Research brief & institution hub

Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Cupey Campus

PRMedium private nonprofit institution · Overall rank #248 nationally

Data snapshot Updated

Azimuth ranks Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Cupey Campus #248 among 1,467 nonprofit four-year institutions.

Who it’s a good fit for

Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Cupey Campus is a private nonprofit university in San Juan, Puerto Rico, where Health Professions and Business account for the largest shares of degrees. Access is among the highest we track, and affordability is among the highest we track.

Graduates out-earn what predicts for students like them. The model attributes that to the factors it measures, while the unexplained remainder subtracts, and the typical graduate earns below the median at comparable schools.

What families at the lowest and highest ends pay is close together, and both figures sit below the median at comparable schools. Pell students complete at a rate above the overall cohort, so the access advantage holds through graduation.

A student drawn to the health professions should go in knowing that the largest program is not the best-paid one. Most graduates are estimated to go into work rather than further study.

Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Cupey Campus at a glance

Admissions and outcomes

Admission rate[1]
Not reported
Six-year completion[2]
30.8%
Four-year earnings[3]
$29,751

Cost and family borrowing

Average annual net price · $48–75K family income[6]
$10,013
Median student debt[4]
$14,250
Median Parent PLUS debt[7]
$6,003

Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Cupey Campus rankings: how Azimuth assesses value[5]

Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Cupey Campus is a private nonprofit university in San Juan, Puerto Rico, enrolling 4,540 undergraduates. Its composite standing sits in the upper fifth of the Azimuth ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions (83rd percentile).

Among first-time full-time students, 30.9% finish within six years. The six-year rate counts first-time, full-time students only.

The four sit far apart. Access is the strongest, return is the weakest, and mobility sits in the middle.

Access is the pillar that stands out most in the Azimuth profile, at the 99th percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions. Affordability is also strong, in the 97th percentile.

Mobility sits near the middle of nonprofit four-year institutions, at the 53rd percentile. Return is the weakest of the four pillars, in the 2nd percentile.

Azimuth ranks Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Cupey Campus #2 for access among nonprofit four-year institutions. Azimuth ranks the university #686 for mobility. Graduates earn about $5,714 more than the model expects for similar students.

How value-added outcomes are assessed · How to interpret program rankings

Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Cupey Campus rankings in context
GeographyRank
National#248

Azimuth overall value rankings within each geographic comparison group.

National pillar percentiles

Economic mobility
National percentile: 53
Access & reach
National percentile: 99
Affordability
National percentile: 97
Return on investment
National percentile: 2

Top-ranked majors

  1. Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions#91
  2. Social Work#208
  3. Criminal Justice and Corrections#209

This school’s three highest-ranked programs nationally. Each rank compares bachelor’s programs in the same field; field sizes differ.

Explore major rankings

01 / Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Cupey Campus briefing

Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Cupey Campus cost & financial aid[6][7]

Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Cupey Campus lists a published cost of attendance of $14,214, with tuition and fees at $7,750. The average net price for aid recipients is $7,646, which is $19,725 below the $27,371 median for comparable institutions (same type and size).

The is what students pay after grants and scholarships. Aid covers about 46% of the published cost for the average aid recipient, reducing the sticker price by $6,568 on average.

Azimuth ranks the university #41 for affordability among nonprofit four-year institutions. That places the affordability pillar in the 97th percentile.

The published cost of attendance at Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Cupey Campus is $14,214. Azimuth ranks the university #41 for affordability among nonprofit four-year institutions.

After grants and scholarships, the average net price for aid recipients from families earning under $30,000 is $6,929, for those in the middle band it is $10,013, and for those in the highest band it is $12,059. The spread between the lowest and highest bands is $5,130.

Aid saves the average recipient $6,568 off the sticker price, leaving an average net price of $7,646. That price sits $19,725 below the $27,371 median for comparable institutions (same type and size).

Tuition and fees are $7,750. Borrowers who finish hold a median of $14,250 in federal student debt.

That amount sits $9,949 below the $24,199 median for comparable institutions (same type and size). 48.1% of federal aid recipients borrow through the federal program.

