Best Colleges in Illinois (2026)
Updated
Best Colleges in Illinois ranks 61 four-year nonprofit institutions in Illinois. Schools are ordered by Azimuth's overall score for Illinois, highest first.
The score combines four pillars, weighted 30% return, 30% mobility, 20% access and 20% affordability, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. University of Illinois Chicago ranks 1st on this list and reports median earnings of $72,839 for its graduates four years after completing.
The list includes 12 public and 49 private nonprofit institutions. University of Illinois Chicago ranks 17th on Azimuth's composite ranking among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally.
Trinity International University-Illinois posts the lowest average net price at $2,835, and University of Chicago reports a six-year completion rate of 96%.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Median earnings, 4 years after completion | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Illinois Chicago · Chicago, IL | $72,839 | $10,974 | $7,529 | 77.4% |
| University of Illinois Chicago ranks 1st on this list and posts median earnings of $72,839 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 2 | University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign · Champaign, IL | $79,628 | $14,355 | $2,038 | 42.4% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 85%, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign admits 42% of applicants and reports an average net price of $14,355. | |||||
| 3 | University of Chicago · Chicago, IL | $127,757 | $14,860 | -$1,264* | 4.5% |
| University of Chicago, a private nonprofit university in Chicago, reports median earnings of $127,757 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 4 | Northwestern University · Evanston, IL | $109,275 | $29,167 | $1,764 | 7.7% |
| Northwestern University ranks 4th on this list and carries an average net price of $1,764 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 5 | Northern Illinois University · Dekalb, IL | $64,583 | $13,391 | $10,126 | 69.8% |
| Graduates of Northern Illinois University earn a median of $64,583 four years after completing, and the school admits 70% of applicants. | |||||
| 6 | Illinois State University · Normal, IL | $62,507 | $19,398 | $11,568 | 88.2% |
| Illinois State University reports a six-year completion rate of 65% and an average net price of $19,398. | |||||
| 7 | Northeastern Illinois University · Chicago, IL | $60,607 | $14,109 | $13,709 | 74.6% |
| Northeastern Illinois University ranks 172nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and posts median earnings of $60,607 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 8 | Saint Xavier University · Chicago, IL | $66,961 | $10,970 | $7,572 | 84.3% |
| With an admission rate of 84%, Saint Xavier University reports an average net price of $7,572 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 9 | Illinois Institute of Technology · Chicago, IL | $91,312 | $18,425 | $12,964 | 54.9% |
| Illinois Institute of Technology reports median earnings of $91,312 for its graduates four years after completing and a six-year completion rate of 75%. | |||||
| 10 | Southern Illinois University-Carbondale · Carbondale, IL | $61,484 | $13,297 | $9,415 | 86.9% |
| Southern Illinois University-Carbondale ranks 10th on this list, admits 87% of applicants, and reports an average net price of $13,297. | |||||
| 11 | Southern Illinois University Edwardsville · Edwardsville, IL | $65,199 | $14,889 | $8,483 | 97.5% |
| Graduates of Southern Illinois University Edwardsville earn a median of $65,199 four years after completing, and the school carries an average net price of $14,889. | |||||
| 12 | Governors State University · University Park, IL | $56,405 | $12,329 | $9,563 | 48.3% |
| Governors State University reports a six-year completion rate of 22% and an average net price of $9,563 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 13 | DePaul University · Chicago, IL | $73,466 | $30,902 | $27,359 | 75.9% |
| DePaul University reports median earnings of $73,466 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $27,359 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 14 | National Louis University · Chicago, IL | $63,065 | $12,641 | $12,462 | 95.1% |
| National Louis University admits 95% of applicants and its graduates earn a median of $63,065 four years after completing. | |||||
| 15 | University of St Francis · Joliet, IL | $75,229 | $13,006 | $8,547 | 65.3% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 67%, University of St Francis ranks 15th on this list and posts median earnings of $75,229 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 16 | Aurora University · Aurora, IL | $64,521 | $18,838 | $14,525 | 80.9% |
| Aurora University has an average net price of $18,838 and a six-year completion rate of 60%. | |||||
| 17 | Dominican University · River Forest, IL | $59,507 | $11,745 | $9,759 | 90.3% |
| Dominican University reports median earnings of $59,507 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an admission rate of 90%. | |||||
| 18 | University of Illinois Springfield · Springfield, IL | $63,235 | $9,833 | $5,778 | 85.9% |
