Best Nursing Colleges in California (2026)
Updated
Part of Best Health Professions Colleges in California
This page ranks the 33 schools in California that offer Nursing by the median earnings of Nursing graduates four years after completing. Across the listed schools, earnings range from $150,921 at California State University-East Bay to $92,277, with a median of $118,549.
The list includes 21 public and 12 private nonprofit institutions, so public institutions make up 64% of the 33 listed schools. California State University-Los Angeles ranks 3rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally.
California State University-Los Angeles posts the lowest average net price at $3,967.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Median Nursing Earnings | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | California State University-East Bay · Hayward, CA | $150,921 | $9,320 | $6,360 | 97.4% |
| California State University-East Bay is a public university in Hayward that ranks 67th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (311 graduates), Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (171 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (39 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($150,921), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General ($68,231), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services ($62,720) | |||||
| 2 | San Francisco State University · San Francisco, CA | $150,102 | $12,278 | $9,341 | 96.4% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 50%, San Francisco State University reports an average net price of $12,278. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (162 graduates), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (92 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (51 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($150,102), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services ($70,532), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General ($65,252) | |||||
| 3 | Dominican University of California · San Rafael, CA | $149,622 | $35,333 | $24,572 | 83.5% |
| Dominican University of California, a private nonprofit institution in San Rafael, admits 84% of applicants and has an average net price of $24,572 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (115 graduates), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (19 graduates), Public Health (15 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($149,622) | |||||
| 4 | Samuel Merritt University · Oakland, CA | $148,193 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Samuel Merritt University reports $148,193 in median earnings for its Nursing graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (508 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($148,193) | |||||
| 5 | Sonoma State University · Rohnert Park, CA | $143,886 | $12,885 | $8,310 | 93.4% |
| Sonoma State University posts median earnings of $143,886 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 58%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (63 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($143,886) | |||||
| 6 | University of San Francisco · San Francisco, CA | $143,356 | $41,431 | $31,537 | 61.7% |
| Graduates of University of San Francisco earn a median of $143,356 four years after completing the Nursing program, and the school admits 62% of applicants. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (247 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($143,356) | |||||
| 7 | California State University-Monterey Bay · Seaside, CA | $134,489 | $13,663 | $9,970 | 97.4% |
| California State University-Monterey Bay reports median earnings of $134,489 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $9,970 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (52 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($134,489) | |||||
| 8 | California State University-Sacramento · Sacramento, CA | $129,960 | $9,338 | $6,501 | 94.0% |
| An average net price of $9,338 coincides with a 10th Azimuth composite rank among nonprofit four-year institutions at California State University-Sacramento. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (196 graduates), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (158 graduates), Public Health (156 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($129,960), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General ($67,182), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services ($63,013) | |||||
| 9 | California State University-Stanislaus · Turlock, CA | $126,959 | $6,067 | $3,938 | 98.1% |
| With an admission rate of 98%, California State University-Stanislaus reports an average net price of $3,938 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (125 graduates), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (51 graduates), Public Health (27 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($126,959) | |||||
| 10 | San Diego State University · San Diego, CA | $120,799 | $15,364 | $9,910 | 36.2% |
| San Diego State University admits 36% of applicants and has a six-year completion rate of 76%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (212 graduates), Public Health (162 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (154 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($120,799), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services ($61,510) | |||||
| 11 | California State University-San Marcos · San Marcos, CA | $120,196 | $10,229 | $6,230 | 95.1% |
| California State University-San Marcos reports an average net price of $10,229 and ranks 59th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (318 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (71 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($120,196) | |||||
| 12 | University of California-Irvine · Irvine, CA | $119,502 | $14,251 | $8,123 | 28.6% |
| University of California-Irvine admits 29% of applicants and reports a six-year completion rate of 87%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Public Health (473 graduates), Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration (102 graduates), Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (49 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($119,502), Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration ($61,034), Public Health ($60,430) | |||||
| 13 | California State University-Fullerton · Fullerton, CA | $119,353 | $6,555 | $3,315 | 90.5% |
| California State University-Fullerton reports a six-year completion rate of 70% and an average net price of $6,555. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (432 graduates), Public Health (364 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (160 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($119,353), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services ($62,436), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General ($54,244) | |||||
| 14 | Mount Saint Mary's University · Los Angeles, CA | $119,050 | $21,413 | $23,849 | 73.1% |
| Mount Saint Mary's University, a private nonprofit university in Los Angeles, posts median earnings of $119,050 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (195 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($119,050) | |||||
| 15 | California State University-Dominguez Hills · Carson, CA | $118,588 | $8,615 | $7,303 | 93.3% |
| California State University-Dominguez Hills admits 93% of applicants and carries an average net price of $8,615. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (181 graduates), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (151 graduates), Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions (62 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($118,588), Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions ($109,642) | |||||
| 16 | University of California-Los Angeles · Los Angeles, CA | $118,566 | $12,548 | $5,579 | 9.0% |
| University of California-Los Angeles reports median earnings of $118,566 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing, alongside a 9% admission rate. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (54 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($118,566) | |||||
| 17 | Azusa Pacific University · Azusa, CA | $118,549 | $22,212 | $15,781 | 88.4% |
| Azusa Pacific University reports median earnings of $118,549 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing and a six-year completion rate of 62%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (615 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($118,549) | |||||
| 18 | California State University-Chico · Chico, CA | $117,543 | $14,480 | $9,902 | 92.7% |
| California State University-Chico ranks 18th on this list and shows an average net price of $14,480. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (127 graduates), Public Health (120 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (58 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($117,543), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General ($69,303), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services ($62,855) | |||||
