Best Physical Therapy Colleges in Iowa (2026)
Updated
This page ranks the 5 colleges in Iowa for Physical Therapy by the median earnings of Physical Therapy graduates four years after completing. Only one of the listed schools, Clarke University, has a published earnings figure, which stands at $21,508.
Because the cohort mixes four-year and two-year completion medians, the figure is reported without a fixed year count.
The list includes 2 public and 3 private nonprofit institutions. University of Iowa holds the strongest Azimuth composite rank among the group, placing 184th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions.
University of Northern Iowa posts the lowest average net price on the page at $15,901.
The ranked list
| Rank | School | Median Physical Therapy Earnings | Average net price | Net price, families under $30K | Admission rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Clarke University · Dubuque, IA | $73,295 | $24,479 | $23,405 | 71.8% |
| Clarke University, a private nonprofit university in Dubuque, admits 72% of applicants and reports a six-year completion rate of 56%. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (16 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (8 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($74,114) | |||||
| 2 | Allen College · Waterloo, IA | $68,742 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Allen College ranks 2nd on this list and holds an Azimuth composite rank of 989th among nonprofit four-year institutions. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (121 graduates), Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions (15 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (10 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($73,177) | |||||
| 3 | University of Iowa · Iowa City, IA | $68,601 | $22,531 | $15,316 | 83.6% |
| University of Iowa posts an average net price of $15,316 for families earning under $30,000. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (240 graduates), Public Health (89 graduates), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (75 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing ($78,836), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions ($68,601), Communication Disorders Sciences and Services ($66,377) | |||||
| 4 | University of Northern Iowa · Cedar Falls, IA | $47,105 | $15,901 | $10,863 | 92.7% |
| Admitting 93% of applicants, University of Northern Iowa graduates 68% of its students within six years. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (55 graduates), Public Health (33 graduates), Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (18 graduates) Highest four-year median earnings by program: Communication Disorders Sciences and Services ($60,509), Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other ($52,202) | |||||
| 5 | Central College · Pella, IA | $21,508 | $23,377 | $16,231 | 86.2% |
| Central College reports median earnings of $21,508 for its Physical Therapy graduates two years after completing, alongside an average net price of $23,377. | |||||
Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (5 graduates) | |||||
How this list is ordered
Schools are ordered by the median earnings of their Physical Therapy graduates four years after completing, highest first. Only schools with a reported Physical Therapy earnings cohort in Iowa appear. The figure captures federally aided completers who were working and not enrolled. For 1 of the 5 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one. The metric does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The range and median below cover the 1 school with a published figure. The single citable value is $21,508, reported by Clarke University.
Job market context in Iowa
Physical Therapy graduates in Iowa enter a labor market that links to occupations such as Nursing Assistants, Registered Nurses, and Medical Assistants. The median annual wage across those occupations is $59,738, and a quarter of workers in those occupations earn less than $51,425. Projections for 2024 to 2034 put employment in those occupations about 10.8% higher, with 16,220 projected openings a year, or about 826 openings a year for every hundred graduates, more projected openings than graduates. Wages and top occupations exclude management occupations; openings include them. The ranking above uses graduate earnings four years after completing, while the market figures describe the broader set of linked occupations; the two are not the same measure.