Research brief & institution hub

Uta Mesivta of Kiryas Joel

NYMedium private nonprofit institution · Overall rank #205 nationally

Data snapshot Updated

Azimuth ranks Uta Mesivta of Kiryas Joel #205 among 1,467 nonprofit four-year institutions.

Who it’s a good fit for

At Uta Mesivta of Kiryas Joel, a private nonprofit university in Monroe, New York, Philosophy & Religious Studies accounts for all of the bachelor's degrees awarded. The fit is clearest for a student drawn to that field; access is among the highest we track.

A majority of graduates are estimated to continue to graduate study, and the four-year earnings figure counts only graduates who are not enrolled. Graduates earn below the median at comparable institutions.

Return is below the levels seen at many peers. Access is among the highest we track, and affordability is among the highest we track.

What the lowest-income band pays after aid sits far below the published cost, and the spread between the lowest and highest bands is narrow. A student drawn to the largest program should go in knowing that its earnings sit below the national median for the field.

Uta Mesivta of Kiryas Joel at a glance

Admissions and outcomes

Admission rate[1]
Not reported
Six-year completion[2]
70.2%
Four-year earnings[3]
$27,957

Cost and family borrowing

Average annual net price · $48–75K family income[6]
Not reported
Median student debt[4]
Not reported
Median Parent PLUS debt[7]
Not reported

Uta Mesivta of Kiryas Joel rankings: how Azimuth assesses value[5]

In Monroe, New York, Uta Mesivta of Kiryas Joel is a private nonprofit university enrolling 2,957 undergraduates. Its composite standing sits near the top of the Azimuth ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions (86th percentile).

An estimated 17.4% of the student body arrives as transfers or part-time students, so the first-time graduation rate does not cover every path to a degree. Access, at the 99th percentile, and affordability, at the 99th percentile, are the two strongest here.

Return is the weakest, at the 3rd percentile, while mobility sits between them at the 59th percentile. The four pillars are spread far apart.

Azimuth evaluates Uta Mesivta of Kiryas Joel on four pillars among nonprofit four-year institutions. Access is the strongest, at the 99th percentile, and affordability is close behind at the 99th percentile.

Mobility sits in the middle, at the 59th percentile. Return is the weakest of the four, at the 3rd percentile.

How value-added outcomes are assessed · How to interpret program rankings

Uta Mesivta of Kiryas Joel rankings in context
GeographyRank
National#205

Azimuth overall value rankings within each geographic comparison group.

National pillar percentiles

Economic mobility
National percentile: 59
Access & reach
National percentile: 99
Affordability
National percentile: 99
Return on investment
National percentile: 3

01 / Uta Mesivta of Kiryas Joel briefing

Uta Mesivta of Kiryas Joel cost & financial aid[6][7]

The published cost of attendance is $21,682, with tuition and fees of $16,000 and room and board adding $3,200. Aid covers about 81% of the published cost for the average aid recipient, a savings of $17,526.

Azimuth ranks Uta Mesivta of Kiryas Joel #11 for affordability among nonprofit four-year institutions. That places the affordability pillar in the 99th percentile.

The published cost of attendance is $21,682, with tuition and fees of $16,000 and room and board of $3,200. Azimuth ranks Uta Mesivta of Kiryas Joel #11 for affordability among nonprofit four-year institutions. The spread between the lowest and highest bands is $567.

Your family income

Choose a household income range to see estimated net price.

Reported average annual net price · $48–75KNot reported

After grants and scholarships. Your aid offer may differ.

Averages within each income band; individual aid packages vary.

Borrowing and repayment at Uta Mesivta of Kiryas Joel

Four years after completion, federally aided graduates who are working and not enrolled earn a median of $27,957, at the 1st percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions. That is $40,293 below the $68,250 median for comparable institutions (same type and size).

The earnings scenarios, estimated from the university's program mix, show a typical figure of $27,957. The return on investment pillar sits at the 3rd percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions, making it the weakest of the university's four pillars.

Net price averages show what federal aid recipients pay after grants and scholarships, not any additional borrowing from private or institutional lenders.

How Financial GPS measures payment burden · The four risk-and-reward zones

Financial GPS

What does repayment look like?

Institution median student debt
No federal loan data
Institution Parent PLUS debt
No federal loan data

Federal loans only; private or institutional loans aren’t included.

Estimated student payment · monthly
No federal loan data
Estimated Parent PLUS payment · monthly
No federal loan data

Payments use school-wide median balances, not a specific major’s.

