College research / Rankings

Best Colleges in Tennessee (2026)

Updated

Best Colleges in Tennessee ranks 38 nonprofit four-year institutions on Azimuth's overall score for Tennessee. Schools are ordered by Azimuth's overall score for Tennessee, highest first.

The score combines four pillars, weighted 30% return, 30% mobility, 20% access and 20% affordability, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. Vanderbilt University ranks 1st on this list, reporting $101,204 in median earnings for its graduates four years after completing. The list includes 11 public and 27 private institutions.

Vanderbilt University ranks 62nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally. Austin Peay State University posts the lowest average net price at $9,735. Vanderbilt University reports the highest six-year completion rate, at 94%.

The ranked list

38 schools in list order
RankSchoolMedian earnings, 4 years after completionAverage net priceNet price, families under $30KAdmission rate
1Vanderbilt University · Nashville, TN$101,204$15,846$3,4145.9%
Vanderbilt University reports median earnings of $101,204 for its graduates four years after completing, the highest figure on this list.
2The University of Tennessee-Knoxville · Knoxville, TN$67,631$18,976$10,02941.6%
The University of Tennessee-Knoxville admits 42% of applicants and shows a six-year completion rate of 74%.
3University of Memphis · Memphis, TN$57,507$12,397$10,60772.0%
Graduates of University of Memphis earn a median of $57,507 four years after completing, and the school carries an average net price of $12,397.
4Middle Tennessee State University · Murfreesboro, TN$54,525$13,359$9,28969.1%
Middle Tennessee State University ranks 4th on this list and posts a six-year completion rate of 54%.
5Tennessee Technological University · Cookeville, TN$57,413$14,246$9,81576.1%
With an admission rate of 76%, Tennessee Technological University reports median earnings of $57,413 for its graduates four years after completing.
6Austin Peay State University · Clarksville, TN$52,456$9,735$7,58896.4%
Austin Peay State University carries the lowest average net price on the page at $9,735 and graduates 40% of its students within six years.
7The University of Tennessee-Chattanooga · Chattanooga, TN$57,377$14,265$9,87681.1%
The University of Tennessee-Chattanooga shows an average net price of $14,265 and median earnings of $57,377 for its graduates four years after completing.
8Baptist Health Sciences University · Memphis, TN$73,191$11,212$6,35482.0%
A private nonprofit institution in Memphis, Baptist Health Sciences University reports median earnings of $73,191 for its graduates four years after completing.
9East Tennessee State University · Johnson City, TN$53,033$15,983$12,43386.2%
East Tennessee State University admits 86% of applicants and reports an average net price of $15,983.
10Tennessee State University · Nashville, TN$53,808$15,796$15,00570.1%
Tennessee State University ranks 10th on this list, with a six-year completion rate of 34%.
11Lincoln Memorial University · Harrogate, TN$69,633$20,406$15,64462.6%
Graduates of Lincoln Memorial University earn a median of $69,633 four years after completing, and the school admits 63% of applicants.
12The University of Tennessee-Martin · Martin, TN$47,898$10,701$7,15188.2%
The University of Tennessee-Martin carries an average net price of $10,701 and reports median earnings of $47,898 for its graduates four years after completing.
13Trevecca Nazarene University · Nashville, TN$64,175$16,813$14,53269.4%
Trevecca Nazarene University reports median earnings of $64,175 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $16,813.
14Lane College · Jackson, TN$38,716$10,904$10,904Not reported
Lane College posts a six-year completion rate of 18% and an average net price of $10,904 for families earning under $30,000.
15Christian Brothers University · Memphis, TN$68,058$9,854$9,46686.7%
Christian Brothers University admits 87% of applicants and shows median earnings of $68,058 for its graduates four years after completing.
16The University of the South · Sewanee, TN$63,966$27,872$10,48556.9%
The University of the South graduates 80% of its students within six years, and its average net price is $27,872.
17Cumberland University · Lebanon, TN$58,091$18,759$17,88267.3%
Cumberland University ranks 17th on this list, with an average net price of $17,882 for families earning under $30,000.
18Rhodes College · Memphis, TN$65,427$28,585$15,77050.4%
Rhodes College reports median earnings of $65,427 for its graduates four years after completing and an admission rate of 50%.
19Lipscomb University · Nashville, TN$63,007$24,739$20,04867.7%
