Top Physical Therapy Colleges in Texas by Earnings (2026)
Updated
This page ranks the 9 Physical Therapy programs in Texas by median earnings of Physical Therapy graduates four years after completing. Only one school, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, has a published earnings figure for the cohort, reporting $52,999. Across the 1 school with a published figure, the median is $52,999.
The list is predominantly public, with 7 public and 2 private institutions. The University of Texas at Austin ranks 9th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. Midwestern State University posts the lowest average net price at $11,656.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Median Physical Therapy Earnings | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center · Houston, TX | $85,326 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, a public institution in Houston, ranks 524th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions (71 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (62 graduates), Public Health (17 graduates) | |||||
| 2 | Midwestern State University · Wichita Falls, TX | $83,622 | $11,656 | $8,856 | 93.5% |
| Midwestern State University reports an average net price of $11,656, the lowest on this list, and an admission rate of 94%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (207 graduates), Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (197 graduates), Dental Support Services and Allied Professions (18 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($87,009), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($83,622), Dental Support Services and Allied Professions ($74,347) | |||||
| 3 | The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston · Galveston, TX | $80,720 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston in Galveston ranks 442nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (378 graduates), Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions (32 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (21 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($91,723) | |||||
| 4 | Texas State University · San Marcos, TX | $79,289 | $16,805 | $12,715 | 89.3% |
| Texas State University posts a six-year completion rate of 55% and an average net price of $12,715 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (120 graduates), Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (87 graduates), Health and Medical Administrative Services (83 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($84,557), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($79,289), Health and Medical Administrative Services ($60,895) | |||||
| 5 | The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio · San Antonio, TX | $75,404 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio ranks 5th on this list and holds an Azimuth composite rank of 478th among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (301 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (41 graduates), Dental Support Services and Allied Professions (17 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($83,317), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($75,404), Dental Support Services and Allied Professions ($71,120) | |||||
| 6 | The University of Texas at Austin · Austin, TX | No published median | $19,857 | $12,553 | 26.6% |
| The University of Texas at Austin admits 27% of applicants, the most selective rate on the page, and graduates 89% of its students within six years. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Public Health (305 graduates), Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (116 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (99 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($87,891), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services ($67,405), Public Health ($61,390) | |||||
| 7 | University of the Incarnate Word · San Antonio, TX | $63,475 | $22,775 | $19,260 | 98.1% |
| University of the Incarnate Word, a private nonprofit university in San Antonio, has an admission rate of 98% and an average net price of $22,775. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (118 graduates), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (40 graduates), Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions (37 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($84,286), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General ($60,839), Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions ($58,059) | |||||
| 8 | Texas Wesleyan University · Fort Worth, TX | $52,999 | $24,066 | $21,812 | 69.2% |
| Texas Wesleyan University reports $52,999 in median earnings for its Physical Therapy graduates four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 32%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (7 graduates) | |||||
| 9 | Texas Southern University · Houston, TX | $31,305 | $16,590 | $16,437 | 96.9% |
| An average net price of $16,437 for families earning under $30,000 and an Azimuth composite rank of 222nd among nonprofit four-year institutions are reported by Texas Southern University. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Health and Medical Administrative Services (53 graduates), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (38 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (8 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Health and Medical Administrative Services ($48,426), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General ($44,612) | |||||
How this list is ordered
Schools are ordered by the median earnings of their Physical Therapy graduates four years after completing, highest first. Only schools with a reported Physical Therapy earnings cohort in Texas appear. The figure captures federally aided completers who were working and not enrolled four years after finishing the program. It does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost of attendance, or the characteristics of the students who enroll, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. Because only 1 of the 9 listed programs has a published earnings figure, the range and median below cover that single school. The spread from The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center to the bottom of the list is $0.
Job market context in Texas
Physical Therapy graduates in Texas enter a labor market linked to occupations such as Registered Nurses, Nursing Assistants, and Medical Assistants. Across those occupations, the median annual wage is $67,557, and a quarter of workers in those occupations earn less than $54,180. The state projects about 784 openings a year for every hundred graduates, with more projected openings than graduates. Projections for 2024 to 2034 put employment in those occupations about 16.1% higher. Wages and top occupations exclude management occupations; openings include them. The ranking above uses graduate earnings four years after completing; the market figures describe the broader occupations and are not the same measure.
Related rankings
- Health Professions Colleges
- Best Health Professions Colleges in California
- Best Nursing Colleges in New York
- Best Health Professions Colleges in Minnesota
- Best Health Professions Colleges in Ohio
- Health Professions Colleges in Texas for Social Mobility
- Nursing Colleges in Texas for Social Mobility
- Physical Therapy Colleges in Texas for Social Mobility
- Speech-Language Pathology Colleges in Texas for Social Mobility