Research brief & institution hub

Missouri Western State University

MOMedium public institution · Overall rank #662 nationally

Data snapshot Narrative updated

An overall profile led by affordability.

Who it’s a good fit for

Missouri Western State University is a public university in Saint Joseph, Missouri, where the degree mix is led by Health Professions and Business. Affordability is well above average, while mobility is modestly below average.

Graduates out-earn what predicts for students like them. The model attributes more of that gain to what it cannot explain than to the factors it measures — field of study, enrollment and the local labor market.

Most graduates are estimated to go into work rather than further study, so the four-year earnings picture captures the typical outcome. The lowest income band pays below the published cost, and the highest band pays more than the lowest.

Pell students complete below the overall rate. The largest program, Nursing, is also the best-paid one, which is not the case at every school.

A student drawn to Parks, Recreation & Fitness should know that the largest families are not all associated with the top earnings.

Missouri Western State University at a glance

Admissions and outcomes

Admission rate[1]
Not reported
Six-year completion[2]
38.5%
Four-year earnings[3]
$53,293

Cost and family borrowing

Average annual net price · $48–75K family income[6]
$13,965
Median student debt[4]
$19,968
Median Parent PLUS debt[7]
$11,334

Missouri Western State University rankings: how Azimuth assesses value[5]

Missouri Western State University is a public university in Saint Joseph, Missouri, enrolling 2,219 undergraduates. Its composite standing sits near the middle of the Azimuth ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions (55th percentile).

The four pillars are spread widely, with affordability the strongest and mobility the weakest. Because that rate counts only first-time, full-time students, it describes a minority of the people who study here.

The four pillars sit far apart. Affordability is the strongest (86th percentile), while mobility is the weakest (25th percentile).

Return and access sit close together near the middle of the field (48th and 47th percentiles).

Affordability is the clear strength in Missouri Western State University’s Azimuth profile, even as mobility is the area with the lowest standing. Among nonprofit four-year institutions, affordability is in the 86th percentile and return is in the 48th percentile.

Azimuth places the university in the Opportunity Builders group. Access is in the 47th percentile, while mobility is in the 25th percentile.

The profile therefore pairs a strong affordability result with more limited mobility and middle-range return and access results.

28.4% of undergraduates at Missouri Western State University receive Pell Grants, a measure of undergraduate financial access used in the access pillar calculation. Azimuth ranks Missouri Western State University #772 for access among nonprofit four-year institutions.

The access pillar weighs both the share of the student body receiving Pell Grants and the six-year completion rate for those recipients against the entering cohort as a whole. Azimuth ranks the university #1,099 for mobility among nonprofit four-year institutions, and places it among the Opportunity Builders.

Graduates earn about $8,214 more than the model expects for similar students, a result that sits among nonprofit four-year institutions rather than the ranked nonprofit cohort.

How value-added outcomes are assessed · How to interpret program rankings

Missouri Western State University rankings in context
GeographyRank
National#662

Azimuth overall value rankings within each geographic comparison group.

National pillar percentiles

Economic mobility
National percentile: 25
Access & reach
National percentile: 47
Affordability
National percentile: 86
Return on investment
National percentile: 48

01 / Missouri Western State University briefing

Missouri Western State University cost & financial aid[6][7]

For aid recipients, Missouri Western State University has an average net price, what aid recipients pay after grants and scholarships, of $13,251 against a published cost of attendance of $21,595. Average aid lowers that published cost by $8,344.

In its 2025-26 Common Data Set, the university reported in-state tuition of $8,940 and required fees of $1,620 as sticker charges for the 2026-27 academic year. It reported out-of-state tuition of $18,810 and on-campus food and housing of $11,116 for that year.

At comparable institutions (same type and size), the peer median net price is $14,068, leaving this university $817 below that mark. Azimuth places affordability in the 86th percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Its lower net price than comparable institutions aligns with that affordability standing.

Missouri Western State University lists a published cost of attendance of $21,595, but the average net price—what aid recipients pay after grants and scholarships—varies by family-income band. The average net price is $11,243 for the lowest band, $11,674 for the lower-middle band, $13,965 for the middle band, $16,119 for the upper-middle band, and $17,764 for the highest band.

