Programs & majors brief
California State University-Fresno Majors & Programs
Which majors earn the most at Fresno State?
53 of 53 programs shown
Each bar is a field’s median. Program size counts degrees awarded, not unique people or the earnings sample.
Compare all matching programs
| Program | Degrees awarded | 4-yr earnings | Field rank |
|---|---|---|---|
| Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing | 177 | $111,278 | #42 |
| Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering | 29 | $108,038 | #73 |
| Computer Engineering | 30 | $103,896 | #94 |
| Construction Engineering Technology/Technician | 36 | $95,072 | #14 |
| Engineering-Related Technologies/Technicians small degree count | 7 | $90,353 | — |
| Mechanical Engineering | 79 | $88,002 | #135 |
| Civil Engineering | 70 | $87,627 | #51 |
| Plant Sciences | 63 | $77,034 | #2 |
| Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General | 149 | $76,268 | — |
| Computer Science | 52 | $71,490 | #181 |
| Agricultural Business and Management | 109 | $67,731 | #15 |
| Economics | 32 | $66,749 | — |
| Food Science and Technology | 63 | $64,225 | #16 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | 655 | $64,133 | #135 |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas | 71 | $62,475 | #15 |
| Political Science and Government | 59 | $62,298 | #124 |
| Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities | 529 | $58,436 | #22 |
| Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies | 44 | $56,336 | #10 |
| Social Work | 111 | $56,038 | #36 |
| Mathematics | 45 | $55,664 | — |
| Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness | 231 | $54,849 | #69 |
| Animal Sciences | 88 | $53,579 | #15 |
| Communication Disorders Sciences and Services | 140 | $51,835 | #103 |
| Communication and Media Studies | 94 | $51,788 | #153 |
| History | 94 | $51,676 | #102 |
| Psychology, General | 552 | $51,526 | #104 |
| Biology, General | 157 | $50,728 | #278 |
| Sociology | 164 | $49,407 | #113 |
| Anthropology | 30 | $49,187 | #46 |
| Criminology | 399 | $48,647 | #27 |
| English Language and Literature, General | 90 | $47,223 | #142 |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods | 25 | $45,819 | #185 |
| Chemistry small degree count | 14 | $45,522 | — |
| Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | 56 | $45,063 | #101 |
| Philosophy | 28 | $42,337 | #61 |
| Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General small degree count | 9 | $41,734 | — |
| Fine and Studio Arts | 65 | $39,878 | #138 |
| Design and Applied Arts | 52 | $38,397 | #117 |
| Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft | 34 | $34,320 | #110 |
| Architecture small degree count | 6 | Not reported | — |
| City/Urban, Community, and Regional Planning small degree count | 6 | Not reported | — |
| Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies | 47 | Not reported | — |
| Journalism | 95 | Not reported | — |
| Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians | 35 | Not reported | — |
| Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services small degree count | 10 | Not reported | — |
| Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services | 62 | Not reported | — |
| Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology | 28 | Not reported | — |
| Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | 46 | Not reported | — |
| Physical Sciences, General small degree count | 13 | Not reported | — |
| Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences small degree count | 7 | Not reported | — |
| Physics small degree count | 5 | Not reported | — |
| Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology | 51 | Not reported | — |
| Music | 37 | Not reported | — |
Program data and definitions · How to evaluate program rankings
What are the largest programs at Fresno State?
Counts describe degrees awarded in the reporting period, not current enrollment. Program data and definitions
How do Fresno State majors rank nationally?
National program rankings
- Plant Sciences#2
- Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies#10
- Construction Engineering Technology/Technician#14
- Agricultural Business and Management#15
- Animal Sciences#15
- Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas#15
- Food Science and Technology#16
- Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities#22
- Criminology#27
- Social Work#36
- Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing#42
- Anthropology#46
Programs ranked in the national top 50, supplemented by the largest ranked programs when needed to show ten. Fewer appear when fewer ranks are reported. Each rank compares bachelor’s programs in the same field; field sizes differ.
Further analysis
Outcomes at California State University-Fresno depend heavily on the field a student chooses. Azimuth ranks 33 programs at the university and publishes four-year earnings for 39, evaluating median debt and cohort size rather than reputation.
The degree mix is broad. Social Sciences accounts for 13.2% of bachelor's degrees awarded, followed by Business at 12.6% and Psychology at 11.6%.
The highest-ranked program nationally is Plant Sciences, which ranks #2 in its field and reports median earnings of $77,034 four years after completion. Nursing graduates, ranked #42 nationally in its field, earn the most at $111,278, from 177 degrees awarded.
Award counts reflect degrees conferred in one academic year, and program earnings cover federally aided completers.
Data & methodology
A missing figure does not mean zero. Sources and reporting periods: methodology.
Analysis and methodology by Daniel Rogers, founder of College Azimuth.
Explanatory text is AI-assisted drafting checked against those figures; it is not an additional data source.
Figure notes link to sources and limitations. About College Azimuth.