College research / Rankings

Best Art & Design Colleges in Alabama (2026)

Updated

This page ranks the 13 Art & Design programs in Alabama by median earnings of Art & Design graduates four years after completing, highest first. Auburn University leads the list with median earnings of $55,658 for its graduates after completing.

Across the 11 schools with a reported completion median, earnings range from $55,658 to $29,142, with a median of $40,502. For 1 of the 13 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one.

The list is overwhelmingly public: 92% of the schools are public institutions, with 1 private nonprofit program. University of North Alabama posts the lowest average net price at $12,170, while The University of Alabama ranks 233rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among the 1,467 public and private nonprofit four-year institutions Azimuth ranks nationally.

The ranked list

13 schools in list order
RankSchoolMedian Art & Design EarningsAverage net priceNet price, families under $30KAdmission rate
1Auburn University · Auburn, AL$55,658$24,323$16,68145.9%
Auburn University reports $55,658 in median earnings of Art & Design graduates four years after completing and a six-year completion rate of 82%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Design and Applied Arts (138 graduates), Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft (22 graduates), Music (16 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Design and Applied Arts ($61,609)

2Jacksonville State University · Jacksonville, AL$45,467$14,279$12,47277.7%
Jacksonville State University admits 78% of applicants and carries an average net price of $14,279.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Music (45 graduates), Fine and Studio Arts (25 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Music ($47,582), Fine and Studio Arts ($41,659)

3University of North Alabama · Florence, AL$44,559$12,170$9,74187.3%
With an average net price of $12,170, University of North Alabama ranks 3rd on this list.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Arts, Entertainment, and Media Management (41 graduates), Fine and Studio Arts (21 graduates), Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft (18 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Arts, Entertainment, and Media Management ($48,020), Music ($41,734)

4University of Alabama in Huntsville · Huntsville, AL$43,321$18,796$16,19268.6%
University of Alabama in Huntsville posts a six-year completion rate of 64% and median earnings of $43,321 for its Art & Design graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Fine and Studio Arts (66 graduates), Music (16 graduates), Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft (7 graduates)

5The University of Alabama · Tuscaloosa, AL$42,453$22,420$19,16976.7%
The University of Alabama ranks 233rd on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and admits 77% of applicants.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Fine and Studio Arts (44 graduates), Music (41 graduates), Dance (40 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Design and Applied Arts ($60,546), Fine and Studio Arts ($41,100)

6University of Alabama at Birmingham · Birmingham, AL$41,023$18,749$16,17288.2%
University of Alabama at Birmingham reports $41,023 in median earnings of Art & Design graduates four years after completing, above the list median of $40,502.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Fine and Studio Arts (38 graduates), Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft (23 graduates), Music (11 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Fine and Studio Arts ($43,138)

7Athens State University · Athens, AL$40,502Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Athens State University ranks 491st on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and reports median earnings of $40,502 for its Art & Design graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Fine and Studio Arts (16 graduates)

Highest four-year median earnings by program: Fine and Studio Arts ($40,502)

8University of Montevallo · Montevallo, AL$38,917$17,683$14,47153.9%
University of Montevallo carries an average net price of $17,683 and a six-year completion rate of 54%.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Fine and Studio Arts (40 graduates), Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft (21 graduates), Music (12 graduates)

9Troy University · Troy, AL$37,264$16,527$12,65696.0%
Troy University admits 96% of applicants and reports median earnings of $37,264 for its Art & Design graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Music (32 graduates), Fine and Studio Arts (26 graduates), Dance (10 graduates)

10Samford University · Birmingham, AL$33,993$32,622$22,71682.4%
A private nonprofit university in Birmingham, Samford University reports median earnings of $33,993 for its Art & Design graduates two years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Design and Applied Arts (26 graduates), Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft (20 graduates), Music (7 graduates)

11Auburn University at Montgomery · Montgomery, AL$31,804$13,224$11,70691.6%
Auburn University at Montgomery posts a six-year completion rate of 33% and an average net price of $13,224.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Fine and Studio Arts (21 graduates)

12University of South Alabama · Mobile, AL$31,743$17,648$12,65771.0%
University of South Alabama ranks 329th on Azimuth's composite ranking among nonprofit four-year institutions and admits 71% of applicants.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Fine and Studio Arts (37 graduates), Music (15 graduates)

13Alabama State University · Montgomery, AL$29,142$20,435$19,71197.6%
Alabama State University ranks 13th on this list, reporting median earnings of $29,142 for its Art & Design graduates four years after completing.

Largest programs by graduates in the earnings cohort: Music (15 graduates), Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft (6 graduates), Fine and Studio Arts (5 graduates)

How this list is ordered

Schools are ordered by the median earnings of their Art & Design graduates four years after completing, or two years for programs that report only a two-year figure, highest first. The figure is the median earnings of federally aided Art & Design completers who were working and not enrolled, measured after completing. For 1 of the 13 listed programs the figure is the two-year completion median rather than the four-year one. The metric does not adjust for graduate school enrollment, cost, or who enrolls, and it is not a measure of teaching quality. The figures cited on this page cover the 11 schools with a reported completion median. Auburn University reports $55,658, a gap of $10,191 above Jacksonville State University at $45,467.