Research brief & institution hub

Washburn University

KSMedium public institution · Overall rank #357 nationally

Data snapshot Updated

Overall, 76th percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Who it’s a good fit for

Washburn University is a public university in Topeka, Kansas, where the degree mix is led by Health Professions and Business. Affordability, the strongest , is well above average.

Graduates out-earn what predicts for students like them. The model attributes more of that gain to the factors it measures — field of study, enrollment and the local labor market — than to what it cannot explain.

Return is above average. The price case is straightforward: the published cost is moderate for a public university, and the spread between what the lowest and highest income bands pay is narrow.

Pell students complete below the overall rate, so the access picture is above average. Most graduates are estimated to go into work rather than further study.

The largest program, Nursing, is also one of the best-paid, which means the degree mix and the earnings picture point in the same direction for students in the health professions.

Washburn University at a glance

Admissions and outcomes

Admission rate[1]
Not reported
Six-year completion[2]
53.0%
Four-year earnings[3]
$56,774

Cost and family borrowing

Average annual net price · $48–75K family income[6]
$10,758
Median student debt[4]
$18,127
Median Parent PLUS debt[7]
$13,741

Washburn University rankings: how Azimuth assesses value[5]

Washburn University is a public university in Topeka, Kansas, enrolling 4,562 undergraduates. Its composite standing sits in the top quarter of the Azimuth ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions (76th percentile).

Affordability is the pillar that stands out most in its profile. The four pillars are spread out at Washburn University.

Affordability is the strongest (83rd percentile), while mobility is the weakest (58th percentile). Access and return sit between them (72nd and 61st percentiles).

Affordability is the clearest strength at Washburn University, giving cost an important place in its overall profile. Azimuth places affordability in the 83rd percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Return is in the 61st percentile, and access is in the 72nd percentile. Mobility, the weakest pillar, is in the 58th percentile.

The profile is strongest on affordability, with return and access occupying the middle ground.

Azimuth ranks Washburn University #409 for access among nonprofit four-year institutions. Azimuth ranks the university #622 for mobility.

Graduates earn about $8,155 more than the model expects for similar students, a result that coincides with the mobility pillar's position.

How value-added outcomes are assessed · How to interpret program rankings

Washburn University rankings in context
GeographyRank
National#357

Azimuth overall value rankings within each geographic comparison group.

National pillar percentiles

Economic mobility
National percentile: 58
Access & reach
National percentile: 72
Affordability
National percentile: 83
Return on investment
National percentile: 61

Top-ranked majors

  1. Security Science and Technology#21
  2. Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions#21
  3. Health and Medical Administrative Services#22

This school’s three highest-ranked programs nationally. Each rank compares bachelor’s programs in the same field; field sizes differ.

Explore major rankings

01 / Washburn University briefing

Washburn University cost & financial aid[6][7]

Washburn University has a published cost of attendance of $21,512, with an affordability profile that is stronger in Azimuth’s ranking than in its comparison with similar schools. The published budget includes in-state tuition and fees of $9,945 and room and board of $11,501.

Out-of-state tuition and fees are $20,949. Among aid recipients, the average net price, what aid recipients pay after grants and scholarships, is $15,280, and financial aid reduces the published cost by $6,232 on average.

At comparable institutions (same type and size), the peer median net price is $14,068; Washburn is above that figure by $1,212. Azimuth ranks Washburn University #241 for affordability among nonprofit four-year institutions.

The affordability picture is mixed: the Azimuth standing sits alongside a net price above the peer median.

The published cost of attendance at Washburn University is $21,512. Azimuth ranks the university #241 for affordability among nonprofit four-year institutions.

The average net price, what aid recipients pay after grants and scholarships, is $20,310 for families earning under $30,000, $9,693 for those earning $30,001 to $48,000, $10,758 for the $48,001 to $75,000 band, $13,922 for the $75,001 to $110,000 band, and $15,472 for families earning over $110,000. The spread between the lowest and highest bands is $4,838.

Financial aid saves the average recipient $6,232 off the published cost. The across all aid recipients is $15,280, which is $1,212 above the peer median of $14,068 for comparable institutions (same type and size).

In-state tuition and fees are $9,945, and out-of-state tuition and fees are $20,949. Borrowers who finish carry a median of $18,127 in federal student loans.

That is $3,102 below the peer median of $21,229 at comparable institutions. 81.3% of federal aid recipients borrow federal loans.

Parents who borrow hold a separate median of $13,741 in Parent PLUS loans. If repaid over ten years, the median federal student debt corresponds to an estimated payment of $206 a month.

It estimates what a family might pay at this school based on their own finances.

Your family income

Choose a household income range to see estimated net price.

Reported average annual net price · $48–75K$10,758

After grants and scholarships. Your aid offer may differ.

