Programs & majors brief
Florida International University Majors & Programs
Which majors earn the most at FIU?
65 of 65 programs shown
Each bar is a field’s median. Program size counts degrees awarded, not unique people or the earnings sample.
Compare all matching programs
| Program | Degrees awarded | 4-yr earnings | Field rank |
|---|---|---|---|
| Computer Engineering | 121 | $101,224 | #66 |
| Construction Engineering Technology/Technician | 62 | $99,471 | #10 |
| Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering | 221 | $98,697 | #39 |
| Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing | 234 | $98,635 | #62 |
| Mechanical Engineering | 180 | $93,494 | #69 |
| Computer and Information Sciences, General | 665 | $90,397 | #65 |
| Biomedical/Medical Engineering | 82 | $88,656 | #67 |
| Management Information Systems and Services | 48 | $85,737 | #35 |
| Civil Engineering | 157 | $84,523 | #83 |
| Accounting and Related Services | 247 | $81,923 | #77 |
| Environmental/Environmental Health Engineering | 24 | $80,650 | — |
| Finance and Financial Management Services | 665 | $71,355 | #85 |
| Economics | 144 | $70,022 | #140 |
| Human Resources Management and Services | 150 | $67,696 | #30 |
| Mathematics | 39 | $66,041 | — |
| Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication | 287 | $65,343 | #23 |
| International Business | 501 | $65,054 | #21 |
| Marketing | 489 | $64,423 | #93 |
| International Relations and National Security Studies | 305 | $64,399 | #33 |
| Public Administration | 102 | $62,424 | #15 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | 381 | $61,256 | #224 |
| Political Science and Government | 348 | $57,996 | #127 |
| Chemistry | 83 | $57,788 | #101 |
| Communication and Media Studies | 413 | $57,376 | #82 |
| Health and Medical Administrative Services | 216 | $56,867 | #39 |
| History | 59 | $56,676 | #73 |
| Hospitality Administration/Management | 622 | $56,667 | #18 |
| Social Work | 78 | $55,923 | #51 |
| Criminal Justice and Corrections | 600 | $55,830 | #49 |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods | 331 | $53,854 | #36 |
| Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition Services | 76 | $52,470 | #25 |
| Music | 39 | $50,677 | #34 |
| Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities | 265 | $49,960 | #104 |
| Natural Resources Conservation and Research | 34 | $49,748 | — |
| Psychology, General | 1,715 | $49,470 | #107 |
| Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities Management | 166 | $48,814 | #10 |
| English Language and Literature, General | 188 | $47,659 | #130 |
| Sociology | 100 | $47,538 | #175 |
| Biology, General | 896 | $46,718 | #276 |
| Philosophy | 45 | $43,085 | #57 |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas | 91 | $42,574 | #140 |
| Fine and Studio Arts | 96 | $40,653 | #121 |
| Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft | 33 | $33,896 | #122 |
| Area Studies | 46 | $23,742 | #41 |
| Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies | 21 | Not reported | — |
| Radio, Television, and Digital Communication | 62 | Not reported | — |
| Special Education and Teaching | 36 | Not reported | — |
| Engineering/Engineering-Related Technologies/Technicians, Other | 31 | Not reported | — |
| Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | 97 | Not reported | — |
| Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology | 64 | Not reported | — |
| Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology | 30 | Not reported | — |
| Biological and Physical Sciences | 735 | Not reported | — |
| Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, General | 499 | Not reported | — |
| Sustainability Studies | 68 | Not reported | — |
| International/Globalization Studies small degree count | 12 | Not reported | — |
| Religion/Religious Studies small degree count | 14 | Not reported | — |
| Physics | 28 | Not reported | — |
| Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences small degree count | 15 | Not reported | — |
| Security Science and Technology | 40 | Not reported | — |
| Homeland Security | 21 | Not reported | — |
| Geography and Cartography small degree count | 7 | Not reported | — |
| Visual and Performing Arts, General | 22 | Not reported | — |
| Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions | 47 | Not reported | — |
| Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods | 82 | Not reported | — |
| Real Estate | 33 | Not reported | — |
Program data and definitions · How to evaluate program rankings
What are the largest programs at FIU?
