Best Colleges for Social Mobility in Pennsylvania (2026)
Updated
Best Colleges for Social Mobility in Pennsylvania lists 88 four-year institutions in Pennsylvania. Schools are ordered by Azimuth's mobility pillar for Pennsylvania, highest first.
The pillar measures historical low-income earnings relative to peers, the scale of Pell enrollment and Pell completion, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. Temple University ranks 1st on this list, reporting median earnings of $67,232 for its graduates four years after completing.
The top three schools are all located in Philadelphia: Temple University, Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus, and Drexel University.
Of the 88 schools, 14 are public and 74 are private, a 16% public share. University of Pennsylvania ranks 52nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally. Holy Family University posts the lowest average net price at $13,143.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Median earnings, 4 years after completion | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Temple University · Philadelphia, PA | $67,232 | $28,198 | $22,694 | 80.4% |
| Temple University ranks 1st on this list and reports median earnings of $67,232 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 2 | Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus · University Park, PA | $76,659 | $32,875 | $19,845 | 60.6% |
| Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus posts a six-year completion rate of 86% and an average net price of $32,875. | |||||
| 3 | Drexel University · Philadelphia, PA | $91,041 | $38,509 | $28,055 | 79.4% |
| Drexel University, a private nonprofit university in Philadelphia, admits 79% of applicants and shows median earnings of $91,041 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 4 | Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania · Bloomsburg, PA | $58,676 | $15,699 | $11,374 | 93.1% |
| Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania has an average net price of $11,374 for families earning under $30,000 and ranks 401st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 5 | University of Pennsylvania · Philadelphia, PA | $124,586 | $28,699 | -$3,012* | 5.4% |
| University of Pennsylvania reports median earnings of $124,586 for its graduates four years after completing and a six-year completion rate of 97%. | |||||
| 6 | Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania · Slippery Rock, PA | $57,301 | $19,608 | $12,555 | 71.5% |
| Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania ranks 6th on this list, with an admission rate of 71% and median earnings of $57,301 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 7 | University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus · Pittsburgh, PA | $73,701 | $30,434 | $14,709 | 58.1% |
| University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus reports a six-year completion rate of 86% and an average net price of $14,709 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 8 | Franklin and Marshall College · Lancaster, PA | $74,391 | $36,425 | $12,321 | 28.2% |
| Franklin and Marshall College admits 28% of applicants and its graduates earn a median of $74,391 four years after completing. | |||||
| 9 | Carnegie Mellon University · Pittsburgh, PA | $132,971 | $31,944 | $9,097 | 11.7% |
| Carnegie Mellon University posts median earnings of $132,971 for its graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $9,097 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 10 | West Chester University of Pennsylvania · West Chester, PA | $64,804 | $23,331 | $17,018 | 78.4% |
| West Chester University of Pennsylvania ranks 10th on this list, with a six-year completion rate of 71% and an average net price of $23,331. | |||||
| 11 | Dickinson College · Carlisle, PA | $67,139 | $37,607 | $40,755 | 42.1% |
| Dickinson College reports an average net price of $40,755 for families earning under $30,000 and median earnings of $67,139 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 12 | Indiana University of Pennsylvania · Indiana, PA | $57,450 | $16,804 | $12,364 | 90.8% |
| Indiana University of Pennsylvania admits 91% of applicants and ranks 568th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 13 | Pennsylvania Western University · California, PA | $54,553 | $18,256 | $13,944 | 94.3% |
| Pennsylvania Western University admits 94% of applicants and reports median earnings of $54,553 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 14 | East Stroudsburg University of Pennsylvania · East Stroudsburg, PA | $56,971 | $18,134 | $15,365 | 92.1% |
