Programs & majors brief
Texas A&M University-College Station Majors & Programs
Which majors earn the most at Texas A&M?
89 of 89 programs shown
Each bar is a field’s median. Program size counts degrees awarded, not unique people or the earnings sample.
Compare all matching programs
| Program | Degrees awarded | 4-yr earnings | Field rank |
|---|---|---|---|
| Computer Engineering | 192 | $127,042 | #22 |
| Marine Transportation | 63 | $124,645 | #1 |
| Computer Science | 376 | $124,283 | #53 |
| Petroleum Engineering | 93 | $114,686 | #5 |
| Finance and Financial Management Services | 307 | $112,319 | #19 |
| Chemical Engineering | 246 | $111,073 | #8 |
| Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering | 281 | $103,789 | #30 |
| Accounting and Related Services | 262 | $103,662 | #17 |
| Nuclear Engineering | 71 | $103,438 | #3 |
| Construction Engineering Technology/Technician | 271 | $101,540 | #4 |
| Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians | 101 | $99,943 | #1 |
| Mechanical Engineering | 415 | $97,903 | #36 |
| Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering | 186 | $97,227 | #21 |
| Industrial Engineering | 261 | $95,918 | #20 |
| Management Information Systems and Services | 103 | $94,724 | #16 |
| Biomedical/Medical Engineering | 145 | $93,305 | #44 |
| General Sales, Merchandising and Related Marketing Operations | 349 | $93,141 | #1 |
| Physics | 49 | $92,826 | #16 |
| Ocean Engineering | 49 | $92,553 | #1 |
| Civil Engineering | 202 | $92,433 | #23 |
| Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians | 149 | $89,629 | #3 |
| Applied Mathematics | 98 | $85,792 | #16 |
| Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management | 80 | $85,477 | #20 |
| Agricultural Engineering | 37 | $85,393 | #10 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | 471 | $82,213 | #46 |
| Economics | 294 | $81,562 | #78 |
| Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing | 206 | $81,026 | #213 |
| Agricultural Business and Management | 509 | $77,479 | #4 |
| Human Resources Management and Services | 115 | $76,593 | #17 |
| Marketing | 193 | $76,035 | #59 |
| Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences | 46 | $74,594 | #5 |
| Landscape Architecture | 24 | $73,729 | #4 |
| City/Urban, Community, and Regional Planning | 28 | $70,592 | #5 |
| Dental Support Services and Allied Professions | 29 | $70,132 | #16 |
| Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General | 344 | $69,815 | #13 |
| Chemistry | 57 | $69,662 | #52 |
| Political Science and Government | 259 | $69,375 | #66 |
| Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions | 47 | $66,865 | #3 |
| Public Health | 249 | $66,732 | #22 |
| Plant Sciences | 52 | $66,513 | #4 |
| Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services small degree count | 8 | $66,241 | — |
| Geography and Cartography | 62 | $65,228 | #15 |
| Architecture | 90 | $64,643 | #25 |
| Communication and Media Studies | 407 | $64,533 | #37 |
| International/Globalization Studies | 143 | $63,504 | #15 |
| Forestry small degree count | 13 | $63,468 | — |
| Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness | 453 | $62,888 | #31 |
| Nutrition Sciences | 146 | $62,289 | #11 |
| Genetics | 51 | $61,751 | #5 |
| Biology, General | 837 | $61,734 | #72 |
| Radio, Television, and Digital Communication | 99 | $61,478 | #13 |
| Computer Software and Media Applications | 78 | $59,769 | #8 |
| Mathematics | 41 | $59,590 | #168 |
| Agriculture, General | 31 | $59,213 | #9 |
| Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology | 53 | $59,079 | #70 |
| Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | 688 | $58,697 | #19 |
| Psychology, General | 550 | $58,396 | #45 |
| Maritime Studies small degree count | 12 | $57,878 | — |
| Sociology | 160 | $57,857 | #60 |
| History | 127 | $57,783 | #48 |
| Natural Resources Conservation and Research | 282 | $57,722 | #44 |
| Animal Sciences | 375 | $57,324 | #2 |
| Visual and Performing Arts, General small degree count | 10 | $57,002 | — |
| English Language and Literature, General | 131 | $56,703 | #48 |
| Philosophy | 39 | $54,822 | #31 |
| Environmental/Natural Resources Management and Policy small degree count | 12 | $54,665 | — |
| Atmospheric Sciences and Meteorology | 29 | $54,593 | #8 |
| Hospitality Administration/Management | 122 | $54,251 | #44 |
| Applied Horticulture and Horticultural Business Services | 58 | $54,128 | #4 |
| Agricultural Public Services | 82 | $54,017 | #4 |
| Security Science and Technology | 30 | $53,792 | — |
| Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | 36 | $53,563 | #78 |
| Anthropology | 46 | $52,227 | #33 |
| Fishing and Fisheries Sciences and Management small degree count | 18 | $47,918 | — |
| Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology | 124 | $46,453 | #26 |
| Zoology/Animal Biology | 48 | $41,543 | #19 |
| Education, General | 381 | Not reported | — |
| Materials Engineering | 49 | Not reported | — |
| Architectural Engineering small degree count | 17 | Not reported | — |
| Engineering, General small degree count | 14 | Not reported | — |
| Environmental/Environmental Health Engineering small degree count | 11 | Not reported | — |
| Electromechanical Technologies/Technicians | 86 | Not reported | — |
| Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians | 38 | Not reported | — |
| Microbiological Sciences and Immunology small degree count | 16 | Not reported | — |
| Cell/Cellular Biology and Anatomical Sciences small degree count | 14 | Not reported | — |
| Neurobiology and Neurosciences small degree count | 8 | Not reported | — |
| Statistics | 40 | Not reported | — |
| Environmental Geosciences | 40 | Not reported | — |
| Marine Sciences small degree count | 13 | Not reported | — |
Program data and definitions · How to evaluate program rankings
What are the largest programs at Texas A&M?
