College research / Rankings

Best Colleges in Iowa (2026)

Updated

Best Colleges in Iowa lists 28 four-year institutions in Iowa. Schools are ordered by Azimuth's overall score for Iowa, highest first.

The score combines four pillars, weighted 30% return, 30% mobility, 20% access and 20% affordability, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. University of Iowa ranks 1st on this list and reports $69,866 in median earnings for its graduates four years after completing. The list includes 3 public and 25 private nonprofit schools.

University of Northern Iowa posts the lowest average net price at $15,901, while Grinnell College holds the highest six-year completion rate at 88%. University of Iowa ranks 184th on Azimuth's composite ranking among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally.

The ranked list

28 schools in list order
RankSchoolMedian earnings, 4 years after completionAverage net priceNet price, families under $30KAdmission rate
1University of Iowa · Iowa City, IA$69,866$22,531$15,31683.6%
University of Iowa reports median earnings of $69,866 for its graduates four years after completing, the highest figure on this list.
2Iowa State University · Ames, IA$68,277$18,589$10,58288.7%
Iowa State University admits 89% of applicants and shows a six-year completion rate of 75%.
3Grinnell College · Grinnell, IA$58,955$17,648$9,97014.5%
Grinnell College ranks 3rd on this list and carries an average net price of $17,648.
4University of Northern Iowa · Cedar Falls, IA$54,830$15,901$10,86392.7%
University of Northern Iowa posts the lowest average net price on the page at $15,901 and graduates 68% of its students within six years.
5Graceland University-Lamoni · Lamoni, IA$63,607$18,504$15,87580.8%
Graceland University-Lamoni shows median earnings of $63,607 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 42%.
6Briar Cliff University · Sioux City, IA$61,163$23,907$17,764Not reported
Briar Cliff University carries an average net price of $23,907 and reports median earnings of $61,163 for its graduates four years after completing.
7Grand View University · Des Moines, IA$57,521$21,774$18,51299.1%
Grand View University admits 99% of applicants and reports median earnings of $57,521 for its graduates four years after completing.
8Faith Baptist Bible College and Theological Seminary · Ankeny, IA$35,449$16,282$14,12167.5%
Faith Baptist Bible College and Theological Seminary ranks 8th on this list and has an admission rate of 68%.
9Saint Ambrose University · Davenport, IA$67,026$24,691$22,03777.3%
Saint Ambrose University reports median earnings of $67,026 for its graduates four years after completing and a six-year completion rate of 61%.
10Coe College · Cedar Rapids, IA$57,133$18,745$11,47964.0%
Coe College carries an average net price of $18,745 and admits 64% of applicants.
11Mount Mercy University · Cedar Rapids, IA$61,330$20,168$17,07082.5%
Mount Mercy University shows median earnings of $61,330 for its graduates four years after completing and an admission rate of 83%.
12William Penn University · Oskaloosa, IA$53,878$22,601$20,60851.9%
William Penn University graduates 33% of its students within six years and reports median earnings of $53,878 for its graduates four years after completing.
13Buena Vista University · Storm Lake, IA$50,318$18,846$12,90177.6%
Buena Vista University reports median earnings of $50,318 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $18,846.
14Allen College · Waterloo, IA$73,966Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Allen College ranks 989th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with median earnings of $73,966 four years after completing.
15Clarke University · Dubuque, IA$59,490$24,479$23,40571.8%
Clarke University admits 72% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 56%.
16University of Dubuque · Dubuque, IA$59,598$23,386$18,10688.6%
With a six-year completion rate of 40%, University of Dubuque ranks 16th on this list and reports an average net price of $23,386.
17Morningside University · Sioux City, IA$61,955$31,320$33,73871.0%
Morningside University shows median earnings of $61,955 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $31,320.
18Simpson College · Indianola, IA$56,509$21,936$17,94186.2%
Simpson College graduates 63% of its students within six years and reports an admission rate of 86%.
19Drake University · Des Moines, IA$65,232$29,127$25,82463.9%
Drake University ranks 1050th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with median earnings of $65,232 four years after completing.
20Upper Iowa University · Fayette, IA$58,837$20,942$17,71596.5%
Upper Iowa University admits 96% of applicants and reports an average net price of $17,715 for families earning under $30,000.
21Dordt University · Sioux Center, IA$57,567$25,807$22,59768.5%
Dordt University posts a six-year completion rate of 70% and median earnings of $57,567 for its graduates four years after completing.
22Loras College · Dubuque, IA$55,860$20,716$20,47999.9%
Loras College admits 100% of applicants and reports an average net price of $20,479 for families earning under $30,000.
23Luther College · Decorah, IA$55,033$23,097$12,51771.5%
Luther College shows median earnings of $55,033 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $23,097.
24Central College · Pella, IA$55,693$23,377$16,23186.2%
Central College reports an average net price of $16,231 for families earning under $30,000 and a six-year completion rate of 66%.
25Northwestern College · Orange City, IA$55,312$25,907$27,05980.4%
Northwestern College reports median earnings of $55,312 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 66%.
26Cornell College · Mount Vernon, IA$48,353$23,634$16,40979.9%
Cornell College admits 80% of applicants and carries an average net price of $23,634.
27Wartburg College · Waverly, IA$58,373$32,908$21,68875.8%
Graduates of Wartburg College earn a median of $58,373 four years after completing, and the school shows an average net price of $21,688 for families earning under $30,000.
28Palmer College of Chiropractic · Davenport, IA$56,452Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Palmer College of Chiropractic ranks 1360th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and posts a median of $56,452 for its graduates four years after completing.

How this list is ordered

Schools are ordered by Azimuth's overall score for Iowa, highest first. The score combines four pillars, weighted 30% return, 30% mobility, 20% access and 20% affordability, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. The score draws on the median earnings of each institution's federally aided completers, across all fields, who were working and not enrolled four years after completing. It does not measure fit or teaching quality. The list includes 3 public and 25 private nonprofit institutions.