Research brief & institution hub

St. Francis College

NYSmall private nonprofit institution · Overall rank #457 nationally

Data snapshot Updated

Azimuth places the university in the 69th percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Who it’s a good fit for

St. Francis College is a private nonprofit university in Brooklyn, New York, where Health Professions and Business lead the degree mix. Access is among the highest we track.

Graduates out-earn what predicts for students like them, and the model attributes more of that to a remainder it does not explain than to the factors it measures. The typical graduate earns above the median at comparable schools, so the raw and adjusted pictures point the same way.

Pell recipients complete at a rate below the entering cohort as a whole, and mobility is modestly below average. What families pay after aid is below the peer median, and the spread between the lowest and highest income bands is modest.

Most graduates are estimated to go into work rather than further study, and the largest program, Nursing, is also the best-paid. A student drawn to Business should know that the largest department in that family is not the best-paid one.

St. Francis College at a glance

Admissions and outcomes

Admission rate[1]
Not reported
Six-year completion[2]
54.6%
Four-year earnings[3]
$58,523

Cost and family borrowing

Average annual net price · $48–75K family income[6]
$22,447
Median student debt[4]
$23,250
Median Parent PLUS debt[7]
$26,794

St. Francis College rankings: how Azimuth assesses value[5]

St. Francis College is a private nonprofit university in Brooklyn, New York, with an undergraduate enrollment of 1,684. Among nonprofit four-year institutions, the college lands near the upper third of the overall ranking, at the 69th percentile.

The first-year retention rate for full-time students at the college is 64.8%. That figure sits against a peer median of 74.2% for comparable institutions of the same type and size.

The six-year graduation rate for the first-time full-time cohort is 54.6%; the peer median for comparable institutions of the same type and size is 54.9%. An estimated 15.2% of students arrive at St. Francis College as transfers or part-time students, so the six-year graduation rate describes the first-time full-time cohort rather than the entire student body.

Access is the strongest of the four , at the 91st percentile. Mobility is the weakest of the four, at the 27th percentile.

Return and affordability both fall near the middle of the field, at the 57th and 57th percentiles.

Access is the standout part of the profile, while mobility is the area with the lowest Azimuth standing. Among nonprofit four-year institutions, Azimuth puts access in the 91st percentile, return in the 57th percentile, and affordability in the 57th percentile. Mobility is in the 27th percentile, making it the weakest of the four pillars.

55.7% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants, the federal aid program used as the standard measure of financial access. Azimuth ranks St. Francis College #127 for access among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Pell recipients complete at 42.3%, which is 12.3 percentage points below the rate for the entering cohort as a whole (54.6%). Azimuth ranks the university #1,067 for mobility among nonprofit four-year institutions. Graduates earn about $9,372 more than the model expects for similar students.

How value-added outcomes are assessed · How to interpret program rankings

St. Francis College rankings in context
GeographyRank
National#457

Azimuth overall value rankings within each geographic comparison group.

National pillar percentiles

Economic mobility
National percentile: 27
Access & reach
National percentile: 91
Affordability
National percentile: 57
Return on investment
National percentile: 57

Top-ranked majors

  1. Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other#14
  2. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing#51
  3. Criminal Justice and Corrections#113

This school’s three highest-ranked programs nationally. Each rank compares bachelor’s programs in the same field; field sizes differ.

Explore major rankings

01 / St. Francis College briefing

St. Francis College cost & financial aid[6][7]

At St. Francis College, the average net price, what aid recipients pay after grants and scholarships, is $18,129. The published cost of attendance is $38,098, an average across living arrangements.

Tuition and fees are $28,775, and room and board is $18,000. Average aid savings against the published cost amount to $19,969.

At comparable institutions (same type and size), the peer median net price is $22,347; the college's average sits below it by $4,218. Azimuth ranks St. Francis College #607 for affordability among nonprofit four-year institutions.

The below-peer net price and the aid offset point to lower average costs for aid recipients than at comparable institutions.

The published cost of attendance at St. Francis College is $38,098 (an average across living arrangements). Azimuth ranks the university #607 for affordability among nonprofit four-year institutions.