| 19 | California State University-Northridge · Northridge, CA | $116,613 | $7,021 | $4,905 | 93.5% |
| Ranking 7th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, California State University-Northridge reports a six-year completion rate of 57%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Public Health (312 graduates), Health and Medical Administrative Services (156 graduates), Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (155 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($116,613), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($105,747), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services ($65,188) | |||||
| 20 | California State University-Los Angeles · Los Angeles, CA | $116,182 | $3,967 | $2,877 | 91.3% |
| Holding the lowest average net price on the page at $3,967, California State University-Los Angeles ranks 3rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Public Health (174 graduates), Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (158 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (126 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($116,182), Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions ($57,695), Public Health ($56,466) | |||||
| 21 | Point Loma Nazarene University · San Diego, CA | $114,919 | $38,729 | $30,999 | 83.7% |
| Point Loma Nazarene University, a private nonprofit university in San Diego, reports a six-year completion rate of 77% and an average net price of $38,729. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (137 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (42 graduates), Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition Services (5 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($114,919), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($59,654) | |||||
| 22 | Simpson University · Redding, CA | $113,623 | $27,817 | $25,511 | 86.0% |
| Simpson University reports median earnings of $113,623 for its Nursing graduates four years after completing and admits 86% of applicants. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (48 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($113,623) | |||||
| 23 | California State University-Channel Islands · Camarillo, CA | $112,691 | $9,849 | $6,857 | 94.8% |
| California State University-Channel Islands admits 95% of applicants and reports a six-year completion rate of 51%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (236 graduates), Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (100 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($112,691) | |||||
| 24 | Fresno Pacific University · Fresno, CA | $112,178 | $13,630 | $11,133 | 64.1% |
| Fresno Pacific University reports an average net price of $13,630 and a six-year completion rate of 50%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Health and Medical Administrative Services (10 graduates), Health/Medical Preparatory Programs (9 graduates), Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (9 graduates) | |||||
| 25 | California State University-Long Beach · Long Beach, CA | $111,681 | $10,440 | $7,183 | 46.3% |
| California State University-Long Beach reports a six-year completion rate of 69% and an average net price of $10,440. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (370 graduates), Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (221 graduates), Health and Medical Administrative Services (146 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($111,681), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services ($75,137), Health and Medical Administrative Services ($64,633) | |||||
| 26 | California State University-Fresno · Fresno, CA | $111,278 | $7,000 | $5,105 | 95.3% |
| With an admission rate of 95%, California State University-Fresno ranks 26th on Azimuth's composite ranking among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (177 graduates), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (149 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (140 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($111,278), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General ($76,268), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services ($51,835) | |||||
| 27 | Biola University · La Mirada, CA | $111,200 | $31,495 | $27,144 | 74.4% |
| Biola University, a private nonprofit university in La Mirada, has an average net price of $27,144 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (55 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (50 graduates), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (5 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($111,200) | |||||
| 28 | California State University-San Bernardino · San Bernardino, CA | $109,499 | $4,564 | $2,681 | 93.7% |
| California State University-San Bernardino posts an average net price of $4,564 and a six-year completion rate of 55%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (117 graduates), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (99 graduates), Public Health (42 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($109,499), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General ($45,977) | |||||
| 29 | California Baptist University · Riverside, CA | $108,157 | $26,285 | $22,298 | 84.9% |
| Ranking 432nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally, California Baptist University admits 85% of applicants. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (168 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (63 graduates), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (38 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($108,157), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services ($67,621), Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General ($59,801) | |||||
| 30 | Concordia University-Irvine · Irvine, CA | $105,657 | $28,115 | $25,431 | 66.0% |
| Concordia University-Irvine reports $105,657 in median earnings of Nursing graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $28,115. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (108 graduates), Health and Medical Administrative Services (18 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($105,657) | |||||
| 31 | California State University-Bakersfield · Bakersfield, CA | $102,298 | $5,652 | $3,536 | 93.9% |
| California State University-Bakersfield reports $102,298 in median earnings of Nursing graduates four years after completing alongside a six-year completion rate of 50%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (101 graduates) | |||||
| 32 | Vanguard University of Southern California · Costa Mesa, CA | $102,239 | $21,241 | $17,225 | 62.4% |
| Vanguard University of Southern California reports $102,239 in median earnings of Nursing graduates four years after completing and an admission rate of 62%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (62 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($102,239) | |||||
| 33 | San Jose State University · San Jose, CA | $92,277 | $13,760 | $9,730 | 84.6% |
| San Jose State University ranks 23rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally and has a six-year completion rate of 69%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Public Health (249 graduates), Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (167 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (55 graduates) | |||||
How this list is ordered
Schools are ordered by the median earnings of their Nursing graduates four years after completing, or two years for programs that report only a two-year figure, highest first. The figure captures federally aided completers who were working and not enrolled after completing. It does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The spread from California State University-East Bay to San Francisco State University is $58,644.
Job market context in California
In California, Nursing graduates enter occupations such as Registered Nurses, Medical Assistants, and Nursing Assistants. Across those occupations the median annual wage is $82,673, and a quarter of workers in those occupations earn less than $68,269. Projections for 2024 to 2034 put employment in those occupations about 13.1% higher, with about 1,247 openings a year for every hundred graduates, more projected openings than graduates. Wages and top occupations exclude management occupations; openings include them. The ranking above uses graduate earnings four years after completing; the market figures describe the broader occupations and are not the same measure.
Related rankings
- Health Professions Colleges
- Best Colleges in California
- Best Health Professions Colleges in California
- Best Nursing Colleges in New York
- Top Physical Therapy Colleges in Texas by Earnings
- Best Health Professions Colleges in Minnesota
- Health Professions Colleges in California for Social Mobility
- Nursing Colleges in California for Social Mobility
- Speech-Language Pathology Colleges in California for Social Mobility