Best Colleges for Social Mobility in Illinois (2026)
Updated
Best Colleges for Social Mobility in Illinois lists 61 four-year nonprofit institutions in Illinois. Schools are ordered by Azimuth's mobility pillar for Illinois, highest first.
The pillar measures historical low-income earnings relative to peers, the scale of Pell enrollment and Pell completion, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. University of Illinois Chicago ranks 1st on this list and reports median earnings of $72,839 for its graduates four years after completing.
University of Illinois Chicago also ranks 17th on Azimuth's composite ranking among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally.
The list includes 12 public and 49 private institutions, a 20% public share. Trinity International University-Illinois posts the lowest average net price, at $2,835.
University of Chicago reports the highest six-year completion rate, graduating 96% of its students within six years.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Median earnings, 4 years after completion | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Illinois Chicago · Chicago, IL | $72,839 | $10,974 | $7,529 | 77.4% |
| University of Illinois Chicago ranks 1st on this list and reports median earnings of $72,839 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 2 | University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign · Champaign, IL | $79,628 | $14,355 | $2,038 | 42.4% |
| A six-year completion rate of 85% and an average net price of $2,038 for families earning under $30,000 are reported by University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign. | |||||
| 3 | Illinois State University · Normal, IL | $62,507 | $19,398 | $11,568 | 88.2% |
| Illinois State University admits 88% of applicants and ranks 137th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 4 | Northern Illinois University · Dekalb, IL | $64,583 | $13,391 | $10,126 | 69.8% |
| Northern Illinois University reports median earnings of $64,583 for its graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $13,391. | |||||
| 5 | Northwestern University · Evanston, IL | $109,275 | $29,167 | $1,764 | 7.7% |
| Northwestern University, a private nonprofit university in Evanston, has an admission rate of 8% and a six-year completion rate of 95%. | |||||
| 6 | Southern Illinois University Edwardsville · Edwardsville, IL | $65,199 | $14,889 | $8,483 | 97.5% |
| Southern Illinois University Edwardsville ranks 6th on this list and reports an average net price of $8,483 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 7 | Southern Illinois University-Carbondale · Carbondale, IL | $61,484 | $13,297 | $9,415 | 86.9% |
| An average net price of $13,297 and median earnings of $61,484 for its graduates four years after completing are posted by Southern Illinois University-Carbondale. | |||||
| 8 | University of Chicago · Chicago, IL | $127,757 | $14,860 | -$1,264* | 4.5% |
| University of Chicago ranks 38th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $127,757 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 9 | DePaul University · Chicago, IL | $73,466 | $30,902 | $27,359 | 75.9% |
| DePaul University admits 76% of applicants and reports an average net price of $27,359 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 10 | Illinois Wesleyan University · Bloomington, IL | $69,265 | $28,199 | $17,732 | 39.3% |
| Illinois Wesleyan University ranks 10th on this list and reports a six-year completion rate of 75%. | |||||
| 11 | Northeastern Illinois University · Chicago, IL | $60,607 | $14,109 | $13,709 | 74.6% |
| Northeastern Illinois University reports median earnings of $60,607 for its graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $14,109. | |||||
| 12 | Governors State University · University Park, IL | $56,405 | $12,329 | $9,563 | 48.3% |
| Governors State University admits 48% of applicants and ranks 254th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 13 | Loyola University Chicago · Chicago, IL | $73,865 | $36,079 | $28,992 | 81.6% |
| Loyola University Chicago reports median earnings of $73,865 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $28,992 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 14 | Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences · Rock Island, IL | $72,915 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Graduates of Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences earn a median of $72,915 four years after completing, and the school ranks 641st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 15 | Lake Forest College · Lake Forest, IL | $62,893 | $28,673 | $19,605 | 56.8% |
| Lake Forest College admits 57% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 78%. | |||||
| 16 | Eastern Illinois University · Charleston, IL | $53,620 | $12,786 | $9,828 | 65.4% |
| Eastern Illinois University, a public university in Charleston, has an average net price of $12,786 and a six-year completion rate of 47%. | |||||
| 17 | Western Illinois University · Macomb, IL | $57,453 | $12,937 | $6,941 | 71.2% |