Parents who borrow through the federal Parent PLUS program hold a separate median of $6,003. The median federal student debt corresponds to an estimated payment of $162 a month if repaid over ten years.

Your family income

Choose a household income range to see estimated net price.

Reported average annual net price · $48–75K$10,013

After grants and scholarships. Your aid offer may differ.

Averages within each income band; individual aid packages vary.

Borrowing and repayment at Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Cupey Campus

48.1% of federal aid recipients take out a federal loan while enrolled. The median federal debt among borrowers who complete a degree is $14,250 in federal loans.

That amount sits $9,949 below the peer median of $24,199 for comparable institutions (same type and size). This median covers borrowers who completed and excludes Parent PLUS and private loans.

That figure corresponds to an estimated monthly payment of $162 if repaid over ten years. Parents who borrow hold a separate median debt of $6,003.

Four years after completing a degree, federally aided graduates who are working and not enrolled earn a median of $29,751, at the 1st percentile. That figure is $38,499 below the $68,250 median for comparable institutions (same type and size).

Graduates earn about $5,714 more than the model expects for similar students. That result is at the 73rd percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Earnings scenarios, estimated from Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Cupey Campus's program mix, range from a downside of $27,054 to an upside of $48,078, with a typical scenario of $29,751. The median federal debt of $14,250 is $9,949 below the peer median, and corresponds to an estimated payment of $162 a month if repaid over ten years. Median earnings four years after completion are $29,751.

For the separate population of parent borrowers, median Parent PLUS borrowing is $6,003. For student borrowers, the median federal debt corresponds to an estimated payment of $162 a month if repaid over ten years.

How Financial GPS measures payment burden · The four risk-and-reward zones

Financial GPS

What does repayment look like?

Institution median student debt
$14,250
Institution Parent PLUS debt
$6,003

Federal loans only; private or institutional loans aren’t included.

Estimated student payment · monthly
$162/mo
Estimated Parent PLUS payment · monthly
$76/mo

Payments use school-wide median balances, not a specific major’s.

Payment assumptions

Payments are 10-year standard payments on the median balance, before loan fees, used as a yardstick. Rates for newly issued loans may differ, and loans made after July 1, 2026 can repay over a longer term; existing loans keep their original fixed rates.

Explore your own numbers in Financial GPS
Read the full cost & aid brief

02 / Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Cupey Campus briefing

Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Cupey Campus career outcomes & earnings[3][8][9]

Program choice opens a wide earnings range at Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Cupey Campus. The downside earnings scenario is $27,054 and the upside scenario reaches $48,078; both are scenarios estimated from the program mix, not observed groups.

At the higher end, Business/Managerial Economics graduates earn $38,400 four years after completion, from 13 degrees awarded a year. Marketing follows at $38,215, with 30 degrees awarded.

Four years after completing a degree, Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Cupey Campus graduates earn about $5,714 more than the model expects for similar students. Borrowers who finish carry a median of $14,250 in federal student loans, $9,949 below the $24,199 median for comparable institutions (same type and size).

The peer median is the middle value for comparable institutions (same type and size). The estimated monthly payment if repaid over ten years is $162 a month.

Parent borrowers hold a separate median of $6,003 in Parent PLUS loans. Graduates have above-expected earnings and below-peer median debt.

What explains value-added earnings?
Program & institutional factors The part attributed to observed institutional characteristics.
+$7,641
Unexplained remainder What remains after the model’s observed factors.
-$1,927
Total modeled value added The modeled difference from expected earnings.
+$5,714

These are statistical model components, not proven causal effects; the remainder is not a direct measure of teaching quality.

Read the full outcomes brief

03 / Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Cupey Campus briefing

Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Cupey Campus acceptance rate & admissions[1][10][11]

Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Cupey Campus is a private nonprofit university in San Juan, Puerto Rico, enrolling 4,540 undergraduates. 99.3% of undergraduates receive a Pell Grant.

The figures describe the composition of the student body, not admission criteria. Pell-eligible and transfer applicants should review the cost calculator and transfer credit policies alongside their intended program.

