Research brief & institution hub

Lake Superior State University

MISmall public institution · Overall rank #751 nationally

Data snapshot Updated

Azimuth ranks Lake Superior State University #751 among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Who it’s a good fit for

Lake Superior State University is a public university in Sault Ste Marie, Michigan, where the degree mix is led by Security & Protective Services and Health Professions. Affordability is the strongest , sitting above average, while mobility is below the levels seen at many peers.

Graduates out-earn what predicts for students like them. The model attributes that gain to the factors it measures — field of study, enrollment and the local labor market — while the remainder it cannot explain subtracts from it.

Families at the bottom of the income scale pay well below the published cost, while those at the top pay closer to it. Pell students complete at a rate below the entering cohort as a whole.

Most graduates are estimated to go into work rather than further study. The highest-earning program, Mechanical Engineering, pays more than the largest program, Nursing.

Lake Superior State University at a glance

Admissions and outcomes

Admission rate[1]
Not reported
Six-year completion[2]
51.0%
Four-year earnings[3]
$56,687

Cost and family borrowing

Average annual net price · $48–75K family income[6]
$10,422
Median student debt[4]
$23,250
Median Parent PLUS debt[7]
$23,414

Lake Superior State University rankings: how Azimuth assesses value[5]

Lake Superior State University is a public university in Sault Ste Marie, Michigan, enrolling 1,325 undergraduates. Its composite standing sits near the middle of the Azimuth ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Of students who start full time, 78.8% return for a second year, against a peer median of 73.4% for comparable institutions (same type and size). The six-year graduation rate is 51.0%, compared with a peer median of 43.5%.

An estimated 33.9% of undergraduates arrive as transfers or part-time students. The six-year graduation rate covers the first-time full-time cohort, which makes up the remaining share of the student body.

The four pillars sit apart. Affordability is the strongest, at the 75th percentile, while mobility is the weakest, at the 20th percentile.

Return and access fall in between, with return at the 45th percentile and access at the 55th percentile.

Affordability is the most favorable part of the profile at Lake Superior State University, standing in the 75th percentile of nonprofit four-year institutions. Access falls in the 55th percentile, while return is in the 45th percentile nationally among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Mobility is the weakest pillar, at the 20th percentile. The stronger affordability result sits alongside more limited mobility measures, so the four pillars do not point in the same direction.

26.5% of undergraduates at Lake Superior State University receive Pell Grants, the federal aid program for students with financial need. The share measures how widely that aid reaches among the undergraduate population on campus.

Azimuth ranks Lake Superior State University #668 for access among nonprofit four-year institutions. The access pillar rests on both the reach of Pell Grants and how well those students complete their degrees.

Pell recipients in the first-time full-time cohort finish at 37.0%, below the overall six-year graduation rate by 14.0 percentage points (51.0%). Azimuth ranks the university #1,173 for mobility among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Graduates earn about $1,858 more than the model expects for similar students, yet mobility remains the weakest of the four pillars for Lake Superior State University.

How value-added outcomes are assessed · How to interpret program rankings

Lake Superior State University rankings in context
GeographyRank
National#751

Azimuth overall value rankings within each geographic comparison group.

National pillar percentiles

Economic mobility
National percentile: 20
Access & reach
National percentile: 55
Affordability
National percentile: 75
Return on investment
National percentile: 45

01 / Lake Superior State University briefing

Lake Superior State University cost & financial aid[6][7]

For aid recipients, Lake Superior State University has an average net price of $12,822, what aid recipients pay after grants and scholarships, placing its after-aid cost close to comparable institutions. The published cost of attendance is $27,154.

That total includes $14,890 for in-state tuition and fees and $11,459 for room and board; out-of-state tuition and fees are $14,890. Average aid reduces the published price by $14,332 for aid recipients.

The peer median net price, the middle value for comparable institutions (same type and size), is $12,822, and the university's figure is level with it. Azimuth ranks Lake Superior State University #361 for affordability among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Its matches the peer benchmark after aid, while the published charges show the starting price before that aid is applied.

