Research brief & institution hub

Lincoln University (MO)

MOSmall public institution · Overall rank #859 nationally

Data snapshot Narrative updated

Azimuth places the overall profile in the 41st percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Who it’s a good fit for

Lincoln University is a public university in Jefferson City, Missouri, where the degree mix is led by Business and Health Professions. Access is the strongest pillar, above average, while mobility is below the levels seen at many peers.

Graduates out-earn what predicts for students like them, and the model attributes more of that to a remainder it does not explain than to the factors it measures. Return is modestly below average, and most graduates are estimated to go into work rather than on to further study.

The net price for the lowest income band sits close to the published cost, and the spread between the lowest and highest bands is narrow. Pell students complete at a rate above the overall cohort, and access is above average.

A student drawn to the largest programs should know that the best-paid one, Nursing, is also among the largest, while the second-largest family, Health Professions, contains the highest earnings on the page.

Lincoln University (MO) at a glance

Admissions and outcomes

Admission rate[1]
Not reported
Six-year completion[2]
20.8%
Four-year earnings[3]
$50,859

Cost and family borrowing

Average annual net price · $48–75K family income[6]
$18,287
Median student debt[4]
$28,875
Median Parent PLUS debt[7]
$14,000

Lincoln University (MO) rankings: how Azimuth assesses value[5]

Lincoln University is a public university in Jefferson City, Missouri, enrolling 1,392 undergraduates. Its composite standing sits near the middle of the Azimuth ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions (41st percentile).

At Lincoln University, the transfer share means the completion figure describes a large but not universal slice of the student body. The four pillars sit far apart.

Access is the strongest, at the 73rd percentile, while mobility is the weakest, at the 14th percentile. Return and affordability fall between them, with return at the 39th percentile and affordability at the 47th percentile.

Access is the clearest strength in Lincoln University’s Azimuth profile, though mobility is the weakest part of the picture. Azimuth places the public university among the Under-Resourced Institutions group.

Among nonprofit four-year institutions, access stands in the 73rd percentile and affordability in the 47th percentile. Return is in the 39th percentile; mobility is in the 14th percentile.

The profile is uneven, with access well ahead of the other pillars and mobility the main constraint.

Azimuth ranks Lincoln University #398 for access among nonprofit four-year institutions. The access pillar draws on the Pell share and on how Pell recipients fare once enrolled.

Mobility is the weakest of the university's four pillars. Azimuth ranks Lincoln University #1,262 for mobility, placing it in the Under-Resourced Institutions group. Graduates earn about $9,740 more than the model expects for similar students.

How value-added outcomes are assessed · How to interpret program rankings

Lincoln University (MO) rankings in context
GeographyRank
National#859

Azimuth overall value rankings within each geographic comparison group.

National pillar percentiles

Economic mobility
National percentile: 14
Access & reach
National percentile: 73
Affordability
National percentile: 47
Return on investment
National percentile: 39

01 / Lincoln University (MO) briefing

Lincoln University (MO) cost & financial aid[6][7]

Lincoln University publishes a cost of attendance of $23,704 for the standard budget. That figure combines $9,796 in tuition and fees for Missouri residents with $10,256 in room and board.

Nonresidents pay $17,692 in tuition and fees. The average net price is what aid recipients pay after grants and scholarships.

Grants and scholarships reduce the sticker price by $4,612 on average, producing an average net price of $19,092 for aid recipients. Aid covers about 19% of the published cost for the average aid recipient.

That figure is $6,270 above the $12,822 median at comparable institutions (same type and size). Azimuth ranks Lincoln University #749 for affordability among nonprofit four-year institutions. That places the affordability pillar in the 47th percentile.

Lincoln University’s published cost of attendance is $23,704, and prices after aid differ little across its family-income bands. The average net price, what aid recipients pay after grants and scholarships, is $20,070 for the lowest-income band, $19,313 for the lower-middle band, $18,287 for the middle band, $14,466 for the upper-middle band, and $19,984 for the highest-income band.

