College research / Rankings

Best English Colleges in Alabama (2026)

Updated

This page ranks the 9 English programs in Alabama by the median earnings of English graduates four years after completing. University of South Alabama ranks 1st on this list, reporting median earnings of $51,718 for its graduates four years after completing.

Across the listed schools, the median figure is $46,923, with a range from $51,718 to $40,585.

All 9 schools are public. University of North Alabama posts the lowest average net price at $12,170.

Auburn University reports the highest six-year completion rate, graduating 82% of its students within six years. The University of Alabama ranks 233rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.

The ranked list

9 schools in list order
RankSchoolMedian English EarningsAverage net priceNet price, families under $30KAdmission rate
1University of South Alabama · Mobile, AL$51,718$17,648$12,65771.0%
University of South Alabama ranks 1st on this list, with median earnings of $51,718 for its English graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: English Language and Literature, General (31 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: English Language and Literature, General ($51,718)

2University of Alabama at Birmingham · Birmingham, AL$48,706$18,749$16,17288.2%
A six-year completion rate of 64% accompanies median earnings of $48,706 for English graduates at University of Alabama at Birmingham four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: English Language and Literature, General (53 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: English Language and Literature, General ($48,706)

3Athens State University · Athens, AL$47,773Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Athens State University, a public university in Athens, shows median earnings of $47,773 for its English graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: English Language and Literature, General (16 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: English Language and Literature, General ($47,773)

4University of North Alabama · Florence, AL$47,150$12,170$9,74187.3%
University of North Alabama carries the lowest average net price on the page at $12,170, and its English graduates earn a median of $47,150 four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: English Language and Literature, General (27 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: English Language and Literature, General ($47,150)

5Troy University · Troy, AL$46,923$16,527$12,65696.0%
Troy University admits 96% of applicants and reports median earnings of $46,923 for its English graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: English Language and Literature, General (36 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: English Language and Literature, General ($46,923)

6The University of Alabama · Tuscaloosa, AL$44,278$22,420$19,16976.7%
The University of Alabama holds the strongest Azimuth composite rank on this list at 233rd among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its English graduates earn a median of $44,278 four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: English Language and Literature, General (94 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: English Language and Literature, General ($44,278)

7Auburn University · Auburn, AL$44,158$24,323$16,68145.9%
Graduating 82% of its students within six years, Auburn University reports median earnings of $44,158 for its English graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: English Language and Literature, General (62 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: English Language and Literature, General ($44,158)

8Jacksonville State University · Jacksonville, AL$42,655$14,279$12,47277.7%
Jacksonville State University reports an average net price of $14,279, and its English graduates earn a median of $42,655 four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: English Language and Literature, General (11 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: English Language and Literature, General ($42,655)

9University of Montevallo · Montevallo, AL$40,585$17,683$14,47153.9%
University of Montevallo ranks 9th on this list, with an admission rate of 54% and median earnings of $40,585 for its English graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: English Language and Literature, General (17 graduates), Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies (13 graduates)

How this list is ordered

Schools are ordered by the median earnings of their English graduates four years after completing, highest first. Only schools with a reported English earnings cohort in Alabama appear. The figures cover federally aided completers who were working and not enrolled. The metric does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The range from University of South Alabama to the bottom of the list is $11,133, and the gap between University of South Alabama and University of Alabama at Birmingham is $3,012. The median across the 9 listed schools is $46,923.