| Graduates of East Stroudsburg University of Pennsylvania earn a median of $56,971 four years after completing, and the university reports a six-year completion rate of 43%. | |||||
| 15 | Kutztown University of Pennsylvania · Kutztown, PA | $55,608 | $21,331 | $15,957 | 90.8% |
| Kutztown University of Pennsylvania ranks 15th on this list and carries an average net price of $21,331. | |||||
| 16 | Lehigh University · Bethlehem, PA | $101,748 | $36,931 | $16,917 | 25.9% |
| A private nonprofit institution in Bethlehem, Lehigh University posts a six-year completion rate of 88% and median earnings of $101,748 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 17 | Muhlenberg College · Allentown, PA | $65,650 | $28,905 | $12,302 | 72.0% |
| Muhlenberg College reports an average net price of $12,302 for families earning under $30,000 and admits 72% of applicants. | |||||
| 18 | Chatham University · Pittsburgh, PA | $65,078 | $29,954 | $22,675 | 62.0% |
| With median earnings of $65,078 four years after completing, Chatham University ranks 867th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 19 | Millersville University of Pennsylvania · Millersville, PA | $57,515 | $20,787 | $14,565 | 86.2% |
| Millersville University of Pennsylvania graduates earn a median of $57,515 four years after completing, and the university admits 86% of applicants. | |||||
| 20 | Shippensburg University of Pennsylvania · Shippensburg, PA | $59,882 | $23,726 | $18,709 | 86.5% |
| Shippensburg University of Pennsylvania ranks 20th on this list and reports a six-year completion rate of 56%. | |||||
| 21 | Bucknell University · Lewisburg, PA | $96,035 | $40,766 | $20,980 | 28.9% |
| A private nonprofit university in Lewisburg, Bucknell University posts median earnings of $96,035 for its graduates four years after completing and an admission rate of 29%. | |||||
| 22 | Villanova University · Villanova, PA | $104,228 | $43,756 | $17,823 | 27.0% |
| Villanova University reports an average net price of $17,823 for families earning under $30,000 and a six-year completion rate of 92%. | |||||
| 23 | Bryn Mawr College · Bryn Mawr, PA | $57,476 | $31,759 | $11,017 | 29.4% |
| Graduates of Bryn Mawr College earn a median of $57,476 four years after completing, and the college ranks 1314th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 24 | Swarthmore College · Swarthmore, PA | $65,618 | $23,149 | $7,690 | 7.5% |
| Swarthmore College admits 7% of applicants and reports an average net price of $7,690 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 25 | Haverford College · Haverford, PA | $64,523 | $25,314 | $7,531 | 12.4% |
| Haverford College reports median earnings of $64,523 for its graduates four years after completing, and admits 12% of applicants. | |||||
| 26 | Grove City College · Grove City, PA | $45,058 | Not reported | Not reported | 72.3% |
| Grove City College ranks 26th on this list, with a six-year completion rate of 83% and median earnings of $45,058 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 27 | Harrisburg University of Science and Technology · Harrisburg, PA | $55,281 | $15,376 | $12,637 | 87.4% |
| Harrisburg University of Science and Technology posts an average net price of $12,637 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 28 | Curtis Institute of Music · Philadelphia, PA | $20,026 | Not reported | Not reported | 4.6% |
| Curtis Institute of Music admits 5% of applicants, and its graduates earn a median of $20,026 four years after completing. | |||||
| 29 | Pennsylvania College of Art and Design · Lancaster, PA | $38,846 | $30,083 | $24,547 | 99.2% |
| Pennsylvania College of Art and Design ranks 29th on this list and posts a six-year completion rate of 69%. | |||||
| 30 | Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts · Philadelphia, PA | $31,901 | $42,454 | $39,928 | Not reported |
| Graduates of Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts earn a median of $31,901 four years after completing, and the school reports a six-year completion rate of 58%. | |||||
| 31 | Thomas Jefferson University · Philadelphia, PA | $87,195 | $28,928 | $22,537 | 81.0% |
| Thomas Jefferson University ranks 181st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its graduates earn a median of $87,195 four years after completing. | |||||
| 32 | Lafayette College · Easton, PA | $91,758 | $34,433 | $12,716 | 31.5% |
