Programs & majors brief

University of California-San Diego Majors & Programs

Updated

Which majors earn the most at UC San Diego?

Among University of California-San Diego programs with a reported four-year earnings value, the highest medians are: Computer Science ($159,487); Computer Engineering ($149,139); Mathematics and Computer Science ($137,218); Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology ($123,320); Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering ($118,150). These are earnings after completion for the covered cohort.

A program median describes the middle reported outcome in that group. It is not a starting-salary offer or a prediction for every graduate, and an earnings comparison does not by itself explain why fields differ.

Compare these results with the subjects you want to study and the program’s reported award count. Awards measure degree output, not the number of people in the earnings sample.

The highest-earning programs at University of California-San Diego are concentrated in computing and engineering. Computer Science graduates earn a median of $159,487 four years after completion, with 591 degrees awarded.

Azimuth ranks the program #20 nationally within its field. Computer Engineering follows at $149,139, from a smaller cohort of 167 degrees awarded.

Mathematics and Computer Science sits between them in scale, with 269 degrees awarded and median earnings of $137,218; Azimuth ranks it #3 nationally within its field. The largest program, Cognitive Science, awards 759 degrees a year and reports median earnings of $81,160.

That is well below the computing fields but at the national median for its field, and Azimuth ranks it #7 nationally. A student choosing by department alone would miss the earnings spread between the most popular program and the best-paid ones.

Major mix · each dot ≈ 1% of completions

Share of reported completions in the bachelor’s programs included here. Each dot represents approximately 1% of those completions. Counts are credentials, not unique students; excluded programs are not zero activity.

  • Biological sciences1,667 · 17.7%
  • Interdisciplinary studies1,610 · 17.1%
  • Social sciences1,090 · 11.6%
  • Engineering1,028 · 10.9%
  • Computer science759 · 8.1%
  • Other3,259 · 34.6%

66 of 66 programs shown

Four-year earnings · first six matching programs
Computer Science 591 degrees awarded
$159,487
Computer Engineering 167 degrees awarded
$149,139
Mathematics and Computer Science 269 degrees awarded
$137,218
Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology 71 degrees awarded
$123,320
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering 218 degrees awarded
$118,150
Biological/Biosystems Engineering 20 degrees awarded
$111,677

Each bar is a field’s median. Program size counts degrees awarded, not unique people or the earnings sample.

Compare all matching programs
Reported bachelor’s programs · earnings, program size and field ranks
ProgramDegrees awarded4-yr earningsField rank
Computer Science591$159,487#20
Computer Engineering167$149,139#8
Mathematics and Computer Science269$137,218#3
Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology71$123,320#1
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering218$118,150#13
Biological/Biosystems Engineering20$111,677#1
Mechanical Engineering146$104,229#23
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering83$100,173#17
Biomedical/Medical Engineering92$98,687#31
Chemical Engineering129$96,798#50
Statistics56$96,746#20
Physics53$95,018#9
Civil Engineering110$91,745#27
Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods161$89,451#30
Engineering, Other56$88,159#10
Economics430$87,307#59
Applied Mathematics146$85,233#14
International/Globalization Studies537$81,174#2
Cognitive Science759$81,160#7
Mathematics239$79,015#43
Chemistry346$77,249#4
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology132$72,491#21
Urban Studies/Affairs35$71,380#6
Natural Resources Conservation and Research80$69,061#13
Political Science and Government366$67,713#61
Communication and Media Studies278$67,302#25
Public Health345$66,110#19
Biology, General322$64,437#68
Microbiological Sciences and Immunology51$64,428#17
Research and Experimental Psychology113$63,130#21
Neurobiology and Neurosciences179$61,799#23
History78$61,745#38
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services99$61,262#7
Music26$58,071#16
English Language and Literature/Letters, Other62$57,900#1
Anthropology61$56,982#15
English Language and Literature, General30$56,097#82
Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology200$56,000#7
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services65$55,776#18
Sociology131$55,534#70
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies35$53,319#34
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology135$52,701#11
Psychology, General320$51,679#133
Fine and Studio Arts42$48,506#44
Visual and Performing Arts, General73$45,915#10
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft47$41,389#49
Real Estate Development52Not reported—
Area Studies34Not reported—
Computer and Information Sciences, General168Not reported—
Education, General52Not reported—
Engineering Physics small degree count7Not reported—
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics small degree count10Not reported—
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities small degree count6Not reported—
Cell/Cellular Biology and Anatomical Sciences769Not reported—
Zoology/Animal Biology small degree count8Not reported—
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other45Not reported—
Philosophy31Not reported—
Religion/Religious Studies small degree count6Not reported—
Atmospheric Sciences and Meteorology small degree count15Not reported—
Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences small degree count13Not reported—
Physical Sciences, Other small degree count8Not reported—
Psychology, Other116Not reported—
Social Sciences, Other59Not reported—
International Relations and National Security Studies small degree count8Not reported—
Design and Applied Arts small degree count14Not reported—
Dance small degree count8Not reported—

Program data and definitions · How to evaluate program rankings

What are the largest programs at UC San Diego?