Averages within each income band; individual aid packages vary.

Borrowing and repayment at Washburn University

Borrowers who complete a degree at Washburn University leave with a median of $18,127 in federal student loans. That median is $3,102 below the $21,229 median for comparable institutions (same type and size).

Federal borrowing is common: 81.3% of federal aid recipients take federal loans. Parents who borrow through the separate Parent PLUS program hold a median of $13,741.

Four years after completing a degree, Washburn University graduates earn a median of $56,774, at the 38th percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions. That is $527 below the $57,301 median for comparable institutions (same type and size).

The return picture sharpens when measured against expectations. Graduates earn about $8,155 more than the model expects for similar students, an outcome at the 79th percentile.

Earnings scenarios, estimated from the program mix, range from $43,773 in a downside case to $78,919 in an upside case. The typical earnings scenario is $56,774.

On the borrowing side, the median federal student debt at completion is $18,127, which is $3,102 below the peer median of $21,229. If repaid over ten years, that debt corresponds to an estimated payment of $206 a month.

For the separate population of parent borrowers, median Parent PLUS borrowing is $13,741. For student borrowers, that debt corresponds to an estimated payment of $206 a month if repaid over ten years.

How Financial GPS measures payment burden · The four risk-and-reward zones

Financial GPS

What does repayment look like?

Institution median student debt
$18,127
Institution Parent PLUS debt
$13,741

Federal loans only; private or institutional loans aren’t included.

Estimated student payment · monthly
$206/mo
Estimated Parent PLUS payment · monthly
$175/mo

Payments use school-wide median balances, not a specific major’s.

Payment assumptions

Payments are 10-year standard payments on the median balance, before loan fees, used as a yardstick. Rates for newly issued loans may differ, and loans made after July 1, 2026 can repay over a longer term; existing loans keep their original fixed rates.

Explore your own numbers in Financial GPS
Read the full cost & aid brief

02 / Washburn University briefing

Washburn University career outcomes & earnings[3][8][9]

Azimuth places the return pillar at the 61st percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions. Four years after completing a degree, federally aided graduates who are working and not enrolled earn a median of $56,774, at the 38th percentile.

That is $527 below the $57,301 median for comparable institutions (same type and size). Graduates earn about $8,155 more than the model expects for similar students.

That puts the gap at the 79th percentile. The part the model attributes to the factors it measures (field of study, enrollment and the local labor market) adds $6,774.

The part it attributes to a remainder it does not explain adds $1,381. Within the measured factors, the STEM component subtracts $772.

Washburn University graduates have a schoolwide earnings midpoint: federally aided completers who are working and not enrolled earn a median of $56,774 four years after completion. Azimuth places this earnings measure in the 38th percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions, using an earnings cohort of 1,491 completers.

That median is an institutional midpoint, not a forecast for any particular field or person. The typical scenario, based on the program mix, matches that median.

Graduates earn about $8,155 more than the model expects for similar students. An estimated 26.4% of graduates continue to graduate study, a figure estimated from the program mix rather than observed enrollment.

Among federally aided graduates of Washburn University who are working and not enrolled, the median four years after completion is $56,774, in the 38th percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions. That sits $527 below the $57,301 median for comparable institutions (same type and size).

Azimuth ranks the university #566 for return among nonprofit four-year institutions. Graduates earn about $8,155 more than the model expects for similar students.

Earnings beyond expectations sits at the 79th percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions. The part the model attributes to the factors it measures (field of study, enrollment and the local labor market) adds $6,774.

The part it attributes to a remainder it does not explain adds $1,381. Within the measured factors, the STEM component subtracts $772.

The program mix centers on health and business fields. Estimated earnings scenarios from the program mix span $43,773 at the lower end and $78,919 at the upper end.

An estimated 26.4% of graduates continue to graduate study, based on the program mix.

Fields account for a wide modeled earnings spread at Washburn University. The downside scenario is $43,773 and the upside scenario is $78,919; these are earnings scenarios from the program mix, not observed groups of graduates.

Among fields, Engineering-Related Fields has median earnings of $80,436 four years after completion, Nursing has $79,109, and Computer and Information Sciences has $78,778. Those program medians show why the modeled range is broad.

Washburn University pairs lower federal borrowing for completers with a favorable modeled earnings comparison, while its average net price is above the comparable figure. Among borrowers who completed, median federal student loan debt is $18,127.

The peer median, the middle value for comparable institutions (same type and size), is $21,229, and the university’s figure is below it by $3,102. That debt corresponds to an estimated payment of $206 a month if repaid over ten years.

Average net price, what aid recipients pay after grants and scholarships, is $15,280, and aid covers about 29% of the published cost for the average aid recipient. Graduates earn about $8,155 more than the model expects for similar students.