The spread between the lowest and highest bands is $86. Azimuth ranks Lincoln University #749 for affordability among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Aid covers about 19% of the published cost for the average aid recipient, an average rather than a promise for any family. Across all aid recipients, the average net price is $19,092, with average aid savings of $4,612 against the sticker price.

That price is $6,270 above the $12,822 peer median for comparable institutions (same type and size). Published in-state tuition is $9,796, while out-of-state tuition is $17,692.

Borrowing is common here, and typical federal debt sits above the comparable-school median. Federal student loan borrowers who completed have median debt of $28,875, compared with $19,500 at comparable institutions (same type and size), a difference of $9,375 above.

Among federal aid recipients, 89.0% of federal aid recipients take federal loans, and that debt corresponds to an estimated payment of $328 a month if repaid over ten years. For Parent PLUS parent borrowers, median borrowing is $14,000.

Use the Financial GPS tool for personalized scenarios, including Parent PLUS.

Your family income

Choose a household income range to see estimated net price.

Reported average annual net price · $48–75K$18,287

After grants and scholarships. Your aid offer may differ.

Averages within each income band; individual aid packages vary.

Borrowing and repayment at Lincoln University (MO)

Borrowers who complete a degree at Lincoln University leave with a median of $28,875 in federal student loans. That is $9,375 above the peer median of $19,500 for comparable institutions (same type and size).

Federal borrowing is widespread: 89.0% of federal aid recipients take a federal loan. If repaid over ten years, the median debt corresponds to an estimated payment of $328 a month.

Parent borrowers are a separate population. The median Parent PLUS borrowing is $14,000.

Lincoln University presents a mixed return picture: median earnings are $50,859 four years after completion, which Azimuth places in the 20th percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions. Earnings beyond expectations, the gap between what graduates earn and what the model expects for similar students, are a relative bright spot.

Graduates earn about $9,740 more than the model expects for similar students. Azimuth places that measure in the 83rd percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Earnings scenarios range from $41,229 in the downside case to $71,943 in the upside case, with $50,859 as the typical scenario. Median federal student loan debt at completion is $28,875, $9,375 above the peer median of $19,500 at comparable institutions of the same type and size.

That debt corresponds to an estimated payment of $328 a month if repaid over ten years. Above-expected earnings sit alongside lower overall earnings and debt that is higher than peers.

Parent borrowers have median Parent PLUS borrowing of $14,000, separate from federal student loan borrowers. For student borrowers, that debt corresponds to an estimated payment of $328 a month if repaid over ten years.

For personalized family cost analysis, use the Financial GPS tool to consider household costs and borrowing choices.

How Financial GPS measures payment burden · The four risk-and-reward zones

Read the full cost & aid brief

02 / Lincoln University (MO) briefing

Lincoln University (MO) career outcomes & earnings[3][8][9]

Graduates of Lincoln University earn about $9,740 more than the model expects for similar students. That places the gap at the 83rd percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions.

The part the model attributes to the factors it measures adds $308. The part it attributes to a remainder it does not explain adds $9,432.

Four years after completion, federally aided graduates who are working and not enrolled earn a median of $50,859, at the 20th percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions. That is $2,257 below the $53,116 median for comparable institutions (same type and size). Azimuth places the university at the 39th percentile for return.

Lincoln University’s graduate earnings picture is modest in raw terms, with median earnings of $50,859 four years after completion for federally aided completers who are working and not enrolled. Azimuth places that median in the 20th percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions, using an earnings cohort of 420 completers.

The typical scenario matches that median, with a downside scenario of $41,229 and an upside scenario of $71,943; these scenarios reflect the program mix rather than observed groups. Earnings beyond expectations, the gap between what graduates earn and what the model expects for similar students, add a different lens.

Graduates earn about $9,740 more than the model expects for similar students. An estimated 25.7% of graduates continue to graduate study, a figure estimated from the program mix.

The low earnings percentile and higher-than-expected earnings point in different directions.

