aid offer may differ.

Averages within each income band; individual aid packages vary.

Borrowing and repayment at Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary

Four years after completing a degree, federally aided graduates who are working and not enrolled earn a median of $36,185. That is $19,730 below the $55,915 median for comparable institutions (same type and size).

The median sits at the 3rd percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions. Azimuth ranks the university #1,318 for return.

Earnings scenarios, estimated from the program mix, show a typical figure of $36,185. The return picture is mixed: earnings land well below the peer median.

The scenarios are tightly clustered, suggesting the program mix does not open a wide range of pay outcomes.

Median federal student debt and Parent PLUS borrowing are absent from the federal data, so no debt figure is available.

How Financial GPS measures payment burden · The four risk-and-reward zones

Financial GPS

What does repayment look like?

Institution median student debt
No federal loan data
Institution Parent PLUS debt
No federal loan data

Federal loans only; private or institutional loans aren’t included.

Estimated student payment · monthly
No federal loan data
Estimated Parent PLUS payment · monthly
No federal loan data

Payments use school-wide median balances, not a specific major’s.

Payment assumptions

Payments are 10-year standard payments on the median balance, before loan fees, used as a yardstick. Rates for newly issued loans may differ, and loans made after July 1, 2026 can repay over a longer term; existing loans keep their original fixed rates.

Explore your own numbers in Financial GPS
Read the full cost & aid brief

02 / Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary briefing

Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary career outcomes & earnings[3][8][9]

These are earnings scenarios, not observed groups of graduates. The one program with published earnings data, Religion/Religious Studies, reports a median of $38,872 four years after completion, from 14 degrees awarded.

Four years after completing a degree, federally aided graduates who are working and not enrolled earn a median of $36,185. Azimuth places that figure in the 3rd percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions, based on an earnings cohort of 29 completers.

All awards are in one program family, and the scenarios sit close together. An estimated 55.0% of graduates continue to graduate study, based on the program mix.

Four years after completing a degree, federally aided graduates who are working and not enrolled earn a median of $36,185, at the 3rd percentile. The peer median for comparable institutions (same type and size) is $55,915, so the median here runs $19,730 below.

Azimuth ranks Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary #1,318 for return among nonprofit four-year institutions. All bachelor's degrees awarded at Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary are in Philosophy & Religious Studies.

An estimated 55.0% of graduates continue to graduate study, based on the program mix.

The published cost of attendance is $31,300, with tuition and fees at $16,900 and room and board at $8,100. Aid covers about 52% of the published cost for the average aid recipient, though this is an average rather than a personal quote.

Read the full outcomes brief

03 / Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary briefing

Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary acceptance rate & admissions[1][10][11]

Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary admits 58.2% of applicants, a rate well below the median of 75.7% for comparable institutions (same type and size).

Admissions
Admission rate
58.2%
Read the full admissions brief

04 / Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary briefing

What are the largest majors at Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary?[12]

Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary awarded degrees in a single field, Philosophy & Religious Studies, which accounted for 100.0% of all bachelor's degrees awarded. The only program with published earnings data is Religion/Religious Studies, with 14 degrees awarded in the most recent year.

Four years after completion, graduates of the Religion/Religious Studies program earned a median of $38,872. That figure sits at 0.94x of the national median for the same field, so earnings are close to what graduates of similar programs earn elsewhere.

The institution awards degrees in a single field, and only one program has published earnings data. A student considering Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary is choosing a specific path.

The data shows the return on that path: a modest income four years out, in line with the national benchmark for the field.

The university awards bachelor's degrees in a single program family. Philosophy & Religious Studies accounts for 100.0% of degrees awarded.

The only program with published earnings data is Religion/Religious Studies, which awarded 14 degrees in the most recent year. Four years after completion, graduates of that program earned a median of $38,872, which is 0.94x the national median for the same field.

Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary awards bachelor's degrees in a single program family: Philosophy & Religious Studies accounts for 100.0% of degrees awarded. The institution has 1 program with published four-year earnings data.

The largest program is Religion/Religious Studies, with 14 degrees awarded. Graduates of this program earn a median of $38,872 four years after completion, a benchmark ratio of 0.94x against the national median for its field.