Ten largest programs by degrees awarded
Cell/Cellular Biology and Anatomical Sciences
769
Cognitive Science
759
Computer Science
591
International/Globalization Studies
537
Economics
430
Political Science and Government
366
Chemistry
346
Public Health
345
Biology, General
322
Psychology, General
320

Counts describe degrees awarded in the reporting period, not current enrollment. Program data and definitions

The largest program records at University of California-San Diego, by reported degrees awarded, are: Cell/Cellular Biology and Anatomical Sciences (769 awards); Cognitive Science (759 awards); Computer Science (591 awards); International/Globalization Studies (537 awards); Economics (430 awards). These counts describe degree output in the source reporting period, not current enrollment or unique people.

Among those larger programs, reported median earnings four years after completion include Cognitive Science at $81,160; Computer Science at $159,487; International/Globalization Studies at $81,174. Program size and earnings answer different questions; the largest program need not have the highest earnings.

How do UC San Diego majors rank nationally?

University of California-San Diego’s national program ranks compare each field with the same field at other institutions in Azimuth’s ranking data. For example, a Computer Science rank compares programs in Computer Science, while a Biology rank compares programs in Biology.

A lower rank number indicates a higher position within that field; comparing the numbers across different fields does not tell you which major will pay more or suit you better.

These are Azimuth program-value rankings. The source orders programs by its composite program-value measure, so this view answers a different question from the highest-earning majors section.

A field can report lower earnings than another University of California-San Diego field while holding a stronger position against its own national competitors. Read its national position alongside the earnings and degree counts to understand both the comparison with other schools and the scale of the program at University of California-San Diego.

National program rankings

  1. Biological/Biosystems Engineering#1
  2. English Language and Literature/Letters, Other#1
  3. Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology#1
  4. International/Globalization Studies#2
  5. Mathematics and Computer Science#3
  6. Chemistry#4
  7. Urban Studies/Affairs#6
  8. Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services#7
  9. Cognitive Science#7
  10. Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology#7
  11. Computer Engineering#8
  12. Physics#9
  13. Engineering, Other#10
  14. Visual and Performing Arts, General#10
  15. Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology#11
  16. Natural Resources Conservation and Research#13
  17. Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering#13
  18. Applied Mathematics#14
  19. Anthropology#15
  20. Music#16
  21. Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering#17
  22. Microbiological Sciences and Immunology#17
  23. Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services#18
  24. Public Health#19
  25. Computer Science#20
  26. Statistics#20
  27. Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology#21
  28. Research and Experimental Psychology#21
  29. Mechanical Engineering#23
  30. Neurobiology and Neurosciences#23
  31. Communication and Media Studies#25
  32. Civil Engineering#27
  33. Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods#30
  34. Biomedical/Medical Engineering#31
  35. Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies#34
  36. History#38
  37. Mathematics#43
  38. Fine and Studio Arts#44
  39. Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft#49
  40. Chemical Engineering#50

Programs ranked in the national top 50, supplemented by the largest ranked programs when needed to show ten. Fewer appear when fewer ranks are reported. Each rank compares bachelor’s programs in the same field; field sizes differ.

The list includes University of California-San Diego programs ranked in the national top 50 for their field. If fewer than ten qualify, it adds the largest remaining programs with a reported national rank, using degrees awarded to select them, until the list reaches ten or no ranked programs remain.

These additions broaden the comparison to larger University of California-San Diego programs; they are not necessarily ranked in the national top 50.

How Azimuth compares programs across colleges

Further analysis

Outcomes at University of California-San Diego vary sharply by field, and Azimuth's program rankings are designed to make those differences visible. The rankings evaluate four-year earnings among federally aided completers, median debt, and cohort size rather than reputation.

Of the 46 programs with published earnings data, 46 carry an Azimuth national rank. The three largest program families are Biological Sciences, at 17.7% of bachelor's degrees awarded, Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies at 17.1%, and Social Sciences at 11.6%.

The largest single program, Cognitive Science, awards 759 degrees a year and is ranked #7 nationally within its field, with graduates earning a median of $81,160 four years after completion. Computer Science is both the second-largest program and the highest-earning, with graduates reporting a median of $159,487 four years after completion, which is 1.49x the national median for the field.

Award counts here are degrees conferred in one academic year, not a count of students, and program earnings cover federally aided completers. Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology holds the strongest Azimuth rank at #1 nationally, with graduates earning a median of $123,320 four years after completion.

Data & methodology

A missing figure does not mean zero. Sources and reporting periods: methodology.

Analysis and methodology by Daniel Rogers, founder of College Azimuth.

Explanatory text is AI-assisted drafting checked against those figures; it is not an additional data source.

Figure notes link to sources and limitations. About College Azimuth.

Four-year earnings are measured after completion for the covered federally aided cohort of people working and not enrolled. Measures taken six, eight or ten years after entry use a different starting point and should not be treated as one graduating class followed over time.

Program award counts describe credentials awarded, not current enrollment, unique graduates or earnings-sample size. Reporting periods differ across measures; the shared field definitions do not establish the exact vintage of every school-level value.