College research / Rankings

Best Communication Colleges in Kentucky (2026)

Updated

This page ranks the 16 Communication programs in Kentucky by median earnings of Communication graduates four years after completing. Thomas More University ranks 1st on this list, reporting median earnings of $58,479 for its graduates four years after completing.

Across the 13 schools with a published figure, median earnings range from $58,479 to $39,686, with a median of $49,941.

The list is evenly split between 8 public and 8 private nonprofit institutions. Berea College posts the lowest average net price at $6,106, and Berea College ranks 166th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.

The ranked list

16 schools in list order
RankSchoolMedian Communication EarningsAverage net priceNet price, families under $30KAdmission rate
1Thomas More University · Crestview Hills, KY$58,479$21,835$15,84190.4%
Thomas More University reports $58,479 in median earnings of Communication graduates four years after completing, the highest figure on this list.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Communication and Media Studies (7 graduates)

2University of Kentucky · Lexington, KY$57,108$18,851$12,18292.9%
University of Kentucky posts a six-year completion rate of 71% and an admission rate of 93%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Communication and Media Studies (199 graduates), Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication (162 graduates), Journalism (50 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication ($62,754), Communication and Media Studies ($55,653), Journalism ($52,785)

3University of Louisville · Louisville, KY$55,636$17,988$15,13879.4%
An average net price of $17,988 coincides with an Azimuth composite rank of 207th among nonprofit four-year institutions at University of Louisville.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Communication and Media Studies (177 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Communication and Media Studies ($55,636)

4Murray State University · Murray, KYNo published median$9,096$6,24285.7%
Murray State University ranks 4th on this list and carries an average net price of $6,242 for families earning under $30,000.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication (55 graduates), Radio, Television, and Digital Communication (11 graduates), Journalism (9 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication ($58,265), Radio, Television, and Digital Communication ($45,127)

5Georgetown College · Georgetown, KY$51,395$14,095$9,77791.1%
Georgetown College shows median earnings of $51,395 for its Communication graduates four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 49%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Communication and Media Studies (18 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Communication and Media Studies ($51,395)

6Western Kentucky University · Bowling Green, KY$50,707$10,990$7,08793.9%
A public university in Bowling Green, Western Kentucky University admits 94% of applicants and reports median earnings of $50,707 four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication (87 graduates), Journalism (59 graduates), Communication and Media Studies (40 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication ($53,839), Communication and Media Studies ($50,392), Journalism ($47,661)

7Bellarmine University · Louisville, KY$50,665$21,499$18,43086.1%
Bellarmine University has an average net price of $21,499 and ranks 783rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Communication and Media Studies (42 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Communication and Media Studies ($50,665)

8Northern Kentucky University · Highland Heights, KY$49,941$8,191$2,60367.7%
Northern Kentucky University reports median earnings of $49,941 for its Communication graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $8,191.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Communication and Media Studies (63 graduates), Journalism (39 graduates), Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication (26 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Communication and Media Studies ($53,082), Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication ($49,989), Journalism ($44,834)

9Morehead State University · Morehead, KY$45,435$9,793$7,15077.2%
Morehead State University has a six-year completion rate of 52% and reports an average net price of $9,793.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication (24 graduates), Communication and Media Studies (23 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication ($46,667), Communication and Media Studies ($44,149)

10Asbury University · Wilmore, KYNo published median$21,401$18,45563.4%
Asbury University ranks 1376th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and admits 63% of applicants.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Radio, Television, and Digital Communication (40 graduates), Communication and Media Studies (9 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Radio, Television, and Digital Communication ($46,016)

11Kentucky State University · Frankfort, KY$42,363$8,040$10,22596.1%
Kentucky State University posts an admission rate of 96% and median earnings of $42,363 for its Communication graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Journalism (12 graduates)

12Berea College · Berea, KY$41,723$6,106$5,42819.3%
Berea College is the most selective school on the list, admitting 19% of applicants, and carries an average net price of $6,106.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Communication and Media Studies (15 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Communication and Media Studies ($41,723)

13University of the Cumberlands · Williamsburg, KY$40,699$14,107$10,73698.8%
University of the Cumberlands admits 99% of applicants and reports a six-year completion rate of 50%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Communication and Media Studies (19 graduates)

14University of Pikeville · Pikeville, KY$39,943$20,311$13,115Not reported
With an average net price of $13,115 for families earning under $30,000, University of Pikeville ranks 14th on this list.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Communication and Media Studies (13 graduates)

15Lindsey Wilson University · Columbia, KY$39,686$15,070$14,745Not reported
Lindsey Wilson University reports median earnings of $39,686 for its Communication graduates four years after completing, and a six-year completion rate of 44%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Communication and Media Studies (27 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Communication and Media Studies ($39,686)

16Eastern Kentucky University · Richmond, KYNo published median$11,040$8,59177.6%
Eastern Kentucky University, a public university in Richmond, ranks 382nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Communication and Media Studies (41 graduates), Radio, Television, and Digital Communication (22 graduates), Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication (9 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication ($49,272), Radio, Television, and Digital Communication ($41,368)

How this list is ordered

Schools are ordered by the median earnings of their Communication graduates four years after completing, highest first. Only schools with a reported Communication earnings cohort in Kentucky appear. The figure captures federally aided completers who were working and not enrolled four years after completing the program. It does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The range and median below cover the 13 schools with a published figure. Thomas More University leads the list at $58,479, and the gap to second-ranked University of Kentucky is $1,371.