Best Education Colleges in California (2026)
Updated
This page ranks the 27 schools in California that offer Education by median earnings of Education graduates four years after completing. California State University-Sacramento leads the list at $82,062, followed by University of the Pacific at $69,342 and Chapman University at $64,917.
Across the 22 schools with a published figure, median earnings reach $52,354 and span from $82,062 to $24,035, a spread of $58,027.
Public institutions account for 16 of the 27 schools and 59% of the list. California State University-Los Angeles ranks 3rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and California State University-Los Angeles posts the lowest average net price at $3,967.
University of California-Irvine reports the highest six-year completion rate, graduating 87% of its students within six years.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Median Education Earnings | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | California State University-Sacramento · Sacramento, CA | $82,062 | $9,338 | $6,501 | 94.0% |
| California State University-Sacramento reports $82,062 in median earnings of Education graduates four years after completing and ranks 10th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (436 graduates), Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas (30 graduates) | |||||
| 2 | University of the Pacific · Stockton, CA | $69,342 | $25,447 | $17,004 | 71.3% |
| A private nonprofit university in Stockton, University of the Pacific posts a six-year completion rate of 69% alongside median earnings of $69,342 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (13 graduates), Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas (11 graduates) | |||||
| 3 | Chapman University · Orange, CA | $64,917 | $46,555 | $33,559 | 65.4% |
| Chapman University admits 65% of applicants and its Education graduates earn a median of $64,917 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Education, General (65 graduates), Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas (6 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Education, General ($64,917) | |||||
| 4 | Fresno Pacific University · Fresno, CA | $60,711 | $13,630 | $11,133 | 64.1% |
| With an average net price of $13,630, Fresno Pacific University reports median earnings of $60,711 for its Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas (109 graduates), Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (86 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods ($60,338) | |||||
| 5 | Vanguard University of Southern California · Costa Mesa, CA | No published median | $21,241 | $17,225 | 62.4% |
| Vanguard University of Southern California ranks 5th on this list and carries an average net price of $17,225 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Education, General (24 graduates), Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas (5 graduates) | |||||
| 6 | San Francisco State University · San Francisco, CA | $59,993 | $12,278 | $9,341 | 96.4% |
| San Francisco State University reports $59,993 in median earnings of Education graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $9,341 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (258 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods ($59,993) | |||||
| 7 | California State University-Fresno · Fresno, CA | $58,138 | $7,000 | $5,105 | 95.3% |
| California State University-Fresno posts a six-year completion rate of 57% and median earnings of $58,138 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas (71 graduates), Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (25 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas ($62,475), Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods ($45,819) | |||||
| 8 | University of California-Riverside · Riverside, CA | $57,847 | $14,304 | $8,852 | 76.4% |
| University of California-Riverside admits 76% of applicants and its Education graduates earn a median of $57,847 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Social and Philosophical Foundations of Education (192 graduates) | |||||
| 9 | Point Loma Nazarene University · San Diego, CA | $56,198 | $38,729 | $30,999 | 83.7% |
| Point Loma Nazarene University reports $56,198 in median earnings of Education graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $30,999 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (59 graduates) | |||||
| 10 | California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo · San Luis Obispo, CA | $55,543 | $16,665 | $7,529 | 31.3% |
| California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo admits 31% of applicants and its Education graduates earn a median of $55,543 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (57 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods ($55,543) | |||||
| 11 | University of La Verne · La Verne, CA | $54,898 | $20,161 | $20,151 | 71.2% |
| University of La Verne reports $54,898 in median earnings of Education graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $20,151 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Education, General (102 graduates), Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas (93 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas ($54,898) | |||||
| 12 | University of California-Irvine · Irvine, CA | No published median | $14,251 | $8,123 | 28.6% |
| With an average net price of $8,123 for families earning under $30,000, University of California-Irvine ranks 12th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Education, General (251 graduates), Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas (12 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Education, General ($54,356) | |||||
| 13 | Sonoma State University · Rohnert Park, CA | $52,842 | $12,885 | $8,310 | 93.4% |
| Sonoma State University reports $52,842 in median earnings for its Education graduates four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 58%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Education, Other (130 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Education, Other ($52,842) | |||||
| 14 | Pacific Oaks College · Pasadena, CA | $51,865 | Not reported | Not reported | 34.4% |
| A private nonprofit institution in Pasadena, Pacific Oaks College admits 34% of applicants and ranks 471st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (61 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods ($51,865) | |||||