| Western Illinois University ranks 17th on this list, with median earnings of $57,453 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 18 | Lakeview College of Nursing · Danville, IL | $84,051 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Lakeview College of Nursing reports median earnings of $84,051 for its graduates four years after completing, and ranks 738th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 19 | Saint Anthony College of Nursing · Rockford, IL | $82,776 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Saint Anthony College of Nursing ranks 19th on this list and reports median earnings of $82,776 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 20 | St. John's College · Springfield, IL | $80,149 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| St. John's College reports median earnings of $80,149 for its graduates four years after completing, and ranks 890th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 21 | Blessing Rieman College of Nursing and Health Sciences · Quincy, IL | $77,213 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Blessing Rieman College of Nursing and Health Sciences ranks 21st on this list, with median earnings of $77,213 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 22 | Saint Francis Medical Center College of Nursing · Peoria, IL | $77,074 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Saint Francis Medical Center College of Nursing reports median earnings of $77,074 for its graduates four years after completing, and ranks 1034th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 23 | VanderCook College of Music · Chicago, IL | $55,437 | $19,780 | $16,308 | 89.5% |
| VanderCook College of Music admits 89% of applicants and has an average net price of $16,308 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 24 | Moody Bible Institute · Chicago, IL | $46,905 | $22,221 | $21,293 | 82.7% |
| Moody Bible Institute posts a six-year completion rate of 62% and an average net price of $22,221. | |||||
| 25 | Wheaton College · Wheaton, IL | $57,675 | $26,975 | $20,001 | 87.4% |
| Wheaton College reports median earnings of $57,675 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $26,975. | |||||
| 26 | University of Illinois Springfield · Springfield, IL | $63,235 | $9,833 | $5,778 | 85.9% |
| University of Illinois Springfield admits 86% of applicants and carries an average net price of $5,778 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 27 | Illinois Institute of Technology · Chicago, IL | $91,312 | $18,425 | $12,964 | 54.9% |
| Illinois Institute of Technology ranks 206th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with a six-year completion rate of 75%. | |||||
| 28 | Saint Xavier University · Chicago, IL | $66,961 | $10,970 | $7,572 | 84.3% |
| Graduates of Saint Xavier University earn a median of $66,961 four years after completing, and the school's admission rate stands at 84%. | |||||
| 29 | Aurora University · Aurora, IL | $64,521 | $18,838 | $14,525 | 80.9% |
| Aurora University posts a six-year completion rate of 60% and an average net price of $18,838. | |||||
| 30 | Bradley University · Peoria, IL | $74,150 | $22,719 | $17,269 | 76.8% |
| Bradley University reports median earnings of $74,150 for its graduates four years after completing, and its admission rate is 77%. | |||||
| 31 | Dominican University · River Forest, IL | $59,507 | $11,745 | $9,759 | 90.3% |
| Dominican University carries an average net price of $9,759 for families earning under $30,000 and a six-year completion rate of 55%. | |||||
| 32 | University of St Francis · Joliet, IL | $75,229 | $13,006 | $8,547 | 65.3% |
| University of St Francis ranks 32nd on this list, with median earnings of $75,229 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 33 | Columbia College Chicago · Chicago, IL | $47,092 | $26,598 | $20,924 | 89.5% |
| Columbia College Chicago admits 89% of applicants and reports an average net price of $26,598. | |||||
| 34 | Elmhurst University · Elmhurst, IL | $63,784 | $24,185 | $17,892 | 73.6% |
| Graduates of Elmhurst University earn a median of $63,784 four years after completing, and the school's six-year completion rate is 70%. | |||||
| 35 | National Louis University · Chicago, IL | $63,065 | $12,641 | $12,462 | 95.1% |
| National Louis University ranks 277th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with an admission rate of 95%. | |||||
| 36 | Augustana College · Rock Island, IL | $60,377 | $22,736 | $15,787 | 62.7% |
| Augustana College carries an average net price of $22,736 and reports median earnings of $60,377 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 37 | North Central College · Naperville, IL | $61,656 | $21,044 | $12,507 | 77.3% |
| North Central College reports median earnings of $61,656 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $21,044. | |||||
| 38 | Rockford University · Rockford, IL | $59,145 | $22,436 | $20,877 | 92.9% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 47%, Rockford University ranks 38th on this list and posts an admission rate of 93%. | |||||
| 39 | Benedictine University · Lisle, IL | $72,460 | $22,313 | $20,168 | 95.2% |
| Benedictine University admits 95% of applicants and shows median earnings of $72,460 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 40 | Illinois College · Jacksonville, IL | $50,691 | $18,298 | $12,487 | 78.2% |
| An average net price of $18,298 and a six-year completion rate of 64% accompany Illinois College's rank of 40th on this page. | |||||
| 41 | Knox College · Galesburg, IL | $49,217 | $24,595 | $17,134 | 70.8% |
| Knox College graduates 68% of its students within six years and reports median earnings of $49,217 four years after completing. | |||||
