Best Accounting Colleges in New Jersey (2026)
Updated
Part of Best Business Colleges in New Jersey
This page ranks the 16 colleges in New Jersey that offer an Accounting program. Schools are ordered by the median earnings of their Accounting graduates four years after completing, highest first.
Only schools with a reported Accounting earnings cohort in New Jersey appear. The College of New Jersey ranks 1st on this list, with a six-year completion rate of 86% and an average net price of $27,646.
Seton Hall University and Rider University follow, with admission rates of 73% and 79% respectively.
The list includes 9 public institutions and 7 private nonprofit schools, a public share of 56%. Rutgers University-New Brunswick ranks 30th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
Saint Peter's University posts the lowest average net price at $12,199, while New Jersey City University has the highest admission rate, admitting 98% of applicants.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Median Accounting Earnings | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | The College of New Jersey · Ewing, NJ | $111,509 | $27,646 | $7,908 | 62.3% |
| The College of New Jersey ranks 1st on this list and posts a six-year completion rate of 86% alongside an average net price of $7,908 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business Administration, Management and Operations (261 graduates), Accounting and Related Services (61 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Accounting and Related Services ($111,509), Business Administration, Management and Operations ($85,978) | |||||
| 2 | Seton Hall University · South Orange, NJ | $102,626 | $31,446 | $19,623 | 73.3% |
| A private nonprofit university in South Orange, Seton Hall University reports an admission rate of 73% and an average net price of $19,623 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Finance and Financial Management Services (161 graduates), Marketing (124 graduates), Human Resources Management and Services (58 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Accounting and Related Services ($102,626), Finance and Financial Management Services ($89,994), Marketing ($77,940) | |||||
| 3 | Rider University · Lawrenceville, NJ | $91,950 | $24,792 | $15,824 | 78.6% |
| Rider University admits 79% of applicants and reports a six-year completion rate of 61%, with an average net price of $24,792. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Accounting and Related Services (65 graduates), Business Administration, Management and Operations (62 graduates), Marketing (42 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Accounting and Related Services ($91,950), Finance and Financial Management Services ($88,405), Human Resources Management and Services ($70,122) | |||||
| 4 | Rutgers University-New Brunswick · New Brunswick, NJ | $89,087 | $24,406 | $16,343 | 58.2% |
| Rutgers University-New Brunswick carries the strongest Azimuth composite rank on the list, 30th among nonprofit four-year institutions, and graduates 84% of its students within six years. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Finance and Financial Management Services (418 graduates), Human Resources Management and Services (406 graduates), Business Administration, Management and Operations (293 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods ($126,906), Finance and Financial Management Services ($100,695), Accounting and Related Services ($89,087) | |||||
| 5 | Fairleigh Dickinson University-Metropolitan Campus · Teaneck, NJ | $87,753 | $15,404 | $10,218 | 90.7% |
| With an average net price of $15,404, Fairleigh Dickinson University-Metropolitan Campus admits 91% of applicants and shows a six-year completion rate of 53%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business Administration, Management and Operations (38 graduates), Accounting and Related Services (14 graduates), Finance and Financial Management Services (9 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Accounting and Related Services ($87,753), Finance and Financial Management Services ($84,606), Marketing ($75,172) | |||||
| 6 | Montclair State University · Montclair, NJ | $84,906 | $15,566 | $10,880 | 87.9% |
| Montclair State University ranks 56th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports an average net price of $10,880 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business Administration, Management and Operations (571 graduates), Accounting and Related Services (104 graduates), Hospitality Administration/Management (9 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Accounting and Related Services ($84,906), Business Administration, Management and Operations ($68,235) | |||||
| 7 | Ramapo College of New Jersey · Mahwah, NJ | $83,004 | $18,173 | $9,008 | 70.6% |
| Ramapo College of New Jersey posts a six-year completion rate of 70% and an average net price of $9,008 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Marketing (72 graduates), Accounting and Related Services (54 graduates), Finance and Financial Management Services (49 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Accounting and Related Services ($83,004), Business Administration, Management and Operations ($70,306) | |||||
| 8 | Thomas Edison State University · Trenton, NJ | $82,029 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Thomas Edison State University ranks 215th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business Administration, Management and Operations (189 graduates), Accounting and Related Services (37 graduates), Finance and Financial Management Services (24 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Business Administration, Management and Operations ($89,947), Accounting and Related Services ($82,029), Human Resources Management and Services ($78,576) | |||||