The spread between the lowest and highest bands is $6,521. Azimuth places the university in the 86th percentile for affordability among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Across all aid recipients, the average net price is $13,251, after average aid savings of $8,344 against the published cost. Aid covers about 39% of the published cost for the average aid recipient.

The peer median, the middle value for comparable institutions (same type and size), is $14,068; the university’s average net price is $817 below that figure. Its overall average price and peer comparison both point to a lower cost than the comparable-institution midpoint.

Among federal-loan borrowers who completed, median federal student loan debt is $19,968, and 76.4% of federal aid recipients borrow federal loans. The peer median debt for comparable institutions (same type and size) is $21,229, leaving the university’s median $1,261 below that amount.

Median Parent PLUS borrowing is $11,334. That debt corresponds to an estimated payment of $227 a month if repaid over ten years.

Financial GPS offers personalized scenarios that include Parent PLUS.

Your family income

Choose a household income range to see estimated net price.

Reported average annual net price · $48–75K$13,965

After grants and scholarships. Your aid offer may differ.

Averages within each income band; individual aid packages vary.

Borrowing and repayment at Missouri Western State University

Federal borrowing is common at Missouri Western State University, but median debt sits below the peer benchmark. At completion, federal student loan debt has a median of $19,968, and 76.4% of federal aid recipients borrow through federal loans.

Comparable institutions (same type and size) have a peer median federal debt of $21,229, making the university's median $1,261 below that figure. For the separate parent-borrower population, median Parent PLUS borrowing is $11,334.

In its 2025-26 Common Data Set, the university reported that 51% of graduates borrowed from any source, with an average cumulative amount of $27,334 per borrower. Its figures include 49% of graduates with federal loans averaging $25,439. They also include 9% of graduates with private loans averaging $16,309.

The return picture at Missouri Western State University is mixed: graduates have median earnings of $53,293 four years after completion, but that level sits in a lower national percentile. Azimuth places those earnings in the 27th percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Earnings beyond expectations, the gap between what graduates earn and what the model expects for similar students, sits in the 79th percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions. Graduates earn about $8,214 more than the model expects for similar students.

The earnings scenarios range from $42,018 in the downside case to $73,371 in the upside case, with $53,293 as the typical scenario. Median federal debt is $19,968, which is $1,261 below the $21,229 peer median.

That debt corresponds to an estimated payment of $227 a month if repaid over ten years. Lower debt and earnings beyond expectations point the same way, even as the earnings percentile remains lower.

For the separate parent-borrower population, median Parent PLUS borrowing is $11,334. For student borrowers, that debt corresponds to an estimated payment of $227 a month if repaid over ten years.

The Financial GPS tool offers a personalized family cost analysis for household costs and borrowing choices.

How Financial GPS measures payment burden · The four risk-and-reward zones

Read the full cost & aid brief

02 / Missouri Western State University briefing

Missouri Western State University career outcomes & earnings[3][8][9]

Return is mixed: model-based and peer comparisons point in different directions. Azimuth assigns the university's return pillar to the 48th percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Graduates earn about $8,214 more than the model expects for similar students. That earnings beyond expectations—the gap between graduate earnings and the model's expectation for similar students—falls in the 79th percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions.

The part the model attributes to the factors it measures (field of study, enrollment and the local labor market) adds $2,158. The part it attributes to a remainder it does not explain adds $6,056.

Federally aided completers working and not enrolled earn a median of $53,293 four years after completion, in the 27th percentile. At comparable institutions (same type and size), the peer median—the middle value—is $57,301; the university is $4,008 below that figure.

The above-expected model result and below-peer earnings point in different directions.

Missouri Western State University shows higher-than-expected modeled earnings even though its schoolwide earnings standing is low in Azimuth’s distribution. Federally aided completers who are working and not enrolled earn median earnings of $53,293 four years after completion.

Azimuth places that measure in the 27th percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions, based on an earnings cohort of 945 completers. Graduates earn about $8,214 more than the model expects for similar students.

