Programs & majors brief

University of Central Missouri Majors & Programs

Updated

Which majors earn the most at University of Central Missouri?

The University of Central Missouri awards bachelor's degrees across 39 fields with published four-year earnings, and the spread between the highest-earning and largest programs is wide. Construction Management leads at $96,186 four years after completion, though it awarded only 27 degrees.

Computer Science follows at $90,822 with 65 degrees awarded, and Quality Control and Safety Technologies/Technicians reaches $84,738 on 35 degrees. Among the largest programs, the picture shifts.

Teacher Education, the biggest by degrees awarded at 190, shows median earnings of $38,807. Nursing, with 118 degrees awarded, reaches $80,542 — the only large program that approaches the earnings of the top-earning fields.

Criminal Justice and Kinesiology and Physical Education sit in the middle, at $52,875 and $52,328 respectively. A student's field choice here carries a large earnings consequence.

Major mix · each dot ≈ 1% of completions

Share of reported completions in the bachelor’s programs included here. Each dot represents approximately 1% of those completions. Counts are credentials, not unique students; excluded programs are not zero activity.

  • Education258 · 16.5%
  • Health professions193 · 12.3%
  • Business177 · 11.3%
  • Homeland security124 · 7.9%
  • Computer science107 · 6.8%
  • Other709 · 45.2%

50 of 50 programs shown

Four-year earnings · first six matching programs
Construction Management 27 degrees awarded
$96,186
Computer Science 65 degrees awarded
$90,822
Quality Control and Safety Technologies/Technicians 35 degrees awarded
$84,738
Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management 42 degrees awarded
$84,428
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing 118 degrees awarded
$80,542
Accounting and Related Services 23 degrees awarded
$76,930

Each bar is a field’s median. Program size counts degrees awarded, not unique people or the earnings sample.

Compare all matching programs
Reported bachelor’s programs · earnings, program size and field ranks
ProgramDegrees awarded4-yr earningsField rank
Construction Management27$96,186—
Computer Science65$90,822—
Quality Control and Safety Technologies/Technicians35$84,738—
Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management42$84,428—
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing118$80,542—
Accounting and Related Services23$76,930—
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General27$75,375—
Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians small degree count18$71,326—
Economics small degree count12$69,359—
Finance and Financial Management Services small degree count16$66,897—
Political Science and Government23$63,965—
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication small degree count13$61,784—
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions small degree count12$60,063—
Business Administration, Management and Operations31$58,736—
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services27$55,753—
Homeland Security23$54,595—
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General small degree count17$53,677—
Criminal Justice and Corrections101$52,875—
Communication and Media Studies30$52,463—
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness79$52,328—
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities69$51,897—
Social Work33$51,349—
Marketing52$50,774—
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft small degree count9$48,179—
Biology, General53$48,112—
Research and Experimental Psychology52$47,390—
Agricultural Business and Management24$47,248—
Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition Services small degree count19$46,803—
Specialized Sales, Merchandising and Marketing Operations small degree count15$46,797—
Sociology small degree count8$45,862—
Education, Other small degree count12$44,338—
Radio, Television, and Digital Communication29$43,463—
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services30$43,166—
Design and Applied Arts25$42,778—
Music small degree count15$42,610—
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas35$40,486—
Special Education and Teaching21$39,569—
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods190$38,807—
Fine and Studio Arts small degree count15$36,421—
Computer Engineering small degree count6Not reported—
Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians small degree count8Not reported—
Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians small degree count6Not reported—
Computer Engineering Technologies/Technicians small degree count5Not reported—
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services small degree count9Not reported—
English Language and Literature, General small degree count9Not reported—
Mathematics small degree count6Not reported—
Anthropology small degree count6Not reported—
Air Transportation43Not reported—
Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods small degree count13Not reported—
History small degree count12Not reported—

Program data and definitions · How to evaluate program rankings

What are the largest programs at University of Central Missouri?

Ten largest programs by degrees awarded
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods
190
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing
118
Criminal Justice and Corrections
101
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness
79
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
69
Computer Science
65
Biology, General
53
Research and Experimental Psychology
52
Marketing
52
Air Transportation
43

Counts describe degrees awarded in the reporting period, not current enrollment. Program data and definitions

How do University of Central Missouri majors rank nationally?

National program ranks are not reported for this school.

How Azimuth compares programs across colleges

Further analysis

At University of Central Missouri, what a graduate earns four years after completing a degree depends heavily on the field they chose. Azimuth's program rankings are designed to make that variation clear, evaluating outcomes by median earnings among federally aided completers, median debt, and cohort size rather than reputation.

The university has 39 programs with published earnings data. The degree mix is led by Education, which accounts for 16.4% of bachelor's degrees awarded, followed by Health Professions at 12.3% and Business at 11.3%.

The largest single program is Teacher Education, at 190 degrees a year, where graduates earn a median of $38,807. The highest earnings belong to a much smaller program: Construction Management graduates earn $96,186, from 27 degrees a year.

Nursing, the second-largest program, reports $80,542. Award counts are degrees conferred in one academic year, not a count of students, and program earnings cover federally aided completers. Across all fields, 24.9% of degrees awarded are in STEM.

Data & methodology

A missing figure does not mean zero. Sources and reporting periods: methodology.

Analysis and methodology by Daniel Rogers, founder of College Azimuth.

Explanatory text is AI-assisted drafting checked against those figures; it is not an additional data source.

Figure notes link to sources and limitations. About College Azimuth.