The program mix is concentrated entirely within one field, so the earnings picture is uniform across the institution. A student considering this school is choosing a single academic pathway, and the four-year earnings figure reflects that focus.

Four-year earnings · the largest reported field
Religion/Religious Studies 14 degrees awarded
$38,872

Fields selected by reported completions. Counts describe credentials awarded, not unique students or the earnings sample. Bars show median four-year earnings.

Read the full majors brief

05 / Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary briefing

What colleges are similar to Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary?[15]

Azimuth groups alternatives by admissions, location, cost and earnings, then orders candidates within each group. Peer earnings use the matched four-year cohort. How matching works.

A shortlist for different decisions

Choose a row to compare the figures with Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary.

Admissions peerNer Israel Rabbinical College65.7% admitted
Comparison with Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary
MeasureYeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical SeminaryNer Israel Rabbinical College
Peer earnings · 4 years$36,185$67,359+$31,174 vs Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary
Average annual net price$14,959$13,572-$1,387 vs Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary · lower cost
Admission rate58.2%65.7%
Higher-admission alternativeJohn Paul the Great Catholic University79.6% admitted
Comparison with Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary
MeasureYeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical SeminaryJohn Paul the Great Catholic University
Peer earnings · 4 years$36,185$40,588+$4,403 vs Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary
Average annual net price$14,959$34,666+$19,707 vs Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary · higher cost
Admission rate58.2%79.6%
Nearby alternativeCalifornia Institute of the ArtsNearby option · CA
Comparison with Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary
MeasureYeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical SeminaryCalifornia Institute of the Arts
Peer earnings · 4 years$36,185$35,256-$929 vs Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary
Average annual net price$14,959$46,080+$31,121 vs Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary · higher cost
Admission rate58.2%32.3%
Higher-earnings alternativeNew Jersey Institute of Technology$91,874 earnings
Comparison with Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary
MeasureYeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical SeminaryNew Jersey Institute of Technology
Peer earnings · 4 years$36,185$91,874+$55,689 vs Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary
Average annual net price$14,959$16,504+$1,545 vs Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary · higher cost
Admission rate58.2%65.1%
Explore New Jersey Institute of Technology →
Lower-cost alternativeYeshiva D'monsey Rabbinical College$8,289 average net price
Comparison with Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary
MeasureYeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical SeminaryYeshiva D'monsey Rabbinical College
Peer earnings · 4 years$36,185$31,220-$4,965 vs Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary
Average annual net price$14,959$8,289-$6,670 vs Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary · lower cost
Admission rate58.2%36.8%
Explore Yeshiva D'monsey Rabbinical College →
Similar profileSUM Bible College and Theological SeminaryMatched across several measures
Comparison with Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary
MeasureYeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical SeminarySUM Bible College and Theological Seminary
Peer earnings · 4 years$36,185$38,089+$1,904 vs Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary
Average annual net price$14,959$21,680+$6,721 vs Yeshiva Ohr Elchonon Chabad West Coast Talmudical Seminary · higher cost
Admission rate58.2%40.7%

Each school is the first-ranked match in its category, not a recommendation across every measure. The same college may lead more than one category. Figures use the matching snapshot; earnings reflect the matched four-year cohort. — means unavailable.

Read the full similar schools brief

Data scope & methodology

Structured payloads generated Governed hub narrative Governed spoke corpus

Four-year earnings describe cohorts of completers. Figures for other horizons describe different cohorts and are not joined into a career-growth projection.

Azimuth's overall rank and pillar percentiles come from the school profile. Absolute pillar ranks, city, enrollment and official-site links are shown only when structured data supplies them.

Detailed earnings, cost, admissions and program values come from the endpoint responsible for each measure. Missing values are not replaced with zero. Value-added estimates are model associations, not causal effects.

Figures are refreshed with each data release, at most a quarter apart. The underlying source dates can be earlier than the release.

Explanatory text is AI-assisted drafting checked against those figures; it is not an additional data source.

Analysis and methodology by Daniel Rogers, founder of College Azimuth.

Read the ranking methodology, data definitions and limitations · About College Azimuth

Read the analysis behind value-added earnings and the change to four-year graduate earnings. These articles are published on collegeazimuth.com.

