College research / Rankings

Best Colleges in New Jersey (2026)

Updated

Best Colleges in New Jersey lists 27 four-year nonprofit institutions in New Jersey. Schools are ordered by Azimuth's overall score for New Jersey, highest first.

The score combines four pillars, weighted 30% return, 30% mobility, 20% access and 20% affordability, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. Rutgers University-New Brunswick ranks 1st on this list and reports $77,933 in median earnings for its graduates four years after completing. The list includes 11 public and 16 private nonprofit institutions.

Rutgers University-New Brunswick ranks 30th on Azimuth's composite ranking among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally. Princeton University posts the lowest average net price at $6,128, and its six-year completion rate of 98% is the highest on the page.

The ranked list

27 schools in list order
RankSchoolMedian earnings, 4 years after completionAverage net priceNet price, families under $30KAdmission rate
1Rutgers University-New Brunswick · New Brunswick, NJ$77,933$24,406$16,34358.2%
Rutgers University-New Brunswick ranks 1st on this list and reports median earnings of $77,933 for its graduates four years after completing.
2Montclair State University · Montclair, NJ$61,351$15,566$10,88087.9%
With an average net price of $15,566, Montclair State University admits 88% of applicants and graduates 65% within six years.
3Princeton University · Princeton, NJ$108,590$6,128$414.6%
Princeton University, a private nonprofit university in Princeton, posts a six-year completion rate of 98% and an admission rate of 5%.
4New Jersey Institute of Technology · Newark, NJ$91,874$16,504$10,13865.1%
Graduates of New Jersey Institute of Technology earn a median of $91,874 four years after completing, and the school's average net price is $16,504.
5Beth Medrash Govoha · Lakewood, NJ$53,524Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Beth Medrash Govoha ranks 5th on this list and its graduates across all fields earn a median of $53,524 four years after completing.
6Kean University · Union, NJ$59,472$12,447$7,37475.9%
Kean University reports an average net price of $12,447 and a six-year completion rate of 47%.
7Rowan University · Glassboro, NJ$62,686$22,408$15,30577.7%
Rowan University admits 78% of applicants, and its six-year completion rate stands at 67%.
8Thomas Edison State University · Trenton, NJ$85,816Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Thomas Edison State University reports median earnings of $85,816 for its graduates four years after completing and ranks 215th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
9Felician University · Lodi, NJ$78,605$40,045$39,626Not reported
With a six-year completion rate of 47%, Felician University reports an average net price of $39,626 for families earning under $30,000.
10Stockton University · Galloway, NJ$58,872$20,670$15,13588.9%
Stockton University ranks 10th on this list, admits 89% of applicants, and its graduates earn a median of $58,872 four years after completing.
11New Jersey City University · Jersey City, NJ$60,965$16,053$14,00598.4%
New Jersey City University admits 98% of applicants and reports a six-year completion rate of 34%.
12William Paterson University of New Jersey · Wayne, NJ$59,272$18,745$16,17190.1%
William Paterson University of New Jersey reports median earnings of $59,272 for its graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $18,745.
13Yeshivas Be'er Yitzchok · Elizabeth, NJ$95,988$28,599$27,76486.2%
Yeshivas Be'er Yitzchok reports median earnings of $95,988 for its graduates four years after completing, and its average net price is $28,599.
14Pillar College · Newark, NJ$44,376$8,470$15,139Not reported
With an average net price of $8,470, Pillar College ranks 14th on this list and posts a six-year completion rate of 38%.
15Saint Peter's University · Jersey City, NJ$64,352$12,199$10,78390.3%
Saint Peter's University admits 90% of applicants and shows median earnings of $64,352 for its graduates four years after completing.
16Ramapo College of New Jersey · Mahwah, NJ$67,266$18,173$9,00870.6%
A public institution, Ramapo College of New Jersey graduates 70% of its students within six years and reports an average net price of $18,173.
17Seton Hall University · South Orange, NJ$76,919$31,446$19,62373.3%
Seton Hall University ranks 445th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its graduates earn a median of $76,919 four years after completing.
18Stevens Institute of Technology · Hoboken, NJ$112,538$41,346$27,22147.6%
Graduates of Stevens Institute of Technology earn a median of $112,538 four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 87%.
19The College of New Jersey · Ewing, NJ$72,068$27,646$7,90862.3%
The College of New Jersey posts a six-year completion rate of 86% and an average net price of $7,908 for families earning under $30,000.
20Caldwell University · Caldwell, NJ$64,716$24,691$18,05971.3%
Caldwell University ranks 20th on this list, with an admission rate of 71% and median earnings of $64,716 for its graduates four years after completing.
21Saint Elizabeth University · Morristown, NJ$66,386$23,125$20,37971.0%
Saint Elizabeth University reports an average net price of $23,125 and a six-year completion rate of 51%.
22Fairleigh Dickinson University-Metropolitan Campus · Teaneck, NJ$68,049$15,404$10,21890.7%
Fairleigh Dickinson University-Metropolitan Campus admits 91% of applicants, and its graduates earn a median of $68,049 four years after completing.
23Centenary University · Hackettstown, NJ$63,207$20,503$13,32983.1%
Centenary University ranks 844th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with an average net price of $13,329 for families earning under $30,000.
24Monmouth University · West Long Branch, NJ$68,968$30,988$18,92489.0%
Monmouth University graduates 72% of its students within six years and reports median earnings of $68,968 for its graduates four years after completing.
25Rider University · Lawrenceville, NJ$63,250$24,792$15,82478.6%
Rider University ranks 25th on this list and reports median earnings of $63,250 for its graduates four years after completing.
26Georgian Court University · Lakewood, NJ$62,671$19,285$12,68378.8%
Georgian Court University admits 79% of applicants and shows a six-year completion rate of 54%.
27Drew University · Madison, NJ$59,259$24,280$15,22467.8%
Drew University posts an average net price of $24,280 and a six-year completion rate of 70%.

How this list is ordered

Schools are ordered by Azimuth's overall score for New Jersey, highest first. The score combines four pillars, weighted 30% return, 30% mobility, 20% access and 20% affordability, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. The score is built from the median earnings of each institution's federally aided graduates across all fields, measured four years after completing, among those working and not enrolled. The list does not measure fit or teaching quality. Rutgers University-New Brunswick ranks 1st on this page and 30th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. The list includes 11 public and 16 private nonprofit schools.