| 9 | Rowan University · Glassboro, NJ | $76,524 | $22,408 | $15,305 | 77.7% |
| Rowan University admits 78% of applicants and reports a six-year completion rate of 67%, with an average net price of $22,408. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business Administration, Management and Operations (310 graduates), Finance and Financial Management Services (153 graduates), Accounting and Related Services (125 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Accounting and Related Services ($76,524), Finance and Financial Management Services ($75,697), Business Administration, Management and Operations ($73,631) | |||||
| 10 | Kean University · Union, NJ | $72,446 | $12,447 | $7,374 | 75.9% |
| Kean University ranks 140th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports an average net price of $7,374 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business Administration, Management and Operations (281 graduates), Accounting and Related Services (104 graduates), Marketing (82 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Accounting and Related Services ($72,446), Finance and Financial Management Services ($65,415), Business Administration, Management and Operations ($65,332) | |||||
| 11 | Saint Peter's University · Jersey City, NJ | $72,212 | $12,199 | $10,783 | 90.3% |
| Saint Peter's University reports the lowest all-incomes average net price on the list at $12,199 and admits 90% of applicants. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business Administration, Management and Operations (67 graduates), Accounting and Related Services (31 graduates), Marketing (14 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Accounting and Related Services ($72,212), Business Administration, Management and Operations ($58,634) | |||||
| 12 | William Paterson University of New Jersey · Wayne, NJ | $71,745 | $18,745 | $16,171 | 90.1% |
| William Paterson University of New Jersey admits 90% of applicants and shows a six-year completion rate of 44%, with an average net price of $18,745. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods (83 graduates), Finance and Financial Management Services (67 graduates), Marketing (64 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Accounting and Related Services ($71,745), Finance and Financial Management Services ($70,356), Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods ($66,745) | |||||
| 13 | Caldwell University · Caldwell, NJ | $69,147 | $24,691 | $18,059 | 71.3% |
| Caldwell University, a private nonprofit university in Caldwell, ranks 13th on this list and reports an average net price of $18,059 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business Administration, Management and Operations (33 graduates), Accounting and Related Services (10 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Business Administration, Management and Operations ($74,113) | |||||
| 14 | Georgian Court University · Lakewood, NJ | $67,716 | $19,285 | $12,683 | 78.8% |
| Georgian Court University admits 79% of applicants and holds an Azimuth composite rank of 856th among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business Administration, Management and Operations (30 graduates), Finance and Financial Management Services (8 graduates), Marketing (8 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Business Administration, Management and Operations ($62,271) | |||||
| 15 | New Jersey City University · Jersey City, NJ | $66,244 | $16,053 | $14,005 | 98.4% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 34%, New Jersey City University ranks 15th on this list and posts an average net price of $16,053. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business Administration, Management and Operations (101 graduates), Accounting and Related Services (77 graduates), Finance and Financial Management Services (50 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Finance and Financial Management Services ($71,548), Accounting and Related Services ($66,244), Business Administration, Management and Operations ($59,925) | |||||
| 16 | Centenary University · Hackettstown, NJ | $50,856 | $20,503 | $13,329 | 83.1% |
| Centenary University ranks 16th on this page, with an admission rate of 83% and an average net price of $13,329 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business Administration, Management and Operations (88 graduates), Accounting and Related Services (16 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Business Administration, Management and Operations ($72,527) | |||||
How this list is ordered
Schools are ordered by the median earnings of their Accounting graduates four years after completing, highest first. Only schools with a reported Accounting earnings cohort in New Jersey appear. The figure measures the median earnings of Accounting graduates four years after completing, among those who were working and not enrolled. It does not adjust for graduate school enrollment or cost of attendance, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The list of 16 schools includes 9 public and 7 private nonprofit institutions.
Related rankings
- Best Colleges in New Jersey
- Best Business Colleges in Florida by Earnings
- Best Business Colleges in Massachusetts
- Best Business Colleges in Indiana
- Best Business Colleges in Illinois
- Accounting Colleges in New Jersey for Social Mobility