College research / Rankings

Highest Paying Colleges in Illinois (2026)

Updated

Highest Paying Colleges in Illinois lists 61 nonprofit institutions in Illinois. Schools are ordered by Azimuth's return pillar for Illinois, highest first.

University of Chicago ranks 1st on this list, with median earnings of $127,757 for its graduates four years after completing. It posts an average net price of $14,860. The list includes 12 public and 49 private nonprofit schools.

The group includes 12 public and 49 private nonprofit institutions. University of Illinois Chicago ranks 17th on Azimuth's composite ranking among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally.

Trinity International University-Illinois reports the lowest average net price, at $2,835.

The ranked list

61 schools in list order
RankSchoolMedian earnings, 4 years after completionAverage net priceNet price, families under $30KAdmission rate
1University of Chicago · Chicago, IL$127,757$14,860-$1,2644.5%
University of Chicago reports median earnings of $127,757 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside a 4% admission rate.
2Northwestern University · Evanston, IL$109,275$29,167$1,7647.7%
Northwestern University posts an average net price of $1,764 for families earning under $30,000, and its graduates earn a median of $109,275 four years after completing.
3Rush University · Chicago, IL$110,508Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Rush University ranks 3rd on this list, with median earnings of $110,508 for its graduates four years after completing.
4Illinois Institute of Technology · Chicago, IL$91,312$18,425$12,96454.9%
Illinois Institute of Technology admits 55% of applicants and shows a six-year completion rate of 75%.
5University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign · Champaign, IL$79,628$14,355$2,03842.4%
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, a public university in Champaign, reports median earnings of $79,628 for its graduates four years after completing.
6University of Illinois Chicago · Chicago, IL$72,839$10,974$7,52977.4%
Graduates of University of Illinois Chicago earn a median of $72,839 four years after completing, and the school carries an average net price of $10,974.
7Loyola University Chicago · Chicago, IL$73,865$36,079$28,99281.6%
Loyola University Chicago graduates earn a median of $73,865 four years after completing, and the school admits 82% of applicants.
8Benedictine University · Lisle, IL$72,460$22,313$20,16895.2%
Benedictine University reports a six-year completion rate of 50% and an average net price of $20,168 for families earning under $30,000.
9DePaul University · Chicago, IL$73,466$30,902$27,35975.9%
DePaul University ranks 9th on this list, with an average net price of $30,902 and a 76% admission rate.
10University of St Francis · Joliet, IL$75,229$13,006$8,54765.3%
University of St Francis posts median earnings of $75,229 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside a 67% six-year completion rate.
11Concordia University-Chicago · River Forest, IL$71,699$18,436$16,79592.8%
Concordia University-Chicago admits 93% of applicants and reports median earnings of $71,699 for its graduates four years after completing.
12Saint Xavier University · Chicago, IL$66,961$10,970$7,57284.3%
Saint Xavier University carries an average net price of $7,572 for families earning under $30,000 and ranks 176th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
13Bradley University · Peoria, IL$74,150$22,719$17,26976.8%
Bradley University reports median earnings of $74,150 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $22,719.
14Lakeview College of Nursing · Danville, IL$84,051Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Graduates of Lakeview College of Nursing earn a median of $84,051 four years after completing, and the school ranks 738th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
15National Louis University · Chicago, IL$63,065$12,641$12,46295.1%
National Louis University admits 95% of applicants and graduates 30% of its students within six years, alongside median earnings of $63,065 four years after completing.
16Saint Anthony College of Nursing · Rockford, IL$82,776Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Saint Anthony College of Nursing ranks 16th on this list, with its graduates across all fields earning a median of $82,776 four years after completing.
17Aurora University · Aurora, IL$64,521$18,838$14,52580.9%
With an average net price of $18,838, Aurora University reports a six-year completion rate of 60% and median earnings of $64,521 for its graduates four years after completing.
18St. John's College · Springfield, IL$80,149Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
St. John's College posts median earnings of $80,149 for its graduates four years after completing, and ranks 890th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