Earnings beyond expectations are the gap between what graduates earn and what the model expects for similar students. Scenarios modeled from the program mix range from $42,018 on the downside to $73,371 on the upside, and the typical scenario matches the schoolwide median.

An estimated 27.9% of graduates continue to graduate study, a figure estimated from the program mix rather than observed enrollment. Above-expected modeled earnings and the low schoolwide earnings standing pull in different directions.

Federally aided graduates who are working and not enrolled earn a median of $53,293 four years after completion. The peer median for comparable institutions (same type and size) is $57,301, leaving the university $4,008 below.

Azimuth ranks Missouri Western State University #767 for return among nonprofit four-year institutions. Graduates earn about $8,214 more than the model expects for similar students.

That places the gap at the 79th percentile. The part the model attributes to the factors it measures (field of study, enrollment and the local labor market) adds $2,158.

The part it attributes to a remainder it does not explain adds $6,056. Within the measured factors, the STEM component adds $85.

The fields involved are concentrated in health professions and business, with a smaller STEM footprint. Earnings scenarios estimated from the program mix range from a downside of $42,018 to an upside of $73,371.

An estimated 27.9% of graduates continue to graduate study, based on the program mix.

The modeled earnings range is broad, and named fields show why outcomes can differ by program. Scenarios based on the program mix run from $42,018 on the downside to $73,371 on the upside, with $53,293 as the typical scenario; these are scenarios, not observed groups.

Among the higher-earning named fields, median earnings four years after completion are $74,875 in Nursing, $68,405 in Computer and Information Sciences, and $67,011 in Finance. Individual program medians can extend beyond a scenario endpoint because the scenarios summarize the full program mix rather than predict one graduate’s result.

At Missouri Western State University, borrowers who complete leave with federal student loan debt below that of comparable peers. Median federal student loan debt is $19,968; the peer median, the middle value for comparable institutions (same type and size), is $21,229, placing the university below it by $1,261.

That debt corresponds to an estimated payment of $227 a month if repaid over ten years. Earnings beyond expectations, the gap between what graduates earn and what the model expects for similar students, also point upward.

Graduates earn about $8,214 more than the model expects for similar students. Lower borrowing and higher-than-expected earnings point in the same direction for the school’s cost-and-return picture.

What explains value-added earnings?
Program & institutional factors The part attributed to observed institutional characteristics.
+$2,158
Unexplained remainder What remains after the model’s observed factors.
+$6,056
Total modeled value added The modeled difference from expected earnings.
+$8,214

These are statistical model components, not proven causal effects; the remainder is not a direct measure of teaching quality.

Read the full outcomes brief

03 / Missouri Western State University briefing

Missouri Western State University acceptance rate & admissions[1][10][11]

Missouri Western State University enrolls an undergraduate body that includes Pell Grant recipients and people arriving from other colleges. In its 2025-26 Common Data Set, the university reported 301 degree-seeking transfer applicants, 294 admitted, and 202 transfer students enrolled.

Pell-eligible and transfer applicants should use the cost calculator and review the transfer information for their intended field. The federal composition figures and the institution-reported transfer counts both show Pell-supported and transfer pathways within the undergraduate population.

Admissions
Admission rate
Not reported
Read the full admissions brief

04 / Missouri Western State University briefing

What are the largest majors at Missouri Western State University?[12]

At Missouri Western State University, earnings differ across fields, so the higher-earning options in this group sit apart from its more moderate entries four years after completion. Nursing has median earnings of $74,875 and 104 degrees awarded.

Computer and Information Sciences follows with $68,405 in median earnings and 5 degrees awarded. Finance records median earnings of $67,011 across 17 degrees awarded, placing it between the leading fields and the more moderate end of this selection.

Accounting posts $60,025 with 26 degrees awarded. The contrast shows that field choice matters within the university’s earnings picture.

Health Professions is the largest program family, accounting for 19.0% of bachelor’s degrees awarded, and program earnings are available for 19 fields. The largest programs span markedly different earnings levels four years after completion.

