Best Colleges in Montana (2026)
Updated
Best Colleges in Montana ranks 9 nonprofit four-year institutions. Schools are ordered by Azimuth's overall score for Montana, highest first.
The score combines four pillars, weighted 30% return, 30% mobility, 20% access and 20% affordability, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. University of Providence ranks 1st on this list and reports $88,535 in median earnings for its graduates four years after completing. The list includes 6 public institutions and 3 private nonprofit colleges.
Montana State University-Northern posts the lowest average net price at $12,664, while Carroll College holds the highest six-year completion rate at 69%. University of Providence ranks 226th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Median earnings, 4 years after completion | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Providence · Great Falls, MT | $88,535 | $17,649 | $14,257 | 50.3% |
| University of Providence ranks 1st on this list and reports median earnings of $88,535 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 2 | Montana Technological University · Butte, MT | $79,369 | $16,481 | $11,914 | 91.1% |
| Montana Technological University admits 91% of applicants and shows a six-year completion rate of 58%. | |||||
| 3 | Montana State University-Northern · Havre, MT | $60,505 | $12,664 | $9,940 | Not reported |
| With an average net price of $12,664, Montana State University-Northern is the lowest on the page. | |||||
| 4 | Montana State University · Bozeman, MT | $65,157 | $22,499 | $17,797 | 82.1% |
| Montana State University posts median earnings of $65,157 for its graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $22,499. | |||||
| 5 | Montana State University Billings · Billings, MT | $55,549 | $16,524 | $13,927 | Not reported |
| An average net price of $13,927 for families earning under $30,000 coincides with a six-year completion rate of 30% at Montana State University Billings. | |||||
| 6 | The University of Montana · Missoula, MT | $50,928 | $16,784 | $13,960 | 95.9% |
| The University of Montana admits 96% of applicants and its graduates earn a median of $50,928 four years after completing. | |||||
| 7 | Rocky Mountain College · Billings, MT | $60,523 | $19,751 | $15,404 | 69.6% |
| Rocky Mountain College, a private nonprofit institution in Billings, reports median earnings of $60,523 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 8 | The University of Montana-Western · Dillon, MT | $44,338 | $16,558 | $14,822 | 99.8% |
| The University of Montana-Western has an admission rate of 100% and a six-year completion rate of 51%. | |||||
| 9 | Carroll College · Helena, MT | $59,396 | $23,960 | $17,072 | 70.9% |
| Carroll College posts a six-year completion rate of 69% alongside an average net price of $23,960. | |||||
How this list is ordered
Schools are ordered by Azimuth's overall score for Montana, highest first. The score combines four pillars, weighted 30% return, 30% mobility, 20% access and 20% affordability, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. The earnings figures cited below are the median earnings of federally aided completers at each institution across all fields, measured four years after completing, among those working and not enrolled. The list does not adjust for cost or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The nine schools include 6 public and 3 private nonprofit institutions.