Lipscomb University posts a six-year completion rate of 72% and an average net price of $24,739.
20Bethel University · Mckenzie, TN$62,152$12,595$11,87160.2%
Bethel University admits 60% of applicants, and its graduates earn a median of $62,152 four years after completing.
21Visible Music College · Memphis, TN$36,048$27,820$27,74428.0%
Visible Music College ranks 891st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with an average net price of $27,744 for families earning under $30,000.
22The University of Tennessee Health Science Center · Memphis, TN$78,597Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
The University of Tennessee Health Science Center reports median earnings of $78,597 for its graduates four years after completing.
23King University · Bristol, TN$61,394$22,347$22,69699.7%
King University admits 100% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 48%.
24Tennessee Wesleyan University · Athens, TN$53,707$14,836$11,60968.9%
Tennessee Wesleyan University ranks 24th on this list, with an average net price of $11,609 for families earning under $30,000.
25Fisk University · Nashville, TN$58,830$32,020$27,64737.4%
Fisk University reports median earnings of $58,830 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $32,020.
26Southern Adventist University · Collegedale, TN$58,282$24,345$19,12365.5%
With a six-year completion rate of 49%, Southern Adventist University admits 66% of applicants and ranks 1081st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
27Carson-Newman University · Jefferson City, TN$53,936$20,251$16,67290.5%
Carson-Newman University posts an admission rate of 90% and an average net price of $16,672 for families earning under $30,000.
28Tusculum University · Greeneville, TN$51,271$21,131$20,76672.2%
Graduates of Tusculum University earn a median of $51,271 four years after completing, and the school's six-year completion rate stands at 25%.
29Union University · Jackson, TN$60,152$27,171$25,83960.4%
Union University ranks 1164th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with a six-year completion rate of 66%.
30The University of Tennessee Southern · Pulaski, TN$46,181$12,798$9,33586.7%
A public university in Pulaski, The University of Tennessee Southern reports an average net price of $12,798 and median earnings of $46,181 for its graduates four years after completing.
31Welch College · Gallatin, TN$43,472$25,263$25,590Not reported
Welch College shows a six-year completion rate of 53% and an average net price of $25,590 for families earning under $30,000.
32Maryville College · Maryville, TN$49,454$19,360$15,09460.9%
With median earnings of $49,454 for its graduates four years after completing, Maryville College admits 61% of applicants.
33Belmont University · Nashville, TN$56,202$33,147$22,95095.3%
Belmont University graduates 71% of its students within six years and reports an average net price of $33,147.
34Lee University · Cleveland, TN$47,559$18,878$12,83470.5%
Lee University ranks 1282nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its graduates earn a median of $47,559 four years after completing.
35Milligan University · Milligan, TN$55,216$21,365$15,11872.3%
Admitting 72% of applicants, Milligan University reports an average net price of $15,118 for families earning under $30,000.
36Bryan College-Dayton · Dayton, TN$51,604$20,614$19,500Not reported
Bryan College-Dayton posts median earnings of $51,604 for its graduates four years after completing, with a six-year completion rate of 50%.
37Freed-Hardeman University · Henderson, TN$50,701$21,574$20,98859.7%
Freed-Hardeman University ranks 37th on this list and reports median earnings of $50,701 for its graduates four years after completing.
38Johnson University · Knoxville, TN$42,004$22,063$17,24665.1%
Johnson University, a private nonprofit university in Knoxville, has an average net price of $22,063 and a six-year completion rate of 57%.

How this list is ordered

Schools are ordered by Azimuth's overall score for Tennessee, highest first. The score combines four pillars, weighted 30% return, 30% mobility, 20% access and 20% affordability, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. The score draws on institution-level earnings for federally aided completers who were working and not enrolled four years after completing, alongside measures of access and affordability. It does not measure fit or teaching quality. The list spans 11 public and 27 private nonprofit schools. Vanderbilt University ranks 1st on this list and posts median earnings of $101,204 for its graduates four years after completing, while The University of Tennessee-Knoxville reports $67,631.