College research / Rankings

Best Colleges in Georgia (2026)

Updated

Best Colleges in Georgia lists 42 four-year institutions in Georgia. Schools are ordered by Azimuth's overall score for Georgia, highest first.

The score combines four pillars, weighted 30% return, 30% mobility, 20% access and 20% affordability, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. Kennesaw State University ranks 1st on this list and reports $68,306 in median earnings for its graduates four years after completing. The list includes 20 public and 22 private nonprofit schools.

Dalton State College posts the lowest average net price at $5,012. Kennesaw State University ranks 24th on Azimuth's composite ranking among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally.

The ranked list

42 schools in list order
RankSchoolMedian earnings, 4 years after completionAverage net priceNet price, families under $30KAdmission rate
1Kennesaw State University · Kennesaw, GA$68,306$15,048$12,23569.2%
Kennesaw State University reports median earnings of $68,306 for its graduates four years after completing and ranks 24th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
2Georgia State University · Atlanta, GA$58,898$15,931$13,78755.4%
Georgia State University admits 55% of applicants and carries an average net price of $15,931.
3Georgia Institute of Technology-Main Campus · Atlanta, GA$119,180$12,116$7,66614.1%
A public university in Atlanta, Georgia Institute of Technology-Main Campus reports a six-year completion rate of 94% and median earnings of $119,180 for its graduates four years after completing.
4University of Georgia · Athens, GA$74,144$13,936$8,08537.7%
University of Georgia posts median earnings of $74,144 for its graduates four years after completing and has an admission rate of 38%.
5Emory University · Atlanta, GA$90,139$22,585$7,36310.7%
Emory University, a private nonprofit university in Atlanta, reports an average net price of $7,363 for families earning under $30,000 and an admission rate of 11%.
6Georgia Southern University · Statesboro, GA$62,342$15,267$12,16287.9%
Georgia Southern University reports median earnings of $62,342 for its graduates four years after completing and a six-year completion rate of 55%.
7Albany State University · Albany, GA$54,096$11,898$10,693Not reported
Albany State University carries an average net price of $11,898 and graduates 31% within six years.
8Dalton State College · Dalton, GA$52,160$5,012$3,962Not reported
At $5,012, Dalton State College posts the lowest average net price on the page, and its graduates earn a median of $52,160 four years after completing.
9University of North Georgia · Dahlonega, GA$55,974$9,823$6,98167.9%
University of North Georgia admits 68% of applicants and reports an average net price of $6,981 for families earning under $30,000.
10University of West Georgia · Carrollton, GA$58,022$12,786$10,33951.6%
Graduates of University of West Georgia earn a median of $58,022 four years after completing, and the university reports a six-year completion rate of 43%.
11Augusta University · Augusta, GA$62,546$13,787$11,06486.4%
Augusta University reports an average net price of $13,787 and admits 86% of applicants.
12Valdosta State University · Valdosta, GA$56,067$10,945$9,37872.3%
Valdosta State University carries an average net price of $9,378 for families earning under $30,000 and posts median earnings of $56,067 for its graduates four years after completing.
13Middle Georgia State University · Macon, GA$62,068$12,361$10,66899.7%
Middle Georgia State University admits 100% of applicants and reports median earnings of $62,068 for its graduates four years after completing.
14Clayton State University · Morrow, GA$54,430$8,365$7,40568.5%
With an average net price of $8,365, Clayton State University ranks 14th on this list and posts a six-year completion rate of 40%.
15Savannah State University · Savannah, GA$46,912$8,172$6,739Not reported
Savannah State University graduates 28% of its students within six years and carries an average net price of $6,739 for families earning under $30,000.
16Georgia Southwestern State University · Americus, GA$62,132$12,019$10,47775.2%
Georgia Southwestern State University reports median earnings of $62,132 for its graduates four years after completing and ranks 398th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
17Columbus State University · Columbus, GA$60,912$13,115$11,27199.1%
A public university in Columbus, Columbus State University admits 99% of applicants and shows a six-year completion rate of 42%.
18Georgia Gwinnett College · Lawrenceville, GA$56,872$15,844$14,35695.5%
Georgia Gwinnett College ranks 18th on this list, with an average net price of $14,356 for families earning under $30,000.
19Mercer University · Macon, GA$71,870$23,847$19,81768.9%
Mercer University posts median earnings of $71,870 for its graduates four years after completing and graduates 70% of its students within six years.
