College research / Rankings

Best Colleges in Maryland (2026)

Updated

Best Colleges in Maryland lists 25 four-year institutions in Maryland. Schools are ordered by Azimuth's overall score for Maryland, highest first.

The score combines four pillars, weighted 30% return, 30% mobility, 20% access and 20% affordability, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. Johns Hopkins University ranks 1st on this list, with median earnings of $117,419 for its graduates four years after completing. The list includes 11 public and 14 private nonprofit schools.

44% of the schools are public. Johns Hopkins University ranks 70th on Azimuth's composite ranking among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally.

Coppin State University posts the lowest average net price on the page, at $9,977.

The ranked list

25 schools in list order
RankSchoolMedian earnings, 4 years after completionAverage net priceNet price, families under $30KAdmission rate
1Johns Hopkins University · Baltimore, MD$117,419$18,809$4286.4%
Johns Hopkins University ranks 1st on this list and posts a six-year completion rate of 94%.
2University of Maryland-College Park · College Park, MD$84,365$15,678$2,96244.8%
Graduates of University of Maryland-College Park earn a median of $84,365 four years after completing, and the university admits 45% of applicants.
3Towson University · Towson, MD$65,610$17,413$6,96282.0%
Towson University reports an average net price of $17,413 and a median of $65,610 for its graduates four years after completing.
4Morgan State University · Baltimore, MD$62,308$14,985$9,58582.2%
Morgan State University ranks 4th on this page and carries an average net price of $9,585 for families earning under $30,000.
5University of Maryland-Baltimore County · Baltimore, MD$74,396$16,467$5,08772.4%
University of Maryland-Baltimore County graduates earn a median of $74,396 four years after completing, and the institution admits 72% of applicants.
6Capitol Technology University · Laurel, MD$104,028$22,102$19,68274.4%
Capitol Technology University reports median earnings of $104,028 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 43%.
7Bowie State University · Bowie, MD$65,066$19,298$17,07172.4%
Bowie State University ranks 7th on this list and shows an average net price of $19,298.
8Coppin State University · Baltimore, MD$63,359$9,977$7,71445.8%
Coppin State University admits 46% of applicants and reports median earnings of $63,359 for its graduates four years after completing.
9Ner Israel Rabbinical College · Pikesville, MD$67,359$13,572Not reported65.7%
Ner Israel Rabbinical College ranks 9th on this page, with a six-year completion rate of 24%.
10Notre Dame of Maryland University · Baltimore, MD$75,732$19,169$11,84382.2%
Notre Dame of Maryland University reports an average net price of $11,843 for families earning under $30,000 and a median of $75,732 for its graduates four years after completing.
11Salisbury University · Salisbury, MD$61,985$17,743$6,74387.5%
Salisbury University admits 87% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 68%.
12University of Maryland Eastern Shore · Princess Anne, MD$55,733$13,338$9,91496.4%
University of Maryland Eastern Shore ranks 12th on this list and reports median earnings of $55,733 for its graduates four years after completing.
13Loyola University Maryland · Baltimore, MD$81,772$30,574$20,54975.5%
Loyola University Maryland reports median earnings of $81,772 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $30,574.
14Frostburg State University · Frostburg, MD$58,511$16,715$12,12989.2%
Frostburg State University admits 89% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 50%.
15Hood College · Frederick, MD$70,173$20,873$12,42477.8%
Hood College, a private nonprofit university in Frederick, has an average net price of $20,873 and graduates 57% of its students within six years.
16Washington Adventist University · Takoma Park, MD$74,717$18,526$17,53446.2%
Washington Adventist University ranks 659th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $74,717 for its graduates four years after completing.
17St. Mary's College of Maryland · St. Mary's City, MD$60,029$18,441$2,88968.6%
St. Mary's College of Maryland carries an average net price of $2,889 for families earning under $30,000 and graduates 70% of its students within six years.
18McDaniel College · Westminster, MD$65,855$21,916$12,21077.9%
McDaniel College reports median earnings of $65,855 for its graduates four years after completing and admits 78% of applicants.
19University of Maryland Baltimore · Baltimore, MD$95,457Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
University of Maryland Baltimore, a public university, reports median earnings of $95,457 for its graduates four years after completing.
20Stevenson University · Owings Mills, MD$66,853$26,505$15,89478.9%
Stevenson University ranks 20th on this list, with a six-year completion rate of 68% and an average net price of $26,505.
21Mount St. Mary's University · Emmitsburg, MD$64,424$22,655$11,60373.8%
Mount St. Mary's University admits 74% of applicants and reports an average net price of $11,603 for families earning under $30,000.
22Washington College · Chestertown, MD$58,768$27,898$17,80456.9%
Washington College ranks 1242nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and graduates 65% of its students within six years.
23Goucher College · Baltimore, MD$57,036$22,470$13,47177.7%
Goucher College reports median earnings of $57,036 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $22,470.
24St. John's College · Annapolis, MD$45,787$45,597$42,52855.2%
St. John's College admits 55% of applicants and carries an average net price of $42,528 for families earning under $30,000.
25Maryland Institute College of Art · Baltimore, MD$42,353$42,729$32,38976.8%
Maryland Institute College of Art, a private nonprofit institution in Baltimore, reports a six-year completion rate of 72% and median earnings of $42,353 for its graduates four years after completing.

How this list is ordered

Schools are ordered by Azimuth's overall score for Maryland, highest first. The score combines four pillars, weighted 30% return, 30% mobility, 20% access and 20% affordability, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. The underlying earnings figures are the median earnings of federally aided completers at each institution, across all fields, who were working and not enrolled four years after completing. The list does not measure fit or teaching quality. Johns Hopkins University ranks 70th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and University of Maryland-College Park follows at 71st. The list includes 11 public and 14 private nonprofit schools.