Aid-recipient prices vary across family-income bands at Lake Superior State University. The published cost of attendance is $27,154.

Average net price, what aid recipients pay after grants and scholarships, is $3,516 for the lowest family-income band; $9,226 for the lower-middle band; $10,422 for the middle band; $14,541 for the upper-middle band; and $20,321 for the highest band. The spread between the lowest and highest bands is $16,805.

Azimuth ranks the university #361 for affordability among nonprofit four-year institutions. For the average aid recipient, aid covers about 53% of the published cost, an average savings of $14,332.

Across all aid recipients, the average net price is $12,822. The peer median, the middle value for comparable institutions (same type and size), is $12,822, and the university is level with that figure.

Published in-state tuition is $14,890, matching out-of-state tuition of $14,890. Aid-recipient pricing is close to the comparable-institution benchmark.

Among federal-loan borrowers who completed, median federal student loan debt is $23,250. The share of undergraduates taking federal loans is 83.8%, while the median at comparable institutions (same type and size) is $19,500, with the university $3,750 above that benchmark.

That debt corresponds to an estimated payment of $264 a month if repaid over ten years. Median Parent PLUS borrowing is $23,414.

Your family income

Choose a household income range to see estimated net price.

Reported average annual net price · $48–75K$10,422

After grants and scholarships. Your aid offer may differ.

Averages within each income band; individual aid packages vary.

Borrowing and repayment at Lake Superior State University

For borrowers who complete at Lake Superior State University, federal student loan debt sits above the benchmark for comparable institutions. Median federal student loan debt at completion is $23,250, excluding Parent PLUS and private loans.

Federal loans are used by 83.8% of federal aid recipients. At comparable institutions (same type and size), the peer median federal debt is $19,500, making the university's median $3,750 above that benchmark.

For the separate parent-borrower population, median Parent PLUS borrowing is $23,414.

Lake Superior State University pairs earnings above the model’s expectation with federal borrowing above the comparable-college median. Median earnings are $56,687 four years after completion, placing the university in the 38th percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Earnings beyond expectations shows graduates earn about $1,858 more than the model expects for similar students. Azimuth places this measure in the 62nd percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Earnings scenarios range from $45,556 in the downside case to $78,200 in the upside case, with $56,687 as the typical scenario. Median federal student loan debt is $23,250, $3,750 above the $19,500 peer median for comparable institutions (same type and size).

That debt corresponds to an estimated payment of $264 a month if repaid over ten years. The modeled earnings signals are favorable, while borrowing sits above the comparable-college median.

Parent borrowers at Lake Superior State University have median Parent PLUS borrowing of $23,414. For borrowers completing with the median federal debt, that debt corresponds to an estimated payment of $264 a month if repaid over ten years.

How Financial GPS measures payment burden · The four risk-and-reward zones

Financial GPS

What does repayment look like?

Institution median student debt
$23,250
Institution Parent PLUS debt
$23,414

Federal loans only; private or institutional loans aren’t included.

Estimated student payment · monthly
$264/mo
Estimated Parent PLUS payment · monthly
$297/mo

Payments use school-wide median balances, not a specific major’s.

Payment assumptions

Payments are 10-year standard payments on the median balance, before loan fees, used as a yardstick. Rates for newly issued loans may differ, and loans made after July 1, 2026 can repay over a longer term; existing loans keep their original fixed rates.

Explore your own numbers in Financial GPS
Read the full cost & aid brief

02 / Lake Superior State University briefing

Lake Superior State University career outcomes & earnings[3][8][9]

For Lake Superior State University, modeled earnings run above expectations, even as its return standing sits nearer the middle of nonprofit four-year institutions. Graduates earn about $1,858 more than the model expects for similar students.

This earnings-beyond-expectations measure, the gap between what graduates earn and what the model expects for similar students, is in the 62nd percentile. Azimuth places the university’s return pillar in the 45th percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions.

The part the model attributes to the factors it measures (field of study, enrollment and the local labor market) adds $1,873. The part it attributes to a remainder it does not explain subtracts $15.