Data notes & source fields

Scorecard field codes identify the underlying measure; Azimuth-derived values are labeled separately. Snapshot dates are not measurement years. Source populations and reporting periods differ across measures. Field definitions are in the U.S. Department of Education · College Scorecard documentation; notes with a different source link it below.

  1. Admission rate. Reported applicants admitted; not a transfer-specific or individual admission probability.

    Source fields: ADM_RATE

  2. Six-year completion. First-time, full-time students completing at the institution within 150% of normal time, typically six years for a bachelor’s degree.

    Source fields: C150_4

  3. Four-year institutional earnings. Median earnings of graduates in the reported cohort who are working and not enrolled, four years after completion.

    Source fields: MD_EARN_WNE_4YR

  4. Median federal student debt. Federal student-loan debt among completers in the reported borrowing cohort. Excludes Parent PLUS and is not total debt across all students.

    Source fields: GRAD_DEBT_MDN

  5. National, regional and state ranks; pillar percentiles; major ranks. Derived scores within the stated eligible comparison set, not raw Scorecard fields. Major ranks compare institutions within a field; their denominators differ.

    Source fields: Azimuth rankings

    College Azimuth · Ranking methodology

  6. Annual net price by family income. Average annual cost after grants and scholarships for the eligible first-time, full-time aid-recipient cohort. Public-school figures reflect in-state tuition. Includes living costs; these are averages, not medians or individual offers.

    Source fields: NPT4_PUB/PRIV; NPT41_PUB/PRIV through NPT45_PUB/PRIV

  7. Parent PLUS debt, payments and GPS illustration. Stored payments use Financial GPS loan and repayment assumptions. The adjustable spectrum applies the published framework to annual student payments divided by earnings minus an expense allowance; its initial allowance is 150% of the federal poverty guideline for one person, for the year the API serves. It is an illustration rather than a school rating. The parent table is the 10-year payment on the median Parent PLUS as a share of household income above 200% of the guideline for a household of three: under 6% Safe, 6–10% Caution, over 10% High pressure. Parent PLUS uses the completer median where available, otherwise the all-borrower median; these describe different borrowing populations.

    Source fields: PLUS_DEBT_ALL_COMP_MD; fallback PLUS_DEBT_ALL_MD; Azimuth Financial GPS calculations

    College Azimuth · Financial GPS methodology

  8. Downside and upside earnings; yellow band. The band spans the modeled lower and higher scenarios. It is not the P25–P75 interval for individual graduates. The median marker is the separately reported institutional median.

    Source fields: Azimuth modeled program-mix scenarios

    College Azimuth · Earnings scenario methodology

  9. Value added and its components. Observed-factor attribution plus the unexplained remainder equals total modeled value added. These are associations, not proven causal effects; the remainder is not a direct measure of teaching quality.

    Source fields: Azimuth statistical model

    College Azimuth · Value-added methodology

  10. SAT score range and reported midpoint. Reported scores of enrolled score-submitters, not admission cutoffs. The midpoint field is not necessarily the middle of the displayed range.

    Source fields: SATVR25 + SATMT25; SATVR75 + SATMT75; SAT_AVG

  11. First-year retention. Retention of the reported full-time cohort at four-year institutions.

    Source fields: RET_FT4

  12. Program earnings, completion counts and major-mix dots. Included bachelor’s programs have at least five reported completions. Counts are aggregated credentials, not unique people or an earnings sample. Major-mix dots group those counts by field of study; excluded programs are not zero activity.

    Source fields: EARN_MDN_4YR; IPEDSCOUNT1; CIPCODE

    College Scorecard · Field-of-study technical documentation

  13. Pell recipients. Share of undergraduates receiving a Pell Grant in the reported academic year.

    Source fields: PCTPELL

  14. Entering students outside the first-time, full-time group. This is not an observed transfer-in rate. It includes part-time entrants and other entering-student attendance patterns.

    Source fields: 1 − PFTFTUG1_EF

  15. Peer earnings and signed differences. Differences are peer minus this school, from the same matching snapshot. A positive earnings difference does not mean the peer is better on every measure.

    Source fields: Azimuth peer model using MD_EARN_WNE_4YR

    College Azimuth · Comparison methodology

How to interpret program rankings