19Illinois Wesleyan University · Bloomington, IL$69,265$28,199$17,73239.3%
Illinois Wesleyan University admits 39% of applicants and its graduates earn a median of $69,265 four years after completing, with an average net price of $28,199.
20Dominican University · River Forest, IL$59,507$11,745$9,75990.3%
Dominican University posts an average net price of $9,759 for families earning under $30,000 and ranks 20th on this list.
21Southern Illinois University Edwardsville · Edwardsville, IL$65,199$14,889$8,48397.5%
A public university in Edwardsville, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville ranks 246th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $65,199 for its graduates four years after completing.
22Blessing Rieman College of Nursing and Health Sciences · Quincy, IL$77,213Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Blessing Rieman College of Nursing and Health Sciences ranks 22nd on this list, with its graduates across all fields earning a median of $77,213 four years after completing.
23Elmhurst University · Elmhurst, IL$63,784$24,185$17,89273.6%
Elmhurst University admits 74% of applicants and graduates 70% within six years, while its graduates earn a median of $63,784 four years after completing.
24Northern Illinois University · Dekalb, IL$64,583$13,391$10,12669.8%
For families earning under $30,000, Northern Illinois University posts an average net price of $10,126 and ranks 24th on this list.
25Lewis University · Romeoville, IL$66,586$17,028$10,38271.3%
Lewis University reports median earnings of $66,586 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $17,028.
26Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences · Rock Island, IL$72,915Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Graduates of Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences earn a median of $72,915 four years after completing, and the school ranks 641st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
27North Park University · Chicago, IL$65,399$16,948$14,84568.5%
North Park University admits 69% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 58%.
28Illinois State University · Normal, IL$62,507$19,398$11,56888.2%
Illinois State University, a public university in Normal, ranks 137th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $62,507 for its graduates four years after completing.
29Saint Francis Medical Center College of Nursing · Peoria, IL$77,074Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Saint Francis Medical Center College of Nursing shows median earnings of $77,074 for its graduates four years after completing, and ranks 1034th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
30Northeastern Illinois University · Chicago, IL$60,607$14,109$13,70974.6%
Northeastern Illinois University has an average net price of $14,109 and a six-year completion rate of 22%.
31Lake Forest College · Lake Forest, IL$62,893$28,673$19,60556.8%
Lake Forest College graduates 78% of its students within six years, and its graduates earn a median of $62,893 four years after completing.
32Roosevelt University · Chicago, IL$58,796$20,194$18,01897.2%
Roosevelt University admits 97% of applicants, and its graduates earn a median of $58,796 four years after completing.
33Southern Illinois University-Carbondale · Carbondale, IL$61,484$13,297$9,41586.9%
Southern Illinois University-Carbondale reports an average net price of $9,415 for families earning under $30,000, and its graduates earn a median of $61,484 four years after completing.
34University of Illinois Springfield · Springfield, IL$63,235$9,833$5,77885.9%
University of Illinois Springfield ranks 400th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its graduates earn a median of $63,235 four years after completing.
35Rockford University · Rockford, IL$59,145$22,436$20,87792.9%
Rockford University admits 93% of applicants and reports a six-year completion rate of 47%.
36North Central College · Naperville, IL$61,656$21,044$12,50777.3%
North Central College shows median earnings of $61,656 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $21,044.
37Trinity Christian College · Palos Heights, IL$57,170$19,125$12,89184.9%
Trinity Christian College reports median earnings of $57,170 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $19,125.
38Olivet Nazarene University · Bourbonnais, IL$64,769$20,729$17,23255.9%
Olivet Nazarene University admits 56% of applicants and shows a six-year completion rate of 61%.
39Wheaton College · Wheaton, IL$57,675$26,975$20,00187.4%
Wheaton College ranks 39th on this list, with graduates across all fields earning a median of $57,675 four years after completing.
40VanderCook College of Music · Chicago, IL$55,437$19,780$16,30889.5%
