Best Communication Colleges in Georgia (2026)
Updated
This page ranks the 23 colleges in Georgia that report a Communication earnings cohort, ordered by the median earnings of Communication graduates four years after completing, highest first. Georgia Institute of Technology-Main Campus leads the list with median earnings of $99,915 for its Communication graduates four years after completing.
Across the 22 schools with a published figure, earnings range from $99,915 to $24,035, with a median of $47,886. For 2 of the 23 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one.
Public institutions make up 74% of the list, with 17 public and 6 private nonprofit schools. Dalton State College reports the lowest average net price at $5,012.
Kennesaw State University ranks 24th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Median Communication Earnings | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Georgia Institute of Technology-Main Campus · Atlanta, GA | $99,915 | $12,116 | $7,666 | 14.1% |
| Georgia Institute of Technology-Main Campus reports median earnings of $99,915 for its Communication graduates four years after completing, and its six-year completion rate of 94% is the highest on this list. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Radio, Television, and Digital Communication (30 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Radio, Television, and Digital Communication ($99,915) | |||||
| 2 | University of Georgia · Athens, GA | $66,260 | $13,936 | $8,085 | 37.7% |
| University of Georgia ranks 2nd on this page, with a 38% admission rate and median earnings of $66,260 for its Communication graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication (310 graduates), Journalism (153 graduates), Communication and Media Studies (121 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication ($74,531), Communication and Media Studies ($68,319), Journalism ($60,729) | |||||
| 3 | Savannah College of Art and Design · Savannah, GA | $64,076 | $49,430 | $44,858 | 83.0% |
| A private nonprofit institution in Savannah, Savannah College of Art and Design posts an average net price of $49,430 alongside median earnings of $64,076 for its Communication graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Radio, Television, and Digital Communication (322 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Radio, Television, and Digital Communication ($64,076) | |||||
| 4 | Georgia College & State University · Milledgeville, GA | $57,843 | $20,686 | $15,396 | 78.2% |
| Georgia College & State University graduates 64% of its students within six years and reports median earnings of $57,843 for its Communication graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Journalism (83 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Journalism ($57,843) | |||||
| 5 | Georgia Southern University · Statesboro, GA | $57,319 | $15,267 | $12,162 | 87.9% |
| With an average net price of $15,267, Georgia Southern University shows median earnings of $57,319 for its Communication graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Radio, Television, and Digital Communication (43 graduates), Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication (42 graduates), Journalism (25 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication ($64,934), Journalism ($54,396), Radio, Television, and Digital Communication ($51,581) | |||||
| 6 | Kennesaw State University · Kennesaw, GA | $57,197 | $15,048 | $12,235 | 69.2% |
| Kennesaw State University holds the strongest Azimuth composite rank on this list, 24th among nonprofit four-year institutions, and reports median earnings of $57,197 for its Communication graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication (187 graduates), Radio, Television, and Digital Communication (128 graduates), Journalism (54 graduates) | |||||
| 7 | Mercer University · Macon, GA | $52,658 | $23,847 | $19,817 | 68.9% |
| Mercer University admits 69% of applicants and reports median earnings of $52,658 for its Communication graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Communication and Media Studies (37 graduates), Journalism (9 graduates), Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication (5 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Communication and Media Studies ($52,530) | |||||
| 8 | Georgia State University · Atlanta, GA | $52,528 | $15,931 | $13,787 | 55.4% |
| Georgia State University ranks 44th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and posts median earnings of $52,528 for its Communication graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Journalism (164 graduates), Communication and Media Studies (67 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Journalism ($54,732), Communication and Media Studies ($47,132) | |||||
| 9 | Berry College · Mount Berry, GA | $50,593 | $22,320 | $18,189 | 64.0% |
| Berry College reports a six-year completion rate of 69% and median earnings of $50,593 for its Communication graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs, Other (33 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs, Other ($50,593) | |||||
| 10 | Columbus State University · Columbus, GA | $48,499 | $13,115 | $11,271 | 99.1% |
| With an admission rate of 99%, Columbus State University reports median earnings of $48,499 for its Communication graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Communication and Media Studies (68 graduates) | |||||
| 11 | University of West Georgia · Carrollton, GA | $47,891 | $12,786 | $10,339 | 51.6% |