| Lafayette College shows an average net price of $12,716 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 33 | Duquesne University · Pittsburgh, PA | $74,665 | $37,730 | $29,986 | 83.6% |
| Duquesne University admits 84% of applicants, and its graduates earn a median of $74,665 four years after completing. | |||||
| 34 | Washington & Jefferson College · Washington, PA | $66,045 | $25,002 | $15,265 | 80.6% |
| Washington & Jefferson College ranks 34th on this list, with a six-year completion rate of 70% and median earnings of $66,045 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 35 | Juniata College · Huntingdon, PA | $55,079 | $23,988 | $18,729 | 78.9% |
| Juniata College reports median earnings of $55,079 for its graduates four years after completing, and admits 79% of applicants. | |||||
| 36 | Ursinus College · Collegeville, PA | $65,033 | $30,536 | $20,622 | 91.8% |
| Ursinus College lists an average net price of $20,622 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 37 | Lancaster Bible College · Lancaster, PA | $44,774 | $25,480 | $24,486 | 55.9% |
| Lancaster Bible College reports median earnings of $44,774 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $24,486 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 38 | University of Scranton · Scranton, PA | $79,409 | $32,568 | $23,896 | 81.2% |
| Graduates of University of Scranton earn a median of $79,409 four years after completing, and the school admits 81% of applicants. | |||||
| 39 | Allegheny College · Meadville, PA | $56,294 | $22,940 | $18,495 | 54.6% |
| Allegheny College ranks 1136th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its six-year completion rate is 73%. | |||||
| 40 | Gettysburg College · Gettysburg, PA | $72,658 | $31,490 | $13,625 | 38.9% |
| With an admission rate of 39%, Gettysburg College posts median earnings of $72,658 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 41 | Lebanon Valley College · Annville, PA | $63,570 | $26,979 | $20,788 | 83.8% |
| Lebanon Valley College has an average net price of $26,979 and a six-year completion rate of 65%. | |||||
| 42 | Rosemont College · Rosemont, PA | $59,674 | $20,150 | $10,124 | 76.3% |
| Rosemont College reports an average net price of $10,124 for families earning under $30,000, and its graduates earn a median of $59,674 four years after completing. | |||||
| 43 | Moravian University · Bethlehem, PA | $67,097 | $30,670 | $24,609 | 54.2% |
| Moravian University admits 54% of applicants and reports median earnings of $67,097 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 44 | La Salle University · Philadelphia, PA | $70,254 | $19,409 | $16,545 | 96.6% |
| La Salle University ranks 609th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, alongside an admission rate of 97%. | |||||
| 45 | Marywood University · Scranton, PA | $60,125 | $23,388 | $18,941 | 60.6% |
| Graduates of Marywood University earn a median of $60,125 four years after completing, and the school's average net price is $23,388. | |||||
| 46 | Wilkes University · Wilkes-Barre, PA | $69,197 | $27,743 | $25,062 | 90.6% |
| Wilkes University reports a six-year completion rate of 63% and an average net price of $25,062 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 47 | Elizabethtown College · Elizabethtown, PA | $66,236 | $26,598 | $17,776 | 77.9% |
| Elizabethtown College admits 78% of applicants and has a six-year completion rate of 76%. | |||||
| 48 | Saint Joseph's University - Philadelphia · Philadelphia, PA | $84,010 | $29,689 | $22,570 | 88.8% |
| Saint Joseph's University - Philadelphia reports median earnings of $84,010 for its graduates four years after completing, and ranks 684th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 49 | Widener University · Chester, PA | $80,946 | $25,759 | $21,200 | 70.9% |
| Widener University reports median earnings of $80,946 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $21,200 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 50 | Saint Vincent College · Latrobe, PA | $56,796 | $23,510 | $17,249 | 61.7% |
| Saint Vincent College admits 62% of applicants and graduates 69% of its students within six years. | |||||
| 51 | Westminster College · New Wilmington, PA | $54,065 | $19,859 | $15,226 | 92.6% |
| Westminster College ranks 51st on this list, with a six-year completion rate of 65% and an average net price of $19,859. | |||||
| 52 | Holy Family University · Philadelphia, PA | $82,892 | $13,143 | $9,721 | 71.0% |