20Fort Valley State University · Fort Valley, GA$44,844$10,338$9,01765.9%
With an admission rate of 66%, Fort Valley State University reports median earnings of $44,844 for its graduates four years after completing.
21Thomas University · Thomasville, GA$63,556$18,499$15,64038.3%
Thomas University ranks 588th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and carries an average net price of $18,499.
22Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College · Tifton, GA$53,386$6,842$4,32375.7%
Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College reports an average net price of $4,323 for families earning under $30,000 and a six-year completion rate of 36%.
23Georgia College & State University · Milledgeville, GA$62,852$20,686$15,39678.2%
Georgia College & State University admits 78% of applicants and reports median earnings of $62,852 for its graduates four years after completing.
24Paine College · Augusta, GA$41,449$16,670$15,32295.4%
Paine College ranks 24th on this list, with a six-year completion rate of 14% and an average net price of $15,322 for families earning under $30,000.
25Piedmont University · Demorest, GA$65,743$20,599$15,41693.3%
Piedmont University reports median earnings of $65,743 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $20,599.
26Brenau University · Gainesville, GA$61,654$18,924$19,48187.8%
Brenau University admits 88% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 33%.
27Wesleyan College · Macon, GA$52,803$12,724$11,04559.1%
With an average net price of $12,724, Wesleyan College ranks 898th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
28Agnes Scott College · Decatur, GA$52,746$24,754$21,46762.2%
Agnes Scott College graduates 71% of its students within six years and reports median earnings of $52,746 four years after completing.
29Shorter University · Rome, GA$54,008$16,646$15,92996.5%
Shorter University has an admission rate of 96% and an average net price of $15,929 for families earning under $30,000.
30Berry College · Mount Berry, GA$58,750$22,320$18,18964.0%
Berry College ranks 30th on this list, with median earnings of $58,750 for its graduates four years after completing.
31LaGrange College · Lagrange, GA$62,232$20,875$20,76462.1%
LaGrange College posts a six-year completion rate of 47% and an average net price of $20,875.
32Morehouse College · Atlanta, GA$61,320$39,013$36,35944.0%
Morehouse College admits 44% of applicants and reports median earnings of $61,320 for its graduates four years after completing.
33Clark Atlanta University · Atlanta, GA$47,337$37,702$37,35664.2%
Clark Atlanta University ranks 1145th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with an average net price of $37,702.
34Life University · Marietta, GA$51,860$29,791$28,15193.0%
Life University graduates 38% of its students within six years and admits 93% of applicants.
35Reinhardt University · Waleska, GA$53,795$24,425$21,87761.5%
Reinhardt University reports median earnings of $53,795 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $21,877 for families earning under $30,000.
36Oglethorpe University · Atlanta, GA$52,138$19,509$16,20788.5%
Oglethorpe University ranks 36th on this list, with a six-year completion rate of 54%.
37Covenant College · Lookout Mountain, GA$48,802$26,265$18,31086.5%
Covenant College reports median earnings of $48,802 for its graduates four years after completing, and an average net price of $26,265.
38Savannah College of Art and Design · Savannah, GA$47,980$49,430$44,85883.0%
Savannah College of Art and Design admits 83% of applicants and shows a six-year completion rate of 69%.
39Emmanuel University · Franklin Springs, GA$42,976$20,925$17,73574.0%
Emmanuel University ranks 39th on this list, with an average net price of $17,735 for families earning under $30,000.
40Truett McConnell University · Cleveland, GA$47,336$22,227$21,27478.3%
Truett McConnell University posts a six-year completion rate of 38% and median earnings of $47,336 for its graduates four years after completing.
41Toccoa Falls College · Toccoa Falls, GA$39,953$21,642$20,82566.0%
Toccoa Falls College has an admission rate of 66% and an average net price of $21,642.
42Young Harris College · Young Harris, GA$43,173$22,034$19,72162.6%
Young Harris College reports median earnings of $43,173 for its graduates four years after completing, and ranks 1456th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.

How this list is ordered

Schools are ordered by Azimuth's overall score for Georgia, highest first. The score combines four pillars, weighted 30% return, 30% mobility, 20% access and 20% affordability, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. The score draws on institution-level earnings for federally aided completers who were working and not enrolled four years after completing, across all fields. It does not measure fit or teaching quality. The list includes 20 public and 22 private nonprofit institutions.