Research brief & institution hub

Talmudical Seminary of Bobov

NYSmall private nonprofit institution · Overall rank #603 nationally

Data snapshot Updated

Azimuth ranks Talmudical Seminary of Bobov #603 among 1,467 nonprofit four-year institutions.

Who it’s a good fit for

Talmudical Seminary of Bobov is a private nonprofit university in Brooklyn, New York, where nearly every degree awarded is in Philosophy & Religious Studies. The fit is narrow and specific: a student who wants to study religion in a setting where affordability is among the highest we track.

Graduates earn below the median at comparable institutions, and return is below the levels seen at many peers. Most graduates are estimated to go on to further study rather than directly into work, and the four-year earnings figure counts only graduates who are not enrolled.

Access is well above average and affordability is among the highest we track. Families in the lowest income band pay less than the published cost on average, and even those in the highest income band pay less than the sticker price.

The admission rate is above the median for comparable institutions. The program mix is concentrated in philosophy and religious studies, and the earnings figure is measured during a period when many graduates are still in school.

Talmudical Seminary of Bobov at a glance

Admissions and outcomes

Admission rate[1]
97.9%
Six-year completion[2]
39.2%
Four-year earnings[3]
$20,372

Cost and family borrowing

Average annual net price · $48–75K family income[6]
Not reported
Median student debt[4]
Not reported
Median Parent PLUS debt[7]
Not reported

Talmudical Seminary of Bobov rankings: how Azimuth assesses value[5]

Talmudical Seminary of Bobov enrolls 602 undergraduates in Brooklyn, New York, as a private nonprofit university. Among nonprofit four-year institutions, it sits in the middle of the field (59th percentile).

Applicants face few barriers to entry: the university admits 97.9%, well above the 75.7% median for comparable institutions (same type and size). Of the first-time full-time cohort, 68.7% return for a second year, while the peer median is 74.2%.

The six-year graduation rate for that same cohort is 39.2%, below the 54.9% median for comparable institutions. An estimated 23.3% of entrants arrive as transfers or part-time students, so that completion figure covers a minority of the student body.

At Talmudical Seminary of Bobov, affordability and return sit at opposite ends of the spectrum. Affordability is the strongest (99th percentile), while return is the weakest (1st percentile).

Access is also strong (88th percentile), and mobility sits between them (61st percentile).

Affordability is the pillar that stands out most at Talmudical Seminary of Bobov, landing in the 99th percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions. Access is also strong, at the 88th percentile.

Return is the weakest of the four pillars, in the 1st percentile. Mobility sits between the two, at the 61st percentile.

How value-added outcomes are assessed · How to interpret program rankings

Talmudical Seminary of Bobov rankings in context
GeographyRank
National#603

Azimuth overall value rankings within each geographic comparison group.

National pillar percentiles

Economic mobility
National percentile: 61
Access & reach
National percentile: 88
Affordability
National percentile: 99
Return on investment
National percentile: 1

01 / Talmudical Seminary of Bobov briefing

Talmudical Seminary of Bobov cost & financial aid[6][7]

Talmudical Seminary of Bobov posts a sticker price of $19,000 (an average across living arrangements). Tuition and fees come to $13,200, and room and board add another $7,000.

Aid covers about 85% of that published cost for the average aid recipient. The reflects what aid recipients actually pay after grants and scholarships are applied.

Azimuth ranks Talmudical Seminary of Bobov #11 for affordability among 1,467 nonprofit four-year institutions. That places the affordability pillar in the 99th percentile.

The published cost of attendance is $19,000 (an average across living arrangements), and Azimuth ranks Talmudical Seminary of Bobov #11 for affordability among nonprofit four-year institutions. The spread between the lowest and highest bands is $7,492.

Tuition and fees are $13,200, and the average aid recipient sees $16,160 in savings against the sticker price.

Your family income

Choose a household income range to see estimated net price.

Reported average annual net price · $48–75KNot reported

After grants and scholarships. Your aid offer may differ.

Averages within each income band; individual aid packages vary.

Borrowing and repayment at Talmudical Seminary of Bobov

Affordability is the pillar that defines the value case at Talmudical Seminary of Bobov. Azimuth ranks the university #11 for affordability among nonprofit four-year institutions.