The degree mix at Missouri Western State University leans toward professional fields. Health Professions accounts for 19.0% of bachelor's degrees awarded, with Business next at 15.2% and Parks, Recreation & Fitness at 9.0%.

Across all fields, 10.5% of degrees are in STEM. The university has 19 programs with published four-year earnings data.

The largest single program is Nursing, at 104 degrees awarded, followed by Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies at 57 and Kinesiology and Physical Education at 50. Nursing is also the highest-earning program, with a median of $74,875 four years after completion.

Computer and Information Sciences graduates earn $68,405, though the program awards only 5 degrees a year. Finance and Business Administration and Management follow at $67,011 and $62,581, with 17 and 40 degrees awarded respectively.

Accounting rounds out the top five at $60,025 from 26 degrees a year. The pattern is a university where the largest program is also the best-paid one, which is not always the case.

Earnings in the other large programs sit below the national median for their fields: Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies at 0.92x, Kinesiology and Physical Education at 0.83x, Business Administration and Management at 0.92x, and Biology at 0.94x. A student drawn to Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies or Kinesiology and Physical Education should know that the highest earnings are concentrated in a handful of professional programs.

The four-year figures for some fields may also understate later trajectories for graduates who continue to professional or graduate study.

Four-year earnings · six largest reported fields
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing 104 degrees awarded
$74,875
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other 57 degrees awarded
$51,174
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness 50 degrees awarded
$45,251
Business Administration, Management and Operations 40 degrees awarded
$62,581
Biology, General 37 degrees awarded
$53,505
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods 32 degrees awarded
$39,163

Fields selected by reported completions. Counts describe credentials awarded, not unique students or the earnings sample. Bars show median four-year earnings.

Read the full majors brief

05 / Missouri Western State University briefing

How does Missouri Western State University serve students from different backgrounds?

Missouri Western State University has a mixed mobility picture: completion figures are modest, even as modeled earnings exceed expectations. Graduates earn about $8,214 more than the model expects for similar students, placing earnings beyond expectations, the gap between what graduates earn and what the model expects for similar students, in the 79th percentile.

Among nonprofit four-year institutions, the mobility pillar sits in the 25th percentile. Azimuth places the university among the Opportunity Builders group. Higher-than-expected earnings sit alongside lower completion figures.

Access sits near the middle of Azimuth's cohort at Missouri Western State University, with 2,219 undergraduates. Azimuth places the access pillar in the 47th percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions.

The enrollment, Pell participation, and transfer estimate describe several routes into the university.

Data scope & methodology

Structured payloads generated Governed hub narrative Governed spoke corpus

Four-year earnings describe cohorts of completers. Figures for other horizons describe different cohorts and are not joined into a career-growth projection.

Azimuth's overall rank and pillar percentiles come from the school profile. Absolute pillar ranks, city, enrollment and official-site links are shown only when structured data supplies them.

Detailed earnings, cost, admissions and program values come from the endpoint responsible for each measure. Missing values are not replaced with zero. Value-added estimates are model associations, not causal effects.

Figures are refreshed with each data release, at most a quarter apart. The underlying source dates can be earlier than the release.

Explanatory text is AI-assisted drafting checked against those figures; it is not an additional data source.

Analysis and methodology by Daniel Rogers, founder of College Azimuth.

Read the ranking methodology, data definitions and limitations · About College Azimuth

Read the analysis behind value-added earnings and the change to four-year graduate earnings. These articles are published on collegeazimuth.com.

Data notes & source fields

Scorecard field codes identify the underlying measure; Azimuth-derived values are labeled separately. Snapshot dates are not measurement years. Source populations and reporting periods differ across measures.

  1. Admission rate. Reported applicants admitted; not a transfer-specific or individual admission probability.

    Source fields: ADM_RATE

    U.S. Department of Education · College Scorecard documentation

  2. Six-year completion. First-time, full-time students completing at the institution within 150% of normal time, typically six years for a bachelor’s degree.

    Source fields: C150_4

    U.S. Department of Education · College Scorecard documentation

  3. Four-year institutional earnings. Median earnings of graduates in the reported cohort who are working and not enrolled, four years after completion.

