Best Business Colleges in Tennessee (2026)
Updated
This page ranks the 30 colleges in Tennessee that report earnings for their Business graduates, ordered by median earnings of Business graduates four years after completing. The University of Tennessee-Knoxville leads the list at $81,001, followed by Lipscomb University at $80,520 and Rhodes College at $77,838.
Across the 25 schools with a reported completion median, median earnings reach $62,008 and span from $81,001 to $21,052. For 3 of the 30 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one.
The list includes 10 public and 20 private nonprofit institutions. The University of Tennessee-Knoxville ranks 132nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally, the strongest showing on the page.
Austin Peay State University posts the lowest average net price at $9,735, while Rhodes College reports the highest six-year completion rate at 85%.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Median Business Earnings | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | The University of Tennessee-Knoxville · Knoxville, TN | $81,001 | $18,976 | $10,029 | 41.6% |
| The University of Tennessee-Knoxville reports $81,001 in median earnings of Business graduates four years after completing and ranks 132nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business Administration, Management and Operations (470 graduates), Marketing (240 graduates), Finance and Financial Management Services (198 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods ($92,042), Accounting and Related Services ($89,445), Finance and Financial Management Services ($83,793) | |||||
| 2 | Lipscomb University · Nashville, TN | $80,520 | $24,739 | $20,048 | 67.7% |
| A private nonprofit university in Nashville, Lipscomb University posts a six-year completion rate of 72% alongside median earnings of $80,520 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business Administration, Management and Operations (79 graduates), Marketing (41 graduates), Accounting and Related Services (25 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Business Administration, Management and Operations ($80,751) | |||||
| 3 | Rhodes College · Memphis, TN | $77,838 | $28,585 | $15,770 | 50.4% |
| Rhodes College admits 50% of applicants and carries an average net price of $28,585. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business Administration, Management and Operations (71 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Business Administration, Management and Operations ($77,838) | |||||
| 4 | Belmont University · Nashville, TN | $74,047 | $33,147 | $22,950 | 95.3% |
| Belmont University ranks 4th on this list and shows an average net price of $22,950 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Entrepreneurial and Small Business Operations (29 graduates), Business/Commerce, General (28 graduates), Business Administration, Management and Operations (23 graduates) | |||||
| 5 | Middle Tennessee State University · Murfreesboro, TN | $67,568 | $13,359 | $9,289 | 69.1% |
| Middle Tennessee State University has a six-year completion rate of 54% and an average net price of $13,359. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business Administration, Management and Operations (218 graduates), Finance and Financial Management Services (94 graduates), Marketing (84 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Construction Management ($98,967), Management Information Systems and Services ($75,044), Accounting and Related Services ($73,702) | |||||
| 6 | The University of Tennessee-Chattanooga · Chattanooga, TN | $66,554 | $14,265 | $9,876 | 81.1% |
| The University of Tennessee-Chattanooga reports $66,554 in median earnings of Business graduates four years after completing and admits 81% of applicants. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business Administration, Management and Operations (186 graduates), Marketing (90 graduates), Finance and Financial Management Services (66 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Business Administration, Management and Operations ($66,554) | |||||
| 7 | University of Memphis · Memphis, TN | $66,550 | $12,397 | $10,607 | 72.0% |
| With an average net price of $12,397, University of Memphis reports median earnings of $66,550 for its Business graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business Administration, Management and Operations (138 graduates), Finance and Financial Management Services (102 graduates), Marketing (92 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Management Information Systems and Services ($73,323), Accounting and Related Services ($71,038), Marketing ($67,468) | |||||
| 8 | Lee University · Cleveland, TN | $65,663 | $18,878 | $12,834 | 70.5% |
| Lee University posts a six-year completion rate of 63% and an average net price of $12,834 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business Administration, Management and Operations (53 graduates), Accounting and Related Services (25 graduates), Marketing (20 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Accounting and Related Services ($79,208), Business Administration, Management and Operations ($59,274) | |||||
| 9 | Carson-Newman University · Jefferson City, TN | $64,529 | $20,251 | $16,672 | 90.5% |
| Carson-Newman University admits 90% of applicants and reports $64,529 in median earnings of Business graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business Administration, Management and Operations (52 graduates), Accounting and Related Services (13 graduates), Finance and Financial Management Services (6 graduates) | |||||