That places the affordability pillar in the 99th percentile. The return pillar tells a different story.

Four years after completing a degree, federally aided graduates who are working and not enrolled earn a median of $20,372. That is $35,543 below the $55,915 median for comparable institutions (same type and size), and places the university at the 1st percentile nationally.

Earnings scenarios, estimated from the program mix, are tightly clustered. The investment picture here is one of low cost and low earnings.

The return is modest, but the price to access it is among the lowest in the country.

How Financial GPS measures payment burden · The four risk-and-reward zones

Financial GPS

What does repayment look like?

Institution median student debt
No federal loan data
Institution Parent PLUS debt
No federal loan data

Federal loans only; private or institutional loans aren’t included.

Estimated student payment · monthly
No federal loan data
Estimated Parent PLUS payment · monthly
No federal loan data

Payments use school-wide median balances, not a specific major’s.

Payment assumptions

Payments are 10-year standard payments on the median balance, before loan fees, used as a yardstick. Rates for newly issued loans may differ, and loans made after July 1, 2026 can repay over a longer term; existing loans keep their original fixed rates.

Explore your own numbers in Financial GPS
Read the full cost & aid brief

02 / Talmudical Seminary of Bobov briefing

Talmudical Seminary of Bobov career outcomes & earnings[3][8][9]

Return is the weakest pillar for Talmudical Seminary of Bobov, at the 1st percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions. Four years after completing a degree, federally aided graduates who are working and not enrolled earn a median of $20,372, at the 1st percentile.

That is $35,543 below the $55,915 median for comparable institutions (same type and size).

Four years after completing a degree, federally aided graduates who are working and not enrolled earn a median of $20,372. That figure is $35,543 below the $55,915 median for comparable institutions (same type and size), and Azimuth places it in the 1st percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions.

The earnings cohort is 106 completers. These are scenarios, not observed groups of graduates.

An estimated 55.0% of graduates continue to graduate study, based on the program mix.

Four years after completing a degree, federally aided graduates who are working and not enrolled earn a median of $20,372, in the 1st percentile nationally. The median for comparable institutions (same type and size) is $55,915, placing the university $35,543 below the peer figure.

Azimuth ranks Talmudical Seminary of Bobov #1,456 for return among nonprofit four-year institutions. All awards are in Philosophy & Religious Studies.

An estimated 55.0% of graduates continue to graduate study, based on the program mix.

The earnings scenarios leave almost no distance between them. They are estimates derived from the program mix, not observed cohorts of graduates.

Religion/Religious Studies is the only program with published earnings data. It awards 117 degrees in a year, and its graduates earn $20,163 four years after completion.

The published cost of attendance is $19,000 (an average across living arrangements), and aid covers about 85% of that for the average aid recipient. Net prices by income band show a spread of $7,492 between the lowest and highest bands.

The affordability pillar sits at the 99th percentile, the strongest of the four. A low net price and a concentrated program mix point the same way.

Read the full outcomes brief

03 / Talmudical Seminary of Bobov briefing

Talmudical Seminary of Bobov acceptance rate & admissions[1][10][11]

Talmudical Seminary of Bobov admits 97.9% of applicants, a rate well above the median of 75.7% for comparable institutions (same type and size). The figure describes a largely open door: nearly everyone who applies is offered a place.

Admissions
Admission rate
97.9%
Read the full admissions brief

04 / Talmudical Seminary of Bobov briefing

What are the largest majors at Talmudical Seminary of Bobov?[12]

The university awards degrees in a single program family, Philosophy & Religious Studies, which accounts for 100.0% of bachelor's degrees. The sole program with published earnings data is Religion/Religious Studies, with 117 degrees awarded.

Four years after completion, graduates earn a median of $20,163, which is 0.49x the national median for the field. The typical earnings scenario is $20,372. An estimated 55.0% of graduates continue to graduate study.

Talmudical Seminary of Bobov awards every bachelor's degree in a single field: Philosophy & Religious Studies accounts for 100.0% of degrees awarded. The only program with published earnings is Religion/Religious Studies, at 117 degrees a year.

Four years after completion, its graduates earn a median of $20,163, which sits at 0.49x the national median for the field.

