Most Affordable Colleges in Alabama (2026)
Updated
Most Affordable Colleges in Alabama lists 22 four-year nonprofit institutions in Alabama. Schools are ordered by their average net price for families earning under $30,000, lowest first, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page.
Across the 21 schools with a reported completion median, the average net price for families earning under $30,000 ranges from $9,741 to $34,324, with a median of $16,192. University of North Alabama ranks 1st on this list and reports an average net price of $9,741 for families earning under $30,000.
Public institutions account for 14 of the 22 schools, or 64% of the list. University of North Alabama posts the lowest average net price at $12,170, while The University of Alabama ranks 233rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Median earnings, 4 years after completion | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of North Alabama · Florence, AL | $50,818 | $12,170 | $9,741 | 87.3% |
| University of North Alabama reports an average net price of $9,741 for families earning under $30,000, the lowest figure on this list. | |||||
| 2 | Auburn University at Montgomery · Montgomery, AL | $55,551 | $13,224 | $11,706 | 91.6% |
| Graduates of Auburn University at Montgomery earn a median of $55,551 four years after completing, and the school admits 92% of applicants. | |||||
| 3 | University of West Alabama · Livingston, AL | $64,122 | $12,684 | $12,179 | 42.7% |
| University of West Alabama ranks 3rd on this page and posts a six-year completion rate of 35%. | |||||
| 4 | Jacksonville State University · Jacksonville, AL | $55,318 | $14,279 | $12,472 | 77.7% |
| With an average net price of $12,472 for families earning under $30,000, Jacksonville State University sits 4th on the list. | |||||
| 5 | Troy University · Troy, AL | $55,048 | $16,527 | $12,656 | 96.0% |
| Troy University reports median earnings of $55,048 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside a 96% admission rate. | |||||
| 6 | University of South Alabama · Mobile, AL | $62,459 | $17,648 | $12,657 | 71.0% |
| University of South Alabama ranks 329th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and shows a six-year completion rate of 53%. | |||||
| 7 | Talladega College · Talladega, AL | $39,579 | $15,560 | $12,835 | 85.4% |
| A private nonprofit institution in Talladega, Talladega College carries an average net price of $12,835 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 8 | University of Montevallo · Montevallo, AL | $46,262 | $17,683 | $14,471 | 53.9% |
| University of Montevallo admits 54% of applicants and its graduates earn a median of $46,262 four years after completing. | |||||
| 9 | Stillman College · Tuscaloosa, AL | $42,622 | $15,258 | $14,804 | 62.3% |
| Stillman College ranks 9th on this list, with a six-year completion rate of 25%. | |||||
| 10 | University of Alabama at Birmingham · Birmingham, AL | $64,969 | $18,749 | $16,172 | 88.2% |
| Graduates of University of Alabama at Birmingham earn a median of $64,969 four years after completing, and the school reports an average net price of $16,172 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 11 | University of Alabama in Huntsville · Huntsville, AL | $81,045 | $18,796 | $16,192 | 68.6% |
| University of Alabama in Huntsville admits 69% of applicants and reports an average net price of $16,192 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 12 | Alabama A & M University · Normal, AL | $54,018 | $17,621 | $16,500 | 58.0% |
| Alabama A & M University ranks 314th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and admits 58% of applicants. | |||||
| 13 | Auburn University · Auburn, AL | $73,151 | $24,323 | $16,681 | 45.9% |
| Auburn University reports median earnings of $73,151 for its graduates four years after completing, alongside an average net price of $16,681 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 14 | University of Mobile · Mobile, AL | $46,865 | $22,382 | $17,550 | 77.9% |
| A private nonprofit institution in Mobile, University of Mobile admits 78% of applicants and posts a six-year completion rate of 57%. | |||||
| 15 | The University of Alabama · Tuscaloosa, AL | $70,439 | $22,420 | $19,169 | 76.7% |
| The University of Alabama ranks 233rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, and its graduates across all fields earn a median of $70,439 four years after completing. | |||||
| 16 | Alabama State University · Montgomery, AL | $45,998 | $20,435 | $19,711 | 97.6% |
| With an admission rate of 98%, Alabama State University has an average net price of $19,711 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 17 | Huntingdon College · Montgomery, AL | $51,132 | $22,566 | $20,435 | 69.5% |
| Huntingdon College graduates 48% of its students within six years, and its graduates report median earnings of $51,132 four years after completing. | |||||
| 18 | Samford University · Birmingham, AL | $66,567 | $32,622 | $22,716 | 82.4% |
| Samford University ranks 18th on this list, with an average net price of $22,716 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 19 | Faulkner University · Montgomery, AL | $52,824 | $22,085 | $23,385 | 73.1% |
| A private nonprofit university in Montgomery, Faulkner University reports median earnings of $52,824 for its graduates four years after completing. | |||||
| 20 | Oakwood University · Huntsville, AL | $50,714 | $25,669 | $23,999 | 45.2% |
| Oakwood University admits 45% of applicants and has a six-year completion rate of 45%. | |||||
| 21 | Tuskegee University · Tuskegee, AL | $69,077 | $35,013 | $34,324 | 48.7% |
| Tuskegee University ranks 676th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions, with an average net price of $34,324 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
| 22 | Athens State University · Athens, AL | $52,623 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Athens State University reports median earnings of $52,623 for its graduates four years after completing, and ranks 491st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
How this list is ordered
Schools are ordered by their average net price for families earning under $30,000, lowest first, as set out on Azimuth's methodology page. The median earnings figure for each school covers federally aided completers across all fields who were working and not enrolled four years after completing. It does not adjust for who enrolls or for the mix of programs a school offers, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The figures cited on this page cover the 21 schools with a reported completion median. The spread from University of North Alabama to the bottom of the list is $24,583 for families earning under $30,000, and the gap between University of North Alabama and Auburn University at Montgomery is $1,965.