Federally aided completers who are working and not enrolled earn a median of $56,687 four years after completion, in the 38th percentile. The peer median, the middle value for comparable institutions (same type and size), is $53,116; the university’s median is $3,571 above it.

At Lake Superior State University, graduates earn about $1,858 more than the model expects for similar students. Earnings beyond expectations, the gap between what graduates earn and what the model expects for similar students, is one favorable part of the outcomes picture.

Median earnings are $56,687 four years after completion for federally aided completers who are working and not enrolled. Azimuth places that median in the 38th percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions, using an earnings cohort of 397 completers.

The typical earnings scenario matches the observed median, while downside and upside scenarios run from $45,556 to $78,200. An estimated 28.1% of graduates continue to graduate study, a figure estimated from the program mix.

Above-expected earnings coexist with a broad modeled range across program mixes.

Lake Superior State University graduates have median earnings of $56,687 four years after completion, placing those earnings in the 38th percentile. At comparable institutions, the same-control and size-band peer median—the middle value for that group—is $53,116, and the university stands $3,571 above it.

Earnings beyond expectations, the gap between what graduates earn and what the model expects for similar students, are in the 62nd percentile. Graduates earn about $1,858 more than the model expects for similar students.

The part the model attributes to the factors it measures (field of study, enrollment and the local labor market) adds $1,873. The part it attributes to a remainder it does not explain subtracts $15.

Within the measured factors, the STEM component adds $1,772. Earnings scenarios grounded in the program mix place the downside at $45,556 and the upside at $78,200.

Azimuth ranks the university #807 for return among nonprofit four-year institutions. Mechanical Engineering posts the highest median among the listed programs, at $90,216 four years after completion, with 21 degrees awarded.

At Lake Superior State University, earnings scenarios span from $45,556 on the downside to $78,200 on the upside, with $56,687 as the typical scenario. These are earnings scenarios based on program mix, not observed groups of graduates.

Selected field medians four years after completion are $90,216 in Mechanical Engineering, $70,959 in Nursing, and $60,167 in Accounting. Those field results put the wider scenario range in practical context.

At Lake Superior State University, the average net price, what aid recipients pay after grants and scholarships, is $12,822. That figure is level with the peer median for comparable institutions (same type and size).

Borrowers who completed had median federal student loan debt of $23,250. The peer median, the middle value for comparable institutions (same type and size), is $19,500, placing the university above it by $3,750.

That debt corresponds to an estimated payment of $264 a month if repaid over ten years. Graduates earn about $1,858 more than the model expects for similar students.

A peer-level net price and above-expected earnings point favorably, while borrower debt sits above the peer median.

What explains value-added earnings?
Program & institutional factors The part attributed to observed institutional characteristics.
+$1,873
Unexplained remainder What remains after the model’s observed factors.
-$15
Total modeled value added The modeled difference from expected earnings.
+$1,858

These are statistical model components, not proven causal effects; the remainder is not a direct measure of teaching quality.

Read the full outcomes brief

03 / Lake Superior State University briefing

Lake Superior State University acceptance rate & admissions[1][10][11]

Transfer pathways form a visible part of the undergraduate mix at Lake Superior State University: an estimated 33.9% of undergraduates arrive as transfers or part-time students. The university enrolls 1,325 undergraduates, and 26.5% receive Pell Grants, a federal grant-aid measure.

The composition includes people continuing coursework begun elsewhere alongside undergraduates using Pell support. These figures describe the enrolled undergraduate mix rather than admission priorities.

Admissions
Admission rate
Not reported
Read the full admissions brief

04 / Lake Superior State University briefing

What are the largest majors at Lake Superior State University?[12]

Lake Superior State University has a clear earnings spread among its larger and higher-earning fields four years after completion. Mechanical Engineering sits at the upper end, with median earnings of $90,216 and 21 degrees awarded in one academic year.

Nursing also posts higher earnings, at $70,959, alongside 40 degrees awarded. Among more moderate-earning fields, Accounting records $60,167 with 14 degrees awarded, and Criminal Justice records $58,286 with 38 degrees awarded.

