College research / Rankings

Most Affordable Colleges in New Jersey (2026)

Updated

Most Affordable Colleges in New Jersey lists 27 four-year institutions in New Jersey. Schools are ordered by their average net price for families earning under $30,000, lowest first, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page.

Princeton University ranks 1st on this list, with an average net price of $41 for families earning under $30,000. Across the 25 schools with a reported completion median, the average net price for families earning under $30,000 ranges from $41 to $39,626, with a median of $15,139.

The list includes 11 public and 16 private nonprofit schools. Princeton University reports the lowest average net price at $6,128, and its six-year completion rate of 98% is the highest on the page.

Rutgers University-New Brunswick ranks 30th on Azimuth's composite ranking among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally.

The ranked list

27 schools in list order
RankSchoolMedian earnings, 4 years after completionAverage net priceNet price, families under $30KAdmission rate
1Princeton University · Princeton, NJ$108,590$6,128$414.6%
Princeton University reports an average net price of $41 for families earning under $30,000, the lowest on this list, alongside a 98% six-year completion rate.
2Kean University · Union, NJ$59,472$12,447$7,37475.9%
Kean University admits 76% of applicants and its graduates across all fields earn a median of $59,472 four years after completing.
3The College of New Jersey · Ewing, NJ$72,068$27,646$7,90862.3%
Graduates of The College of New Jersey earn a median of $72,068 four years after completing, and the school posts an average net price of $7,908 for families earning under $30,000.
4Ramapo College of New Jersey · Mahwah, NJ$67,266$18,173$9,00870.6%
Ramapo College of New Jersey ranks 4th on this list and graduates 70% of its students within six years.
5New Jersey Institute of Technology · Newark, NJ$91,874$16,504$10,13865.1%
With an admission rate of 65%, New Jersey Institute of Technology reports median earnings of $91,874 for its graduates four years after completing.
6Fairleigh Dickinson University-Metropolitan Campus · Teaneck, NJ$68,049$15,404$10,21890.7%
Fairleigh Dickinson University-Metropolitan Campus, a private nonprofit university in Teaneck, has an average net price of $10,218 for families earning under $30,000.
7Saint Peter's University · Jersey City, NJ$64,352$12,199$10,78390.3%
Saint Peter's University graduates 58% of its students within six years and reports median earnings of $64,352 four years after completing.
8Montclair State University · Montclair, NJ$61,351$15,566$10,88087.9%
Montclair State University ranks 56th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and admits 88% of applicants.
9Georgian Court University · Lakewood, NJ$62,671$19,285$12,68378.8%
Georgian Court University posts an average net price of $12,683 for families earning under $30,000, with a six-year completion rate of 54%.
10Centenary University · Hackettstown, NJ$63,207$20,503$13,32983.1%
Graduates of Centenary University earn a median of $63,207 four years after completing, and the school admits 83% of applicants.
11New Jersey City University · Jersey City, NJ$60,965$16,053$14,00598.4%
New Jersey City University admits 98% of applicants and reports an average net price of $14,005 for families earning under $30,000.
12Stockton University · Galloway, NJ$58,872$20,670$15,13588.9%
Stockton University reports median earnings of $58,872 for its graduates four years after completing and a 69% six-year completion rate.
13Pillar College · Newark, NJ$44,376$8,470$15,139Not reported
Pillar College reports median earnings of $44,376 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $15,139 for families earning under $30,000.
14Drew University · Madison, NJ$59,259$24,280$15,22467.8%
Drew University admits 68% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 70%.
15Rowan University · Glassboro, NJ$62,686$22,408$15,30577.7%
Rowan University, a public university in Glassboro, ranks 208th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
16Rider University · Lawrenceville, NJ$63,250$24,792$15,82478.6%
Graduates of Rider University earn a median of $63,250 four years after completing, and the school's average net price for families earning under $30,000 is $15,824.
17William Paterson University of New Jersey · Wayne, NJ$59,272$18,745$16,17190.1%
William Paterson University of New Jersey has an admission rate of 90% and a six-year completion rate of 44%.
18Rutgers University-New Brunswick · New Brunswick, NJ$77,933$24,406$16,34358.2%
Rutgers University-New Brunswick reports median earnings of $77,933 for its graduates four years after completing, and its average net price for families earning under $30,000 is $16,343.
19Caldwell University · Caldwell, NJ$64,716$24,691$18,05971.3%
Caldwell University ranks 19th on this list, with an average net price of $18,059 for families earning under $30,000.
20Monmouth University · West Long Branch, NJ$68,968$30,988$18,92489.0%
Monmouth University posts a six-year completion rate of 72% and admits 89% of applicants.
21Seton Hall University · South Orange, NJ$76,919$31,446$19,62373.3%
Seton Hall University reports median earnings of $76,919 for its graduates four years after completing, and its average net price for families earning under $30,000 is $19,623.
22Saint Elizabeth University · Morristown, NJ$66,386$23,125$20,37971.0%
Saint Elizabeth University ranks 610th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and admits 71% of applicants.
23Stevens Institute of Technology · Hoboken, NJ$112,538$41,346$27,22147.6%
Stevens Institute of Technology reports median earnings of $112,538 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 87%.
24Yeshivas Be'er Yitzchok · Elizabeth, NJ$95,988$28,599$27,76486.2%
Yeshivas Be'er Yitzchok has an average net price of $27,764 for families earning under $30,000 and a six-year completion rate of 14%.
25Felician University · Lodi, NJ$78,605$40,045$39,626Not reported
Felician University reports median earnings of $78,605 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $39,626 for families earning under $30,000.
26Beth Medrash Govoha · Lakewood, NJ$53,524Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Beth Medrash Govoha ranks 26th on this list and posts median earnings of $53,524 for its graduates four years after completing.
27Thomas Edison State University · Trenton, NJ$85,816Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
A public university in Trenton, Thomas Edison State University ranks 215th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.

How this list is ordered

Schools are ordered by their average net price for families earning under $30,000, lowest first, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. Median earnings figures shown for each school reflect federally aided completers across all fields who were working and not enrolled four years after completing. The list does not adjust for who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The figures cited on this page cover the 25 schools with a reported completion median. The difference between Princeton University and Kean University is $7,333 for families earning under $30,000.