College research / Rankings

Best Colleges in Nebraska (2026)

Updated

Best Colleges in Nebraska lists 18 four-year institutions in the state. Schools are ordered by Azimuth's overall score for Nebraska, highest first.

The score combines four pillars, weighted 30% return, 30% mobility, 20% access and 20% affordability, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. University of Nebraska at Omaha ranks 1st on this list and reports median earnings of $60,448 for its graduates across all fields four years after completing. The list includes 7 public and 11 private nonprofit institutions.

Peru State College posts the lowest average net price at $11,632, while Creighton University reports the highest six-year completion rate at 83%. University of Nebraska at Omaha ranks 186th on Azimuth's composite ranking among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally.

The ranked list

18 schools in list order
RankSchoolMedian earnings, 4 years after completionAverage net priceNet price, families under $30KAdmission rate
1University of Nebraska at Omaha · Omaha, NE$60,448$13,441$10,53487.0%
University of Nebraska at Omaha ranks 1st on this list and 186th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with median earnings of $60,448 for its graduates four years after completing.
2University of Nebraska-Lincoln · Lincoln, NE$62,769$17,747$12,75187.5%
An average net price of $17,747 and a six-year completion rate of 67% place University of Nebraska-Lincoln 2nd on this page.
3University of Nebraska at Kearney · Kearney, NE$56,647$16,242$13,06689.5%
University of Nebraska at Kearney admits 89% of applicants and reports median earnings of $56,647 for its graduates four years after completing.
4Nebraska Methodist College of Nursing & Allied Health · Omaha, NE$74,574$21,863$17,27273.4%
Nebraska Methodist College of Nursing & Allied Health, a private nonprofit institution in Omaha, reports median earnings of $74,574 for its graduates four years after completing.
5Wayne State College · Wayne, NE$52,406$15,360$12,844Not reported
Wayne State College posts a six-year completion rate of 52% and an average net price of $15,360.
6Chadron State College · Chadron, NE$51,820$12,549$10,047Not reported
With an average net price of $12,549, Chadron State College reports median earnings of $51,820 for its graduates four years after completing.
7College of Saint Mary · Omaha, NE$64,669$16,590$14,09044.7%
College of Saint Mary admits 45% of applicants, the lowest admission rate on the page, and its graduates earn a median of $64,669 four years after completing.
8Creighton University · Omaha, NE$81,178$31,568$20,47279.8%
Creighton University reports a six-year completion rate of 83% and median earnings of $81,178 for its graduates four years after completing.
9Bryan College of Health Sciences · Lincoln, NE$77,318$26,919$23,19667.4%
Bryan College of Health Sciences reports median earnings of $77,318 for its graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $26,919.
10University of Nebraska Medical Center · Omaha, NE$85,735Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
University of Nebraska Medical Center reports median earnings of $85,735 for its graduates four years after completing.
11Peru State College · Peru, NE$53,258$11,632$9,986Not reported
Peru State College carries the lowest average net price on the page at $11,632 and a six-year completion rate of 38%.
12Nebraska Wesleyan University · Lincoln, NE$61,753$18,327$14,92579.8%
Nebraska Wesleyan University admits 80% of applicants and reports median earnings of $61,753 for its graduates four years after completing.
13Union Adventist University · Lincoln, NE$61,367$23,716$19,477100.0%
Union Adventist University admits 100% of applicants and reports a six-year completion rate of 52%.
14Doane University · Crete, NE$58,227$26,364$21,12998.0%
Doane University shows median earnings of $58,227 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $26,364.
15Midland University · Fremont, NE$58,061$26,267$21,08666.1%
Midland University ranks 15th on this list and posts a six-year completion rate of 42%.
16York University · York, NE$47,078$20,951$19,34351.9%
York University carries an average net price of $20,951 and reports median earnings of $47,078 for its graduates four years after completing.
17Hastings College · Hastings, NE$52,539$24,452$21,64671.7%
Hastings College admits 72% of applicants, and its graduates earn a median of $52,539 four years after completing.
18Concordia University-Nebraska · Seward, NE$53,848$23,965$19,10785.7%
Concordia University-Nebraska ranks 1377th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with a six-year completion rate of 65%.

How this list is ordered

Schools are ordered by Azimuth's overall score for Nebraska, highest first. The score combines four pillars, weighted 30% return, 30% mobility, 20% access and 20% affordability, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. The earnings figures cited for each school are the median earnings of its federally aided completers across all fields, measured four years after completing, among those working and not enrolled. The list does not measure fit or teaching quality. The figures cited on this page cover the 18 schools with a reported completion median. The list includes 7 public and 11 private nonprofit institutions.