Research brief & institution hub

Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel

NYSmall private nonprofit institution · Overall rank #990 nationally

Data snapshot Updated

Azimuth ranks Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel #990 among 1,467 nonprofit four-year institutions.

Who it’s a good fit for

The college awards degrees in a single field, and the earnings picture is modest. A student drawn to theology who can manage the cost with aid may find a place here.

Access is the strongest , while return and affordability sit at the other end of the spectrum. The strongest reason to consider the college is the access pillar; the financial case requires a close look at aid.

Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel at a glance

Admissions and outcomes

Admission rate[1]
Not reported
Six-year completion[2]
41.2%
Four-year earnings[3]
$22,994

Cost and family borrowing

Average annual net price · $48–75K family income[6]
Not reported
Median student debt[4]
Not reported
Median Parent PLUS debt[7]
Not reported

Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel rankings: how Azimuth assesses value[5]

Enrolling 232 undergraduates, Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel is a private nonprofit university in Brooklyn, New York. Among nonprofit four-year institutions, its overall standing falls in the lower third (33rd percentile).

Because this rate counts only first-time, full-time students, it describes a minority of the people who study here. At Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel, the four pillars sit far apart.

Access is the strongest pillar (92nd percentile) and affordability the weakest (7th percentile). Mobility falls in the middle, while return sits near the bottom of the field.

Access is the strongest pillar for Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel, at the 92nd percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions. Mobility sits in the 61st percentile.

Affordability is the weakest pillar, at the 7th percentile. Return is also low, at the 10th percentile. The four pillars span a wide range for this institution.

How value-added outcomes are assessed · How to interpret program rankings

Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel rankings in context
GeographyRank
National#990

Azimuth overall value rankings within each geographic comparison group.

National pillar percentiles

Economic mobility
National percentile: 61
Access & reach
National percentile: 92
Affordability
National percentile: 7
Return on investment
National percentile: 10

01 / Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel briefing

Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel cost & financial aid[6][7]

Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel lists a published cost of attendance of $41,283, with tuition and fees at $22,300 and room and board at $3,000. Azimuth ranks the university #1,314 for affordability among nonprofit four-year institutions. That places the affordability pillar in the 7th percentile.

The published cost of attendance is $41,283, the full sticker price before any aid. That covers $22,300 in tuition and fees and $3,000 in room and board.

Azimuth ranks Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel #1,314 for affordability among nonprofit four-year institutions. After grants and scholarships, aid recipients in the lowest family-income band average $31,932.

Those in the lower-middle family-income band average $35,904. Aid covers about 21% of the published cost for the average aid recipient.

The peer median is the middle value for comparable institutions (same type and size). The aid offset averages $8,689 against the sticker price.

It also estimates total borrowing needs and monthly obligations for that family.

Your family income

Choose a household income range to see estimated net price.

Reported average annual net price · $48–75KNot reported

After grants and scholarships. Your aid offer may differ.

Averages within each income band; individual aid packages vary.

Borrowing and repayment at Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel

The median is $32,921 below the $55,915 median for comparable institutions (same type and size). Earnings scenarios, estimated from the program mix, show a typical outcome that matches the observed median.

The peer median for comparable institutions is $25,000 in federal loans.

How Financial GPS measures payment burden · The four risk-and-reward zones

Financial GPS

What does repayment look like?

Institution median student debt
No federal loan data
Institution Parent PLUS debt
No federal loan data

Federal loans only; private or institutional loans aren’t included.

Estimated student payment · monthly
No federal loan data
Estimated Parent PLUS payment · monthly
No federal loan data

Payments use school-wide median balances, not a specific major’s.

Payment assumptions

Payments are 10-year standard payments on the median balance, before loan fees, used as a yardstick. Rates for newly issued loans may differ, and loans made after July 1, 2026 can repay over a longer term; existing loans keep their original fixed rates.

Explore your own numbers in Financial GPS
Read the full cost & aid brief

02 / Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel briefing

Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel career outcomes & earnings[3][8][9]

Azimuth places the return pillar for Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel at the 10th percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions. Four years after completion, federally aided graduates who are working and not enrolled earn a median of $22,994.

That figure is $32,921 below the $55,915 median for comparable institutions (same type and size), and sits in the 1st percentile nationally.

Azimuth places that figure in the 1st percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions. Earnings scenarios, which are estimates based on the university's program mix, show a typical scenario of $22,994.

An estimated 30.0% of graduates continue to graduate study, based on the program mix. With the downside and upside scenarios converging, the earnings picture is concentrated rather than varied.

Four years after completing a degree, federally aided graduates who are working and not enrolled earn a median of $22,994, in the 1st percentile. That is $32,921 below the $55,915 median for comparable institutions (same type and size).

Azimuth ranks Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel #1,323 for return among nonprofit four-year institutions. Degrees are concentrated in Theology.

The earnings scenarios, estimated from the program mix, show a typical figure of $22,994. An estimated 30.0% of graduates continue to graduate study, based on the program mix.

These are estimates, not observed groups of graduates. An estimated 30.0% of graduates continue to graduate study, based on the program mix.

The published cost of attendance is $41,283, with tuition and fees at $22,300 and room and board at $3,000. The return pillar sits at the 10th percentile and affordability at the 7th percentile. Earnings are below the peer median and net price is above it.

Read the full outcomes brief

03 / Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel briefing

Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel acceptance rate & admissions[1][10][11]

Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel enrolls 232 undergraduates. The numbers describe a student body where federal grant aid is the norm and a fifth of the class continues coursework begun elsewhere.

The enrollment figures are a snapshot of who attends, not a statement about admission priorities or any one applicant's odds.