Talmudical Seminary of Bobov concentrates its bachelor's degrees in a single field: Philosophy & Religious Studies accounts for 100.0% of degrees awarded. The institution has 1 program with published four-year earnings data.

The sole program is Religion/Religious Studies, awarding 117 degrees a year. Four years after completion, graduates earn a median of $20,163, a benchmark ratio of 0.49x against the national median for its field.

With all degrees in one field, the earnings picture is tied to the trajectory of that field. The benchmark ratio sits below the national median, and the four-year figure may understate later earnings for a field where graduate study is common.

Four-year earnings · the largest reported field
Religion/Religious Studies 117 degrees awarded
$20,163

Fields selected by reported completions. Counts describe credentials awarded, not unique students or the earnings sample. Bars show median four-year earnings.

Read the full majors brief

05 / Talmudical Seminary of Bobov briefing

What colleges are similar to Talmudical Seminary of Bobov?[15]

Azimuth groups alternatives by admissions, location, cost and earnings, then orders candidates within each group. Peer earnings use the matched four-year cohort. How matching works.

A shortlist for different decisions

Choose a row to compare the figures with Talmudical Seminary of Bobov.

Admissions peerMetropolitan College of New York90.0% admitted
Comparison with Talmudical Seminary of Bobov
MeasureTalmudical Seminary of BobovMetropolitan College of New York
Peer earnings · 4 years$20,372$53,658+$33,286 vs Talmudical Seminary of Bobov
Average annual net price$2,840$28,882+$26,042 vs Talmudical Seminary of Bobov · higher cost
Admission rate97.9%90.0%
Nearby alternativeYeshiva of Machzikai HadasNearby option · NY
Comparison with Talmudical Seminary of Bobov
MeasureTalmudical Seminary of BobovYeshiva of Machzikai Hadas
Peer earnings · 4 years$20,372$20,564+$192 vs Talmudical Seminary of Bobov
Average annual net price$2,840$22,870+$20,030 vs Talmudical Seminary of Bobov · higher cost
Admission rate97.9%70.1%
Higher-earnings alternativeCalifornia State University-Los Angeles$59,756 earnings
Comparison with Talmudical Seminary of Bobov
MeasureTalmudical Seminary of BobovCalifornia State University-Los Angeles
Peer earnings · 4 years$20,372$59,756+$39,384 vs Talmudical Seminary of Bobov
Average annual net price$2,840$3,967+$1,127 vs Talmudical Seminary of Bobov · higher cost
Admission rate97.9%91.3%
Explore California State University-Los Angeles →
Similar profileYeshiva of Machzikai HadasMatched across several measures
Comparison with Talmudical Seminary of Bobov
MeasureTalmudical Seminary of BobovYeshiva of Machzikai Hadas
Peer earnings · 4 years$20,372$20,564+$192 vs Talmudical Seminary of Bobov
Average annual net price$2,840$22,870+$20,030 vs Talmudical Seminary of Bobov · higher cost
Admission rate97.9%70.1%

Each school is the first-ranked match in its category, not a recommendation across every measure. The same college may lead more than one category. Figures use the matching snapshot; earnings reflect the matched four-year cohort. — means unavailable.

Read the full similar schools brief

Data scope & methodology

Structured payloads generated Governed hub narrative Governed spoke corpus

Four-year earnings describe cohorts of completers. Figures for other horizons describe different cohorts and are not joined into a career-growth projection.

Azimuth's overall rank and pillar percentiles come from the school profile. Absolute pillar ranks, city, enrollment and official-site links are shown only when structured data supplies them.

Detailed earnings, cost, admissions and program values come from the endpoint responsible for each measure. Missing values are not replaced with zero. Value-added estimates are model associations, not causal effects.

Figures are refreshed with each data release, at most a quarter apart. The underlying source dates can be earlier than the release.

Explanatory text is AI-assisted drafting checked against those figures; it is not an additional data source.

Analysis and methodology by Daniel Rogers, founder of College Azimuth.

Read the ranking methodology, data definitions and limitations · About College Azimuth

Read the analysis behind value-added earnings and the change to four-year graduate earnings. These articles are published on collegeazimuth.com.

