Best Teacher Education Colleges in Washington (2026)
Updated
This page ranks the 11 colleges in Washington that report a Teacher Education earnings cohort, ordered by the median earnings of Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. Pacific Lutheran University leads the list with median earnings of $66,848 four years after completing.
Across the 6 schools with a published figure, earnings range from $66,848 to $28,881, with a median of $59,722. For 1 of the 6 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one.
The list includes 5 public and 6 private nonprofit institutions. Eastern Washington University posts the lowest average net price at $13,886.
University of Washington-Seattle Campus reports the highest six-year completion rate, graduating 85% of its students within six years, and ranks 72nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Median Teacher Education Earnings | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Pacific Lutheran University · Tacoma, WA | $66,848 | $19,589 | $13,609 | 78.0% |
| Pacific Lutheran University reports $66,848 in median earnings of Teacher Education graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $19,589. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (24 graduates), Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas (8 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods ($66,848) | |||||
| 2 | Western Washington University · Bellingham, WA | $62,500 | $21,193 | $12,915 | 93.3% |
| Western Washington University admits 93% of applicants and ranks 533rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Special Education and Teaching (101 graduates), Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas (79 graduates), Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (75 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Special Education and Teaching ($64,780), Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas ($63,072), Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods ($62,500) | |||||
| 3 | Washington State University · Pullman, WA | $61,304 | $14,971 | $7,074 | 86.6% |
| Washington State University posts a six-year completion rate of 60% and an average net price of $7,074 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (194 graduates), Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas (8 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods ($61,304) | |||||
| 4 | Heritage University · Toppenish, WA | $60,999 | $14,598 | $15,114 | Not reported |
| Heritage University ranks 4th on this list, with median earnings of Teacher Education graduates four years after completing of $60,999 and a six-year completion rate of 54%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (35 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods ($60,999) | |||||
| 5 | Whitworth University · Spokane, WA | $60,010 | $26,534 | $16,788 | 89.8% |
| Whitworth University admits 90% of applicants and reports $60,010 in median earnings of Teacher Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (61 graduates), Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas (6 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods ($60,010) | |||||
| 6 | University of Washington-Seattle Campus · Seattle, WA | $59,736 | $14,091 | $6,384 | 39.2% |
| University of Washington-Seattle Campus ranks 72nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and graduates 85% of its students within six years. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Education, General (150 graduates), Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (109 graduates), Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas (12 graduates) | |||||
| 7 | Central Washington University · Ellensburg, WA | $59,659 | $18,476 | $11,846 | 90.6% |
| Central Washington University has an average net price of $18,476 and an admission rate of 91%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (246 graduates), Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas (137 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas ($61,604), Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods ($59,659) | |||||
| 8 | Saint Martin's University · Lacey, WA | $59,433 | $28,119 | $22,810 | 89.8% |
| Saint Martin's University reports $59,433 in median earnings of Teacher Education graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $22,810 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (25 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods ($59,433) | |||||
| 9 | Northwest University · Kirkland, WA | $58,134 | $22,288 | $17,996 | 83.2% |
| Northwest University graduates 71% of its students within six years and ranks 1185th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (11 graduates), Education, General (8 graduates), Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas (6 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods ($58,134) | |||||
| 10 | Eastern Washington University · Cheney, WA | $55,671 | $13,886 | $9,547 | 90.8% |
| Eastern Washington University has an average net price of $9,547 for families earning under $30,000 and a six-year completion rate of 43%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas (151 graduates), Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (52 graduates), Special Education and Teaching (11 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas ($57,915), Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods ($55,671), Special Education and Teaching ($55,244) | |||||
| 11 | Walla Walla University · College Place, WA | $28,881 | $23,329 | $18,675 | Not reported |
| Walla Walla University reports $28,881 in median earnings of Teacher Education graduates two years after completing and an average net price of $23,329. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (17 graduates) | |||||
How this list is ordered
Schools are ordered by the median earnings of their Teacher Education graduates four years after completing, highest first. Only schools with a reported Teacher Education earnings cohort in Washington appear. The figure reflects federally aided Teacher Education completers who were working and not enrolled, measured four years after completing. For 1 of the 11 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one. The metric does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The range and median below cover the 6 schools with a published figure. The spread from Pacific Lutheran University to the lowest listed school is $37,967.
Job market context in Washington
The occupations linked to Teacher Education in Washington include such as Teachers and Instructors, All Other, Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education, and Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education. Across those occupations, the median annual wage is $92,954, and a quarter of workers in those occupations earn less than $72,009. Projections for 2024 to 2034 put employment in those occupations about 9.4% higher, with 18,690 projected openings a year, or about 978 openings a year for every hundred graduates, more projected openings than graduates. Wages and top occupations exclude management occupations; openings include them. These market figures describe the occupations, not the graduate earnings the ranking above uses.
Related rankings
- Education Colleges
- Best Colleges in Washington
- Best Education Colleges in California
- Best Teacher Education Colleges in Florida
- Best Teacher Education Colleges in Texas
- Best Teacher Education Colleges in Minnesota
- Education Colleges in Washington for Social Mobility