| A public university in Springfield, University of Illinois Springfield has an average net price of $5,778 for families earning under $30,000 and ranks 400th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 19 | Rush University · Chicago, IL | $110,508 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Rush University reports median earnings of $110,508 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 20 | Concordia University-Chicago · River Forest, IL | $71,699 | $18,436 | $16,795 | 92.8% |
| Concordia University-Chicago admits 93% of applicants and has a six-year completion rate of 36%. | |||||
| 21 | Loyola University Chicago · Chicago, IL | $73,865 | $36,079 | $28,992 | 81.6% |
| Loyola University Chicago graduates earn a median of $73,865 four years after completing, and the school reports an average net price of $36,079. | |||||
| 22 | Western Illinois University · Macomb, IL | $57,453 | $12,937 | $6,941 | 71.2% |
| Western Illinois University ranks 561st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with an average net price of $6,941 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 23 | Benedictine University · Lisle, IL | $72,460 | $22,313 | $20,168 | 95.2% |
| Benedictine University reports median earnings of $72,460 for its graduates four years after completing, and a six-year completion rate of 50%. | |||||
| 24 | Eastern Illinois University · Charleston, IL | $53,620 | $12,786 | $9,828 | 65.4% |
| Eastern Illinois University admits 65% of applicants and has an average net price of $12,786. | |||||
| 25 | Bradley University · Peoria, IL | $74,150 | $22,719 | $17,269 | 76.8% |
| Bradley University reports median earnings of $74,150 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 76%. | |||||
| 26 | Elmhurst University · Elmhurst, IL | $63,784 | $24,185 | $17,892 | 73.6% |
| With an average net price of $24,185, Elmhurst University admits 74% of applicants and graduates 70% of its students within six years. | |||||
| 27 | Illinois Wesleyan University · Bloomington, IL | $69,265 | $28,199 | $17,732 | 39.3% |
| Illinois Wesleyan University ranks 27th on this list and holds an Azimuth composite rank of 623rd among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 28 | Lewis University · Romeoville, IL | $66,586 | $17,028 | $10,382 | 71.3% |
| Lewis University shows an average net price of $10,382 for families earning under $30,000 and a six-year completion rate of 67%. | |||||
| 29 | Chicago State University · Chicago, IL | $56,486 | $12,335 | $9,073 | 43.3% |
| A public university in Chicago, Chicago State University reports median earnings of $56,486 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 30 | Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences · Rock Island, IL | $72,915 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences ranks 30th on this list, with median earnings of $72,915 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 31 | North Park University · Chicago, IL | $65,399 | $16,948 | $14,845 | 68.5% |
| North Park University admits 69% of applicants and reports a six-year completion rate of 58%, with an average net price of $16,948. | |||||
| 32 | Roosevelt University · Chicago, IL | $58,796 | $20,194 | $18,018 | 97.2% |
| Roosevelt University ranks 32nd on this list and holds an Azimuth composite rank of 699th among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 33 | Saint Anthony College of Nursing · Rockford, IL | $82,776 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Saint Anthony College of Nursing reports median earnings of $82,776 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 34 | Lakeview College of Nursing · Danville, IL | $84,051 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Lakeview College of Nursing ranks 34th on this list, with median earnings of $84,051 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 35 | Olivet Nazarene University · Bourbonnais, IL | $64,769 | $20,729 | $17,232 | 55.9% |
| Olivet Nazarene University posts an average net price of $20,729 and admits 56% of applicants. | |||||
| 36 | Lake Forest College · Lake Forest, IL | $62,893 | $28,673 | $19,605 | 56.8% |
| Lake Forest College admits 57% of applicants and graduates 78% of its students within six years, with median earnings of $62,893 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 37 | Blessing Rieman College of Nursing and Health Sciences · Quincy, IL | $77,213 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Blessing Rieman College of Nursing and Health Sciences reports median earnings of $77,213 for its graduates four years after completing, and ranks 818th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 38 | Trinity International University-Illinois · Deerfield, IL | $51,985 | $2,835 | $1,242 | 100.0% |
| Trinity International University-Illinois admits 100% of applicants and carries an average net price of $2,835. | |||||
| 39 | Rockford University · Rockford, IL | $59,145 | $22,436 | $20,877 | 92.9% |
| Rockford University posts a six-year completion rate of 47% and an average net price of $20,877 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 40 | Moody Bible Institute · Chicago, IL | $46,905 | $22,221 | $21,293 | 82.7% |
| Moody Bible Institute graduates 62% of its students within six years, and its graduates across all fields earn a median of $46,905 four years after completing. | |||||
| 41 | St. John's College · Springfield, IL | $80,149 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| St. John's College reports median earnings of $80,149 for its graduates four years after completing, and ranks 890th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 42 | North Central College · Naperville, IL | $61,656 | $21,044 | $12,507 | 77.3% |