Data notes & source fields

Scorecard field codes identify the underlying measure; Azimuth-derived values are labeled separately. Snapshot dates are not measurement years. Source populations and reporting periods differ across measures. Field definitions are in the U.S. Department of Education · College Scorecard documentation; notes with a different source link it below.

  1. Admission rate. Reported applicants admitted; not a transfer-specific or individual admission probability.

    Source fields: ADM_RATE

  2. Six-year completion. First-time, full-time students completing at the institution within 150% of normal time, typically six years for a bachelor’s degree.

    Source fields: C150_4

  3. Four-year institutional earnings. Median earnings of graduates in the reported cohort who are working and not enrolled, four years after completion.

    Source fields: MD_EARN_WNE_4YR

  4. Median federal student debt. Federal student-loan debt among completers in the reported borrowing cohort. Excludes Parent PLUS and is not total debt across all students.

    Source fields: GRAD_DEBT_MDN

  5. National, regional and state ranks; pillar percentiles; major ranks. Derived scores within the stated eligible comparison set, not raw Scorecard fields. Major ranks compare institutions within a field; their denominators differ.

    Source fields: Azimuth rankings

    College Azimuth · Ranking methodology

  6. Annual net price by family income. Average annual cost after grants and scholarships for the eligible first-time, full-time aid-recipient cohort. Public-school figures reflect in-state tuition. Includes living costs; these are averages, not medians or individual offers.

    Source fields: NPT4_PUB/PRIV; NPT41_PUB/PRIV through NPT45_PUB/PRIV

  7. Parent PLUS debt, payments and GPS illustration. Stored payments use Financial GPS loan and repayment assumptions. The adjustable spectrum applies the published framework to annual student payments divided by earnings minus an expense allowance; its initial allowance is 150% of the federal poverty guideline for one person, for the year the API serves. It is an illustration rather than a school rating. The parent table is the 10-year payment on the median Parent PLUS as a share of household income above 200% of the guideline for a household of three: under 6% Safe, 6–10% Caution, over 10% High pressure. Parent PLUS uses the completer median where available, otherwise the all-borrower median; these describe different borrowing populations.

    Source fields: PLUS_DEBT_ALL_COMP_MD; fallback PLUS_DEBT_ALL_MD; Azimuth Financial GPS calculations

    College Azimuth · Financial GPS methodology

  8. Downside and upside earnings; yellow band. The band spans the modeled lower and higher scenarios. It is not the P25–P75 interval for individual graduates. The median marker is the separately reported institutional median.

    Source fields: Azimuth modeled program-mix scenarios

    College Azimuth · Earnings scenario methodology

  9. Value added and its components. Observed-factor attribution plus the unexplained remainder equals total modeled value added. These are associations, not proven causal effects; the remainder is not a direct measure of teaching quality.

    Source fields: Azimuth statistical model

    College Azimuth · Value-added methodology

  10. SAT score range and reported midpoint. Reported scores of enrolled score-submitters, not admission cutoffs. The midpoint field is not necessarily the middle of the displayed range.

    Source fields: SATVR25 + SATMT25; SATVR75 + SATMT75; SAT_AVG

  11. First-year retention. Retention of the reported full-time cohort at four-year institutions.

    Source fields: RET_FT4

  12. Program earnings, completion counts and major-mix dots. Included bachelor’s programs have at least five reported completions. Counts are aggregated credentials, not unique people or an earnings sample. Major-mix dots group those counts by field of study; excluded programs are not zero activity.

    Source fields: EARN_MDN_4YR; IPEDSCOUNT1; CIPCODE

    College Scorecard · Field-of-study technical documentation

  13. Pell recipients. Share of undergraduates receiving a Pell Grant in the reported academic year.

    Source fields: PCTPELL

  14. Entering students outside the first-time, full-time group. This is not an observed transfer-in rate. It includes part-time entrants and other entering-student attendance patterns.

    Source fields: 1 − PFTFTUG1_EF

  15. Peer earnings and signed differences. Differences are peer minus this school, from the same matching snapshot. A positive earnings difference does not mean the peer is better on every measure.

    Source fields: Azimuth peer model using MD_EARN_WNE_4YR

    College Azimuth · Comparison methodology

How to interpret program rankings