College research / Rankings

Most Affordable Colleges in Iowa (2026)

Updated

Most Affordable Colleges in Iowa lists 28 four-year nonprofit institutions in Iowa. Schools are ordered by their average net price for families earning under $30,000, lowest first, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page.

Grinnell College ranks 1st on this list, with an average net price of $9,970 for families earning under $30,000. Across the 26 schools with a reported completion median, that price ranges from $9,970 to $33,738, with a median of $17,740 for families earning under $30,000.

The list is predominantly private: 25 of the 28 schools are private nonprofits, while 3 are public. Grinnell College posts the highest six-year completion rate on the page, at 88%.

University of Iowa ranks 184th on Azimuth's composite ranking among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally.

The ranked list

28 schools in list order
RankSchoolMedian earnings, 4 years after completionAverage net priceNet price, families under $30KAdmission rate
1Grinnell College · Grinnell, IA$58,955$17,648$9,97014.5%
Grinnell College reports an average net price of $9,970 for families earning under $30,000, the lowest figure on this list, alongside an 88% six-year completion rate.
2Iowa State University · Ames, IA$68,277$18,589$10,58288.7%
Iowa State University admits 89% of applicants and its graduates earn a median of $68,277 four years after completing.
3University of Northern Iowa · Cedar Falls, IA$54,830$15,901$10,86392.7%
With an average net price of $15,901, University of Northern Iowa is the lowest all-incomes figure among the 28 schools on the page.
4Coe College · Cedar Rapids, IA$57,133$18,745$11,47964.0%
Coe College ranks 4th on this list and posts a median of $57,133 for its graduates four years after completing.
5Luther College · Decorah, IA$55,033$23,097$12,51771.5%
Graduates of Luther College earn a median of $55,033 four years after completing, and the school reports an average net price of $12,517 for families earning under $30,000.
6Buena Vista University · Storm Lake, IA$50,318$18,846$12,90177.6%
Buena Vista University graduates 62% of its students within six years and carries an average net price of $12,901 for families earning under $30,000.
7Faith Baptist Bible College and Theological Seminary · Ankeny, IA$35,449$16,282$14,12167.5%
Faith Baptist Bible College and Theological Seminary shows a median of $35,449 for its graduates four years after completing, with an admission rate of 68%.
8University of Iowa · Iowa City, IA$69,866$22,531$15,31683.6%
University of Iowa holds the strongest Azimuth composite rank on the page, placing 184th among nonprofit four-year institutions, and reports an average net price of $15,316 for families earning under $30,000.
9Graceland University-Lamoni · Lamoni, IA$63,607$18,504$15,87580.8%
Graceland University-Lamoni reports a median of $63,607 for its graduates four years after completing, while its six-year completion rate sits at 42%.
10Central College · Pella, IA$55,693$23,377$16,23186.2%
Central College admits 86% of applicants and lists an average net price of $16,231 for families earning under $30,000.
11Cornell College · Mount Vernon, IA$48,353$23,634$16,40979.9%
Cornell College ranks 11th on this list, with a median of $48,353 for its graduates four years after completing.
12Mount Mercy University · Cedar Rapids, IA$61,330$20,168$17,07082.5%
Mount Mercy University reports an average net price of $17,070 for families earning under $30,000 and a six-year completion rate of 58%.
13Upper Iowa University · Fayette, IA$58,837$20,942$17,71596.5%
Upper Iowa University reports median earnings of $58,837 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $17,715 for families earning under $30,000.
14Briar Cliff University · Sioux City, IA$61,163$23,907$17,764Not reported
Briar Cliff University posts a six-year completion rate of 48% and an average net price of $17,764 for families earning under $30,000.
15Simpson College · Indianola, IA$56,509$21,936$17,94186.2%
Simpson College ranks 15th on this list, with an average net price of $17,941 for families earning under $30,000.
16University of Dubuque · Dubuque, IA$59,598$23,386$18,10688.6%
University of Dubuque shows a six-year completion rate of 40% and median earnings of $59,598 for its graduates four years after completing.
17Grand View University · Des Moines, IA$57,521$21,774$18,51299.1%
Grand View University reports an average net price of $18,512 for families earning under $30,000 and an admission rate of 99%.
18Loras College · Dubuque, IA$55,860$20,716$20,47999.9%
Loras College graduates 68% of its students within six years and ranks 1251st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
19William Penn University · Oskaloosa, IA$53,878$22,601$20,60851.9%
William Penn University admits 52% of applicants, and its graduates earn a median of $53,878 four years after completing.
20Wartburg College · Waverly, IA$58,373$32,908$21,68875.8%
Wartburg College ranks 20th on this list and reports an average net price of $21,688 for families earning under $30,000.
21Saint Ambrose University · Davenport, IA$67,026$24,691$22,03777.3%
Saint Ambrose University posts median earnings of $67,026 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 61%.
22Dordt University · Sioux Center, IA$57,567$25,807$22,59768.5%
Dordt University admits 68% of applicants and reports an average net price of $22,597 for families earning under $30,000.
23Clarke University · Dubuque, IA$59,490$24,479$23,40571.8%
Clarke University ranks 999th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and graduates 56% of its students within six years.
24Drake University · Des Moines, IA$65,232$29,127$25,82463.9%
Drake University reports median earnings of $65,232 for its graduates four years after completing, and its admission rate is 64%.
25Northwestern College · Orange City, IA$55,312$25,907$27,05980.4%
Northwestern College reports median earnings of $55,312 for its graduates four years after completing, and its six-year completion rate stands at 66%.
26Morningside University · Sioux City, IA$61,955$31,320$33,73871.0%
Morningside University admits 71% of applicants and posts an average net price of $33,738 for families earning under $30,000.
27Allen College · Waterloo, IA$73,966Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Allen College ranks 989th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with graduates across all fields earning a median of $73,966 four years after completing.
28Palmer College of Chiropractic · Davenport, IA$56,452Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Palmer College of Chiropractic ranks 28th on this list and reports median earnings of $56,452 for its graduates four years after completing.

How this list is ordered

Schools are ordered by their average net price for families earning under $30,000, lowest first, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. The earnings figures reflect federally aided completers across all fields who were working and not enrolled four years after completing. It does not adjust for who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The figures cited on this page cover the 26 schools with a reported completion median. Grinnell College records an average net price of $9,970 for families earning under $30,000, a $612 difference from Iowa State University at $10,582.