At Lincoln University, federally aided completers who are working and not enrolled have median earnings of $50,859 four years after completion. That places the measure in the 20th percentile of nonprofit four-year institutions.

This is $2,257 below the peer median of $53,116, the middle value for comparable institutions of the same type and size. Graduates earn about $9,740 more than the model expects for similar students.

Earnings beyond expectations, the gap between what graduates earn and what the model expects for similar students, is in the 83rd percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions. The part the model attributes to the factors it measures (field of study, enrollment and the local labor market) adds $308.

The part it attributes to a remainder it does not explain adds $9,432. Within the measured factors, the STEM component adds $630.

The downside and upside scenarios, grounded in the program mix, are $41,229 and $71,943. Azimuth places the return pillar in the 39th percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Above-expected earnings and a below-peer median make the return picture mixed. Nursing is the largest higher-earning listed field, with 38 degrees awarded and median earnings of $79,520 four years after completion.

Information Science/Studies had 6 degrees awarded and median earnings of $52,071. These program figures give the school-level median a varied program context.

Lincoln’s modeled earnings spread extends to $71,943 in the upside scenario. The downside scenario is $41,229, and the typical scenario is $50,859; all are scenarios estimated from the program mix, not observed graduate groups.

Published program medians also differ: Nursing reports $79,520 four years after completion, compared with $52,071 in Information Science/Studies and $48,315 in Criminal Justice. Those program figures give the modeled range a concrete academic-field context.

Lincoln University pairs higher-than-expected earnings with borrowing and prices above peer benchmarks, leaving a mixed financial picture. Graduates earn about $9,740 more than the model expects for similar students.

Here, earnings beyond expectations means the gap between what graduates earn and what the model expects for similar students. Borrowers who completed had median federal student loan debt of $28,875.

At comparable institutions (same type and size), the peer median is $19,500, placing the university above that figure by $9,375. That debt corresponds to an estimated payment of $328 a month if repaid over ten years.

Average net price, what aid recipients pay after grants and scholarships, is $19,092. It stands above the $12,822 peer median by $6,270, and aid covers about 19% of the published cost for the average aid recipient. The favorable model result sits alongside higher debt and price.

What explains value-added earnings?
Program & institutional factors The part attributed to observed institutional characteristics.
+$308
Unexplained remainder What remains after the model’s observed factors.
+$9,432
Total modeled value added The modeled difference from expected earnings.
+$9,740

These are statistical model components, not proven causal effects; the remainder is not a direct measure of teaching quality.

Read the full outcomes brief

03 / Lincoln University (MO) briefing

Lincoln University (MO) acceptance rate & admissions[1][10][11]

Lincoln University serves a campus where Pell Grant recipients are a visible part of the undergraduate population: 48.7% of 1,392 undergraduates receive Pell Grants. An estimated 30.9% share of entrants outside the first-time, full-time group also points to attendance by people continuing coursework begun elsewhere.

The enrollment mix suggests more than one route into the university, with federal grant aid and transfer study both part of its undergraduate composition. Pell-eligible and transfer applicants should use the cost calculator to estimate grant-adjusted costs and review how their intended field fits their prior coursework.

These figures describe who attends, rather than admission priorities or any individual applicant’s chances.

Admissions
Admission rate
Not reported
Read the full admissions brief

04 / Lincoln University (MO) briefing

What are the largest majors at Lincoln University (MO)?[12]

At Lincoln University, Nursing sits well above the other large fields in median earnings four years after completion. It recorded $79,520 across 38 degrees awarded, making it the highest-earning program listed here.

Information Science/Studies followed with median earnings of $52,071 and 6 degrees awarded. The more moderate-earning fields include Criminal Justice, at $48,315 with 15 degrees awarded, and Business Administration and Management, at $48,276 with 38 degrees awarded.

These award counts describe degrees awarded in one academic year, while the earnings figures are medians for completers four years after completion. The contrast between the nursing figure and the other listed fields makes program choice especially consequential in reading the university’s overall earnings picture.