Lower borrowing and higher-than-expected earnings point the same way, though the average net price is above peers.

What explains value-added earnings?
Program & institutional factors The part attributed to observed institutional characteristics.
+$6,774
Unexplained remainder What remains after the model’s observed factors.
+$1,381
Total modeled value added The modeled difference from expected earnings.
+$8,155

These are statistical model components, not proven causal effects; the remainder is not a direct measure of teaching quality.

Read the full outcomes brief

03 / Washburn University briefing

Washburn University acceptance rate & admissions[1][10][11]

Washburn University serves an undergraduate body in which 33.6% receive Pell Grants, a federal grant-aid measure. Undergraduate enrollment is 4,562, and an estimated 34.0% enter after beginning coursework elsewhere.

These figures describe a campus with both grant-aid recipients and transfer entrants among its undergraduates, rather than one defined by a single route into study.

Admissions
Admission rate
Not reported
Read the full admissions brief

04 / Washburn University briefing

What are the largest majors at Washburn University?[12]

Washburn University pairs a large higher-earning health field with programs whose four-year earnings sit at a more moderate level. Nursing, its largest program, has median earnings of $79,109 four years after completion and 152 degrees awarded.

Azimuth ranks this field #259 nationally among nonprofit four-year institutions and #2 in Kansas. Engineering-Related Fields reports $80,436 with 8 degrees awarded, while Kinesiology and Physical Education records $57,079 across 48 degrees awarded.

Communication and Media Studies is lower at $46,497 and 44 degrees awarded. The spread shows that earnings vary considerably across the fields represented among the university's larger and higher-earning programs.

Health Professions accounts for 30.7% of bachelor’s degrees awarded, so health-focused study is central to Washburn University’s program mix. The university has 15 bachelor’s field with an Azimuth national rank.

Azimuth ranks Nursing #259 nationally within its field; it awarded 152 degrees, and its completers had median earnings of $79,109 four years after completion. Among other large programs, Health and Medical Administrative Services awarded 52 degrees and had median earnings of $66,325 four years after completion.

The larger health programs and the higher-earning computing and finance options show distinct paths within the program mix.

Washburn University awards bachelor's degrees across 21 programs with published four-year earnings data, and 15 holds an Azimuth national rank within its field. The program mix is concentrated in Health Professions, which accounts for 30.7% of degrees awarded, followed by Business at 16.4% and Security & Protective Services at 6.4%.

The largest single programs are Nursing with 152 degrees awarded, Health and Medical Administrative Services with 52, and Kinesiology and Physical Education with 48. Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions awards 23 degrees a year and ranks #2 in Kansas within its field.

Azimuth ranks it #2 in Kansas within its field, and graduates earn a median of $48,327 four years after completion. The highest-earning program is a much smaller one: Engineering-Related Fields graduates earn $80,436, from 8 degrees awarded a year.

Computer and Information Sciences is another strong earner, with a median of $78,778 from 18 degrees awarded. Finance and Allied Health Professions round out the top earners, at $76,175 and $75,787 respectively, with 36 and 26 degrees awarded.

Strength is concentrated in health and business, even though only 5.4% of degrees are in STEM fields. More than half of the degrees awarded in the largest programs are in Nursing, which also records the highest median earnings among the large programs.

Four-year earnings · six largest reported fields
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing 152 degrees awarded
$79,109
Health and Medical Administrative Services 52 degrees awarded
$66,325
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness 48 degrees awarded
$57,079
Communication and Media Studies 44 degrees awarded
$46,497
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods 36 degrees awarded
$43,351
Finance and Financial Management Services 36 degrees awarded
$76,175

Fields selected by reported completions. Counts describe credentials awarded, not unique students or the earnings sample. Bars show median four-year earnings.

Read the full majors brief

05 / Washburn University briefing

How does Washburn University serve students from different backgrounds?

Washburn University shows a mixed mobility picture, pairing higher-than-expected graduate earnings with a lower completion rate for Pell recipients. Graduates earn about $8,155 more than the model expects for similar students.

Azimuth places earnings beyond expectations in the 79th percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions. Azimuth places mobility in the 58th percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions. The earnings result and completion figures point in different directions.

Azimuth places the access pillar in the 72nd percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions. The enrollment mix shows several routes into this public university.

Data scope & methodology

Structured payloads generated Governed hub narrative Governed spoke corpus

Four-year earnings describe cohorts of completers. Figures for other horizons describe different cohorts and are not joined into a career-growth projection.

Azimuth's overall rank and pillar percentiles come from the school profile. Absolute pillar ranks, city, enrollment and official-site links are shown only when structured data supplies them.