| 15 | Biola University · La Mirada, CA | $51,566 | $31,495 | $27,144 | 74.4% |
| Biola University posts an average net price of $31,495 and a six-year completion rate of 68%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (36 graduates), Education, General (9 graduates) | |||||
| 16 | California State University-San Marcos · San Marcos, CA | $51,445 | $10,229 | $6,230 | 95.1% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 55%, California State University-San Marcos ranks 59th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (118 graduates) | |||||
| 17 | California State University-Los Angeles · Los Angeles, CA | $50,444 | $3,967 | $2,877 | 91.3% |
| California State University-Los Angeles holds the lowest average net price on this list at $3,967 and ranks 3rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (391 graduates), Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas (28 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods ($50,444) | |||||
| 18 | William Jessup University · Rocklin, CA | $49,540 | $28,062 | $23,123 | 93.3% |
| William Jessup University reports $49,540 in median earnings for its Education graduates four years after completing and an admission rate of 93%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (36 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods ($49,540) | |||||
| 19 | California State University-Channel Islands · Camarillo, CA | $49,106 | $9,849 | $6,857 | 94.8% |
| A public university in Camarillo, California State University-Channel Islands shows an average net price of $9,849 and a six-year completion rate of 51%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Education, Other (78 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Education, Other ($49,106) | |||||
| 20 | San Diego State University · San Diego, CA | $48,471 | $15,364 | $9,910 | 36.2% |
| San Diego State University admits 36% of applicants and reports $48,471 in median earnings for its Education graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (142 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods ($48,471) | |||||
| 21 | Hope International University · Fullerton, CA | $45,971 | $29,310 | $27,991 | 33.0% |
| Hope International University posts an average net price of $29,310 and a six-year completion rate of 49%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Education, General (14 graduates) | |||||
| 22 | California State University-Dominguez Hills · Carson, CA | $44,654 | $8,615 | $7,303 | 93.3% |
| California State University-Dominguez Hills reports a six-year completion rate of 43% and ranks 46th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (243 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods ($44,654) | |||||
| 23 | California State University-Stanislaus · Turlock, CA | $44,020 | $6,067 | $3,938 | 98.1% |
| An average net price of $6,067 and an admission rate of 98% are reported by California State University-Stanislaus. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (84 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods ($44,020) | |||||
| 24 | California Baptist University · Riverside, CA | No published median | $26,285 | $22,298 | 84.9% |
| California Baptist University shows a six-year completion rate of 62% and an average net price of $22,298 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (84 graduates), Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas (11 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods ($41,749) | |||||
| 25 | California State Polytechnic University-Pomona · Pomona, CA | No published median | $11,531 | $7,851 | 75.2% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 68%, California State Polytechnic University-Pomona admits 75% of applicants to its Education programs. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Education, Other (113 graduates), Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas (48 graduates) | |||||
| 26 | California State University-Fullerton · Fullerton, CA | No published median | $6,555 | $3,315 | 90.5% |
| California State University-Fullerton reports an average net price of $6,555, and its six-year completion rate is 70%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (530 graduates) | |||||
| 27 | California State University-San Bernardino · San Bernardino, CA | $24,035 | $4,564 | $2,681 | 93.7% |
| Graduates of California State University-San Bernardino reported median earnings of $24,035 two years after completing, and the school ranks 43rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas (9 graduates) | |||||
How this list is ordered
Schools are ordered by the median earnings of their Education graduates four years after completing, highest first. Only schools with a reported Education earnings cohort in California appear. The figure reflects federally aided Education graduates who were working and not enrolled, measured four years after completing. For 1 of the 27 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one. The metric does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The range and median below cover the 22 schools with a published figure. California State University-Sacramento leads University of the Pacific by $12,720, and the spread from top to bottom reaches $58,027.
Job market context in California
The occupations linked to Education in California include roles such as Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education, Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education, and Educational Instruction and Library Workers, All Other. Across those occupations, the median annual wage is $89,907, and a quarter of workers in those occupations earn less than $67,415. Projections for 2024 to 2034 put employment in those occupations about 3.9% higher, with about 1,182 openings a year for every hundred graduates, more projected openings than graduates. Wages and top occupations exclude management occupations; openings include them. The ranking above uses graduate earnings four years after completing, not the broader occupational wage figures, so the two are not the same measure.
Related rankings
- Education Colleges
- Best Colleges in California
- Best Teacher Education Colleges in Florida
- Best Teacher Education Colleges in Texas
- Best Teacher Education Colleges in Minnesota
- Best Education Colleges in Texas
- Education Colleges in California for Social Mobility
- Teacher Education Colleges in California for Social Mobility