Best Health Professions Colleges in California (2026)
Updated
This page ranks 44 Health Professions schools in California by the median earnings of Health Professions graduates four years after completing. Across the 42 schools with a published figure, earnings range from $148,193 at Samuel Merritt University to $25,194, with a median of $89,902.
For 4 of the listed schools the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one.
The list includes 25 public and 19 private nonprofit institutions. California State University-Los Angeles posts the lowest average net price at $3,967, while University of California-Berkeley reports the highest six-year completion rate at 93%.
On Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, University of California-San Diego ranks 1st.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Median Health Professions Earnings | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Samuel Merritt University · Oakland, CA | $148,193 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Samuel Merritt University reports $148,193 in median earnings for its Health Professions graduates four years after completing, the highest on this list. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (508 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($148,193) | |||||
| 2 | Sonoma State University · Rohnert Park, CA | $143,886 | $12,885 | $8,310 | 93.4% |
| Sonoma State University, a public university in Rohnert Park, admits 93% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 58%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (63 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($143,886) | |||||
| 3 | University of San Francisco · San Francisco, CA | $143,356 | $41,431 | $31,537 | 61.7% |
| University of San Francisco ranks 328th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and carries an average net price of $41,431. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (247 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($143,356) | |||||
| 4 | Dominican University of California · San Rafael, CA | $140,163 | $35,333 | $24,572 | 83.5% |
| Graduates of Dominican University of California earn a median of $140,163 four years after completing, and the school reports an average net price of $24,572 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (115 graduates), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (19 graduates), Public Health (15 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($149,622) | |||||
| 5 | California State University-Monterey Bay · Seaside, CA | $134,489 | $13,663 | $9,970 | 97.4% |
| California State University-Monterey Bay ranks 5th on this list with median earnings of $134,489, and its six-year completion rate stands at 59%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (52 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($134,489) | |||||
| 6 | Mount Saint Mary's University · Los Angeles, CA | $119,050 | $21,413 | $23,849 | 73.1% |
| Mount Saint Mary's University admits 73% of applicants and reports an average net price of $23,849 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (195 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($119,050) | |||||
| 7 | University of California-Los Angeles · Los Angeles, CA | $118,566 | $12,548 | $5,579 | 9.0% |
| University of California-Los Angeles posts a six-year completion rate of 93% alongside an admission rate of 9%, the most selective on the page. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (54 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($118,566) | |||||
| 8 | Azusa Pacific University · Azusa, CA | $118,549 | $22,212 | $15,781 | 88.4% |
| Azusa Pacific University reports median earnings of $118,549 for its Health Professions graduates four years after completing and ranks 481st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (615 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($118,549) | |||||
| 9 | California State University-Dominguez Hills · Carson, CA | $116,305 | $8,615 | $7,303 | 93.3% |
| California State University-Dominguez Hills carries an average net price of $8,615 and reports a six-year completion rate of 43%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (181 graduates), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (151 graduates), Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions (62 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($118,588), Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions ($109,642) | |||||
| 10 | Simpson University · Redding, CA | $113,623 | $27,817 | $25,511 | 86.0% |
| Simpson University, a private nonprofit university in Redding, reports median earnings of $113,623 for its Health Professions graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (48 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($113,623) | |||||
| 11 | California State University-Stanislaus · Turlock, CA | $113,534 | $6,067 | $3,938 | 98.1% |
| California State University-Stanislaus admits 98% of applicants and reports an average net price of $3,938 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (125 graduates), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (51 graduates), Public Health (27 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($126,959) | |||||
| 12 | California State University-San Marcos · San Marcos, CA | $111,229 | $10,229 | $6,230 | 95.1% |
| A public institution in San Marcos, California State University-San Marcos reports median earnings of $111,229 for Health Professions graduates four years after completing and ranks 59th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (318 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (71 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($120,196) | |||||
| 13 | San Francisco State University · San Francisco, CA | $111,203 | $12,278 | $9,341 | 96.4% |
| San Francisco State University reports $111,203 in median earnings for its Health Professions graduates four years after completing, and its average net price is $12,278. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (162 graduates), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (92 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (51 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($150,102), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services ($70,532), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General ($65,252) | |||||
| 14 | Concordia University-Irvine · Irvine, CA | $105,657 | $28,115 | $25,431 | 66.0% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 58%, Concordia University-Irvine ranks 14th on this list and posts median earnings of $105,657 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (108 graduates), Health and Medical Administrative Services (18 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($105,657) | |||||
| 15 | California State University-Bakersfield · Bakersfield, CA | $102,298 | $5,652 | $3,536 | 93.9% |
| California State University-Bakersfield admits 94% of applicants and its Health Professions graduates earn a median of $102,298 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (101 graduates) | |||||
| 16 | Vanguard University of Southern California · Costa Mesa, CA | $102,239 | $21,241 | $17,225 | 62.4% |
| Vanguard University of Southern California, a private nonprofit university in Costa Mesa, reports median earnings of $102,239 for its Health Professions graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (62 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($102,239) | |||||
| 17 | Point Loma Nazarene University · San Diego, CA | $101,952 | $38,729 | $30,999 | 83.7% |