Admissions
Admission rate
Not reported
Read the full admissions brief

04 / Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Cupey Campus briefing

What are the largest majors at Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Cupey Campus?[12]

The largest programs at Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Cupey Campus are concentrated in health and business, but the earnings picture is modest across the board. Four years after completion, no program among the largest five reaches the national median for its field.

Nursing is the biggest by a wide margin, with 394 degrees awarded and median earnings of $34,709. Azimuth ranks it #306 nationally among nonprofit four-year institutions in its field.

The highest-earning program is a much smaller one. Business/Managerial Economics graduates earn $38,400, from 13 degrees awarded a year.

Marketing follows at $38,215, with 30 degrees awarded and a national rank of #227 in its field.

Azimuth ranks 9 of the university's bachelor's programs nationally among nonprofit four-year institutions. The highest-ranked is Allied Health Professions, at #91 in its field and #1 in Puerto Rico, with 55 degrees awarded and median earnings of $28,015 four years after completion.

The largest program is Nursing, which accounts for 394 degrees a year. Azimuth ranks it #306 within its field, and graduates earn a median of $34,709 four years out.

The best-paid program is a much smaller one: Business/Managerial Economics graduates earn $38,400, from 13 degrees a year. The degree mix is concentrated in two families.

Health Professions accounts for 49.1% of bachelor's degrees awarded, and Business follows at 18.1%. A student drawn to the health professions should know that the largest department is not the best-paid one.

Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Cupey Campus awards nearly half of its bachelor's degrees in a single family: Health Professions accounts for 49.1% of degrees awarded. Business is a distant second at 18.1%, followed by Security & Protective Services at 9.6%.

The university has 9 programs with an Azimuth national rank and 14 with published four-year earnings data. The largest program is Nursing, at 394 degrees awarded a year.

Its graduates earn a median of $34,709 four years after completion. Criminal Justice and Business Administration and Management follow, with 96 and 65 degrees awarded.

The highest-ranked program is Allied Health Professions. Azimuth ranks it #1 in Puerto Rico within its field, with 55 degrees awarded.

Social Work ranks #208 nationally and #5 in Puerto Rico, from 51 degrees awarded. The highest-earning program is a much smaller one.

Business/Managerial Economics graduates earn a median of $38,400, from 13 degrees awarded a year. Marketing is close behind at $38,215, with 30 degrees awarded and a national rank of #227 within its field.

The program mix is concentrated in health and business, and the strongest ranks sit in the health-related fields. The highest earnings come from business programs that award relatively few degrees, and across all fields, 7.1% of degrees awarded are in STEM.

Four-year earnings · six largest reported fields
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing 394 degrees awarded
$34,709
Criminal Justice and Corrections 96 degrees awarded
$29,852
Business Administration, Management and Operations 65 degrees awarded
$31,748
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions 55 degrees awarded
$28,015
Social Work 51 degrees awarded
$28,134
Psychology, General 40 degrees awarded
$26,280

Fields selected by reported completions. Counts describe credentials awarded, not unique students or the earnings sample. Bars show median four-year earnings.

Read the full majors brief

Data scope & methodology

Structured payloads generated Governed hub narrative Governed spoke corpus

Four-year earnings describe cohorts of completers. Figures for other horizons describe different cohorts and are not joined into a career-growth projection.

Azimuth's overall rank and pillar percentiles come from the school profile. Absolute pillar ranks, city, enrollment and official-site links are shown only when structured data supplies them.

Detailed earnings, cost, admissions and program values come from the endpoint responsible for each measure. Missing values are not replaced with zero. Value-added estimates are model associations, not causal effects.

Figures are refreshed with each data release, at most a quarter apart. The underlying source dates can be earlier than the release.

Explanatory text is AI-assisted drafting checked against those figures; it is not an additional data source.

Analysis and methodology by Daniel Rogers, founder of College Azimuth.

Read the ranking methodology, data definitions and limitations · About College Azimuth

Read the analysis behind value-added earnings and the change to four-year graduate earnings. These articles are published on collegeazimuth.com.