Admissions
Admission rate
Not reported
Read the full admissions brief

04 / Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel briefing

What are the largest majors at Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel?[12]

The degree offerings at Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel are concentrated in a single field: Theology accounts for 100.0% of bachelor's degrees awarded. Because the institution's program data is limited to this one family, a detailed program-level earnings comparison across different fields is not possible here.

The return and earnings scenario blocks provide the best available picture of graduate outcomes for the Theology family.

The university awards bachelor's degrees in a single field: Theology accounts for 100.0% of degrees awarded. The page does not carry program-level earnings or rankings for this institution.

Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel awards bachelor's degrees in a single program family: Theology accounts for 100.0% of degrees awarded. The college's degree mix is concentrated entirely in one field.

A student considering this college is choosing a focused, single-field education. With 100.0% of degrees awarded in Theology, the single-family mix shows fully concentrated strength.

Read the full majors brief

Data scope & methodology

Structured payloads generated Governed hub narrative Governed spoke corpus

Four-year earnings describe cohorts of completers. Figures for other horizons describe different cohorts and are not joined into a career-growth projection.

Azimuth's overall rank and pillar percentiles come from the school profile. Absolute pillar ranks, city, enrollment and official-site links are shown only when structured data supplies them.

Detailed earnings, cost, admissions and program values come from the endpoint responsible for each measure. Missing values are not replaced with zero. Value-added estimates are model associations, not causal effects.

Figures are refreshed with each data release, at most a quarter apart. The underlying source dates can be earlier than the release.

Explanatory text is AI-assisted drafting checked against those figures; it is not an additional data source.

Analysis and methodology by Daniel Rogers, founder of College Azimuth.

Read the ranking methodology, data definitions and limitations · About College Azimuth

Read the analysis behind value-added earnings and the change to four-year graduate earnings. These articles are published on collegeazimuth.com.

Data notes & source fields

Scorecard field codes identify the underlying measure; Azimuth-derived values are labeled separately. Snapshot dates are not measurement years. Source populations and reporting periods differ across measures. Field definitions are in the U.S. Department of Education · College Scorecard documentation; notes with a different source link it below.

  1. Admission rate. Reported applicants admitted; not a transfer-specific or individual admission probability.

    Source fields: ADM_RATE

  2. Six-year completion. First-time, full-time students completing at the institution within 150% of normal time, typically six years for a bachelor’s degree.

    Source fields: C150_4

  3. Four-year institutional earnings. Median earnings of graduates in the reported cohort who are working and not enrolled, four years after completion.

    Source fields: MD_EARN_WNE_4YR

  4. Median federal student debt. Federal student-loan debt among completers in the reported borrowing cohort. Excludes Parent PLUS and is not total debt across all students.

    Source fields: GRAD_DEBT_MDN

  5. National, regional and state ranks; pillar percentiles; major ranks. Derived scores within the stated eligible comparison set, not raw Scorecard fields. Major ranks compare institutions within a field; their denominators differ.

    Source fields: Azimuth rankings

    College Azimuth · Ranking methodology

  6. Annual net price by family income. Average annual cost after grants and scholarships for the eligible first-time, full-time aid-recipient cohort. Public-school figures reflect in-state tuition. Includes living costs; these are averages, not medians or individual offers.

    Source fields: NPT4_PUB/PRIV; NPT41_PUB/PRIV through NPT45_PUB/PRIV

  7. Parent PLUS debt, payments and GPS illustration. Stored payments use Financial GPS loan and repayment assumptions. The adjustable spectrum applies the published framework to annual student payments divided by earnings minus an expense allowance; its initial allowance uses the frozen 2024 framework baseline. It is an illustration rather than a school rating. Parent PLUS uses the completer median where available, otherwise the all-borrower median; these describe different borrowing populations.

    Source fields: PLUS_DEBT_ALL_COMP_MD; fallback PLUS_DEBT_ALL_MD; Azimuth Financial GPS calculations

    College Azimuth · Financial GPS methodology

  8. Downside and upside earnings; yellow band. The band spans the modeled lower and higher scenarios. It is not the P25–P75 interval for individual graduates. The median marker is the separately reported institutional median.

    Source fields: Azimuth modeled program-mix scenarios

    College Azimuth · Earnings scenario methodology

  9. Value added and its components. Observed-factor attribution plus the unexplained remainder equals total modeled value added. These are associations, not proven causal effects; the remainder is not a direct measure of teaching quality.

    Source fields: Azimuth statistical model

    College Azimuth · Value-added methodology

  10. SAT score range and reported midpoint. Reported scores of enrolled score-submitters, not admission cutoffs. The midpoint field is not necessarily the middle of the displayed range.

    Source fields: SATVR25 + SATMT25; SATVR75 + SATMT75; SAT_AVG

  11. First-year retention. Retention of the reported full-time cohort at four-year institutions.

    Source fields: RET_FT4

  12. Program earnings, completion counts and major-mix dots. Included bachelor’s programs have at least five reported completions. Counts are aggregated credentials, not unique people or an earnings sample. Major-mix dots group those counts by field of study; excluded programs are not zero activity.

    Source fields: EARN_MDN_4YR; IPEDSCOUNT1; CIPCODE

    College Scorecard · Field-of-study technical documentation

  13. Pell recipients. Share of undergraduates receiving a Pell Grant in the reported academic year.

    Source fields: PCTPELL

  14. Entering students outside the first-time, full-time group. This is not an observed transfer-in rate. It includes part-time entrants and other entering-student attendance patterns.

    Source fields: 1 − PFTFTUG1_EF

  15. Peer earnings and signed differences. Differences are peer minus this school, from the same matching snapshot. A positive earnings difference does not mean the peer is better on every measure.

    Source fields: Azimuth peer model using MD_EARN_WNE_4YR

    College Azimuth · Comparison methodology

How to interpret program rankings