| Point Loma Nazarene University shows an average net price of $38,729 and its Health Professions graduates earn a median of $101,952 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (137 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (42 graduates), Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition Services (5 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($114,919), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($59,654) | |||||
| 18 | California State University-East Bay · Hayward, CA | $94,959 | $9,320 | $6,360 | 97.4% |
| California State University-East Bay ranks 67th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $94,959 for its Health Professions graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (311 graduates), Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (171 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (39 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($150,921), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General ($68,231), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services ($62,720) | |||||
| 19 | California State University-Sacramento · Sacramento, CA | $91,251 | $9,338 | $6,501 | 94.0% |
| Graduates of California State University-Sacramento earn a median of $91,251 four years after completing, and the university posts a six-year completion rate of 56%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (196 graduates), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (158 graduates), Public Health (156 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($129,960), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General ($67,182), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services ($63,013) | |||||
| 20 | Biola University · La Mirada, CA | $91,146 | $31,495 | $27,144 | 74.4% |
| Biola University reports an average net price of $27,144 for families earning under $30,000, alongside median earnings of $91,146 for its Health Professions graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (55 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (50 graduates), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (5 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($111,200) | |||||
| 21 | California State University-Long Beach · Long Beach, CA | $90,282 | $10,440 | $7,183 | 46.3% |
| California State University-Long Beach admits 46% of applicants and ranks 5th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (370 graduates), Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (221 graduates), Health and Medical Administrative Services (146 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($111,681), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services ($75,137), Health and Medical Administrative Services ($64,633) | |||||
| 22 | University of Southern California · Los Angeles, CA | $89,522 | $32,740 | $13,516 | 9.8% |
| University of Southern California reports median earnings of $89,522 for its Health Professions graduates four years after completing, with a six-year completion rate of 92%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Public Health (128 graduates), Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions (13 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Public Health ($89,522) | |||||
| 23 | Fresno Pacific University · Fresno, CA | $88,283 | $13,630 | $11,133 | 64.1% |
| Fresno Pacific University shows an average net price of $13,630 and its Health Professions graduates earn a median of $88,283 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Health and Medical Administrative Services (10 graduates), Health/Medical Preparatory Programs (9 graduates), Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (9 graduates) | |||||
| 24 | California Baptist University · Riverside, CA | $85,997 | $26,285 | $22,298 | 84.9% |
| California Baptist University ranks 24th on this list and reports median earnings of $85,997 for its Health Professions graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (168 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (63 graduates), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (38 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($108,157), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services ($67,621), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General ($59,801) | |||||
| 25 | San Diego State University · San Diego, CA | $83,597 | $15,364 | $9,910 | 36.2% |
| San Diego State University reports $83,597 in median earnings for its Health Professions graduates four years after completing, and its six-year completion rate is 76%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (212 graduates), Public Health (162 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (154 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($120,799), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services ($61,510) | |||||
| 26 | University of the Pacific · Stockton, CA | $82,669 | $25,447 | $17,004 | 71.3% |
| A private nonprofit university in Stockton, University of the Pacific posts an average net price of $25,447 alongside a 71% admission rate. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Dental Support Services and Allied Professions (25 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (17 graduates), Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions (13 graduates) | |||||
| 27 | California State University-Fresno · Fresno, CA | $82,225 | $7,000 | $5,105 | 95.3% |
| California State University-Fresno ranks 27th on this list and carries an average net price of $7,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (177 graduates), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (149 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (140 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($111,278), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General ($76,268), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services ($51,835) | |||||
| 28 | California State University-San Bernardino · San Bernardino, CA | $78,037 | $4,564 | $2,681 | 93.7% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 55%, California State University-San Bernardino reports $78,037 in median earnings for its Health Professions graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (117 graduates), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (99 graduates), Public Health (42 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($109,499), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General ($45,977) | |||||
| 29 | California State University-Chico · Chico, CA | No published median | $14,480 | $9,902 | 92.7% |
| California State University-Chico admits 93% of applicants and shows an average net price of $9,902 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (127 graduates), Public Health (120 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (58 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($117,543), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General ($69,303), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services ($62,855) | |||||
| 30 | San Jose State University · San Jose, CA | $76,949 | $13,760 | $9,730 | 84.6% |
| San Jose State University reports $76,949 in median earnings for its Health Professions graduates two years after completing, and its Azimuth composite rank among nonprofit four-year institutions is 23rd. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Public Health (249 graduates), Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (167 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (55 graduates) | |||||
| 31 | University of California-Berkeley · Berkeley, CA | $76,572 | $13,481 | $5,311 | 11.0% |
| University of California-Berkeley posts an 11% admission rate and a six-year completion rate of 93%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Public Health (210 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Public Health ($76,572) | |||||