Payment assumptions

Payments are 10-year standard payments on the median balance, before loan fees, used as a yardstick. Rates for newly issued loans may differ, and loans made after July 1, 2026 can repay over a longer term; existing loans keep their original fixed rates.

Explore your own numbers in Financial GPS
Read the full cost & aid brief

02 / Uta Mesivta of Kiryas Joel briefing

Uta Mesivta of Kiryas Joel career outcomes & earnings[3][8][9]

Return is the weakest of the four pillars for Uta Mesivta of Kiryas Joel, sitting at the 3rd percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions. That position is well below the peer median for earnings.

Four years after completing a degree, federally aided graduates who are working and not enrolled earn a median of $27,957. That is $40,293 below the $68,250 median for comparable institutions (same type and size).

The median earnings figure places the university in the 1st percentile nationally.

Four years after completing a degree, federally aided graduates who are working and not enrolled earn a median of $27,957. That places the university in the 1st percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions, based on an earnings cohort of 598 completers.

Earnings scenarios estimated from the program mix put the typical scenario at $27,957. The program mix is concentrated in a single field.

An estimated 55.0% of graduates continue to graduate study, based on the program mix. The four-year earnings picture should be read with that in mind: many graduates may be in further study rather than the workforce at the four-year mark.

These are scenarios estimated from the program mix, not observed groups of graduates. The university has 1 program with published earnings data.

Religion/Religious Studies graduates earn a median of $29,579 four years after completion, from 417 degrees awarded. That figure is 0.71x the national median for the field.

The published cost of attendance is $21,682, and aid covers about 81% of that for the average aid recipient. After grants and scholarships, aid recipients in the lowest income band pay $3,915 on average.

Those in the highest band pay $4,482, a spread of $567 between the two ends. Affordability is at the 99th percentile, while return is the weakest of the four pillars.

Read the full outcomes brief

03 / Uta Mesivta of Kiryas Joel briefing

Uta Mesivta of Kiryas Joel acceptance rate & admissions[1][10][11]

Uta Mesivta of Kiryas Joel enrolls 2,957 undergraduates, and 87.4% of them receive Pell Grants. That is a financial-access figure, not a first-generation or low-income census, and it sits at the center of who attends.

An estimated 17.4% of the student body arrives as transfers or part-time students, so a notable share of the campus did not start here. The composition is a student body built around federal grant aid, with a smaller group continuing coursework begun elsewhere.

Admissions
Admission rate
Not reported
Read the full admissions brief

04 / Uta Mesivta of Kiryas Joel briefing

What are the largest majors at Uta Mesivta of Kiryas Joel?[12]

Uta Mesivta of Kiryas Joel awards all of its bachelor's degrees in a single field, Philosophy & Religious Studies, so the program-level picture is unusually concentrated. The sole program with earnings data is Religion/Religious Studies, which accounts for 417 degrees awarded.

Four years after completion, its graduates earn a median of $29,579. That figure sits at 0.71x the national median for the field.

The four-year earnings snapshot includes only federally aided completers who are working and not enrolled.

Uta Mesivta of Kiryas Joel awards all of its bachelor's degrees in a single field: Philosophy & Religious Studies. The largest program, Religion/Religious Studies, accounts for 417 degrees awarded in the most recent year.

The university has 1 program with published earnings data, so the earnings picture here is the picture of one field.

Every bachelor's degree Uta Mesivta of Kiryas Joel awards falls within a single field: Philosophy & Religious Studies accounts for 100.0% of degrees awarded. The university has 1 program with published four-year earnings data.

That program is Religion/Religious Studies, which awards 417 degrees a year. Four years after completion, its graduates earn a median of $29,579, or 0.71x of the national median for the field.

The concentration means the earnings story is the program's story. A student drawn to this curriculum is choosing a focused path, and the return sits below the national benchmark for the field.

Four-year earnings · the largest reported field
Religion/Religious Studies 417 degrees awarded
$29,579

Fields selected by reported completions. Counts describe credentials awarded, not unique students or the earnings sample. Bars show median four-year earnings.

Read the full majors brief

Data scope & methodology

Structured payloads generated Governed hub narrative Governed spoke corpus

Four-year earnings describe cohorts of completers. Figures for other horizons describe different cohorts and are not joined into a career-growth projection.

Azimuth's overall rank and pillar percentiles come from the school profile. Absolute pillar ranks, city, enrollment and official-site links are shown only when structured data supplies them.

Detailed earnings, cost, admissions and program values come from the endpoint responsible for each measure. Missing values are not replaced with zero. Value-added estimates are model associations, not causal effects.