After grants and scholarships, aid recipients in the lowest family-income band (under $30,000) average $15,700, those in the middle band ($48,001–$75,000) average $22,447, and those in the highest band (over $110,000) average $22,274. The spread between the lowest and highest bands is $6,574.

Aid covers about 52% of the published cost for the average aid recipient. The average net price, what aid recipients pay after grants and scholarships, is $18,129 across all bands.

That is $4,218 below the $22,347 median for comparable institutions (same type and size). 75.0% of federal aid recipients take federal loans.

Borrowers who finish carry a median of $23,250 in federal student debt, which is $1,750 below the $25,000 peer median for comparable institutions. Parents who borrow hold a separate median of $26,794 in Parent PLUS loans.

If repaid over ten years, the median federal student debt corresponds to an estimated payment of $264 a month.

Your family income

Choose a household income range to see estimated net price.

Reported average annual net price · $48–75K$22,447

After grants and scholarships. Your aid offer may differ.

Averages within each income band; individual aid packages vary.

Borrowing and repayment at St. Francis College

Federal completion debt at St. Francis College comes in below the peer median, though federal borrowing reaches 75.0% of federal aid recipients. Median federal student loan debt at completion is $23,250.

Among comparable institutions (same type and size), the peer median is $25,000; the college's median is $1,750 below it. Parent borrowers are a separate population, with median Parent PLUS borrowing of $26,794.

At St. Francis College, median earnings are $58,523 four years after completion, and earnings scenarios show that program mix can make a wide difference in the earnings picture. Azimuth places those earnings in the 45th percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions.

Graduates earn about $9,372 more than the model expects for similar students. Azimuth places earnings beyond expectations, the gap between what graduates earn and what the model expects for similar students, in the 82nd percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions.

The downside earnings scenario is $47,964, the typical scenario is $58,523, and the upside scenario is $105,472. The debt comparison sits below the peer median, and that debt corresponds to an estimated payment of $264 a month if repaid over ten years.

Above-expected earnings and lower peer-relative debt point in the same direction, but the scenarios show that earnings can vary across the program mix.

Parent borrowers have median Parent PLUS borrowing of $26,794, separate from federal student loan borrowers. For student borrowers, that debt corresponds to an estimated payment of $264 a month if repaid over ten years.

How Financial GPS measures payment burden · The four risk-and-reward zones

Financial GPS

What does repayment look like?

Institution median student debt
$23,250
Institution Parent PLUS debt
$26,794

Federal loans only; private or institutional loans aren’t included.

Estimated student payment · monthly
$264/mo
Estimated Parent PLUS payment · monthly
$340/mo

Payments use school-wide median balances, not a specific major’s.

Payment assumptions

Payments are 10-year standard payments on the median balance, before loan fees, used as a yardstick. Rates for newly issued loans may differ, and loans made after July 1, 2026 can repay over a longer term; existing loans keep their original fixed rates.

Explore your own numbers in Financial GPS
Read the full cost & aid brief

02 / St. Francis College briefing

St. Francis College career outcomes & earnings[3][8][9]

St. Francis College presents a return picture where graduates earn about $9,372 more than the model expects for similar students. That earnings-beyond-expectations measure—the gap between what graduates earn and what the model expects for similar students—stands in the 82nd percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions.

The part the model attributes to the factors it measures (field of study, enrollment and the local labor market) adds $673. The part it attributes to a remainder it does not explain adds $8,699.

Graduates earn a median of $58,523 four years after completion, in the 45th percentile. The peer median, the middle value for comparable institutions (same type and size), is $55,915; St. Francis College is $2,608 above it.

Azimuth places its return pillar in the 57th percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions. The peer comparison and higher-than-expected earnings point the same way.

The earnings picture at St. Francis College is mixed, pairing a favorable model comparison with an institutional earnings measure nearer the middle of nonprofit four-year institutions. Graduates earn about $9,372 more than the model expects for similar students.

Among federally aided completers who are working and not enrolled, median earnings four years after completion are $58,523. Azimuth places those four-year earnings in the 45th percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions, based on an earnings cohort of 355 completers.