| 32 | California State University-Fullerton · Fullerton, CA | No published median | $6,555 | $3,315 | 90.5% |
| California State University-Fullerton ranks 6th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and carries an average net price of $3,315 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (432 graduates), Public Health (364 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (160 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($119,353), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services ($62,436), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General ($54,244) | |||||
| 33 | California State University-Los Angeles · Los Angeles, CA | $74,646 | $3,967 | $2,877 | 91.3% |
| Reporting $74,646 in median earnings for its Health Professions graduates four years after completing, California State University-Los Angeles has an average net price of $3,967. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Public Health (174 graduates), Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (158 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (126 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($116,182), Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions ($57,695), Public Health ($56,466) | |||||
| 34 | California State University-Channel Islands · Camarillo, CA | $74,555 | $9,849 | $6,857 | 94.8% |
| California State University-Channel Islands admits 95% of applicants and shows a six-year completion rate of 51% alongside median earnings of $74,555 for its Health Professions graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (236 graduates), Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (100 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($112,691) | |||||
| 35 | University of California-Davis · Davis, CA | $73,595 | $14,741 | $9,211 | 41.8% |
| University of California-Davis reports $73,595 in median earnings for its Health Professions graduates four years after completing, and its Azimuth composite rank among nonprofit four-year institutions is 18th. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration (62 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration ($73,595) | |||||
| 36 | California State University-Northridge · Northridge, CA | $73,511 | $7,021 | $4,905 | 93.5% |
| California State University-Northridge carries an average net price of $4,905 for families earning under $30,000 and reports $73,511 in median earnings for its Health Professions graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Public Health (312 graduates), Health and Medical Administrative Services (156 graduates), Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (155 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($116,613), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($105,747), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services ($65,188) | |||||
| 37 | Chapman University · Orange, CA | $72,529 | $46,555 | $33,559 | 65.4% |
| Chapman University reports $72,529 in median earnings for its Health Professions graduates four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 82%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Public Health (116 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Public Health ($72,529) | |||||
| 38 | University of Redlands · Redlands, CA | $71,767 | $30,031 | $28,287 | 82.7% |
| University of Redlands admits 83% of applicants and posts an average net price of $30,031. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (51 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Communication Disorders Sciences and Services ($71,767) | |||||
| 39 | University of California-San Diego · La Jolla, CA | $66,110 | $12,470 | $7,525 | 26.7% |
| With median earnings of $66,110 four years after completing, University of California-San Diego ranks 39th on this list and holds the 1st spot on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Public Health (345 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Public Health ($66,110) | |||||
| 40 | University of California-Irvine · Irvine, CA | $65,167 | $14,251 | $8,123 | 28.6% |
| University of California-Irvine graduates 87% of its students within six years and reports an average net price of $8,123 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Public Health (473 graduates), Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration (102 graduates), Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (49 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($119,502), Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration ($61,034), Public Health ($60,430) | |||||
| 41 | University of California-Merced · Merced, CA | $56,393 | $11,983 | $7,945 | 90.5% |
| An admission rate of 91% and median earnings of $56,393 four years after completing accompany University of California-Merced's 41st position on this page. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Public Health (141 graduates) | |||||
| 42 | Santa Clara University · Santa Clara, CA | $35,594 | $50,062 | $22,985 | 48.0% |
| Santa Clara University reports median earnings of $35,594 for its Health Professions graduates two years after completing, with an average net price of $50,062. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Public Health (40 graduates) | |||||
| 43 | Saint Mary's College of California · Moraga, CA | $33,993 | $30,378 | $19,462 | 86.5% |
| Saint Mary's College of California admits 87% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 70%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other (30 graduates) | |||||
| 44 | La Sierra University · Riverside, CA | $25,194 | $45,566 | $44,988 | 91.5% |
| La Sierra University ranks 44th on this list with median earnings of $25,194 two years after completing, and its Azimuth composite rank is 1420th among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Health/Medical Preparatory Programs (75 graduates), Public Health (7 graduates) | |||||
How this list is ordered
Schools are ordered by the median earnings of their Health Professions graduates four years after completing, highest first. Only schools with a reported Health Professions earnings cohort in California appear. The figure captures federally aided completers who were working and not enrolled four years after finishing. For 4 of the 44 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one. The metric does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The range and median below cover the 42 schools with a published figure. Samuel Merritt University leads at $148,193, a margin of $4,307 over second-place Sonoma State University, while the spread from top to bottom reaches $122,999.
Job market context in California
Health Professions graduates in California enter occupations such as Registered Nurses, Medical Assistants, and Nursing Assistants. The median annual wage across those occupations is $82,673, and a quarter of workers in those occupations earn less than $68,269. Projections for 2024 to 2034 put employment in those occupations about 13.1% higher, with about 1,247 openings a year for every hundred graduates, more projected openings than graduates. Wages and top occupations exclude management occupations; openings include them. The ranking above uses graduate earnings four years after completing, not the broader occupational wages described here.
Related rankings
- Health Professions Colleges
- Best Colleges in California
- Best Nursing Colleges in New York
- Top Physical Therapy Colleges in Texas by Earnings
- Best Health Professions Colleges in Minnesota
- Best Health Professions Colleges in Ohio
- Health Professions Colleges in California for Social Mobility
- Nursing Colleges in California for Social Mobility
- Speech-Language Pathology Colleges in California for Social Mobility