Figures are refreshed with each data release, at most a quarter apart. The underlying source dates can be earlier than the release.

Explanatory text is AI-assisted drafting checked against those figures; it is not an additional data source.

Analysis and methodology by Daniel Rogers, founder of College Azimuth.

Read the ranking methodology, data definitions and limitations · About College Azimuth

Read the analysis behind value-added earnings and the change to four-year graduate earnings. These articles are published on collegeazimuth.com.

Data notes & source fields

Scorecard field codes identify the underlying measure; Azimuth-derived values are labeled separately. Snapshot dates are not measurement years. Source populations and reporting periods differ across measures. Field definitions are in the U.S. Department of Education · College Scorecard documentation; notes with a different source link it below.

  1. Admission rate. Reported applicants admitted; not a transfer-specific or individual admission probability.

    Source fields: ADM_RATE

  2. Six-year completion. First-time, full-time students completing at the institution within 150% of normal time, typically six years for a bachelor’s degree.

    Source fields: C150_4

  3. Four-year institutional earnings. Median earnings of graduates in the reported cohort who are working and not enrolled, four years after completion.

    Source fields: MD_EARN_WNE_4YR

  4. Median federal student debt. Federal student-loan debt among completers in the reported borrowing cohort. Excludes Parent PLUS and is not total debt across all students.

    Source fields: GRAD_DEBT_MDN

  5. National, regional and state ranks; pillar percentiles; major ranks. Derived scores within the stated eligible comparison set, not raw Scorecard fields. Major ranks compare institutions within a field; their denominators differ.

    Source fields: Azimuth rankings

    College Azimuth · Ranking methodology

  6. Annual net price by family income. Average annual cost after grants and scholarships for the eligible first-time, full-time aid-recipient cohort. Public-school figures reflect in-state tuition. Includes living costs; these are averages, not medians or individual offers.

    Source fields: NPT4_PUB/PRIV; NPT41_PUB/PRIV through NPT45_PUB/PRIV

  7. Parent PLUS debt, payments and GPS illustration. Stored payments use Financial GPS loan and repayment assumptions. The adjustable spectrum applies the published framework to annual student payments divided by earnings minus an expense allowance; its initial allowance uses the frozen 2024 framework baseline. It is an illustration rather than a school rating. Parent PLUS uses the completer median where available, otherwise the all-borrower median; these describe different borrowing populations.

    Source fields: PLUS_DEBT_ALL_COMP_MD; fallback PLUS_DEBT_ALL_MD; Azimuth Financial GPS calculations

    College Azimuth · Financial GPS methodology

  8. Downside and upside earnings; yellow band. The band spans the modeled lower and higher scenarios. It is not the P25–P75 interval for individual graduates. The median marker is the separately reported institutional median.

    Source fields: Azimuth modeled program-mix scenarios

    College Azimuth · Earnings scenario methodology

  9. Value added and its components. Observed-factor attribution plus the unexplained remainder equals total modeled value added. These are associations, not proven causal effects; the remainder is not a direct measure of teaching quality.

    Source fields: Azimuth statistical model

    College Azimuth · Value-added methodology

  10. SAT score range and reported midpoint. Reported scores of enrolled score-submitters, not admission cutoffs. The midpoint field is not necessarily the middle of the displayed range.

    Source fields: SATVR25 + SATMT25; SATVR75 + SATMT75; SAT_AVG

  11. First-year retention. Retention of the reported full-time cohort at four-year institutions.

    Source fields: RET_FT4

  12. Program earnings, completion counts and major-mix dots. Included bachelor’s programs have at least five reported completions. Counts are aggregated credentials, not unique people or an earnings sample. Major-mix dots group those counts by field of study; excluded programs are not zero activity.

    Source fields: EARN_MDN_4YR; IPEDSCOUNT1; CIPCODE

    College Scorecard · Field-of-study technical documentation

  13. Pell recipients. Share of undergraduates receiving a Pell Grant in the reported academic year.

    Source fields: PCTPELL

  14. Entering students outside the first-time, full-time group. This is not an observed transfer-in rate. It includes part-time entrants and other entering-student attendance patterns.

    Source fields: 1 − PFTFTUG1_EF

  15. Peer earnings and signed differences. Differences are peer minus this school, from the same matching snapshot. A positive earnings difference does not mean the peer is better on every measure.

    Source fields: Azimuth peer model using MD_EARN_WNE_4YR

    College Azimuth · Comparison methodology

How to interpret program rankings