The typical earnings scenario matches the observed median, while the downside and upside scenarios are $47,964 and $105,472. An estimated 28.8% of graduates continue to graduate study, a figure estimated from the program mix.

The model comparison is favorable, but the earnings percentile remains nearer the middle.

St. Francis College shows a return picture that is above its comparable-college benchmark and well above the model’s expectation. Federally aided completers who are working and not enrolled have median earnings of $58,523 four years after completion, in the 45th percentile.

The peer median, the middle value for comparable institutions (same type and size), is $55,915, putting the college $2,608 above that figure. Graduates earn about $9,372 more than the model expects for similar students.

Earnings beyond expectations, the gap between what graduates earn and what the model expects for similar students, is in the 82nd percentile. The part the model attributes to the factors it measures (field of study, enrollment and the local labor market) adds $673.

The part it attributes to a remainder it does not explain adds $8,699. Within the measured factors, the STEM component adds $1,252.

Earnings scenarios grounded in the program mix range from $47,964 in the downside scenario to $105,472 in the upside scenario. Azimuth places the return pillar in the 57th percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions, alongside earnings that exceed both comparison points.

Nursing is the largest program and also the highest-earning listed program, with 82 degrees awarded and median earnings of $112,171 four years after completion. Business Administration and Management awarded 44 degrees and has median earnings of $51,556; Azimuth ranks it #329 nationally among nonprofit four-year institutions in its field.

Program choice corresponds with a wide modeled earnings range at St. Francis College. The downside earnings scenario is $47,964 and the upside scenario is $105,472, neither representing an observed group of graduates.

At the program level, median earnings four years after completion are $112,171 in Nursing, $82,993 in Accounting, and $64,725 in Liberal Arts and General Studies. The modeled range and program medians show why the schoolwide figure does not describe every field.

At St. Francis College, borrowing and both sit below comparable institutions. Median federal student loan debt for borrowers who completed is $23,250.

The peer median, the middle value for comparable institutions (same type and size), is $25,000, placing this debt below it by $1,750. That debt corresponds to an estimated payment of $264 a month if repaid over ten years.

Graduates earn about $9,372 more than the model expects for similar students. The average net price, what aid recipients pay after grants and scholarships, is $18,129.

Compared with the $22,347 peer median at comparable institutions (same type and size), it is below by $4,218. Aid covers about 52% of the published cost for the average aid recipient.

Lower debt and a lower average net price point in the same direction as the earnings result.

What explains value-added earnings?
Program & institutional factors The part attributed to observed institutional characteristics.
+$673
Unexplained remainder What remains after the model’s observed factors.
+$8,699
Total modeled value added The modeled difference from expected earnings.
+$9,372

These are statistical model components, not proven causal effects; the remainder is not a direct measure of teaching quality.

Read the full outcomes brief

03 / St. Francis College briefing

St. Francis College acceptance rate & admissions[1][10][11]

Pell Grant recipients account for 55.7% of undergraduates at St. Francis College, making federal grant aid a prominent part of the undergraduate mix. The college has 1,684 undergraduates, and an estimated 15.2% arrive as transfers or part-time students.

This composition suggests a campus that includes both students using Pell Grants and people continuing study begun at another institution, rather than only students entering directly from high school. Pell-eligible applicants should estimate their grant-adjusted cost with the cost calculator, while transfer applicants should identify how their prior coursework fits their intended field before applying.

These figures describe enrolled undergraduates, not admission priorities or any applicant’s likelihood of admission.

Admissions
Admission rate
Not reported
Read the full admissions brief

04 / St. Francis College briefing

What are the largest majors at St. Francis College?[12]

Nursing sets the upper end of program earnings at St. Francis College, where field choice makes a substantial difference four years after completion. Its median earnings are $112,171, alongside 82 degrees awarded.

Accounting also sits on the higher-earning side, with $82,993 in median earnings and 28 degrees awarded. The middle of the range includes Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, with median earnings of $59,885 and 33 degrees awarded.

