College research / Rankings

Best Business Colleges in Montana by Earnings (2026)

Updated

This page ranks the 9 colleges in Montana that report a Business earnings cohort, ordered by the median earnings of Business graduates four years after completing. Montana State University ranks 1st with median earnings of $71,578 after completing.

Across the list, the figure ranges from $71,578 to $39,369, with a median of $59,033. For 1 of the 9 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one.

Public institutions account for 6 of the 9 schools, or 67%, and private nonprofits for 3. Montana State University-Northern posts the lowest average net price on the page at $12,664.

Carroll College reports the highest six-year completion rate, graduating 69% of its students within six years. University of Providence ranks 226th on Azimuth's composite ranking among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally.

The ranked list

9 schools in list order
RankSchoolMedian Business EarningsAverage net priceNet price, families under $30KAdmission rate
1Montana State University · Bozeman, MT$71,578$22,499$17,79782.1%
Montana State University reports $71,578 in median earnings of Business graduates four years after completing and an admission rate of 82%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business/Commerce, General (292 graduates), Finance and Financial Management Services (11 graduates), Hospitality Administration/Management (7 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Business/Commerce, General ($71,578)

2The University of Montana · Missoula, MT$66,003$16,784$13,96095.9%
An average net price of $16,784 and a six-year completion rate of 48% accompany The University of Montana's $66,003 median.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Management Information Systems and Services (67 graduates), Marketing (52 graduates), Business Administration, Management and Operations (46 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Management Information Systems and Services ($73,149), Accounting and Related Services ($61,408), Business Administration, Management and Operations ($57,892)

3Carroll College · Helena, MT$65,565$23,960$17,07270.9%
Carroll College, a private nonprofit college in Helena, graduates 69% of its students within six years.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business Administration, Management and Operations (19 graduates), Accounting and Related Services (7 graduates)

4Rocky Mountain College · Billings, MT$59,499$19,751$15,40469.6%
Rocky Mountain College ranks 4th on this list and shows an average net price of $15,404 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business Administration, Management and Operations (17 graduates), Accounting and Related Services (6 graduates), Entrepreneurial and Small Business Operations (6 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Business Administration, Management and Operations ($59,499)

5Montana Technological University · Butte, MT$59,033$16,481$11,91491.1%
With a six-year completion rate of 58%, Montana Technological University reports median earnings of $59,033 four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Management Information Systems and Services (31 graduates), Business/Commerce, General (9 graduates)

6Montana State University Billings · Billings, MT$58,827$16,524$13,927Not reported
Montana State University Billings posts a six-year completion rate of 30% and an average net price of $16,524.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business/Commerce, General (123 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Business/Commerce, General ($58,827)

7University of Providence · Great Falls, MT$48,103$17,649$14,25750.3%
University of Providence admits 50% of applicants and reports median earnings of $48,103 for its Business graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business Administration, Management and Operations (15 graduates)

8The University of Montana-Western · Dillon, MT$47,344$16,558$14,82299.8%
The University of Montana-Western ranks 1200th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports an average net price of $16,558.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business Administration, Management and Operations (33 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Business Administration, Management and Operations ($47,344)

9Montana State University-Northern · Havre, MT$39,369$12,664$9,940Not reported
Montana State University-Northern reports median earnings of $39,369 two years after completing and an average net price of $9,940 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business Administration, Management and Operations (34 graduates)

How this list is ordered

Schools are ordered by the median earnings of their Business graduates four years after completing, or two years for programs that report only a two-year figure, highest first. The figures are medians for federally aided completers who were working and not enrolled, measured after completing. For 1 of the 9 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one. The metric does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. Montana State University leads The University of Montana by $5,575, and the spread from top to bottom is $32,209.