| Holy Family University posts median earnings of $82,892 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $13,143. | |||||
| 53 | Saint Francis University · Loretto, PA | $73,068 | $23,526 | $21,906 | 76.8% |
| Saint Francis University ranks 918th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and graduates 74% of its students within six years. | |||||
| 54 | Messiah University · Mechanicsburg, PA | $58,620 | $26,502 | $19,393 | 79.0% |
| Messiah University reports an average net price of $19,393 for families earning under $30,000, and its graduates earn a median of $58,620 four years after completing. | |||||
| 55 | Susquehanna University · Selinsgrove, PA | $58,506 | $28,819 | $19,757 | 81.4% |
| Susquehanna University admits 81% of applicants, and its graduates earn a median of $58,506 four years after completing. | |||||
| 56 | Moore College of Art and Design · Philadelphia, PA | $42,582 | $43,086 | $34,834 | 56.5% |
| Moore College of Art and Design ranks 56th on this list, with an average net price of $34,834 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 57 | Lincoln University · Lincoln University, PA | $50,871 | $14,977 | $14,011 | 65.7% |
| Lincoln University, a public university in Lincoln University, reports median earnings of $50,871 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 58 | Albright College · Reading, PA | $57,502 | $20,024 | $16,345 | 76.3% |
| Albright College graduates 51% of its students within six years, and reports an average net price of $20,024. | |||||
| 59 | Misericordia University · Dallas, PA | $69,973 | $37,485 | $36,759 | 70.9% |
| Misericordia University posts median earnings of $69,973 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $36,759 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 60 | Chestnut Hill College · Philadelphia, PA | $55,964 | $27,970 | $28,011 | 74.5% |
| Chestnut Hill College ranks 1032nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and admits 74% of applicants. | |||||
| 61 | Immaculata University · Immaculata, PA | $72,836 | $24,258 | $20,539 | 85.8% |
| Immaculata University reports median earnings of $72,836 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $20,539 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 62 | Geneva College · Beaver Falls, PA | $53,795 | $25,890 | $20,283 | Not reported |
| Geneva College has a six-year completion rate of 61% and an average net price of $25,890. | |||||
| 63 | Waynesburg University · Waynesburg, PA | $59,019 | $18,235 | $12,916 | 89.8% |
| Waynesburg University admits 90% of applicants, ranks 63rd on this list, and reports a six-year completion rate of 66%. | |||||
| 64 | Seton Hill University · Greensburg, PA | $53,942 | $22,204 | $15,143 | 79.5% |
| Seton Hill University ranks 1257th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with median earnings of $53,942 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 65 | Arcadia University · Glenside, PA | $60,044 | $29,466 | $23,127 | 80.2% |
| Arcadia University reports an average net price of $23,127 for families earning under $30,000 and a six-year completion rate of 67%. | |||||
| 66 | York College of Pennsylvania · York, PA | $65,789 | $18,556 | $12,927 | 73.7% |
| York College of Pennsylvania posts median earnings of $65,789 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an admission rate of 74%. | |||||
| 67 | Cheyney University of Pennsylvania · Cheyney, PA | $49,989 | $14,265 | $13,585 | Not reported |
| Cheyney University of Pennsylvania, a public university in Cheyney, has an average net price of $14,265 and a six-year completion rate of 41%. | |||||
| 68 | King's College · Wilkes-Barre, PA | $67,122 | $23,093 | $17,283 | 93.1% |
| King's College admits 93% of applicants and reports median earnings of $67,122 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 69 | Lycoming College · Williamsport, PA | $57,353 | $19,140 | $12,151 | 74.1% |
| Lycoming College has an average net price of $12,151 for families earning under $30,000 and ranks 1033rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 70 | La Roche University · Pittsburgh, PA | $57,880 | $20,794 | $16,152 | 75.8% |
| La Roche University reports a six-year completion rate of 57% and median earnings of $57,880 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 71 | Alvernia University · Reading, PA | $67,275 | $28,138 | $23,436 | 58.1% |
| Alvernia University ranks 71st on this list, with an admission rate of 58% and an average net price of $28,138. | |||||
| 72 | Neumann University · Aston, PA | $72,633 | $27,804 | $24,467 | 81.3% |