Business Administration and Management reports $51,556 across 44 degrees awarded; Azimuth ranks that program #329 nationally in its field. The contrast between these moderate-earning fields and the higher figures in nursing and accounting shows why the overall earnings figure does not describe every program equally.

Nursing has the highest earnings figure among the largest programs, with median earnings of $112,171 four years after completion. The college has 5 nationally ranked bachelor's program.

Azimuth ranks Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences #14 nationally in its field among nonprofit four-year institutions. Nursing awarded 82 degrees.

St. Francis College awards bachelor's degrees across 8 programs with published four-year earnings data and 5 with an Azimuth national rank. Health Professions accounts for 32.6% of degrees awarded, with Business next at 16.3% and Communication & Journalism at 9.8%.

The largest single programs are Nursing at 82 degrees awarded, Business Administration and Management at 44, and Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences at 33. Nursing is also the highest-earning program, with graduates earning a median of $112,171 four years after completion, 1.26x the national median for its field.

Business Administration and Management, the second-largest program, ranks #30 in New York within its field. Its graduates earn a median of $51,556, which is 0.76x the national median.

Accounting is a smaller program at 28 degrees awarded, but its median earnings of $82,993 sit 1.09x the national benchmark. The earnings pattern is concentrated: Nursing is both the largest program with published earnings and highest-earning program, and the next-highest earners are Accounting and Liberal Arts and General Studies, a small program at 12 degrees awarded with earnings 1.22x the national median for its field.

Four-year earnings for fields where graduates commonly continue to graduate study may understate later trajectories. 17.6% of degrees awarded are in STEM fields.

Four-year earnings · six largest reported fields
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing 82 degrees awarded
$112,171
Business Administration, Management and Operations 44 degrees awarded
$51,556
Research and Experimental Psychology 33 degrees awarded
Too few graduates to report
Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other 33 degrees awarded
$59,885
Biology, General 31 degrees awarded
$42,222
Accounting and Related Services 28 degrees awarded
$82,993

Fields selected by reported completions. Counts describe credentials awarded, not unique students or the earnings sample. Bars show median four-year earnings.

Read the full majors brief

05 / St. Francis College briefing

How does St. Francis College serve students from different backgrounds?

For the first-time full-time cohort, St. Francis College has a 54.6% six-year graduation rate. Pell recipients in that cohort complete within six years at 42.3%, below the overall rate by 12.3 percentage points.

Azimuth places the mobility pillar in the 27th percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions. Earnings beyond expectations, the gap between what graduates earn and what the model expects for similar students, tell a different part of the story: Graduates earn about $9,372 more than the model expects for similar students.

Azimuth places that measure in the 82nd percentile nationally, so completion and modeled earnings point in different directions.

Access stands out at St. Francis College, where 55.7% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants and undergraduate enrollment is 1,684. Azimuth puts the access pillar in the 91st percentile among nonprofit four-year institutions.

An estimated 15.2% of the undergraduate population enters as transfers or part-time students, adding another entry route alongside the college’s Pell Grant participation.

Data scope & methodology

Structured payloads generated Governed hub narrative Governed spoke corpus

Four-year earnings describe cohorts of completers. Figures for other horizons describe different cohorts and are not joined into a career-growth projection.

Azimuth's overall rank and pillar percentiles come from the school profile. Absolute pillar ranks, city, enrollment and official-site links are shown only when structured data supplies them.

Detailed earnings, cost, admissions and program values come from the endpoint responsible for each measure. Missing values are not replaced with zero. Value-added estimates are model associations, not causal effects.

Figures are refreshed with each data release, at most a quarter apart. The underlying source dates can be earlier than the release.

Explanatory text is AI-assisted drafting checked against those figures; it is not an additional data source.

Analysis and methodology by Daniel Rogers, founder of College Azimuth.

Read the ranking methodology, data definitions and limitations · About College Azimuth

Read the analysis behind value-added earnings and the change to four-year graduate earnings. These articles are published on collegeazimuth.com.

Data notes & source fields

Scorecard field codes identify the underlying measure; Azimuth-derived values are labeled separately. Snapshot dates are not measurement years. Source populations and reporting periods differ across measures. Field definitions are in the U.S. Department of Education · College Scorecard documentation; notes with a different source link it below.