    Source fields: MD_EARN_WNE_4YR

    U.S. Department of Education · College Scorecard documentation

  4. Median federal student debt. Federal student-loan debt among completers in the reported borrowing cohort. Excludes Parent PLUS and is not total debt across all students.

    Source fields: GRAD_DEBT_MDN

    U.S. Department of Education · College Scorecard documentation

  5. National, regional and state ranks; pillar percentiles; major ranks. Derived scores within the stated eligible comparison set, not raw Scorecard fields. Major ranks compare institutions within a field; their denominators differ.

    Source fields: Azimuth rankings

    College Azimuth · Ranking methodology

  6. Annual net price by family income. Average annual cost after grants and scholarships for the eligible first-time, full-time aid-recipient cohort. Public-school figures reflect in-state tuition. Includes living costs; these are averages, not medians or individual offers.

    Source fields: NPT4_PUB/PRIV; NPT41_PUB/PRIV through NPT45_PUB/PRIV

    U.S. Department of Education · College Scorecard documentation

  7. Parent PLUS debt, payments and GPS illustration. Stored payments use Financial GPS loan and repayment assumptions. The adjustable spectrum applies the published framework to annual student payments divided by earnings minus an expense allowance; its initial allowance uses the frozen 2024 framework baseline. It is an illustration rather than a school rating. Parent PLUS uses the completer median where available, otherwise the all-borrower median; these describe different borrowing populations.

    Source fields: PLUS_DEBT_ALL_COMP_MD; fallback PLUS_DEBT_ALL_MD; Azimuth Financial GPS calculations

    College Azimuth · Financial GPS methodology · U.S. Department of Education · College Scorecard documentation

  8. Downside and upside earnings; yellow band. The band spans the modeled lower and higher scenarios. It is not the P25–P75 interval for individual graduates. The median marker is the separately reported institutional median.

    Source fields: Azimuth modeled program-mix scenarios

    College Azimuth · Earnings scenario methodology

  9. Value added and its components. Observed-factor attribution plus the unexplained remainder equals total modeled value added. These are associations, not proven causal effects; the remainder is not a direct measure of teaching quality.

    Source fields: Azimuth statistical model

    College Azimuth · Value-added methodology

  10. SAT score range and reported midpoint. Reported scores of enrolled score-submitters, not admission cutoffs. The midpoint field is not necessarily the middle of the displayed range.

    Source fields: SATVR25 + SATMT25; SATVR75 + SATMT75; SAT_AVG

    U.S. Department of Education · College Scorecard documentation

  11. First-year retention. Retention of the reported full-time cohort at four-year institutions.

    Source fields: RET_FT4

    U.S. Department of Education · College Scorecard documentation

  12. Program earnings, completion counts and major-mix dots. Included bachelor’s programs have at least five reported completions. Counts are aggregated credentials, not unique people or an earnings sample. Major-mix dots group those counts by field of study; excluded programs are not zero activity.

    Source fields: EARN_MDN_4YR; IPEDSCOUNT1; CIPCODE

    College Scorecard · Field-of-study technical documentation

  13. Pell recipients. Share of undergraduates receiving a Pell Grant in the reported academic year.

    Source fields: PCTPELL

    U.S. Department of Education · College Scorecard documentation

  14. Historical first-generation share. A discontinued historical earnings-cohort measure, not the current student population.

    Source fields: FIRST_GEN

    U.S. Department of Education · College Scorecard documentation

  15. Entering students outside the first-time, full-time group. This is not an observed transfer-in rate. It includes part-time entrants and other entering-student attendance patterns.

    Source fields: 1 − PFTFTUG1_EF

    U.S. Department of Education · College Scorecard documentation

  16. Peer earnings and signed differences. Differences are peer minus this school, from the same matching snapshot. A positive earnings difference does not mean the peer is better on every measure.

    Source fields: Azimuth peer model using MD_EARN_WNE_4YR

    College Azimuth · Comparison methodology · U.S. Department of Education · College Scorecard documentation

College Scorecard data documentation · How to interpret program rankings