| Neumann University posts median earnings of $72,633 for its graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $24,467 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 73 | Delaware Valley University · Doylestown, PA | $54,681 | $28,278 | $21,896 | 93.2% |
| Delaware Valley University reports median earnings of $54,681 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $28,278. | |||||
| 74 | Cairn University-Langhorne · Langhorne, PA | $48,513 | $27,642 | $24,029 | 88.2% |
| Cairn University-Langhorne admits 88% of applicants and shows a six-year completion rate of 60%. | |||||
| 75 | Robert Morris University · Moon Township, PA | $70,755 | $23,003 | $19,548 | 89.9% |
| Robert Morris University ranks 75th on this list, with graduates across all fields earning a median of $70,755 four years after completing. | |||||
| 76 | Carlow University · Pittsburgh, PA | $67,381 | $20,786 | $17,901 | 87.0% |
| Carlow University posts an average net price of $17,901 for families earning under $30,000 and a six-year completion rate of 60%. | |||||
| 77 | Gwynedd Mercy University · Gwynedd Valley, PA | $89,170 | $27,483 | $21,995 | 89.6% |
| Gwynedd Mercy University reports median earnings of $89,170 for its graduates four years after completing, and holds an Azimuth composite rank of 571st among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 78 | DeSales University · Center Valley, PA | $74,078 | $31,643 | $24,007 | 77.1% |
| DeSales University admits 77% of applicants and reports an average net price of $31,643. | |||||
| 79 | Thiel College · Greenville, PA | $51,262 | $22,347 | $17,247 | 71.6% |
| Thiel College ranks 79th on this list, with a six-year completion rate of 49%. | |||||
| 80 | Keystone College · La Plume, PA | $46,043 | $22,051 | $21,925 | 84.8% |
| Keystone College reports median earnings of $46,043 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $21,925 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 81 | Mount Aloysius College · Cresson, PA | $62,211 | $22,344 | $21,530 | 82.1% |
| Mount Aloysius College admits 82% of applicants and shows a six-year completion rate of 57%. | |||||
| 82 | Gannon University · Erie, PA | $65,497 | $22,553 | $18,489 | 74.2% |
| Gannon University ranks 82nd on this list, with graduates across all fields earning a median of $65,497 four years after completing. | |||||
| 83 | Point Park University · Pittsburgh, PA | $53,024 | $25,942 | $22,436 | 96.9% |
| Point Park University posts an average net price of $25,942 and an admission rate of 97%. | |||||
| 84 | Eastern University · Saint Davids, PA | $54,681 | $26,662 | $26,557 | 90.8% |
| Eastern University reports median earnings of $54,681 for its graduates four years after completing, and holds an Azimuth composite rank of 1138th among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 85 | Cedar Crest College · Allentown, PA | $67,546 | $18,659 | $21,044 | 84.1% |
| Cedar Crest College reports median earnings of $67,546 for its graduates four years after completing, and its six-year completion rate stands at 60%. | |||||
| 86 | University of Valley Forge · Phoenixville, PA | $45,455 | $32,265 | $30,614 | 61.2% |
| With an average net price of $30,614 for families earning under $30,000, University of Valley Forge admits 61% of applicants. | |||||
| 87 | Mercyhurst University · Erie, PA | $57,293 | $19,444 | $22,626 | 81.0% |
| Mercyhurst University ranks 87th on this list and posts a six-year completion rate of 60%. | |||||
| 88 | Wilson College · Chambersburg, PA | $54,180 | $21,741 | $14,808 | 92.1% |
| Wilson College graduates earn a median of $54,180 four years after completing, and the school admits 92% of applicants. | |||||
* Net price can be negative: when grants and scholarships exceed the listed cost of attendance, students can receive the difference as a refund for other expenses.
How this list is ordered
Schools are ordered by Azimuth's mobility pillar for Pennsylvania, highest first. The pillar measures historical low-income earnings relative to peers, the scale of Pell enrollment and Pell completion, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. The earnings figures cited below are the median earnings of each institution's federally aided completers, across all fields, who were working and not enrolled four years after completing. The list does not adjust for cost or for who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The list includes 14 public and 74 private nonprofit institutions.