These figures show that the return picture can differ sharply by field, even among programs with substantial numbers of degrees awarded.

Program earnings range widely at Lake Superior State University, from fields with midrange pay to an engineering result well above the schoolwide median. Published earnings cover 7 bachelor’s programs. The published figures show that field choice matters substantially here.

The degree mix at Lake Superior State University is led by Security & Protective Services, which accounts for 17.7% of bachelor's degrees awarded, followed by Health Professions at 13.6% and Business at 13.3%. The university has 7 programs with published four-year earnings data.

The largest single program is Nursing, at 40 degrees awarded, with Criminal Justice close behind at 38 degrees awarded and Fishing and Fisheries Sciences and Management at 26 degrees awarded. The highest-earning program is Mechanical Engineering, where graduates earn a median of $90,216 four years after completion, from 21 degrees awarded.

Nursing, the largest program, follows at $70,959, with Accounting at $60,167 from 14 degrees awarded. Criminal Justice is the only program among the top earners to exceed the national median for its field, with a benchmark ratio of 1.05x.

The pattern is one where the largest programs are not the best-paid ones. Nursing and Criminal Justice together account for a substantial share of degrees, but their earnings sit well below those of Mechanical Engineering, a smaller program.

20.7% of degrees awarded are in STEM fields, and the strongest earnings are concentrated in a few technical and professional programs rather than spread evenly across the degree mix.

Four-year earnings · six largest reported fields
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing 40 degrees awarded
$70,959
Criminal Justice and Corrections 38 degrees awarded
$58,286
Fishing and Fisheries Sciences and Management 26 degrees awarded
$44,090
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness 26 degrees awarded
Too few graduates to report
Mechanical Engineering 21 degrees awarded
$90,216
Chemistry 17 degrees awarded
Too few graduates to report

Fields selected by reported completions. Counts describe credentials awarded, not unique students or the earnings sample. Bars show median four-year earnings.

Read the full majors brief

05 / Lake Superior State University briefing

How does Lake Superior State University serve students from different backgrounds?

The completion picture is uneven: the first-time full-time cohort has a 51.0% six-year graduation rate, whereas Pell recipients complete within six years at 37.0%, below the overall rate by 14.0 percentage points. Among nonprofit four-year institutions, Azimuth places the mobility pillar in the 20th percentile.

Graduates earn about $1,858 more than the model expects for similar students. Earnings beyond expectations, the gap between what graduates earn and what the model expects for similar students, is in the 62nd percentile.

Higher-than-expected earnings and lower Pell completion point in different directions.

At Lake Superior State University, undergraduate enrollment is 1,325, with Pell recipients making up 26.5% of undergraduates, a financial-access measure. The estimated share of entrants outside the first-time, full-time group is 33.9%, making transfer entry part of the access picture.

Azimuth assigns the access pillar to the 55th percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions. This profile combines Pell participation, transfer entry, and an undergraduate population that gives those shares a concrete scale.

Data scope & methodology

Structured payloads generated Governed hub narrative Governed spoke corpus

Four-year earnings describe cohorts of completers. Figures for other horizons describe different cohorts and are not joined into a career-growth projection.

Azimuth's overall rank and pillar percentiles come from the school profile. Absolute pillar ranks, city, enrollment and official-site links are shown only when structured data supplies them.

Detailed earnings, cost, admissions and program values come from the endpoint responsible for each measure. Missing values are not replaced with zero. Value-added estimates are model associations, not causal effects.

Figures are refreshed with each data release, at most a quarter apart. The underlying source dates can be earlier than the release.

Explanatory text is AI-assisted drafting checked against those figures; it is not an additional data source.

Analysis and methodology by Daniel Rogers, founder of College Azimuth.

Read the ranking methodology, data definitions and limitations · About College Azimuth

Read the analysis behind value-added earnings and the change to four-year graduate earnings. These articles are published on collegeazimuth.com.