Published outcomes cover 7 bachelor’s fields, and Business accounts for 22.8% of bachelor’s degrees awarded. The largest fields therefore show a broad range of reported earnings, with Nursing at the high end.

The program mix at Lincoln University is led by Business, which accounts for 22.8% of bachelor's degrees awarded, followed by Health Professions at 17.0% and Family & Consumer Sciences at 10.3%. The university has 7 programs with published four-year earnings data.

The largest single programs are Business Administration and Management and Nursing, each at 38 degrees awarded, with Liberal Arts and General Studies next at 20. The highest-earning program is Nursing, where graduates earn a median of $79,520 four years after completion.

Its benchmark ratio is 0.89x against the national median for its field. The program is also one of the largest.

The next-highest earnings are in Information Science/Studies, at $52,071, though it is a much smaller program with 6 degrees awarded. Criminal Justice and Business Administration and Management follow, with medians of $48,315 and $48,276 respectively, each below the national median for their fields.

The pattern is one of concentrated strength: the best-paid program is also one of the largest, and the earnings drop-off after it is steep. Across all fields, 13.8% of degrees are in STEM.

Four-year earnings · six largest reported fields
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing 38 degrees awarded
$79,520
Business Administration, Management and Operations 38 degrees awarded
$48,276
Foods, Nutrition, and Related Services 23 degrees awarded
Not reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities 20 degrees awarded
$40,887
Psychology, General 17 degrees awarded
$45,868
Criminal Justice and Corrections 15 degrees awarded
$48,315

Fields selected by reported completions. Counts describe credentials awarded, not unique students or the earnings sample. Bars show median four-year earnings.

Read the full majors brief

05 / Lincoln University (MO) briefing

How does Lincoln University (MO) serve students from different backgrounds?

Lincoln University has a modest six-year graduation rate for its first-time full-time cohort, even as modeled earnings run ahead of expectations. Azimuth assigns the mobility pillar to the 14th percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Azimuth places the university among the Under-Resourced Institutions group. Earnings beyond expectations, the gap between what graduates earn and what the model expects for similar students, shows that graduates earn about $9,740 more than the model expects for similar students.

Azimuth puts that measure in the 83rd percentile nationally. Higher-than-expected earnings alongside modest completion makes the mobility record uneven.

Access is a relative strength at Lincoln University: Azimuth places its access pillar in the 73rd percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions. The university enrolls 1,392 undergraduates in Jefferson City, Missouri.

Data scope & methodology

Structured payloads generated Governed hub narrative Governed spoke corpus

Four-year earnings describe cohorts of completers. Figures for other horizons describe different cohorts and are not joined into a career-growth projection.

Azimuth's overall rank and pillar percentiles come from the school profile. Absolute pillar ranks, city, enrollment and official-site links are shown only when structured data supplies them.

Detailed earnings, cost, admissions and program values come from the endpoint responsible for each measure. Missing values are not replaced with zero. Value-added estimates are model associations, not causal effects.

Figures are refreshed with each data release, at most a quarter apart. The underlying source dates can be earlier than the release.

Explanatory text is AI-assisted drafting checked against those figures; it is not an additional data source.

Analysis and methodology by Daniel Rogers, founder of College Azimuth.

Read the ranking methodology, data definitions and limitations · About College Azimuth

Read the analysis behind value-added earnings and the change to four-year graduate earnings. These articles are published on collegeazimuth.com.

Data notes & source fields

Scorecard field codes identify the underlying measure; Azimuth-derived values are labeled separately. Snapshot dates are not measurement years. Source populations and reporting periods differ across measures.

  1. Admission rate. Reported applicants admitted; not a transfer-specific or individual admission probability.

    Source fields: ADM_RATE

    U.S. Department of Education · College Scorecard documentation

  2. Six-year completion. First-time, full-time students completing at the institution within 150% of normal time, typically six years for a bachelor’s degree.

    Source fields: C150_4

    U.S. Department of Education · College Scorecard documentation

  3. Four-year institutional earnings. Median earnings of graduates in the reported cohort who are working and not enrolled, four years after completion.