| North Central College admits 77% of applicants and carries an average net price of $12,507 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 43 | Wheaton College · Wheaton, IL | $57,675 | $26,975 | $20,001 | 87.4% |
| Wheaton College posts a six-year completion rate of 85% and an average net price of $26,975. | |||||
| 44 | Judson University · Elgin, IL | $56,385 | $18,558 | $15,701 | 47.6% |
| Judson University admits 48% of applicants, and its graduates across all fields earn a median of $56,385 four years after completing. | |||||
| 45 | Trinity Christian College · Palos Heights, IL | $57,170 | $19,125 | $12,891 | 84.9% |
| Trinity Christian College reports a six-year completion rate of 58% and an average net price of $12,891 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 46 | East-West University · Chicago, IL | $43,920 | $21,697 | $19,168 | Not reported |
| East-West University graduates 16% of its students within six years, and carries an average net price of $21,697. | |||||
| 47 | Saint Francis Medical Center College of Nursing · Peoria, IL | $77,074 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Saint Francis Medical Center College of Nursing reports median earnings of $77,074 for its graduates four years after completing, and ranks 1034th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 48 | Augustana College · Rock Island, IL | $60,377 | $22,736 | $15,787 | 62.7% |
| Augustana College admits 63% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 73%. | |||||
| 49 | McKendree University · Lebanon, IL | $60,630 | $24,717 | $21,928 | 71.7% |
| McKendree University reports median earnings of $60,630 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $24,717. | |||||
| 50 | Columbia College Chicago · Chicago, IL | $47,092 | $26,598 | $20,924 | 89.5% |
| Columbia College Chicago admits 89% of applicants and shows a six-year completion rate of 52%. | |||||
| 51 | Millikin University · Decatur, IL | $54,115 | $21,989 | $18,659 | 66.7% |
| Millikin University ranks 51st on this list, with a six-year completion rate of 55% and median earnings of $54,115 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 52 | Eureka College · Eureka, IL | $49,625 | $17,349 | $13,711 | 85.0% |
| Eureka College reports a six-year completion rate of 42% and an average net price of $13,711 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 53 | Quincy University · Quincy, IL | $59,724 | $20,359 | $16,502 | 50.9% |
| Quincy University admits 51% of applicants, and its graduates earn a median of $59,724 four years after completing. | |||||
| 54 | Illinois College · Jacksonville, IL | $50,691 | $18,298 | $12,487 | 78.2% |
| Illinois College ranks 54th on this list and reports a six-year completion rate of 64%. | |||||
| 55 | Monmouth College · Monmouth, IL | $51,368 | $17,133 | $12,483 | 90.9% |
| Monmouth College shows median earnings of $51,368 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $17,133. | |||||
| 56 | VanderCook College of Music · Chicago, IL | $55,437 | $19,780 | $16,308 | 89.5% |
| VanderCook College of Music admits 89% of applicants and reports a six-year completion rate of 67%. | |||||
| 57 | Blackburn College · Carlinville, IL | $46,015 | $18,460 | $16,838 | 63.2% |
| Blackburn College ranks 57th on this list, with median earnings of $46,015 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 58 | Greenville University · Greenville, IL | $47,578 | $19,533 | $19,181 | 97.5% |
| Greenville University admits 98% of applicants and posts an average net price of $19,181 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 59 | Knox College · Galesburg, IL | $49,217 | $24,595 | $17,134 | 70.8% |
| Knox College reports a six-year completion rate of 68% and median earnings of $49,217 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 60 | National University of Health Sciences · Lombard, IL | $43,705 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| National University of Health Sciences ranks 60th on this list, with median earnings of $43,705 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 61 | School of the Art Institute of Chicago · Chicago, IL | $45,385 | $49,790 | $43,798 | 77.5% |
| School of the Art Institute of Chicago, a private nonprofit institution in Chicago, admits 77% of applicants and reports a six-year completion rate of 67%. | |||||
* Net price can be negative: when grants and scholarships exceed the listed cost of attendance, students can receive the difference as a refund for other expenses.
How this list is ordered
Schools are ordered by Azimuth's overall score for Illinois, highest first. The score combines four pillars, weighted 30% return, 30% mobility, 20% access and 20% affordability, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. The score draws on institution-level earnings for federally aided completers who were working and not enrolled, measured four years after completing. It does not measure fit or teaching quality. University of Illinois Chicago ranks 1st on this list and 17th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, while University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign follows at 2nd with median earnings of $79,628 for its graduates four years after completing. The list includes 12 public and 49 private nonprofit schools.