| University of West Georgia shows an average net price of $12,786 and median earnings of $47,891 for its Communication graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Journalism (111 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Journalism ($47,891) | |||||
| 12 | Valdosta State University · Valdosta, GA | $47,880 | $10,945 | $9,378 | 72.3% |
| Valdosta State University reports a six-year completion rate of 42% and median earnings of $47,880 for its Communication graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Communication and Media Studies (90 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Communication and Media Studies ($47,880) | |||||
| 13 | University of North Georgia · Dahlonega, GA | $47,167 | $9,823 | $6,981 | 67.9% |
| University of North Georgia reports median earnings of $47,167 for its Communication graduates four years after completing, and its average net price is $9,823. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Communication and Media Studies (82 graduates), Radio, Television, and Digital Communication (34 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Communication and Media Studies ($51,131) | |||||
| 14 | Augusta University · Augusta, GA | $42,568 | $13,787 | $11,064 | 86.4% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 49%, Augusta University ranks 14th on this list and posts an admission rate of 86%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Communication and Media Studies (33 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Communication and Media Studies ($42,568) | |||||
| 15 | Clayton State University · Morrow, GA | $40,300 | $8,365 | $7,405 | 68.5% |
| Clayton State University admits 68% of applicants and shows a six-year completion rate of 40%, alongside median earnings of $40,300 for its Communication graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Communication and Media Studies (21 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Communication and Media Studies ($40,300) | |||||
| 16 | Morehouse College · Atlanta, GA | $40,273 | $39,013 | $36,359 | 44.0% |
| A private nonprofit institution in Atlanta, Morehouse College ranks 16th on this list and carries an average net price of $39,013. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Communication and Media Studies (19 graduates) | |||||
| 17 | Savannah State University · Savannah, GA | $39,677 | $8,172 | $6,739 | Not reported |
| Savannah State University reports median earnings of $39,677 for its Communication graduates four years after completing, and its six-year completion rate stands at 28%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Journalism (33 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Journalism ($39,677) | |||||
| 18 | Albany State University · Albany, GA | $39,265 | $11,898 | $10,693 | Not reported |
| Ranking 152nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, Albany State University reports median earnings of $39,265 for its Communication graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Communication and Media Studies (22 graduates) | |||||
| 19 | Clark Atlanta University · Atlanta, GA | $34,335 | $37,702 | $37,356 | 64.2% |
| Clark Atlanta University admits 64% of applicants and has a six-year completion rate of 49%, while its Communication graduates earn a median of $34,335 four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Radio, Television, and Digital Communication (116 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Radio, Television, and Digital Communication ($34,335) | |||||
| 20 | Dalton State College · Dalton, GA | No published median | $5,012 | $3,962 | Not reported |
| Dalton State College holds the lowest average net price on the page at $5,012 and ranks 188th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication (8 graduates) | |||||
| 21 | Middle Georgia State University · Macon, GA | $26,353 | $12,361 | $10,668 | 99.7% |
| Middle Georgia State University admits 100% of applicants and reports median earnings of $26,353 for its Communication graduates two years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs, Other (33 graduates) | |||||
| 22 | Fort Valley State University · Fort Valley, GA | $26,285 | $10,338 | $9,017 | 65.9% |
| With a six-year completion rate of 41%, Fort Valley State University reports median earnings of $26,285 for its Communication graduates four years after completing. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Communication and Media Studies (26 graduates) | |||||
| 23 | Shorter University · Rome, GA | $24,035 | $16,646 | $15,929 | 96.5% |
| Shorter University ranks 23rd on this list, with median earnings of $24,035 for its Communication graduates two years after completing and an admission rate of 96%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Communication and Media Studies (10 graduates) | |||||
How this list is ordered
Schools are ordered by the median earnings of their Communication graduates four years after completing, highest first. Only schools with a reported Communication earnings cohort in Georgia appear. The figure reflects federally aided Communication graduates who were working and not enrolled, measured four years after completing. For 2 of the 23 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one. The metric does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The range and median below cover the 22 schools with a published figure. Georgia Institute of Technology-Main Campus reports $99,915, which is $33,655 above the $66,260 posted by University of Georgia.