Best Colleges in Alabama (2026)
Updated
Best Colleges in Alabama ranks 22 four-year institutions in Alabama on Azimuth's overall score for the state. Schools are ordered by Azimuth's overall score for Alabama, highest first.
The score combines four pillars, weighted 30% return, 30% mobility, 20% access and 20% affordability, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. The University of Alabama ranks 1st on this list and reports $70,439 in median earnings for its graduates four years after completing.
Across the listed schools, median earnings range from $70,439 at The University of Alabama to $81,045 at University of Alabama in Huntsville.
The list includes 14 public and 8 private nonprofit institutions. University of North Alabama posts the lowest average net price at $12,170.
Auburn University shows the highest six-year completion rate, graduating 82% of its students within six years.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Median earnings, 4 years after completion | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | The University of Alabama · Tuscaloosa, AL | $70,439 | $22,420 | $19,169 | 76.7% |
| The University of Alabama reports median earnings of $70,439 for its graduates four years after completing, and ranks 233rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
| 2 | University of Alabama in Huntsville · Huntsville, AL | $81,045 | $18,796 | $16,192 | 68.6% |
| Graduates of University of Alabama in Huntsville earn a median of $81,045 four years after completing, and the school admits 69% of applicants. | |||||
| 3 | Auburn University · Auburn, AL | $73,151 | $24,323 | $16,681 | 45.9% |
| Auburn University posts a six-year completion rate of 82% alongside an average net price of $24,323. | |||||
| 4 | University of Alabama at Birmingham · Birmingham, AL | $64,969 | $18,749 | $16,172 | 88.2% |
| With an admission rate of 88%, University of Alabama at Birmingham reports median earnings of $64,969 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 5 | Jacksonville State University · Jacksonville, AL | $55,318 | $14,279 | $12,472 | 77.7% |
| Jacksonville State University carries an average net price of $14,279 and a six-year completion rate of 55%. | |||||
| 6 | Alabama A & M University · Normal, AL | $54,018 | $17,621 | $16,500 | 58.0% |
| Alabama A & M University ranks 314th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its graduates earn a median of $54,018 four years after completing. | |||||
| 7 | University of South Alabama · Mobile, AL | $62,459 | $17,648 | $12,657 | 71.0% |
| University of South Alabama admits 71% of applicants and reports an average net price of $12,657 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 8 | University of West Alabama · Livingston, AL | $64,122 | $12,684 | $12,179 | 42.7% |
| A six-year completion rate of 35% and median earnings of $64,122 four years after completing are reported by University of West Alabama. | |||||
| 9 | Troy University · Troy, AL | $55,048 | $16,527 | $12,656 | 96.0% |
| Troy University ranks 402nd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with an admission rate of 96%. | |||||
| 10 | Athens State University · Athens, AL | $52,623 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Athens State University reports median earnings of $52,623 for its graduates four years after completing, and ranks 10th on this list. | |||||
| 11 | Tuskegee University · Tuskegee, AL | $69,077 | $35,013 | $34,324 | 48.7% |
| A private nonprofit institution, Tuskegee University posts an average net price of $35,013 and a six-year completion rate of 55%. | |||||
| 12 | Auburn University at Montgomery · Montgomery, AL | $55,551 | $13,224 | $11,706 | 91.6% |
| Auburn University at Montgomery admits 92% of applicants and reports an average net price of $11,706 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 13 | Stillman College · Tuscaloosa, AL | $42,622 | $15,258 | $14,804 | 62.3% |
| Stillman College reports median earnings of $42,622 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside a six-year completion rate of 25%. | |||||
| 14 | Alabama State University · Montgomery, AL | $45,998 | $20,435 | $19,711 | 97.6% |
| With an admission rate of 98%, Alabama State University ranks 14th on this list and posts median earnings of $45,998 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 15 | University of North Alabama · Florence, AL | $50,818 | $12,170 | $9,741 | 87.3% |
| University of North Alabama carries an average net price of $12,170, the lowest on the page, and its graduates earn a median of $50,818 four years after completing. | |||||
| 16 | University of Montevallo · Montevallo, AL | $46,262 | $17,683 | $14,471 | 53.9% |
| Graduates of University of Montevallo earn a median of $46,262 four years after completing, and the university admits 54% of applicants. | |||||
| 17 | Faulkner University · Montgomery, AL | $52,824 | $22,085 | $23,385 | 73.1% |
| A private nonprofit university in Montgomery, Faulkner University reports median earnings of $52,824 for its graduates four years after completing and an average net price of $22,085. | |||||
| 18 | Oakwood University · Huntsville, AL | $50,714 | $25,669 | $23,999 | 45.2% |
| Oakwood University ranks 1150th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its graduates earn a median of $50,714 four years after completing. | |||||
| 19 | Talladega College · Talladega, AL | $39,579 | $15,560 | $12,835 | 85.4% |
| Talladega College posts an average net price of $12,835 for families earning under $30,000, and its graduates earn a median of $39,579 four years after completing. | |||||
| 20 | Samford University · Birmingham, AL | $66,567 | $32,622 | $22,716 | 82.4% |
| Samford University graduates earn a median of $66,567 four years after completing, and the university reports a six-year completion rate of 77%. | |||||
| 21 | Huntingdon College · Montgomery, AL | $51,132 | $22,566 | $20,435 | 69.5% |
| Huntingdon College admits 69% of applicants and reports an average net price of $22,566, with graduates earning a median of $51,132 four years after completing. | |||||
| 22 | University of Mobile · Mobile, AL | $46,865 | $22,382 | $17,550 | 77.9% |
| University of Mobile ranks 22nd on this list and shows a six-year completion rate of 57%, while its graduates earn a median of $46,865 four years after completing. | |||||
How this list is ordered
Schools are ordered by Azimuth's overall score for Alabama, highest first. The score combines four pillars, weighted 30% return, 30% mobility, 20% access and 20% affordability, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. The underlying earnings figures are the median earnings of federally aided completers at each institution, across all fields, who were working and not enrolled four years after completing. The list does not adjust for cost or for who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The University of Alabama reports median earnings of $70,439 for its graduates four years after completing, while University of Alabama in Huntsville posts $81,045.