    Source fields: MD_EARN_WNE_4YR

    U.S. Department of Education · College Scorecard documentation

  4. Median federal student debt. Federal student-loan debt among completers in the reported borrowing cohort. Excludes Parent PLUS and is not total debt across all students.

    Source fields: GRAD_DEBT_MDN

    U.S. Department of Education · College Scorecard documentation

  5. National, regional and state ranks; pillar percentiles; major ranks. Derived scores within the stated eligible comparison set, not raw Scorecard fields. Major ranks compare institutions within a field; their denominators differ.

    Source fields: Azimuth rankings

    College Azimuth · Ranking methodology

  6. Annual net price by family income. Average annual cost after grants and scholarships for the eligible first-time, full-time aid-recipient cohort. Public-school figures reflect in-state tuition. Includes living costs; these are averages, not medians or individual offers.

    Source fields: NPT4_PUB/PRIV; NPT41_PUB/PRIV through NPT45_PUB/PRIV

    U.S. Department of Education · College Scorecard documentation

  7. Parent PLUS debt, payments and GPS illustration. Stored payments use Financial GPS loan and repayment assumptions. The adjustable spectrum applies the published framework to annual student payments divided by earnings minus an expense allowance; its initial allowance uses the frozen 2024 framework baseline. It is an illustration rather than a school rating. Parent PLUS uses the completer median where available, otherwise the all-borrower median; these describe different borrowing populations.

    Source fields: PLUS_DEBT_ALL_COMP_MD; fallback PLUS_DEBT_ALL_MD; Azimuth Financial GPS calculations

    College Azimuth · Financial GPS methodology · U.S. Department of Education · College Scorecard documentation

  8. Downside and upside earnings; yellow band. The band spans the modeled lower and higher scenarios. It is not the P25–P75 interval for individual graduates. The median marker is the separately reported institutional median.

    Source fields: Azimuth modeled program-mix scenarios

    College Azimuth · Earnings scenario methodology

  9. Value added and its components. Observed-factor attribution plus the unexplained remainder equals total modeled value added. These are associations, not proven causal effects; the remainder is not a direct measure of teaching quality.

    Source fields: Azimuth statistical model

    College Azimuth · Value-added methodology

  10. SAT score range and reported midpoint. Reported scores of enrolled score-submitters, not admission cutoffs. The midpoint field is not necessarily the middle of the displayed range.

    Source fields: SATVR25 + SATMT25; SATVR75 + SATMT75; SAT_AVG

    U.S. Department of Education · College Scorecard documentation

  11. First-year retention. Retention of the reported full-time cohort at four-year institutions.

    Source fields: RET_FT4

    U.S. Department of Education · College Scorecard documentation

  12. Program earnings, completion counts and major-mix dots. Included bachelor’s programs have at least five reported completions. Counts are aggregated credentials, not unique people or an earnings sample. Major-mix dots group those counts by field of study; excluded programs are not zero activity.

    Source fields: EARN_MDN_4YR; IPEDSCOUNT1; CIPCODE

    College Scorecard · Field-of-study technical documentation

  13. Pell recipients. Share of undergraduates receiving a Pell Grant in the reported academic year.

    Source fields: PCTPELL

    U.S. Department of Education · College Scorecard documentation

  14. Historical first-generation share. A discontinued historical earnings-cohort measure, not the current student population.

    Source fields: FIRST_GEN

    U.S. Department of Education · College Scorecard documentation

  15. Entering students outside the first-time, full-time group. This is not an observed transfer-in rate. It includes part-time entrants and other entering-student attendance patterns.

    Source fields: 1 − PFTFTUG1_EF

    U.S. Department of Education · College Scorecard documentation

  16. Peer earnings and signed differences. Differences are peer minus this school, from the same matching snapshot. A positive earnings difference does not mean the peer is better on every measure.

    Source fields: Azimuth peer model using MD_EARN_WNE_4YR

    College Azimuth · Comparison methodology · U.S. Department of Education · College Scorecard documentation

College Scorecard data documentation · How to interpret program rankings