Data notes & source fields

Scorecard field codes identify the underlying measure; Azimuth-derived values are labeled separately. Snapshot dates are not measurement years. Source populations and reporting periods differ across measures. Field definitions are in the U.S. Department of Education · College Scorecard documentation; notes with a different source link it below.

  1. Admission rate. Reported applicants admitted; not a transfer-specific or individual admission probability.

    Source fields: ADM_RATE

  2. Six-year completion. First-time, full-time students completing at the institution within 150% of normal time, typically six years for a bachelor’s degree.

    Source fields: C150_4

  3. Four-year institutional earnings. Median earnings of graduates in the reported cohort who are working and not enrolled, four years after completion.

    Source fields: MD_EARN_WNE_4YR

  4. Median federal student debt. Federal student-loan debt among completers in the reported borrowing cohort. Excludes Parent PLUS and is not total debt across all students.

    Source fields: GRAD_DEBT_MDN

  5. National, regional and state ranks; pillar percentiles; major ranks. Derived scores within the stated eligible comparison set, not raw Scorecard fields. Major ranks compare institutions within a field; their denominators differ.

    Source fields: Azimuth rankings

    College Azimuth · Ranking methodology

  6. Annual net price by family income. Average annual cost after grants and scholarships for the eligible first-time, full-time aid-recipient cohort. Public-school figures reflect in-state tuition. Includes living costs; these are averages, not medians or individual offers.

    Source fields: NPT4_PUB/PRIV; NPT41_PUB/PRIV through NPT45_PUB/PRIV

  7. Parent PLUS debt, payments and GPS illustration. Stored payments use Financial GPS loan and repayment assumptions. The adjustable spectrum applies the published framework to annual student payments divided by earnings minus an expense allowance; its initial allowance is 150% of the federal poverty guideline for one person, for the year the API serves. It is an illustration rather than a school rating. The parent table is the 10-year payment on the median Parent PLUS as a share of household income above 200% of the guideline for a household of three: under 6% Safe, 6–10% Caution, over 10% High pressure. Parent PLUS uses the completer median where available, otherwise the all-borrower median; these describe different borrowing populations.

    Source fields: PLUS_DEBT_ALL_COMP_MD; fallback PLUS_DEBT_ALL_MD; Azimuth Financial GPS calculations

    College Azimuth · Financial GPS methodology

  8. Downside and upside earnings; yellow band. The band spans the modeled lower and higher scenarios. It is not the P25–P75 interval for individual graduates. The median marker is the separately reported institutional median.

    Source fields: Azimuth modeled program-mix scenarios

    College Azimuth · Earnings scenario methodology

  9. Value added and its components. Observed-factor attribution plus the unexplained remainder equals total modeled value added. These are associations, not proven causal effects; the remainder is not a direct measure of teaching quality.

    Source fields: Azimuth statistical model

    College Azimuth · Value-added methodology

  10. SAT score range and reported midpoint. Reported scores of enrolled score-submitters, not admission cutoffs. The midpoint field is not necessarily the middle of the displayed range.

    Source fields: SATVR25 + SATMT25; SATVR75 + SATMT75; SAT_AVG

  11. First-year retention. Retention of the reported full-time cohort at four-year institutions.

    Source fields: RET_FT4

  12. Program earnings, completion counts and major-mix dots. Included bachelor’s programs have at least five reported completions. Counts are aggregated credentials, not unique people or an earnings sample. Major-mix dots group those counts by field of study; excluded programs are not zero activity.

    Source fields: EARN_MDN_4YR; IPEDSCOUNT1; CIPCODE

    College Scorecard · Field-of-study technical documentation

  13. Pell recipients. Share of undergraduates receiving a Pell Grant in the reported academic year.

    Source fields: PCTPELL

  14. Entering students outside the first-time, full-time group. This is not an observed transfer-in rate. It includes part-time entrants and other entering-student attendance patterns.

    Source fields: 1 − PFTFTUG1_EF

  15. Peer earnings and signed differences. Differences are peer minus this school, from the same matching snapshot. A positive earnings difference does not mean the peer is better on every measure.

    Source fields: Azimuth peer model using MD_EARN_WNE_4YR

    College Azimuth · Comparison methodology

How to interpret program rankings