Most Affordable Colleges in South Carolina (2026)
Updated
Most Affordable Colleges in South Carolina lists 32 four-year institutions in South Carolina. Schools are ordered by their average net price for families earning under $30,000, lowest first, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page.
Wofford College ranks 1st on this list, with an average net price of $8,493 for families earning under $30,000. Across the 31 schools with a reported completion median, the average net price for families earning under $30,000 ranges from $8,493 to $21,955, with a median of $14,287.
The list includes 13 public and 19 private nonprofit schools. Allen University posts the lowest average net price on the page at $10,972.
University of South Carolina-Columbia ranks 173rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Median earnings, 4 years after completion | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Wofford College · Spartanburg, SC | $65,763 | $18,732 | $8,493 | 51.9% |
| Wofford College reports an average net price of $8,493 for families earning under $30,000, and its graduates earn a median of $65,763 four years after completing. | |||||
| 2 | University of South Carolina Aiken · Aiken, SC | $53,299 | $11,641 | $8,987 | 78.5% |
| University of South Carolina Aiken admits 79% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 40%. | |||||
| 3 | Coastal Carolina University · Conway, SC | $52,398 | $13,966 | $9,563 | 75.3% |
| Coastal Carolina University ranks 3rd on this list with an average net price of $9,563 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 4 | Francis Marion University · Florence, SC | $52,141 | $11,386 | $9,723 | 86.4% |
| Graduates of Francis Marion University earn a median of $52,141 four years after completing, and the school's average net price is $11,386. | |||||
| 5 | Allen University · Columbia, SC | $36,436 | $10,972 | $10,553 | 72.5% |
| Allen University holds the lowest average net price on the page at $10,972 and ranks 1051st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 6 | University of South Carolina Beaufort · Bluffton, SC | $49,235 | $14,656 | $11,397 | 72.5% |
| University of South Carolina Beaufort reports an average net price of $11,397 for families earning under $30,000 and a six-year completion rate of 34%. | |||||
| 7 | Lander University · Greenwood, SC | $47,003 | $15,363 | $11,450 | 81.3% |
| Lander University ranks 7th on this list, and its graduates earn a median of $47,003 four years after completing. | |||||
| 8 | University of South Carolina-Upstate · Spartanburg, SC | $55,994 | $13,557 | $11,618 | 67.3% |
| University of South Carolina-Upstate admits 67% of applicants and reports an average net price of $11,618 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 9 | Voorhees University · Denmark, SC | $36,170 | $13,335 | $11,968 | Not reported |
| Graduates of Voorhees University earn a median of $36,170 four years after completing, and the school's six-year completion rate is 43%. | |||||
| 10 | College of Charleston · Charleston, SC | $58,354 | $18,960 | $12,133 | 60.0% |
| College of Charleston ranks 10th on this list with an average net price of $12,133 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 11 | Winthrop University · Rock Hill, SC | $48,693 | $15,343 | $12,608 | 79.3% |
| Winthrop University reports an average net price of $15,343 and a six-year completion rate of 57%. | |||||
| 12 | University of South Carolina-Columbia · Columbia, SC | $67,741 | $22,811 | $12,634 | 60.2% |
| University of South Carolina-Columbia ranks 173rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its graduates earn a median of $67,741 four years after completing. | |||||
| 13 | Clemson University · Clemson, SC | $75,142 | $22,253 | $13,607 | 38.3% |
| Clemson University reports median earnings of $75,142 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 87%. | |||||
| 14 | Southern Wesleyan University · Central, SC | $52,228 | $15,464 | $14,084 | 99.5% |
| Southern Wesleyan University admits 100% of applicants and shows an average net price of $14,084 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 15 | Converse University · Spartanburg, SC | $44,925 | $23,283 | $14,137 | 67.7% |
| Converse University ranks 15th on this list, with an average net price of $14,137 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 16 | Bob Jones University · Greenville, SC | $46,177 | $16,641 | $14,287 | Not reported |
| Bob Jones University posts a six-year completion rate of 65% and an average net price of $14,287 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 17 | Erskine College · Due West, SC | $48,305 | $16,525 | $14,555 | 62.7% |
| Erskine College reports median earnings of $48,305 for its graduates four years after completing, and its admission rate is 63%. | |||||
| 18 | Citadel Military College of South Carolina · Charleston, SC | $74,517 | $20,723 | $15,430 | 22.7% |
| Citadel Military College of South Carolina, a public institution in Charleston, admits 23% of applicants and reports median earnings of $74,517 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 19 | Claflin University · Orangeburg, SC | $43,925 | $17,800 | $16,354 | 64.9% |
| Claflin University shows an average net price of $16,354 for families earning under $30,000 and a six-year completion rate of 52%. | |||||
| 20 | Furman University · Greenville, SC | $64,492 | $30,308 | $16,401 | 43.0% |
| Furman University ranks 1109th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with median earnings of $64,492 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 21 | Coker University · Hartsville, SC | $47,935 | $20,286 | $16,789 | 94.0% |
| Coker University admits 94% of applicants and reports an average net price of $16,789 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 22 | South Carolina State University · Orangeburg, SC | $46,691 | $18,097 | $16,846 | 82.6% |
| South Carolina State University reports median earnings of $46,691 for its graduates four years after completing, and its six-year completion rate is 37%. | |||||
| 23 | Benedict College · Columbia, SC | $41,293 | $18,250 | $17,177 | 95.7% |
| Benedict College shows an average net price of $17,177 for families earning under $30,000 and a six-year completion rate of 24%. | |||||
| 24 | Anderson University · Anderson, SC | $55,541 | $23,544 | $17,188 | 54.7% |
| Anderson University reports median earnings of $55,541 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an admission rate of 55%. | |||||
| 25 | Columbia College · Columbia, SC | $52,308 | $18,408 | $17,541 | 93.9% |
| Columbia College reports median earnings of $52,308 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $17,541 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 26 | Presbyterian College · Clinton, SC | $57,042 | $20,528 | $18,277 | 68.4% |
| Presbyterian College admits 68% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 51%. | |||||
| 27 | North Greenville University · Tigerville, SC | $44,607 | $21,063 | $18,947 | 66.7% |
| North Greenville University ranks 1325th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its graduates across all fields earn a median of $44,607 four years after completing. | |||||
| 28 | Newberry College · Newberry, SC | $50,324 | $21,656 | $19,887 | 89.8% |
| Newberry College carries an average net price of $19,887 for families earning under $30,000 and graduates 45% of its students within six years. | |||||
| 29 | Charleston Southern University · Charleston, SC | $54,684 | $21,666 | $20,145 | 96.5% |
| Charleston Southern University, a private nonprofit university in Charleston, reports median earnings of $54,684 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 30 | Morris College · Sumter, SC | $39,972 | $20,555 | $20,485 | Not reported |
| Morris College shows a six-year completion rate of 17% and an average net price of $20,485 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 31 | Columbia International University · Columbia, SC | $40,332 | $26,036 | $21,955 | 94.5% |
| Columbia International University admits 94% of applicants and ranks 1432nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 32 | Medical University of South Carolina · Charleston, SC | $89,770 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Medical University of South Carolina, a public institution in Charleston, reports median earnings of $89,770 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
How this list is ordered
Schools are ordered by their average net price for families earning under $30,000, lowest first, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. Median earnings figures shown reflect federally aided completers across all fields who were working and not enrolled four years after completing. The list does not adjust for who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The figures cited on this page cover the 31 schools with a reported completion median. The gap between Wofford College and University of South Carolina Aiken is $494 for families earning under $30,000.