Counts describe degrees awarded in the reporting period, not current enrollment. Program data and definitions
The largest program records at Florida International University, by reported degrees awarded, are: Psychology, General (1,715 awards); Biology, General (896 awards); Biological and Physical Sciences (735 awards); Computer and Information Sciences, General (665 awards); Finance and Financial Management Services (665 awards). These counts describe degree output in the source reporting period, not current enrollment or unique people.
Among those larger programs, reported median earnings four years after completion include Psychology, General at $49,470; Biology, General at $46,718; Computer and Information Sciences, General at $90,397. Program size and earnings answer different questions; the largest program need not have the highest earnings.
How do FIU majors rank nationally?
Florida International University’s national program ranks compare each field with the same field at other institutions in Azimuth’s ranking data. For example, a Computer Science rank compares programs in Computer Science, while a Biology rank compares programs in Biology.
A lower rank number indicates a higher position within that field; comparing the numbers across different fields does not tell you which major will pay more or suit you better.
These are Azimuth program-value rankings. The source orders programs by its composite program-value measure, so this view answers a different question from the highest-earning majors section.
A field can report lower earnings than another Florida International University field while holding a stronger position against its own national competitors. Read its national position alongside the earnings and degree counts to understand both the comparison with other schools and the scale of the program at Florida International University.
National program rankings
- Construction Engineering Technology/Technician#10
- Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities Management#10
- Public Administration#15
- Hospitality Administration/Management#18
- International Business#21
- Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication#23
- Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition Services#25
- Human Resources Management and Services#30
- International Relations and National Security Studies#33
- Music#34
- Management Information Systems and Services#35
- Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods#36
- Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering#39
- Health and Medical Administrative Services#39
- Area Studies#41
- Criminal Justice and Corrections#49
Programs ranked in the national top 50, supplemented by the largest ranked programs when needed to show ten. Fewer appear when fewer ranks are reported. Each rank compares bachelor’s programs in the same field; field sizes differ.
The list includes Florida International University programs ranked in the national top 50 for their field. If fewer than ten qualify, it adds the largest remaining programs with a reported national rank, using degrees awarded to select them, until the list reaches ten or no ranked programs remain.
These additions broaden the comparison to larger Florida International University programs; they are not necessarily ranked in the national top 50.
Further analysis
At Florida International University, Azimuth evaluates programs by four-year earnings among federally aided completers, median debt, and cohort size rather than reputation, because earnings vary widely by field. The university publishes four-year earnings for 44 programs, and 41 of those have an Azimuth national rank.
These figures count degrees conferred in one academic year, not individual students, and program earnings cover federally aided completers. Business dominates the degree mix at 23.6% of degrees awarded, with Psychology next at 12.6% and Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies at 9.7%.
The largest single program is Psychology, at 1,715 degrees awarded; Azimuth ranks it #107 within its field, with median earnings of $49,470 four years after completion. Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities Management ties for the strongest national rank, which Azimuth places at #10 within its field, where graduates earn $48,814 four years after completion.
Azimuth ranks Construction Engineering Technology/Technician #10 within its field, with median earnings of $99,471 four years after completion. Across all fields, 25.9% of degrees awarded are in STEM.
Data & methodology
A missing figure does not mean zero. Sources and reporting periods: methodology.
Analysis and methodology by Daniel Rogers, founder of College Azimuth.
Explanatory text is AI-assisted drafting checked against those figures; it is not an additional data source.
Figure notes link to sources and limitations. About College Azimuth.
Four-year earnings are measured after completion for the covered federally aided cohort of people working and not enrolled. Measures taken six, eight or ten years after entry use a different starting point and should not be treated as one graduating class followed over time.
Program award counts describe credentials awarded, not current enrollment, unique graduates or earnings-sample size. Reporting periods differ across measures; the shared field definitions do not establish the exact vintage of every school-level value.