VanderCook College of Music, a private nonprofit institution in Chicago, has an average net price of $19,780 and an admission rate of 89%.
41Western Illinois University · Macomb, IL$57,453$12,937$6,94171.2%
Western Illinois University posts a six-year completion rate of 45% alongside median earnings of $57,453 for its graduates four years after completing.
42McKendree University · Lebanon, IL$60,630$24,717$21,92871.7%
McKendree University ranks 42nd on this list and reports an average net price of $21,928 for families earning under $30,000.
43Augustana College · Rock Island, IL$60,377$22,736$15,78762.7%
Augustana College admits 63% of applicants, and its graduates earn a median of $60,377 four years after completing.
44Chicago State University · Chicago, IL$56,486$12,335$9,07343.3%
Chicago State University ranks 44th on this list, with an average net price of $12,335 and a six-year completion rate of 15%.
45Governors State University · University Park, IL$56,405$12,329$9,56348.3%
Governors State University reports median earnings of $56,405 for its graduates four years after completing, and an admission rate of 48%.
46Millikin University · Decatur, IL$54,115$21,989$18,65966.7%
Millikin University has an average net price of $18,659 for families earning under $30,000 and a six-year completion rate of 55%.
47National University of Health Sciences · Lombard, IL$43,705Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
National University of Health Sciences ranks 47th on this list, with graduates across all fields earning a median of $43,705 four years after completing.
48Judson University · Elgin, IL$56,385$18,558$15,70147.6%
Judson University admits 48% of applicants and reports an average net price of $18,558.
49Eastern Illinois University · Charleston, IL$53,620$12,786$9,82865.4%
Eastern Illinois University, a public university in Charleston, reports median earnings of $53,620 for its graduates four years after completing.
50Quincy University · Quincy, IL$59,724$20,359$16,50250.9%
Quincy University admits 51% of applicants and carries an average net price of $20,359.
51Monmouth College · Monmouth, IL$51,368$17,133$12,48390.9%
Monmouth College graduates 65% of its students within six years and ranks 51st on this list.
52Eureka College · Eureka, IL$49,625$17,349$13,71185.0%
Eureka College posts an average net price of $13,711 for families earning under $30,000, alongside a six-year completion rate of 42%.
53Trinity International University-Illinois · Deerfield, IL$51,985$2,835$1,242100.0%
Trinity International University-Illinois reports median earnings of $51,985 for its graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $2,835.
54Columbia College Chicago · Chicago, IL$47,092$26,598$20,92489.5%
Columbia College Chicago admits 89% of applicants, and its graduates earn a median of $47,092 four years after completing.
55Moody Bible Institute · Chicago, IL$46,905$22,221$21,29382.7%
Moody Bible Institute ranks 875th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and graduates 62% of its students within six years.
56School of the Art Institute of Chicago · Chicago, IL$45,385$49,790$43,79877.5%
School of the Art Institute of Chicago carries an average net price of $43,798 for families earning under $30,000 and reports a six-year completion rate of 67%.
57Illinois College · Jacksonville, IL$50,691$18,298$12,48778.2%
Illinois College reports median earnings of $50,691 for its graduates four years after completing and admits 78% of applicants.
58East-West University · Chicago, IL$43,920$21,697$19,168Not reported
East-West University posts a six-year completion rate of 16% and an average net price of $21,697.
59Greenville University · Greenville, IL$47,578$19,533$19,18197.5%
Greenville University admits 98% of applicants and reports median earnings of $47,578 for its graduates four years after completing.
60Knox College · Galesburg, IL$49,217$24,595$17,13470.8%
Knox College ranks 1362nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with a six-year completion rate of 68%.
61Blackburn College · Carlinville, IL$46,015$18,460$16,83863.2%
Blackburn College, a private nonprofit institution in Carlinville, reports $46,015 in median earnings for its graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $18,460.

* Net price can be negative: when grants and scholarships exceed the listed cost of attendance, students can receive the difference as a refund for other expenses.

How this list is ordered

Schools are ordered by Azimuth's return pillar for Illinois, highest first. The earnings figures shown are the median earnings of each institution's federally aided completers across all fields, measured four years after completing, among those who were working and not enrolled. The list does not adjust for cost or for differences in who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The list includes 12 public and 49 private nonprofit institutions.