Counts describe degrees awarded in the reporting period, not current enrollment. Program data and definitions
The largest program records at Texas A&M University-College Station, by reported degrees awarded, are: Biology, General (837 awards); Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other (688 awards); Psychology, General (550 awards); Agricultural Business and Management (509 awards); Business Administration, Management and Operations (471 awards). These counts describe degree output in the source reporting period, not current enrollment or unique people.
Among those larger programs, reported median earnings four years after completion include Biology, General at $61,734; Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other at $58,697; Psychology, General at $58,396. Program size and earnings answer different questions; the largest program need not have the highest earnings.
How do Texas A&M majors rank nationally?
Texas A&M University-College Station’s national program ranks compare each field with the same field at other institutions in Azimuth’s ranking data. For example, a Computer Science rank compares programs in Computer Science, while a Biology rank compares programs in Biology.
A lower rank number indicates a higher position within that field; comparing the numbers across different fields does not tell you which major will pay more or suit you better.
These are Azimuth program-value rankings. The source orders programs by its composite program-value measure, so this view answers a different question from the highest-earning majors section.
A field can report lower earnings than another Texas A&M University-College Station field while holding a stronger position against its own national competitors. Read its national position alongside the earnings and degree counts to understand both the comparison with other schools and the scale of the program at Texas A&M University-College Station.
National program rankings
- Ocean Engineering#1
- Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians#1
- Marine Transportation#1
- General Sales, Merchandising and Related Marketing Operations#1
- Animal Sciences#2
- Nuclear Engineering#3
- Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians#3
- Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions#3
- Agricultural Business and Management#4
- Applied Horticulture and Horticultural Business Services#4
- Agricultural Public Services#4
- Plant Sciences#4
- Landscape Architecture#4
- Construction Engineering Technology/Technician#4
- City/Urban, Community, and Regional Planning#5
- Petroleum Engineering#5
- Genetics#5
- Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences#5
- Computer Software and Media Applications#8
- Chemical Engineering#8
- Atmospheric Sciences and Meteorology#8
- Agriculture, General#9
- Agricultural Engineering#10
- Nutrition Sciences#11
- Radio, Television, and Digital Communication#13
- Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General#13
- International/Globalization Studies#15
- Geography and Cartography#15
- Applied Mathematics#16
- Physics#16
- Dental Support Services and Allied Professions#16
- Management Information Systems and Services#16
- Accounting and Related Services#17
- Human Resources Management and Services#17
- Zoology/Animal Biology#19
- Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other#19
- Finance and Financial Management Services#19
- Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management#20
- Industrial Engineering#20
- Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering#21
- Computer Engineering#22
- Public Health#22
- Civil Engineering#23
- Architecture#25
- Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology#26
- Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering#30
- Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness#31
- Philosophy#31
- Anthropology#33
- Mechanical Engineering#36
- Communication and Media Studies#37
- Natural Resources Conservation and Research#44
- Biomedical/Medical Engineering#44
- Hospitality Administration/Management#44
- Psychology, General#45
- Business Administration, Management and Operations#46
- English Language and Literature, General#48
- History#48
Programs ranked in the national top 50, supplemented by the largest ranked programs when needed to show ten. Fewer appear when fewer ranks are reported. Each rank compares bachelor’s programs in the same field; field sizes differ.
The list includes Texas A&M University-College Station programs ranked in the national top 50 for their field. If fewer than ten qualify, it adds the largest remaining programs with a reported national rank, using degrees awarded to select them, until the list reaches ten or no ranked programs remain.
These additions broaden the comparison to larger Texas A&M University-College Station programs; they are not necessarily ranked in the national top 50.
Further analysis
Outcomes at Texas A&M University-College Station vary sharply by field, and Azimuth's program rankings evaluate what completers earn, what they owe, and cohort size rather than reputation. The university has 76 programs with published four-year earnings data, 69 of which carry an Azimuth national rank.
The three largest program families are Engineering, at 16.8% of bachelor's degrees awarded, Business at 14.2%, and Biological Sciences at 8.5%. The largest single program is Biology, with 837 degrees awarded in a year and a median of $61,734 four years after completion, ranking #72 nationally in its field.
The highest-earning program is Computer Engineering, where completers earn $127,042 four years after completion and Azimuth ranks the program #22 nationally. General Sales, Merchandising and Related Marketing Operations holds the strongest national rank at #1, with completers earning $93,141.
Award counts reflect degrees conferred in one academic year, and program earnings cover federally aided completers.
Data & methodology
A missing figure does not mean zero. Sources and reporting periods: methodology.
Analysis and methodology by Daniel Rogers, founder of College Azimuth.
Explanatory text is AI-assisted drafting checked against those figures; it is not an additional data source.
Figure notes link to sources and limitations. About College Azimuth.
Four-year earnings are measured after completion for the covered federally aided cohort of people working and not enrolled. Measures taken six, eight or ten years after entry use a different starting point and should not be treated as one graduating class followed over time.
Program award counts describe credentials awarded, not current enrollment, unique graduates or earnings-sample size. Reporting periods differ across measures; the shared field definitions do not establish the exact vintage of every school-level value.