| 42 | Monmouth College · Monmouth, IL | $51,368 | $17,133 | $12,483 | 90.9% |
| Ranking 42nd on this list, Monmouth College carries an average net price of $17,133 and an admission rate of 91%. | |||||
| 43 | East-West University · Chicago, IL | $43,920 | $21,697 | $19,168 | Not reported |
| East-West University shows a six-year completion rate of 16% and median earnings of $43,920 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 44 | Rush University · Chicago, IL | $110,508 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Rush University reports median earnings of $110,508 for its graduates four years after completing and ranks 480th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 45 | McKendree University · Lebanon, IL | $60,630 | $24,717 | $21,928 | 71.7% |
| An admission rate of 72% and a six-year completion rate of 53% sit alongside McKendree University's median earnings of $60,630 four years after completing. | |||||
| 46 | School of the Art Institute of Chicago · Chicago, IL | $45,385 | $49,790 | $43,798 | 77.5% |
| School of the Art Institute of Chicago ranks 46th on this list, with an average net price of $49,790 and a six-year completion rate of 67%. | |||||
| 47 | Concordia University-Chicago · River Forest, IL | $71,699 | $18,436 | $16,795 | 92.8% |
| Concordia University-Chicago admits 93% of applicants and reports an average net price of $18,436 alongside median earnings of $71,699 four years after completing. | |||||
| 48 | Millikin University · Decatur, IL | $54,115 | $21,989 | $18,659 | 66.7% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 55%, Millikin University ranks 48th on this page and shows median earnings of $54,115 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 49 | National University of Health Sciences · Lombard, IL | $43,705 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| National University of Health Sciences reports median earnings of $43,705 for its graduates four years after completing, and ranks 1404th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 50 | North Park University · Chicago, IL | $65,399 | $16,948 | $14,845 | 68.5% |
| North Park University admits 69% of applicants and shows a six-year completion rate of 58%. | |||||
| 51 | Greenville University · Greenville, IL | $47,578 | $19,533 | $19,181 | 97.5% |
| With an average net price of $19,533, Greenville University posts median earnings of $47,578 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 52 | Judson University · Elgin, IL | $56,385 | $18,558 | $15,701 | 47.6% |
| Judson University graduates 60% of its students within six years and reports an average net price of $15,701 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 53 | Trinity Christian College · Palos Heights, IL | $57,170 | $19,125 | $12,891 | 84.9% |
| Trinity Christian College ranks 53rd on this list, with an admission rate of 85% and median earnings of $57,170 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 54 | Olivet Nazarene University · Bourbonnais, IL | $64,769 | $20,729 | $17,232 | 55.9% |
| Graduates of Olivet Nazarene University earn a median of $64,769 four years after completing, and the school admits 56% of applicants. | |||||
| 55 | Chicago State University · Chicago, IL | $56,486 | $12,335 | $9,073 | 43.3% |
| Chicago State University, a public university in Chicago, has an average net price of $12,335 and a six-year completion rate of 15%. | |||||
| 56 | Roosevelt University · Chicago, IL | $58,796 | $20,194 | $18,018 | 97.2% |
| Roosevelt University reports an average net price of $18,018 for families earning under $30,000 and median earnings of $58,796 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 57 | Eureka College · Eureka, IL | $49,625 | $17,349 | $13,711 | 85.0% |
| Eureka College admits 85% of applicants and its graduates earn a median of $49,625 four years after completing. | |||||
| 58 | Quincy University · Quincy, IL | $59,724 | $20,359 | $16,502 | 50.9% |
| Quincy University ranks 1137th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and reports an average net price of $20,359. | |||||
| 59 | Lewis University · Romeoville, IL | $66,586 | $17,028 | $10,382 | 71.3% |
| Lewis University graduates 67% of its students within six years, and its graduates earn a median of $66,586 four years after completing. | |||||
| 60 | Trinity International University-Illinois · Deerfield, IL | $51,985 | $2,835 | $1,242 | 100.0% |
| Trinity International University-Illinois has an admission rate of 100% and an average net price of $1,242 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 61 | Blackburn College · Carlinville, IL | $46,015 | $18,460 | $16,838 | 63.2% |
| Blackburn College admits 63% of applicants and reports a six-year completion rate of 57%. | |||||
* Net price can be negative: when grants and scholarships exceed the listed cost of attendance, students can receive the difference as a refund for other expenses.
How this list is ordered
Schools are ordered by Azimuth's mobility pillar for Illinois, highest first. The pillar measures historical low-income earnings relative to peers, the scale of Pell enrollment and Pell completion, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. The pillar draws on the median earnings of federally aided completers four years after completing, measured for those working and not enrolled. It does not measure earnings in any one major or teaching quality. The list includes 12 public and 49 private nonprofit institutions.