| 10 | Bryan College-Dayton · Dayton, TN | $64,283 | $20,614 | $19,500 | Not reported |
| Bryan College-Dayton shows a six-year completion rate of 50% alongside median earnings of $64,283 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business Administration, Management and Operations (73 graduates) | |||||
| 11 | Tennessee Technological University · Cookeville, TN | $63,808 | $14,246 | $9,815 | 76.1% |
| Tennessee Technological University reports $63,808 in median earnings of Business graduates four years after completing and carries an average net price of $14,246. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business Administration, Management and Operations (121 graduates), Accounting and Related Services (58 graduates), Marketing (55 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Accounting and Related Services ($67,411), Finance and Financial Management Services ($66,535), Marketing ($64,892) | |||||
| 12 | Maryville College · Maryville, TN | $63,053 | $19,360 | $15,094 | 60.9% |
| Maryville College admits 61% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 50%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business Administration, Management and Operations (23 graduates), Accounting and Related Services (12 graduates), Marketing (6 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Business Administration, Management and Operations ($63,053) | |||||
| 13 | Tennessee Wesleyan University · Athens, TN | $62,725 | $14,836 | $11,609 | 68.9% |
| Tennessee Wesleyan University reports $62,725 in median earnings of Business graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $11,609 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business Administration, Management and Operations (56 graduates), Accounting and Related Services (13 graduates), Marketing (12 graduates) | |||||
| 14 | Trevecca Nazarene University · Nashville, TN | $62,197 | $16,813 | $14,532 | 69.4% |
| A private nonprofit university in Nashville, Trevecca Nazarene University admits 69% of applicants and graduates 53% within six years. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business Administration, Management and Operations (101 graduates), Accounting and Related Services (7 graduates), Entrepreneurial and Small Business Operations (7 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Business Administration, Management and Operations ($62,197) | |||||
| 15 | Union University · Jackson, TN | $62,008 | $27,171 | $25,839 | 60.4% |
| Union University ranks 15th on this list with $62,008 in median earnings of Business graduates four years after completing and a six-year completion rate of 66%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business Administration, Management and Operations (59 graduates), Marketing (15 graduates), Accounting and Related Services (11 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Business Administration, Management and Operations ($63,234) | |||||
| 16 | Tusculum University · Greeneville, TN | $60,973 | $21,131 | $20,766 | 72.2% |
| With an admission rate of 72%, Tusculum University posts a six-year graduation rate of 25% and an average net price of $21,131. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business Administration, Management and Operations (90 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Business Administration, Management and Operations ($60,973) | |||||
| 17 | Bethel University · Mckenzie, TN | $60,102 | $12,595 | $11,871 | 60.2% |
| Bethel University reports $60,102 in median earnings of Business graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $11,871 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business Administration, Management and Operations (176 graduates), Accounting and Related Services (7 graduates), Management Information Systems and Services (6 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Business Administration, Management and Operations ($60,102) | |||||
| 18 | The University of Tennessee Southern · Pulaski, TN | $59,648 | $12,798 | $9,335 | 86.7% |
| A public institution in Pulaski, The University of Tennessee Southern ranks 18th on this page and shows an average net price of $9,335 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business Administration, Management and Operations (42 graduates) | |||||
| 19 | Milligan University · Milligan, TN | $59,605 | $21,365 | $15,118 | 72.3% |
| Milligan University reports $59,605 in median earnings of Business graduates four years after completing and ranks 1308th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business Administration, Management and Operations (24 graduates), Accounting and Related Services (6 graduates) | |||||
| 20 | Cumberland University · Lebanon, TN | $59,152 | $18,759 | $17,882 | 67.3% |
| Cumberland University admits 67% of applicants, graduates 46% within six years, and reports $59,152 in median earnings of Business graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business Administration, Management and Operations (47 graduates), Marketing (13 graduates), Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods (11 graduates) | |||||
| 21 | Austin Peay State University · Clarksville, TN | $57,884 | $9,735 | $7,588 | 96.4% |
| Austin Peay State University carries the lowest average net price on the page at $9,735 alongside $57,884 in median earnings of Business graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business Administration, Management and Operations (88 graduates), Accounting and Related Services (53 graduates), Marketing (40 graduates) | |||||