  1. Admission rate. Reported applicants admitted; not a transfer-specific or individual admission probability.

    Source fields: ADM_RATE

  2. Six-year completion. First-time, full-time students completing at the institution within 150% of normal time, typically six years for a bachelor’s degree.

    Source fields: C150_4

  3. Four-year institutional earnings. Median earnings of graduates in the reported cohort who are working and not enrolled, four years after completion.

    Source fields: MD_EARN_WNE_4YR

  4. Median federal student debt. Federal student-loan debt among completers in the reported borrowing cohort. Excludes Parent PLUS and is not total debt across all students.

    Source fields: GRAD_DEBT_MDN

  5. National, regional and state ranks; pillar percentiles; major ranks. Derived scores within the stated eligible comparison set, not raw Scorecard fields. Major ranks compare institutions within a field; their denominators differ.

    Source fields: Azimuth rankings

    College Azimuth · Ranking methodology

  6. Annual net price by family income. Average annual cost after grants and scholarships for the eligible first-time, full-time aid-recipient cohort. Public-school figures reflect in-state tuition. Includes living costs; these are averages, not medians or individual offers.

    Source fields: NPT4_PUB/PRIV; NPT41_PUB/PRIV through NPT45_PUB/PRIV

  7. Parent PLUS debt, payments and GPS illustration. Stored payments use Financial GPS loan and repayment assumptions. The adjustable spectrum applies the published framework to annual student payments divided by earnings minus an expense allowance; its initial allowance is 150% of the federal poverty guideline for one person, for the year the API serves. It is an illustration rather than a school rating. The parent table is the 10-year payment on the median Parent PLUS as a share of household income above 200% of the guideline for a household of three: under 6% Safe, 6–10% Caution, over 10% High pressure. Parent PLUS uses the completer median where available, otherwise the all-borrower median; these describe different borrowing populations.

    Source fields: PLUS_DEBT_ALL_COMP_MD; fallback PLUS_DEBT_ALL_MD; Azimuth Financial GPS calculations

    College Azimuth · Financial GPS methodology

  8. Downside and upside earnings; yellow band. The band spans the modeled lower and higher scenarios. It is not the P25–P75 interval for individual graduates. The median marker is the separately reported institutional median.

    Source fields: Azimuth modeled program-mix scenarios

    College Azimuth · Earnings scenario methodology

  9. Value added and its components. Observed-factor attribution plus the unexplained remainder equals total modeled value added. These are associations, not proven causal effects; the remainder is not a direct measure of teaching quality.

    Source fields: Azimuth statistical model

    College Azimuth · Value-added methodology

  10. SAT score range and reported midpoint. Reported scores of enrolled score-submitters, not admission cutoffs. The midpoint field is not necessarily the middle of the displayed range.

    Source fields: SATVR25 + SATMT25; SATVR75 + SATMT75; SAT_AVG

  11. First-year retention. Retention of the reported full-time cohort at four-year institutions.

    Source fields: RET_FT4

  12. Program earnings, completion counts and major-mix dots. Included bachelor’s programs have at least five reported completions. Counts are aggregated credentials, not unique people or an earnings sample. Major-mix dots group those counts by field of study; excluded programs are not zero activity.

    Source fields: EARN_MDN_4YR; IPEDSCOUNT1; CIPCODE

    College Scorecard · Field-of-study technical documentation

  13. Pell recipients. Share of undergraduates receiving a Pell Grant in the reported academic year.

    Source fields: PCTPELL

  14. Entering students outside the first-time, full-time group. This is not an observed transfer-in rate. It includes part-time entrants and other entering-student attendance patterns.

    Source fields: 1 − PFTFTUG1_EF

  15. Peer earnings and signed differences. Differences are peer minus this school, from the same matching snapshot. A positive earnings difference does not mean the peer is better on every measure.

    Source fields: Azimuth peer model using MD_EARN_WNE_4YR

    College Azimuth · Comparison methodology

How to interpret program rankings