Data notes & source fields

Scorecard field codes identify the underlying measure; Azimuth-derived values are labeled separately. Snapshot dates are not measurement years. Source populations and reporting periods differ across measures. Field definitions are in the U.S. Department of Education · College Scorecard documentation; notes with a different source link it below.

  1. Admission rate. Reported applicants admitted; not a transfer-specific or individual admission probability.

    Source fields: ADM_RATE

  2. Six-year completion. First-time, full-time students completing at the institution within 150% of normal time, typically six years for a bachelor’s degree.

    Source fields: C150_4

  3. Four-year institutional earnings. Median earnings of graduates in the reported cohort who are working and not enrolled, four years after completion.

    Source fields: MD_EARN_WNE_4YR

  4. Median federal student debt. Federal student-loan debt among completers in the reported borrowing cohort. Excludes Parent PLUS and is not total debt across all students.

    Source fields: GRAD_DEBT_MDN

  5. National, regional and state ranks; pillar percentiles; major ranks. Derived scores within the stated eligible comparison set, not raw Scorecard fields. Major ranks compare institutions within a field; their denominators differ.

    Source fields: Azimuth rankings

    College Azimuth · Ranking methodology

  6. Annual net price by family income. Average annual cost after grants and scholarships for the eligible first-time, full-time aid-recipient cohort. Public-school figures reflect in-state tuition. Includes living costs; these are averages, not medians or individual offers.

    Source fields: NPT4_PUB/PRIV; NPT41_PUB/PRIV through NPT45_PUB/PRIV

  7. Parent PLUS debt, payments and GPS illustration. Stored payments use Financial GPS loan and repayment assumptions. The adjustable spectrum applies the published framework to annual student payments divided by earnings minus an expense allowance; its initial allowance uses the frozen 2024 framework baseline. It is an illustration rather than a school rating. Parent PLUS uses the completer median where available, otherwise the all-borrower median; these describe different borrowing populations.

    Source fields: PLUS_DEBT_ALL_COMP_MD; fallback PLUS_DEBT_ALL_MD; Azimuth Financial GPS calculations

    College Azimuth · Financial GPS methodology

  8. Downside and upside earnings; yellow band. The band spans the modeled lower and higher scenarios. It is not the P25–P75 interval for individual graduates. The median marker is the separately reported institutional median.

    Source fields: Azimuth modeled program-mix scenarios

    College Azimuth · Earnings scenario methodology

  9. Value added and its components. Observed-factor attribution plus the unexplained remainder equals total modeled value added. These are associations, not proven causal effects; the remainder is not a direct measure of teaching quality.

    Source fields: Azimuth statistical model

    College Azimuth · Value-added methodology

  10. SAT score range and reported midpoint. Reported scores of enrolled score-submitters, not admission cutoffs. The midpoint field is not necessarily the middle of the displayed range.

    Source fields: SATVR25 + SATMT25; SATVR75 + SATMT75; SAT_AVG

  11. First-year retention. Retention of the reported full-time cohort at four-year institutions.

    Source fields: RET_FT4

  12. Program earnings, completion counts and major-mix dots. Included bachelor’s programs have at least five reported completions. Counts are aggregated credentials, not unique people or an earnings sample. Major-mix dots group those counts by field of study; excluded programs are not zero activity.

    Source fields: EARN_MDN_4YR; IPEDSCOUNT1; CIPCODE

    College Scorecard · Field-of-study technical documentation

  13. Pell recipients. Share of undergraduates receiving a Pell Grant in the reported academic year.

    Source fields: PCTPELL

  14. Entering students outside the first-time, full-time group. This is not an observed transfer-in rate. It includes part-time entrants and other entering-student attendance patterns.

    Source fields: 1 − PFTFTUG1_EF

  15. Peer earnings and signed differences. Differences are peer minus this school, from the same matching snapshot. A positive earnings difference does not mean the peer is better on every measure.

    Source fields: Azimuth peer model using MD_EARN_WNE_4YR

    College Azimuth · Comparison methodology

How to interpret program rankings