Detailed earnings, cost, admissions and program values come from the endpoint responsible for each measure. Missing values are not replaced with zero. Value-added estimates are model associations, not causal effects.

Figures are refreshed with each data release, at most a quarter apart. The underlying source dates can be earlier than the release.

Explanatory text is AI-assisted drafting checked against those figures; it is not an additional data source.

Analysis and methodology by Daniel Rogers, founder of College Azimuth.

Read the ranking methodology, data definitions and limitations · About College Azimuth

Read the analysis behind value-added earnings and the change to four-year graduate earnings. These articles are published on collegeazimuth.com.

Data notes & source fields

Scorecard field codes identify the underlying measure; Azimuth-derived values are labeled separately. Snapshot dates are not measurement years. Source populations and reporting periods differ across measures. Field definitions are in the U.S. Department of Education · College Scorecard documentation; notes with a different source link it below.

  1. Admission rate. Reported applicants admitted; not a transfer-specific or individual admission probability.

    Source fields: ADM_RATE

  2. Six-year completion. First-time, full-time students completing at the institution within 150% of normal time, typically six years for a bachelor’s degree.

    Source fields: C150_4

  3. Four-year institutional earnings. Median earnings of graduates in the reported cohort who are working and not enrolled, four years after completion.

    Source fields: MD_EARN_WNE_4YR

  4. Median federal student debt. Federal student-loan debt among completers in the reported borrowing cohort. Excludes Parent PLUS and is not total debt across all students.

    Source fields: GRAD_DEBT_MDN

  5. National, regional and state ranks; pillar percentiles; major ranks. Derived scores within the stated eligible comparison set, not raw Scorecard fields. Major ranks compare institutions within a field; their denominators differ.

    Source fields: Azimuth rankings

    College Azimuth · Ranking methodology

  6. Annual net price by family income. Average annual cost after grants and scholarships for the eligible first-time, full-time aid-recipient cohort. Public-school figures reflect in-state tuition. Includes living costs; these are averages, not medians or individual offers.

    Source fields: NPT4_PUB/PRIV; NPT41_PUB/PRIV through NPT45_PUB/PRIV

  7. Parent PLUS debt, payments and GPS illustration. Stored payments use Financial GPS loan and repayment assumptions. The adjustable spectrum applies the published framework to annual student payments divided by earnings minus an expense allowance; its initial allowance is 150% of the federal poverty guideline for one person, for the year the API serves. It is an illustration rather than a school rating. The parent table is the 10-year payment on the median Parent PLUS as a share of household income above 200% of the guideline for a household of three: under 6% Safe, 6–10% Caution, over 10% High pressure. Parent PLUS uses the completer median where available, otherwise the all-borrower median; these describe different borrowing populations.

    Source fields: PLUS_DEBT_ALL_COMP_MD; fallback PLUS_DEBT_ALL_MD; Azimuth Financial GPS calculations

    College Azimuth · Financial GPS methodology

  8. Downside and upside earnings; yellow band. The band spans the modeled lower and higher scenarios. It is not the P25–P75 interval for individual graduates. The median marker is the separately reported institutional median.

    Source fields: Azimuth modeled program-mix scenarios

    College Azimuth · Earnings scenario methodology

  9. Value added and its components. Observed-factor attribution plus the unexplained remainder equals total modeled value added. These are associations, not proven causal effects; the remainder is not a direct measure of teaching quality.

    Source fields: Azimuth statistical model

    College Azimuth · Value-added methodology

  10. SAT score range and reported midpoint. Reported scores of enrolled score-submitters, not admission cutoffs. The midpoint field is not necessarily the middle of the displayed range.

    Source fields: SATVR25 + SATMT25; SATVR75 + SATMT75; SAT_AVG

  11. First-year retention. Retention of the reported full-time cohort at four-year institutions.

    Source fields: RET_FT4

  12. Program earnings, completion counts and major-mix dots. Included bachelor’s programs have at least five reported completions. Counts are aggregated credentials, not unique people or an earnings sample. Major-mix dots group those counts by field of study; excluded programs are not zero activity.

    Source fields: EARN_MDN_4YR; IPEDSCOUNT1; CIPCODE

    College Scorecard · Field-of-study technical documentation

  13. Pell recipients. Share of undergraduates receiving a Pell Grant in the reported academic year.

    Source fields: PCTPELL

  14. Entering students outside the first-time, full-time group. This is not an observed transfer-in rate. It includes part-time entrants and other entering-student attendance patterns.

    Source fields: 1 − PFTFTUG1_EF

  15. Peer earnings and signed differences. Differences are peer minus this school, from the same matching snapshot. A positive earnings difference does not mean the peer is better on every measure.

    Source fields: Azimuth peer model using MD_EARN_WNE_4YR

    College Azimuth · Comparison methodology

How to interpret program rankings