| 22 | King University · Bristol, TN | $57,349 | $22,347 | $22,696 | 99.7% |
| King University admits 100% of applicants and shows a six-year completion rate of 48% with an average net price of $22,696 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business Administration, Management and Operations (76 graduates), Business/Commerce, General (23 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Business Administration, Management and Operations ($59,591) | |||||
| 23 | East Tennessee State University · Johnson City, TN | $57,150 | $15,983 | $12,433 | 86.2% |
| East Tennessee State University reports $57,150 in median earnings of Business graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $12,433 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business Administration, Management and Operations (134 graduates), Marketing (72 graduates), Finance and Financial Management Services (59 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Marketing ($58,583), Finance and Financial Management Services ($58,232), Accounting and Related Services ($57,642) | |||||
| 24 | The University of Tennessee-Martin · Martin, TN | $56,462 | $10,701 | $7,151 | 88.2% |
| A public university in Martin, The University of Tennessee-Martin admits 88% of applicants and graduates 53% within six years. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business Administration, Management and Operations (58 graduates), Accounting and Related Services (44 graduates), Finance and Financial Management Services (38 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Finance and Financial Management Services ($64,840), Accounting and Related Services ($59,150), Business Administration, Management and Operations ($54,552) | |||||
| 25 | Tennessee State University · Nashville, TN | $56,347 | $15,796 | $15,005 | 70.1% |
| Tennessee State University, a public university in Nashville, reports a six-year completion rate of 34% and an average net price of $15,796. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business Administration, Management and Operations (94 graduates), Accounting and Related Services (14 graduates), Business/Managerial Economics (10 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Accounting and Related Services ($69,414), Business Administration, Management and Operations ($57,083) | |||||
| 26 | Christian Brothers University · Memphis, TN | $55,943 | $9,854 | $9,466 | 86.7% |
| Christian Brothers University reports median earnings of $55,943 for its Business graduates four years after completing, and its average net price is $9,854. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business Administration, Management and Operations (49 graduates), Business/Commerce, General (23 graduates), Accounting and Related Services (15 graduates) | |||||
| 27 | Southern Adventist University · Collegedale, TN | $48,307 | $24,345 | $19,123 | 65.5% |
| With an admission rate of 66%, Southern Adventist University posts median earnings of $48,307 for Business graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business Administration, Management and Operations (32 graduates), Accounting and Related Services (7 graduates), Finance and Financial Management Services (6 graduates) | |||||
| 28 | Freed-Hardeman University · Henderson, TN | $39,465 | $21,574 | $20,988 | 59.7% |
| Freed-Hardeman University graduates 71% of its students within six years, and its Business graduates report median earnings of $39,465 two years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business Administration, Management and Operations (13 graduates), Accounting and Related Services (12 graduates), Finance and Financial Management Services (12 graduates) | |||||
| 29 | Lane College · Jackson, TN | $23,340 | $10,904 | $10,904 | Not reported |
| Lane College reports an average net price of $10,904 for families earning under $30,000, and its Business graduates earn a median of $23,340 two years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business Administration, Management and Operations (20 graduates) | |||||
| 30 | Johnson University · Knoxville, TN | $21,052 | $22,063 | $17,246 | 65.1% |
| Johnson University ranks 1423rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally, and its Business graduates earn a median of $21,052 two years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Business Administration, Management and Operations (23 graduates) | |||||
How this list is ordered
Schools are ordered by the median earnings of their Business graduates four years after completing, or two years for programs that report only a two-year figure, highest first. The figure captures federally aided completers who were working and not enrolled after completing. For 3 of the 30 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one. The metric does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The figures cited on this page cover the 25 schools with a reported completion median. The gap between The University of Tennessee-Knoxville and Lipscomb University is $481, while the spread from the top of the list to the bottom reaches $59,949.
Related rankings
- Best Colleges in Tennessee
- Best Business Colleges in Florida by Earnings
- Best Business Colleges in Massachusetts
- Best Business Colleges in Indiana
- Best Business Colleges in Illinois
- Accounting Colleges in Tennessee for Social Mobility